Levelland, TX 
Levelland City Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #19 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 White Tee: OB street, OB fence, be careful to not hit vehicles.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Nice course in West Texas

1    3/20/2018   3/24/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 22 holes with alternate tee pads, one hole even had alternate basket

Course winds all the way around the park, but care was taken as to not interfere with other park users.

Cement Tee pads were in good shape

Very pull cart friendly
Cons: Map on the Kiosk is in bad shape
Tee signs are mostly wiped out
A few spots can be a little tricky to figure out
Other Thoughts: You don't expect much playing courses in West Texas. This course is a pleasant decent course to play. While not a top notch course, it is very reasonable and does make you use several discs in your bag.

Hole 1 is the signature hole, raised up basket on a "lighthouse" which is where the local club gets it's name. Then just look for the yellow posts with a slanted sign. Most were marked with the hole number. Holes 2 to 6 wind around a low spot that looks like a flood control pond. After 6, you cross the street to 7 throwing back west.

Hole 8 has 2 baskets, one was just over some bushest and was a blind shot, the other was way back to the street on top of some huge tires. (elevated basket) Then 9 and 10 work your way back to the road in the park.

11 turns you back slightly up the hill west, and 12 takes you back towards the road.

Then there is a 12B hole It is a short one along the road with a building near the basket.

Then cross over the parking lot and road to the south edge of the park for hole 13 that throws down near the road.

14 has you throwing a huge turnover around the outfield fence of the baseball field.

15 is a decent shot back along the road

16 is a great hole, down a nice row of trees with the basket located in a triangle area surrounded by the road, it makes it an island hole.

Then cross the road over to 17 that throws with the flood pond on the left up to the road on the right.

18 has the flood pond on the left again, with the road on the right and right behind the basket. Over throw this one and you are OB.

19 is a little crazy hole, you are throwing over the parking lot with a fenced in area on the left. The basket is down in some trees.

Then a short walk to 20 that has you throwing back towards that fenced in area with some bushes and trees around behind the basket.

Then hole 21 has you throwing on the back side of the fenced area with the park boundary and fence on the right. Not a long hole, but watch out for that freaking poll, knocked my disc right over the fend into the oil companies property. There is some holes in the fence that I was able to crawl though and get my disc. Heck of a way to finish the round.

In all, I mostly enjoyed this park. While it is wide open, there are some tree's. And because it is not a heavy wooded course, it does have some long holes.

Would I play here again?

I would consider a tournament here, I love small towns. But this is not a destination course. I would not drive out of the way to play a round here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
Pros: Overall a nice park. Not alot of other traffic around the park to have worry about.
Cons: Either through vandalism or neglect most of the maps at each hole were partially or completely missing. The map on the bilboard by hole one and on this site can be hard to follow and not totally accurate. You had to kind of backtrack to get from one basket to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This looks like it was a great cource when it was first laid out back in 2007 but it has run into a great bit of disarray now.There were markers put out that looked like they were going to put up new amateur tee pads but it was really hard to tell. On a personel note when you are going to have pro and amateur it is usually better to have seperate tee pads instead of seperate baskets. Every course I have played at that was supposed to have seperate baskets did not have them up.

 

1    2/23/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: There were bathrooms onsite.The course had good tee pads and baskets. I liked how the course was a good mix of longer shots and 300ft holes. I also liked how holes 16, and 20 were longer holes with trees that left a nice line too throw down.
Cons: The course had tee signs but most of them did not have the map on them anymore. The tee pads are labeled wrong so follow the yellow post for the hole markings. It would be nice if there were arrows pointing you in the right direction because I did not see hole 13. Many holes were in bad locations including holes 14 which plays right beside a baseball field. Holes 16 was one of my favorite holes but you have to throw over a road which isn't safe for oncoming cars. Hole 19 had a mando that forced you to throw even closer to the parking lot and over the road. Then right by the basket there was a fenced off area. That is too many obstacles on one hole that are dangerous. Hole 21 also was right by the fenced off area.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was fun but nothing spectacular. I would rate this course a 3.2- 3.3 but this website does not offer that option. I rated the course a 3 to get the course average down to where I thought the course rating should be.

