Andrews, NC 
Heritage Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #4/13 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 370ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 and #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Nice Park With Decent But Flawed Course

1    7/18/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: Majshark
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Nice, clean park.
--First part of the park is a nice wooded area that is well maintained & provides some nice shade and challenge.
--Some slight elevation change in the first part.
--In the second part of the course, the wide-open field lends a great view of the wonderful North Carolina mountains.
Cons: --Clear signage is lacking, which made the course difficult to play. Could not tell from many of the tees which basket to aim for.
--The back portion of the course is in a field with tall grass, thus not only is there no obstacles, but the tall grass makes it difficult to find your discs.
--No obvious place to park; we parked on the side of the dirt road.
Other Thoughts: Not bad at all for a course located in a small mountain town. This course is far from perfect, but if you are in the area and need a disc golf fix, it will certainly do the trick.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

How Many Heritage Parks Are There?

1    5/27/2018   8/9/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.999 Rating) A small city park course with a mix of open and wooded holes.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I'm not sure the locals realize how good they have it. They could have put this course just about anywhere in town and I likely would have scored the natural beauty above average. The park itself has average city park feel to it and there are a couple manmade structures in view. However, what makes this course beautiful is the backdrop views. The snowbird mountains on the western backdrop look absolutely wonderful.
- DUEL PINS - One of the better things about Heritage is the duel pins at each of the 9 holes. I'm a big fan of this type of format when space is at a premium. 18 quasi-unique plays just feels a bit more like a real disc course even if the fairway lines start off the same.
- CHAINS - Two beautiful DISCatchers per tee. One yellow and one green. The yellow baskets are labeled (1-9) and the Green layout is labeled (10-18)
- NAVIGATION - Adequate. There's a course map near tee (1). I took a picture and referred to it a couple times. Although there are no navigational cues, The layout is open enough to easily spot other tees.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Although the target audience is lower Recreational players, bringing a first timer out here is very doable. There's limited overgrowth areas and no water hazards. Several open plays but also some short moderately wooded plays. I found the course layout to be near ideal to learn the game.
- PICNIC TABLES - There are 3 picnic tables at 4 tees with one picnic table two tees, for holes (3) and (9).
- QUICK PLAY - Whether playing 9 or 18, the layout moves quick. Figure 25 to 30 minutes solo and 50 minutes for a group of 4 to play 9. Double the time for all 18.

Cons: Doesn't quite feel like 18 holes, but close.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - A touch below average. The course reads as low Recreational level difficulty. The shorter woodsy portion has no overgrowth below meaning a miss will still allow for a good look to save par. The open portion of the layout, although longer, has just about no obstacles in play and the fringe overgrowth here should easily be avoided by experienced players. I figure 850 rated players should average par out here.
- UNIQUENESS - Other than a good mix of moderately wooded holes and open holes, the variety is lacking. No water elements on the layout and there are no heavily wooded holes with defined tunnels or pockets. Only one par 4, but at 475 feet and open, Advanced players should be able to deuce it.
- ELEVATION - Sadly the course is located in a flat valley. Not one hole rises or drops by more than 10 feet.
- MISSING SIGNAGE - Lots of missing or damaged tee signs. I want to say that less than half of it was intact on my May 2018 visit. The signage that is here only shows hole # and distance.
- TEES - Most were dirt or mud. The info on DGCR says wood chips, but I don't recall seeing any. In the open portion of the layout the tees were a worn grass patch.
- PARKING - I drove around for a couple minutes and couldn't locate any parking. I checked Google Street View to write this review and also could not find any. Perhaps the locals park on the grass near tee (1). I have no idea.
- SPACING - Holes (1-3) and (8-9) are really crammed together. It could get interesting with a bunch of players out on the course.

Other Thoughts: Heritage Park is a solid 9 hole course that I'd happily play all the time if I happened to live in town. Worth a stop for those traveling through this part of North Carolina that are going through disc golf withdrawal. It has all the basic elements of the game and is void of any glaring flaws other than subpar tees. Plus, there really aren't any other courses nearby, so at least the one that is out here is reasonable.
- FUN FACT - There are 14 courses in the U.S. with the name Heritage DGC or Heritage Park DGC. I somehow have played 4 of them. My personal favorite of the four is in Live Oak FL, I gave that one a high 2.5 and it was my first review ever.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 68  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes by the parking lot are quite fun, especially #2. Baskets are in good shape. The two baskets adds a bit of variety if you want to stay and play 18 (full disclosure, we did not).
Cons: No tee pads. Open holes are pretty repetitive and boring, and if you were to throw a disc into the rough, it may be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: Glad to see a disc course where there's no other courses around for miles. This one is relatively thoughtfully built, but could use a bit of work before I'd call it "average".

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Little Course with Big Potential

5+    4/27/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: Dusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent layout given the space available. You can tell a lot of thought went into the design. There are a variety of shots required, so no particular throwing style has an advantage over another. There is also a nice mix of wooded and open holes. This course is located in a valley adjacent to the Nantahala Forest, providing gorgeous mountain views throughout the round.
Cons: Most of the holes are on the short side, experienced players will only need drivers for about a third of the drives. The natural tee pads tend to become very slippery after a stretch of rain. Also, there doesn't seem to be any distance markers from the tee.

Other Thoughts: Although many of these holes are short, that doesn't necessarily translate to easy. There are several courses that are much longer where I typically finish with the same score.

This course appears to be maintained in most part by a small group of enthusiasts. I assume mowing and maintenance is a responsibility of the parks department, which seems a little inconsistent. Last summer the town held a firework display in the field, and apparently did nothing to clean up the debris afterwards.

Adding concrete or some other tee pads would go a long way for this course. I think it'd also be great to add some trees or bushes in the large field. This would improve the aesthetics and course layout simultaneously.

The design and beauty of this course is a real treat given the location in rural appalachia. It isn't a professional caliber layout, but nonetheless a very enjoyable day of golf.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.