Cedar Rapids, IA 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #13 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Basket straight ahead



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
 Lots of potential, and disappointment

1    7/13/2020   7/13/2020
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 74  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course signage and pad were great.
-The layout kind of made sense, I still had to use a course map a couple times.
-Some of the holes took advantage of the terrain quite well, elevation and trees. Holes such as 7,12, & 14. I especially liked hole 12, it really stood out for me.
-Well taken care of park, I went early in the morning on a weekday so I was one of two people on the course. Other reviews say it is busy, just have to catch the right time of day I guess.
-Pretty good mix of distances. Hole 17 is fun but the scoring spread can't be very much at all. Throw, throw, putt is about as good as it gets.
Cons: -Some of the holes I just stopped and kind of went, "really?". It was already a bit of a pitch n putt course but then with some of the 200' wide open holes, it felt kind of disappointing.
-Pin placements really left this course kind of easy and lackluster. Hole 1 right off the bat made no sense. There's a cluster of trees just short of the basket near the water's edge that would make that hole much more difficult and introduce a water element. I could nitpick every hole, but that's the first that comes to mind. Instead, the basket is just in front of a tree leaving a wide open hyzer fest.
-Fairways are a little close together at times, it didn't matter much for me since I had nobody around, but I can see it becoming a problem when busy.
-Paint the baskets. The baskets were quite difficult to see when trying to figure out where everything was at. It's a really simple solution that is helpful to someone playing a new course. It was a pretty drastic difference going from these to bring pink baskets at shaver.
Other Thoughts: Despite a lot of cons, it was still a decent course. I'm not going to give it a worse score just because I thought it was easy. It's a Rec course through and through. Enough short shots for ace runs and wide open shots to develop the newbies. With a little tweaking this could be a much better course for advanced players while still making it fun for rec.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the Cedar Valley

5+    5/6/2020   5/11/2020
Review By: knobby325
Played: 305  Reviewed: 219  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2021
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Decent Signage
-Good use of terrain
-Boomer Hole #17 of 1080'
-Mostly disc golf only area (a playground and shelter between #14 and #15)
Cons: -Slope on some tee pads
-Only a few benches
-Deceptively hilly, especially the second half
-Some people try to jump on at Hole #15
-Mostly open holes, mostly straight shots
-No 9 hole loop
Other Thoughts: Jones Park DGC in the south part of Cedar Rapids, IA, is a nice large course with a moderately hilly terrain. It boasts one of the longest holes I've seen at 1080' (#17) and it's downhill. Mostly open holes with a small pond coming into play on Hole #2, a curve around trees on Holes #7 and #13 (one right, one left) and a possible tunnel shot on #14 (or a play-around to the right, swinging left). The hills can be a bit much for the novice player, especially 14 through 17. There are also a couple of the tee pads with a rough slope. I've played this course many times when in town. It is a bit busy at times, but still fun. Take a short break before booming it down the #17 fairway. Would love to see those couple of tee pads fixed, a couple more benches added, to give this a higher rating. An enjoyable course, will definitely play again!

2021 Update (Post 2020 Derecho)
Unfortunately, Jones suffered great loss of trees in 2020 (and at least one basket that has now been replaced). Many holes that were guarded by trees are simply open. The great arching tree on #12 is gone. Probably 75% of the trees in the middle of the course have just stumps left. It does open up possibilities on #14 that had gotten a little overgrown, but it is just so....open. Played in early summer heat and there were few places to hide. Still a very good course, the clean up was good, but it knocks down a 1/2 rating due to no fault of its own. The 2020 derecho was devastating to Cedar Rapids and this really shows here. Still, it's up and running and worth a throw. I'll be back to play again (with even more water in tow)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Angry Birds

1    5/23/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: mmeseck
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is free and easy to get to right in the middle of town. Has some nice changes in elevation for a townie course. Hole #2 & 18 are a blast to play on.
Cons: No real cons unless you are looking for a really challenging course this probably isn't the one for you.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the birds and the poo. The birds were angry that day my friend. Like an old man trying to send back in a deli.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Fun Course

2-4    6/28/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: IowaTrain
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - concrete tee pads and good signage on every hole
- elevation changes
- variety of hole distances and shot shapes
- well maintained park
- challenging but fun, plenty of trees to hit if you're off-line, but nothing so penal that you're spending much time looking for discs or losing discs
Cons: - dogs...probably not an issue for some, but I'm not a fan of people bringing their dogs and letting them run loose on the course
- one of the park's parking lots is by the tee for hole 15. too many groups like to jump on 15 as their start. so, you'll come over the hill from 14 basket and find 2 or 3 groups waiting on 15 tee.
- can get busy
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Cedar Rapids from a playability and fun standpoint. If you're a typical/average player, this is a more open and easier course than Legion or Shaver. Just the right challenge for an intermediate player with the trees, distance and elevation.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course with an old school feel.

