Bristol, TN 
King College Share
Uploaded By: rvajf00 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2012)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
King University: Potential for royalty unrealized

1    4/27/2019   5/3/2019
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 196  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a couple miles from the landmark sign that divides Bristol into the Tennessee side and the Virginia side, the King University disc golf course features a scenic nine-hole adventure that starts with trying to locate the elusive first teepad and concludes several hundred yards from where the course started.

The course includes several holes that feature a gorgeous, grassy fairway. Hole #5 would likely be the signature hole - it's the longest hole on the course, and the lush landscaping is punctuated with some tall trees. The gently sloping downhill hole includes a stream in front of the basket.

Holes #2 and #6 also make use of this clean, grassy area. The second hole is flat but requires dodging a few trees en route to the basket. The sixth hole offers multiple lines - the risky, straight-ahead shot or a line to the right that brings a hill (and possible road OB) into play.

While Holes #3 and #4 are in the woods, they're both short and shouldn't bring many obstacles into play.

Hole #7 might be the most interesting hole on the course - the short precise drive requires dodging several menacing branches, then hitting a gap to the left that goes over a stream leading to the basket. While the hole is an estimated 150 feet, there are plenty of obstacles: tree limbs, the stream, briars to the left of the basket, and a surprise algae pond behind the basket.

The course is nicely isolated and is not near the university buildings and walkways.
Cons: The first hole is difficult to find. There's no parking lot near the first teepad. Or direction signs pointing the way. Or any indication that a disc golf course even exists in that area. As you enter the university campus through the large black iron gate, the first hole is on the left side; the rest of the course is on the right side. You can likely spot the first basket to your left as you enter the university, and your best bet for locating the first teepad might be backtracking from the first basket up the hill until you discover it. Another tip: When standing on the first teepad, if you turn around, you'll see Valentino's Italian restaurant several hundred yards away near the intersection of East Cedar Street and King College Road. Good luck!

In addition to its concealed location, the first hole is likely the most challenging hole on the course with its narrow line, bountiful brush on both sides and a steep downhill dogleg right to the basket.

The Hole #9 teepad is partially covered by erosion. Fortunately, it's one of the shortest holes on the course and doesn't require much of a run-up. The basket is well-placed between two enormous trees; hit that gap and you'll be making an ace run.

There's no signage on this course. The front of the teepads do have the number of the hole on them. Good luck guessing the distances. And you might find yourself doing the "where's-the-next-hole?" dance a couple times.

Park wherever you like. The first teepad isn't near a parking lot, and the last hole isn't near the first hole (see map), so a bit of hiking will be required regardless. After finishing your round, follow the walking path to the left and up the hill. Then turn left at the parking lot and enjoy your several-minute walk back toward the first tee.

Beyond the ninth hole is some picturesque land, including some grassy hills and a massive pond. While this area contributes to the campus beauty, disc golfers will be wistfully wish this land was included in the course layout.
Other Thoughts: The King University disc golf course has so much potential. However, in its current condition, there are several problem areas: tough navigation (especially with the first hole); no teepad signs indicating distance; and a few spots of neglect that would benefit from maintenance.

While the grassy holes are fantastic, the cons keep this course from being rated higher. If the problem areas were addressed, this course would merit a full-point increase in its rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

King University DGC

2-4    4/8/2018   4/30/2019
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for a quick 9 hole round. Fun layout. Good mix of wooded/open holes.
Cons: Long walk back from Hole 9 to Hole 1. Starting point can be hard to find if you have never played the course before.
Other Thoughts: This course may be hard to find online because some websites have it listed as King University, while others have it listed as King College. The actual school is called King University but it is located on King College Road so its kind of confusing. As for the course, this is a very fun little 9 hole course. If you are a fan of short 9 Hole ace run courses, this one is a must play. With that being said, if you are looking for a challenging championship level course, this is definitely not for you. I love playing short little 9 Hole ace run courses and this is one of my favorites of these style courses. It has some great elevation changes and a great mix of tight wooded holes and open holes. Water also comes into play on a couple of the holes so make sure you hit your lines! Like I said, not a big challenging course you need to go tell all your friends about but if you are looking for a quick fun round with tons of ace runs, definitely stop by this course! If you want to see this course on video, check out my crew playing this course in the video below...
https://www.youtube.com/watch...;pbjreload=10

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fair Course, Tough to Start and Navigate

1    6/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent challenge with a variety of holes. Most require weaving through trees while some are of greater distance in the open.
- Concrete tees and baskets are in good condition.
- This course is located just to the side of a university campus, so the scenery outside of the woods is rather nice.
- If you're looking for a quickly played course, this one might be for you.
Cons: - Frustrating from the start, the first tee is difficult to find. I will attempt to help ease the pain in the section below.
- Difficult to navigate from hole to hole. There are small trails here and there, but could be made easier with hole/course maps.
- Foliage is not well maintained. Discs only slightly off the fairway are caught under heavy brush which can be difficult to find then retrieve.
- Due to the lack of maps or signage, it isn't made known the pars for each hole. It can be assumed that the entire course is a par 3, simply because of the distance.
Other Thoughts: Once you get moving through the course, it can be very fun. Most of the difficulty lies in simply getting started, so I believe the best way to find the first tee is go around the left of campus until you find the soccer nets. Look for the nearest parking, as the tee is about 100 ft. to the right of the nets. If you enter onto campus, park beside the admissions building and follow the trail at hole 3 backwards to the beginning.
This is the second nine-hole course under my belt, and despite getting lost and almost losing a couple discs, I suppose I would return to play at King University.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    4/18/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: kawsnruckus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked this small course very much. As others said, I wouldn't make this a destination course BUT I would sure play it when I'm in the area. This course has fresh concrete tee pads and is well manicured. A couple of holes are super short and could make for a good ace run. My favorite holes are number one and five.
Cons: Not too many cons. Only a 9 hole. 18 would be great but I don't think there is room. The course needs some signage telling the par/distance. That would be a great addition. On hole 7, there is a big pool of water behind the basket. If you throw past the basket, you could lose your disc in this 2 foot algae pool. Long walk after you finish but it's not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again. I live close so it's not a bad drive. I wouldn't drive more than a couple hours though to play it though. Overall a good little 9 hole course. Play it twice and your set!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 322  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 23.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent little 9-hole course on a small college campus. I always love playing college courses because they often have large mature trees and the wide grassy fairways are green and usually freshly mowed- this was no exception. Some of the holes are more open park-style with a few large trees to avoid and some of the holes play through thicker woods with very tight fairways- I appreciated the balance of mix of the two styles. Water is also in play here on about 3 holes in the form of a small creek, not a disc eater unless it has just rained a lot, but still a hazard to avoid.

