Dumfries, VA 
Panther's Lair @ Potomac Middle School Share
Uploaded By: G Bud Hole #7 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 178ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
could be a good beginner's course; not yet

1    11/5/2018   11/7/2018
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am speaking as a beginner. It's designed to be open. When the terrible thicket is cut down again, it will shine better.

I like that there are 3 elevations to contend with.

I like that it is on a school campus. There are several cameras on the buildings. There is also an elementary school across the parking lot.

I LOVE that (under best conditions) it's virtually open.
Cons: However, many of the baskets are plagued with this horrible thorny thistle. Apparently more times than not from the other reviews. Not only do you lose your disc, you get cut up as well. Perhaps the staff will mow that down this winter. We can hope.

If you are a beginner, this is a course to lay up on if thistle is involved (even when mowed back). Save your disc!

I did not find one tee! Are they being stolen or otherwise removed? Take the online map/scorecard here (as noted many times in other reviews) to be able to guess where the tee is supposed to be.

There are too many forehand drives from the green tees. Us backhanders have to throw to lay up to the left of the basket. Not the end of the world but potentially always adding a stroke. Yes, I will eventually learn a forehand stroke!
Other Thoughts: On another local course (Bluemont in Arlington), the staff has a sheet to record play to know how often the course is used. I think this place could follow that practice and do a better maintenance job. I will ask them to put such at hole 9 on a chain on the bottom of the basket (since the tees vanish so often).

Park in the main lot of the schools on the north end. Walk down the alley on the side of the school (also used as a driveway!) to hole no. 1 on the north side of the tennis courts. After 1, walk south around the tennis courts to a path that descends. Nos. 2 and 3 are there. You come out on the upper field for nos. 4 and 5. Lower field for 6-8. Back to upper field for no. 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awful

1    9/11/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: GreenFieldsDC
Played: 93  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course laid out between an athletic field/track and a middle school.

Accessible from I-95. Usually not other throwers out, but that's not necessarily a good thing.
Cons: Poorly laid out; "fairways" cross each other and are confusing. Almost all tee markers are grown over and impossible to find. No tee boxes.

BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY, the upkeep on this course is obviously not a priority. Brush and plants around baskets have completely grown over and are impossible to retrieve discs from. I might be bitter because I lost my favorite driver on this dumbass course, but still....absolutely no care is being provided for on this course. The brush around the baskets, impossible/obstructed angles to holes, and crowded/shared nature of the course itself makes for a pretty terrible experience.

Do NOT go out of your way to play this course, especially with Pohick Bay and the Lorton course nearby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  I had a terrible time here

1    7/30/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: Homechilidog
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 6 was very fun! It's down a hill and across a soccer field! :D The tee however, IDK if I found it. haha.
Cons: The course is not kept up whatsoever. The Baskets were in high, rough grass. The tee were nonexistent. I've been to some bad courses, but this is by far the worst.
Other Thoughts: I think this would make a good little 9 hole course if they would keep it up. I mean there was tall grass and thorns right off the path. Don't kids play around there?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Maintenance.

1    7/26/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: EdMcMuffin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some holes were entertaining.
Multiple Tees.
Hole 6 was way fun.
When I played, not much activity(7am Sunday)
Cons: Most holes were VERY easy. The holes that were tough, were tough because of maintenance issues. Tees were extremely difficult to find. Once I found the tees, a few holes were not mown resulting in 2 foot tall weeds surrounding the target.
Other Thoughts: Bring a course map from the files. This course would be impossible to play without a map since the tees are so well hidden under weeds.
Bring plenty of bug spray. The tall grass around the targets means you will be going in the weeds to even just retrieve your disc from the basket. It's a shame the course isn't better maintained, as this would be a wonderful course to introduce a new player to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 first time in the panther's lair

2-4    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: 2headstalking
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course layout. design has utilized nearly all the terrain features and locations available. Great set up, and with the multiple tee locations, this course can challenge any level of player. a few elevation changes from tee to basket, I found that very challenging and fun.
Cons: Some tee locations (there are 3 for each tee) are hard to find.
Grass was very tall around the baskets making it difficult to take some shots accurately. Geese like to hang out around holes 6,7 and 8.. so, don't wear open toed shoes or flip flops..
Other Thoughts: while only a 9 hole course, this course, with it's 3 separate tee locations, can go from very easy to extremely difficult. especially the hole 6 white tee shot. a wonderful course that while challenging, is also very fun. Make sure to print out a map so finding tees is a bit more easy. All in all, while I've only been to 3 disc courses in my time, this was a very nice place.. And it's only a mile from where i live, so it's extremely convenient to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Multi-Tier

2-4    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 563  Reviewed: 373  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course advocate G Bud, who has designed a course which maximizes the available elevation and obstacles.

Excellent map, making navigation a cinch.

Three tee locations per hole, with a fourth (blue) being planned.

Brand new baskets.
Cons:
Suffers from the problems that most school courses encounter:

- limited hours - no playing during school hours / outdoor events

- if the soccer field is being used, holes 6 & 8 would be unavailable

- if the track is being used heavily, holes 4, 5, and possibly 9 would be unavailable. On the day we played, only a few people were using the track, and we still had to wait on a few occasions.

Fenced-off out-of-bounds along left side of fairway-2, behind/right of basket-5, and possibly in play with out-of-control throws on a few other holes.
Other Thoughts: Course plays in the bits of open space separating and surrounding the various athletic fields of the middle school's campus. With the school sitting on one plateau, a full-sized track on the plateau beneath it, and a soccer field on yet another plateau beneath the track, there are definitely some elevation changes available.

Three tee positions per hole, marked by in-ground toe-boards, which were simple enough to find when using the map - finding the tees and discerning the flow would be difficult sans map, although G Bud had marked the tee locations with small flags.

Baskets from the green tees have an average length of ~165', so very suitable for the kids/beginners. Reds average ~235' and whites ~290', so control when dealing with elevation change and wind (there was stiff breeze blowing down from the school onto the field the day we played) will be the primary challenge you face. The fairways and baskets are definitely on the open/unguarded side, although some baskets sit upon slopes, creating possible runaways.

While white-6, ~350'+ feet across/over the soccer field to a basket up a berm and somewhat guarded by trees, is probably the most visual-appealing, my favourite hole was white-2, which requires a steady right-turner, slightly down a slope, to a basket ~300'+ away, blind from the tee area.

Very solid middle school course, making the most of the limited resources available.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.