Haslet, TX 
Haslet Community Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #4 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The Pinnacle of Average Courses

1    4/26/2017   5/30/2017
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 209  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on a very well maintained piece of land. There is a lot of room for the course, with none of the holes really throwing on top of each other.

Navigation was not a problem. The tees were all very well marked with small but adequate concrete tee pads.

The course has an ok variety of distances. The few trees that are thrown throughout the course provide some extra challenge on an otherwise challenge-less course. The creek that comes into play at the beginning and end of the course does add the most challenge on the entire course. Hole 17 was an especially challenging hole where you need to decide from the tee if you want to lay up or go over the creek.
Cons: This might be the most average course I have ever played. No holes to me stuck out as good holes. With the lack of trees and obstacles, most holes felt exactly the same. Unfortunately, this course is not really a birdie fest that you would expect at a course with a lack of obstacles. The distances are mostly too long for an average golfer to put a string of "2"s together, so it takes a bit of the fun away

I had to wait a few times for a runner to run on the path that does cross multiple holes. Be careful and mindful for joggers. From what I could see, the course and park is not utilized too much, but it still is something to consider.
Other Thoughts: This is the most average round of disc gold you will ever play. From reading the other reviews, this course went from bad to average, so that is a plus. There is very little risk to lose a disc, very few people so it may appeal to certain folks.

I have not played too much within the DFW area, but I am confident there are much better places to play than what this course offers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/10/2017   3/11/2017
Review By: Bradydean817
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: tee markers help navigate.
good use of the land with little elevation.
empty park, both times I've played i was the only one out on the course.
Cons: Teepads are too short.
pretty wide open but with some fun holes where water comes into play.
Other Thoughts: i live close so i enjoy it, wouldn't suggest someone to drive across the metroplex for it
It's a great course for a feel good round or work on your game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

1    1/25/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: CantThrowStraight
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Good open area for long shots and lots of holes to throw hard on.
Cons: Not enough obstacle to be a course. There are some small bushes around and water along most of the course. The creek that runs through is very shallow and not wide, so it's not too hard to deal with. This park has too much public use to have a DG course on it. There are kids everywhere and adults walking slow everywhere. Kids picked up my disc twice to start running off and playing with them.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to practice on during the week as I assume it has less people there. Don't go on nice weekends. It's packed!

 nothing special

1    1/12/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: texhop58
Played: 76  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *concrete pads (reverse in typical direction)
*signage arrows
*flow well
*a few really good holes placement along creek for challenge.
*18 hole course
Cons: *routine, nothing special really. each hole is a 300 foot throw in a field with a few trees.
*tee signs could help explain directions of throws. most were logical, but a couple had two baskets in close proximity.
*it weaves in and out of a heavily used walking track. I had to wait on almost every other hole to let a walker, kid on a bike, or random kid running to throw. I dont mind having to wait once or twice, but it gets to a point that its annoying
*no trademark hole
Other Thoughts: hole 2 was one of the best designed holes, dont know if it was just accidental today or not. First time playing and some of the locals told me watch out as the water has not drained. It played like an island with water on both sides. I am assuming they meant there was normally not water around the right of hole. but it still made for a great hole

if the course wasnt in the DFW area, maybe the course would rate higher, but there are so many great courses in this area. I dont see myself making another trip out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good redesign

1    12/30/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -redesign makes great use of the land features around the park
-a few of the new holes make use of the elevation
-new holes make really good use of the creek
-nice discatchers with directional arrows to next tee
-nice concrete pads, but a little short
-good variety of distances
-well-thought pin positions
-navigation is intuitive and easy
-playground for the kiddos
-still planting new trees but the one they planted 4 or 5 years ago still aren't really growing. could be awhile before that is ever a factor
Cons: -never a day without wind at this course, deal with it
-pedestrians on the foot path, roaming children
-still a lot of wide open holes
-very muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: This course really benefits from the redesign. The new holes make great use of the land features with 2 holes making use of the hill and several holes playing alongside the creek. I also like that they ditched the 3 pads per hole and focused on making one well-designed tee location.

The layout is fairly challenging with lots of distance, water hazards, and the wind. Big arms can score well but the combination of the water and wind will make you think twice on some shots.

This course used to be pretty forgettable but the new layout is fun and a challenge. I'd say it is worth the drive to come check it out. It certainly doesn't compare to many of the great courses around the metroplex but for a change of pace, the course is definitely worth playing.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The good, The bad, and the ugly

1    6/12/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: They have nice park here that is kept mowed. It is new and the baskets and tee pads were all new too. The water will make you think twice and the few trees are fun too.
Cons: Well...... NO MAPS!! Not on line and not at the park! That is totally frustrating wandering around a park with no idea where to go at times. I never did find the #7 tee pad. The little arrow sign on top of the #6 basket pointed to ??? The day I went it was HOT! There is very little shade as all the trees are young
Other Thoughts: It is worth playing (in the morning during the hot summer) I lost a good disc here in the water on #2. That set the mood for the day sad to say :( I think if I played this one more I'd warm up to it. To me the first impression was "It's nice"
Please don't give me a bad review yet. I'm on vacation and will update it when I get home.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Haslet On The Rise!

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: strain
Played: 42  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice clean open course with a good variety of left and right shots and some short and long shots. The playability of the course is fairly easy as long as you stay out of the creek and don't throw over the fence.The park is very clean with plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the course. There is a creek that comes into play with plenty of OB, adding a challenge on the front nine. There are some nice wide concrete tee pads on every hole with nice yellow DISCatcher baskets that are visible from each tee. There are good signs on each tee providing all the hole information. There is plenty of parking and restrooms with water fountains on sight for your convenience. There course don't seem to get crowded so you will most likely have the whole course to yourself when you play here.
Cons: The concrete tee pads are a little short for my taste, especially on the back nine, being there are longer holes. Some baskets are close to other tee pads, so there is a chance of hitting other players on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has really come a long ways. This course is a lot more fun now, since it was re-designed to an eighteen hole course. Sunscreen and water is a priority during the summer months being there is a lack of trees for shade. It is all open! This course is worth stopping by and throwing a round if your in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.