The baskets are easy to spot new Discatchers. There was nobody else playing and it probably does not get played very much.
Cons: Tees are natural and not marked. They are normal tee size rectangular area of dirt where grass was removed, but unless you know where they are, the tees are hard to spot. [follow rvajf00's guide to the tees in his review, they were very helpful!] It would have been "make-up-your-own tees" if not for that.

#1 tee was the hardest to find. We finally spotted #2 basket and walked backwards two holes to find #1. My best explanation is to pull in the farthest gravel lot on top of the hill and there is another gravel lot that looks like it goes to somebody's house. The tee is near there somewhere and the hole plays downhill through the woods.

Though the more open holes were perfectly manicured (2,4,5,6) the wooded holes (1,3,7,8,9) had narrow fairways and some trimming is needed. Spotters may be required in the summer even though the holes aren't that long.

#7, though my favorite hole which is a short hole that plays at a challenging angle over the creek to essentially a basket on a small island, unfortunately was missing its basket and only had the main pole left.

Hole #9 does not end anywhere near #1 so there is a lengthy walk back to your vehicle.
Other Thoughts: The course is nothing special and is not a destination course, but I did enjoy it and had fun playing here as a relaxing end to a full day of disc golf. The first round may be tough, but once you find the tees the course makes good logical sense. It is not a super easy and boring 9-hole college course.

I played on a Friday evening in the summer with no problems, but parking is usually an issue for college courses when school is in session. Not sure what their policy is so you might want to make a phone call or ask permission during these times.

Though the college is kind of small, there is a ton of open room to add more holes if they wanted to and some of the land just looks perfect for disc golf. In fact we came in the back way and thought for sure we knew where the course would be, but it was somewhere else!

The land and holes themselves make me want to give it 2.0- Reasonable, but the lack of any signage and the many spots that needed maintenance prevent me from giving it any higher than a 1.5, though probably the most enjoyable low-rated course I have played. It does have potential to improve though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: rvajf00
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied / Interesting Holes
New Disc Catchers
Not crowded
Nice bit of water hazards
Nice campus
Good mix of open / wooded holes
Good mix of long / short holes
Cons: Tee pads are just dirt / mulch
Tee pads are difficult to locate if you are playing it for the first time
Course does not end where it begins
Layout could make holes longer
Other Thoughts: This is a new course at King College and overall its nice but it could improve on somethings. There are no signs and the little flags marking the mulch teepads are hard to see. I didn't run into anyone else playing the course so I had to wander around a little and I ended up walking down a nature trail to the left of the basket on hole 4. If they reconfigure holes 8 and 9, add concrete tee pads and add signs, this could would be an excellent 9 holer.

Teepad locations:
Hole 1: From the parking lot, go down the hill a little to a stump and you'll see the pad to the right of the stump.
Hole 2: Go straight up from the Hole 1 basket. Basket is a dog leg right about 250 ft.
Hole 3: Go to the right of the basket up the little hill onto a parking lot. There will be a field on your right and the road ahead of you. Walk toward the road about 50ft and the teepad is on the edge of the woods on your left.
Hole 4: Go across the road (the gate where you came in will be on your right) and down the hill.
Hole 5: Walk up and to the right of hole 4's basket and the tee pad is near some trees near the edge of the road.
Hole 6: Go up towards the brick building to the right of the basket and teepad is on the side of the hill
Hole 7: Go toward the large brick building and tee pad is a little patch of dirt with a small flag - EDIT: This basket is missing as of 6.2012. Not sure if its being repaired, moved or if it was stolen.
Hole 8: Tee pad is to the left of the little pond
Hole 9: Tee pad is to the right of hole 8's basket.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ok course

5+    3/28/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: jgrubb22
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: course has a good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: hard to find tee pads if you havent ever been here.. def could have did the last couple of holes a lot better.. could fit 18 here if planned out a lil better..
Other Thoughts: hope they add more here cause it has room for it but i would change 7,8,and 9 around a lil diff

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    1/30/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: yebisay
Played: 98  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has a good mix of different holes. It is never very crowded and the fairways are pretty well kept up. A lot of birdie opportunities as well as a few holes that are quite capable of being Aces.
Cons: Not very many long holes. The first time I played I was 2 down the next time I played I was even and the third round I was 3 down. The tee pads are just mulch and not very easy to find.The course doesn't start at the parking lot and you have to locate the first tee pad because there are not any signs. If you get done playing 9 holes and want to play another 9 you have to walk almost across the campus which is about a 10 minute walk.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.