Camdenton, MO 
Dragon Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #9 (Taken 2/2016)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
beautiful/tons of fun

1    7/21/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: mattrowe
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dragon's Ridge is a very challenging/technical 18 hole course. It will force you to throw all kinds of shots. It's in a beautiful spot, I took my wife and she really enjoyed the hike (she doesn't throw). The course is very easy to navigate once you find the first teepad. Each hole has a map, and the basket positions are clearly marked. I didn't see any trash on the course, it seems to be maintained by a crew/club who really love it.
Cons: Not all holes have concrete teepads. There aren't any holes where you can air out a distance driver... this is a "speed 7 and under" kind of course.
Other Thoughts: This course hasn't been reviewed in a year. It's a real gem, and deserves an average score a higher than it's current score of 3.45 IMO. I took my wife and her 70-year old parents (they enjoy hiking) on a 90-degree day, no one complained the course was too rugged.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a hiking trail with a disc golf course

1    6/30/2016   7/21/2015
Review By: specsman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets, signage, concrete pads, fun holes, easy to find, ample parking, wildlife, benches, shade, technical, and more...

Edit: great locals, when visiting family I found my chance to hit this course again and ran into league night. They have a great bunch of locals to play a round with on a Thursday evening.
Cons: I had a hard time finding tee #2 and it appeared that somebody had uprooted the sign and I couldn't see the basket so it took me a while to figure out where I was supposed to go -- but that was the only hole with that problem.

edit: the fixed hole #2, but the city is building something around another hole and will probably require reworking it.
Other Thoughts: I'd almost call this course an Ozark hiking trail that just happens to have a disc golf course along it; but that isn't fair to the fact that it really has some well designed and fun holes.

I always play DG in my sandals but that is NOT an option here. You NEED to wear some good shoes and clothes that you aren't afraid of getting dirty if you end up butt scooting or climbing down a ravine to retrieve your disc. This is not a course that you can write on your scorecard, look at your phone or daydream while walking; if you do, you are likely to have bad day -- watch where you are stepping.

If you are used to flat terrain, you are going to love hole 6. I wished I had a giant bag of discs I didn't care about and could have just thrown discs at that basket all day long. I agree that hole 7 might be the signature hole for the course, its perfect.

I definitely wouldn't take a total beginner or somebody that is afraid of hiking on this course; but if you aren't afraid of a workout, up for a technical course and up for an adventure then its a must play. I'll be playing it everytime I visit family in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 hidden gem

1    7/17/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: jaketaco
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good use of the land and elevation

Challenging fairways, but not impossible "poke and hope" type holes

Terrain is rocky, so there is not much underbrush that grows like I am accustomed to.

The placements are nice. Some are guarded by trees, some are on the edge of cliffs, one was elevated in the middle of a tree.
Cons: They still need a few tee pads on the newer holes, I am sure they are coming soon though, and the ones that didn't have them weren't on a bad spot to throw from

Not really a con, but this course would not be great for a beginner, if you don't have decent control, you're going to have a rough day.

Other Thoughts: They did a good job designing this course. The terrain is rough, but i loved it. They had a disclaimer, saying that several holes are steep and rugged. You need to be in decent shape and have good footwear. They warned you. I really liked this course, its several hours away, but I'd definitely make the trip again.

side note: Had my first ace ever here, so I'll always have a soft spot for this course, but it genuinely was fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 dragon ridge

5+    1/1/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: kirk
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads are all done..work is constantly being done to improve this already awesome coarse, there are multible basket locations to keep it interesting..the local club has put a lot of work into this coarse and it really shows, great signage, benches at most tees, trash cans...sweet
Cons: still needs some stairs and step work but i have no doubt that will be tended to in the near future, a very rugged and heavily wooded coarse, they recommend good footwear and extra water so prepare for this and enjoy .
Other Thoughts: This coarse is a wild ride through the rugged untamed ozark hills..it is a true jewel to play, I truly look forward to every round ..its tough but fair, its cruel but rewarding .if you play this game for a little extra exercise then this is the coarse for you...located at the lake of the ozarks i can see this becoming a destination coarse for many lake visitors..

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.