1    5/29/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: RussMB
Played: 131  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful well maintained park with a big fun factor!
Lots of elevation changes
Most fairways have multiple lines of approach, so there is no real RH or LH Bias on the holes.
Concrete Tees and Signs. From the looks of it, new signs have been added
Players could start on 1 or 15
Easy to navigate without a map
Alternating Pin placements.
Good mix of long, Short and a few technical fairways
Also, there is a variety of up and down hill shots.
A fantastic course to bring new players, as well as non-regular players. Yet, this course still offers up a challenge to the seasoned player. It's a course for all to enjoy
Has a very cool "across the valley" run for 1080 ft
Has a few Ace Run holes
Shelter houses
Multi Use park with multiple activities
Cons: Pedestrian and Disc Golf Traffic could slow you down. This is a popular park with a popular disc golf course. It can get very busy!
It is primarily an open field course, therefore subject to windy days
This course has done a good job in laying out the fairway to keep things interesting. However, this is primarily an old school straight forward open field layout. It can get redundant after throwing a few holes here.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing here!! If you are going to be in the Cedar Rapids area, then this is a must play course. I would say that the fun factor definitely outweighs the challenge factor, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I had a great time and got to throw a number of different lines while I was here. Jones is definitely much easier to play than say Shaver or Legion, but you can have a good time.

If you are going to be traveling or road tripping through the area, then I would definitely put this on your list. You will not need any special foot wear to play here, and your interactions with the woods will be low. That's not a promise that it will be poison ivy free, but extremely minimal. You will be out in the open, so bring liquids for the hot days. If you are traveling with family, Jones is not too far off the interstate and there is a playground in this park. . If you are looking for a rest stop round, then this will be a good place to stop! There is lots to do here!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your TIme

5+    4/4/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Log242
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open
Challenging
Fun
Birdie Opportunities

Cons: Can be Busy
Tough on Windy Days
Other Thoughts: Even though I'm not from Cedar Rapids I would still call this course my home course just because I've played it way more than any other course. It's a pretty straightforward fun and challenging course that has some small obstacles with some more open holes as well. It's a a good combination of wooded and open holes.

There are a couple 200 foot holes which provide opportunities to make a round interesting. I ended up getting my first hole in 1 on hole 11.

Even though it can be busy, it's a fun easy-going course that is worth the time to play.

I had just got done playing Wildcat a week before I played at Jones so I had a challenging course that I feel actually improved my game at Jones. I ended up getting my best score even though I really messed up on the first and third hole in which I normally par.

Jones (04/04)
2 0 1 0 -1 0 0 0 -1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 (+5)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course.

5+    1/30/2016   2/2/2016
Review By: caleb1989
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, fairly easy course to play, great elevation change throughout, water hazard on the first three holes, most holes are under 300' so reachable for those like me who don't have a huge arm. There is a massive 800' hole where you throw off a large hill so you can really get some distance. Only a couple of wooded holes so not much risk of loosing a disc. Holes are well marked easy to see where to go.
Cons: It's a public park so you run into people playing football or soccer, or in the winter sledding sometimes blocking the holes, if your an above average player you might find the course to easy.
Other Thoughts: Great course, good to play if you want to practice different shots, or just play some leisurely golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Your Average Jones

2-4    3/10/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 29.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2016
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The course is another that is wide open and reminds one of a ball golf course. Holes 14 and 18 are signature holes to me, among the few that offer any real technical challenge.
Cons: The entire course is a con. The first 3 holes are virtually the same distance and absolutely straight. Holes 6-8 are also in the same distance range and are absolutely straight. Most of the holes on the course are in the same distance range, and the shorter holes are far too easy. What little vegetation there is is not used to its full advantage.

The designer also clearly wanted us to gasp with awe at the 820 foot downhill 17th, but the hole is just a boring exercise in bogie for most players (bombers might get a 3, and 300 foot throwers with get a 4 or a 5).

It's simply not a very interesting course and the only challenge is distance.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A course well-worth playing

5+    9/20/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park course is in a municipal park (owned/maintained by city of Cedar Rapids). The course is mowed and upkeep seems to be very regular. Ample parking right by the first tee (which is also near the 18th basket) - makes arriving/leaving real easy. Some good shade near parking if you want to hang out. Course plays up, down and across the expanse of a pretty big hill, giving you some uphill, downhill and sidehill shots. Decent incorporation of trees to force a variety of shots. Nice pavillion at top of the hill
Cons: A few tees have dropoffs at the end - watch your footing so you don't turn an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Nice course and worth making a modest drive to play. It can get busy and it is not uncommon to have bigger groups of new/newer players - never had a problem being invited to play through bigger/slower groups.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, fun DGC

1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: Mayes2158
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course that plays up the side of a decent sized hill, that at hole 17 lets you throw a 800'+bomb down the side of hill. There are quit a few aceable holes.
Cons: If it is crowded, a lot of the holes overlap or are in very close proximity to each other, so watch out for discs. Signage is not the best, but I did manage to find my way around my first time there.
Other Thoughts: Looking for a fun course, then you will not be disappointed, if you stop in here for a quick round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.