 

1    5/12/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: BigN8r
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Like said earlier large course and fairly well maintained. Some monster par 3's out ther that were a little frustrating for a beginner with me but that's all good! It's impossible to loose a disc on this course so playing it with kids would be very easy.
Cons: The main sign with the course map has part of it ripped off and the sign at 2 and a couple others were gone. It got a little confusing backtracking to 13 but those are really my only gripes.
Other Thoughts: The park seemed to be busy but when I was there we were the only ones playing the course so not too busy on a Saturday afternoon.

 Nice Course

5+    1/1/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
Pros: This course is very fun to play, and you get to start your round with a very unique shot for the first hole called the "Lighthouse". This course is maintained pretty good. Course has a good variation of trees versus open fairways. This course also has several holes that the hole placements are changing fairly often. This course will test you on your hyzers, anhyzers and your straight throws.
Cons: Not very much elevation change. There is no water in play most of the time and when there is it is usually stagnent. If you are not familiar with the course than you will want to take a good look or a picture of the map at the picnic area, because the course can be hard to follow.
Other Thoughts: There is a picnic area by hole one that is very convenient if you want to bring a sack lunch or just take a rest if you are going to play multiple rounds.

 The best course around Lubbock for miles

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well laid out, easy to find next holes and well marked. Challenging but easy enough for someone new to learn. I will continue to play this course as much as I can and would recommend this course to anyone interested in visiting Levelland, Tx.
Cons: The parks department could keep the grass down a little better. It is not allowed to park on the grass in the park and it would be nice if this was enforced more due to some of the public will park on the grass and is sometimes in the way of drives.
Other Thoughts: Would be willing to talk more about the course to anyone visiting Levelland, Tx. or thinking of playing this course. I can be contacted by calling the Levelland Police Department and asking for Craig.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    5/7/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: D Law
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and fairly open course. Obviously I'm biased but this is my favorite course bc its the one I grew up on. Hole #1 is the "lighthouse hole" and its an aceable hole but you could also easily get a 7 on it especially if theres wind involved. Hole #4 will be the new location of an island hole thats not finished but when it is..think TPC Sawgrass. Great course for big arms and you can use every shot in your bag. The city and local members always do a good job of keeping the course looking good. The likeliness of losing a disc is very, very small.
Cons: Because of vandalism, some tee signs are ripped off and there can be some confusion on where the next hole is if you've never played this course.
Other Thoughts: Happy to see that this part of Texas and Eastern New Mexico are starting to really get hooked on disc golf and we're starting to see more and more courses pop up in this area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SWEET

5+    8/22/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: LAWMANIII
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Easy to find. and easy to follow. Great signage. These people really take care of their course. Plenty of Long holes and technical holes as well. I would definately go to a tourney here and i had an awesome experience. Lighthouse is totaly awesome.
Cons: try to finish before dark. try to get the bulletin board fixed on the back side so we can see when you guys have local rounds.
Other Thoughts: You guys give Disc Golf a good name.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Need to play with locals

1    3/18/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: manuel_g85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large course with nice baskets and concrete tee pads (although the run ups are a bit short). Good mix of long and short shots throughout, and many tree hazards and mandos make the course more challenging. Nicely maintained since it is in a local park. The lighthouse hole 1 is definitely unique and fun to play.
Cons: When we went, the signs and scales were not accurate with the baskets. It seemed as if the baskets had been moved around and the signs had not been updated. Many baskets had random numbers on them that would throw us off as to which basket belonged to which hole. We actually got confused several times because we would find the tee pad but were not sure which basket to throw to. The concrete tee pads are nice but felt a bit small and awkward.
Other Thoughts: You need to play with locals or someone who knows the course. I'd imagine that I would enjoy myself alot more knowing exactly where to throw to and not having to guess. Im sure I will have a much better opinion of the course once we play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/11/2009   1/14/2009
Review By: lighthouse
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love playing the course because it is close and it is my home course. I also love the fact that you never lose a disc unless you just leave it. Of course the Lighthouse on hole #1, our signature hole that is about 11 feet high, is a must play. I think the course flows very well and is easy to follow.
Cons: It has already been said about the course, but few elevation changes makes the course somewhat repetative. Park users parking in fairways is sometimes, (but seldom) a problem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.