Disc Golf Center
Philadelphia, PA 
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #13
3 / 249ft.   3 / 206ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good for such an old course

1    2/21/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great disc golf scene
-Can play the front 18 with just a mid
-Classic course, one of the oldest in the nation
-The back nine and so much better than the rest of the course
Cons: -The front 18 are very crowded. Tees and pins VERY close to each other.
-Can play the front 18 with just a mid
-Plenty of homeless just dicking around on the course, slowing up the flow of the groups playing
-The other courses close by suck so this is the best place to play in Philly and that is just sad
Other Thoughts: Play it once so you can say that you have, but it's not a challenging course.
I can't deal with having to wait to play 18 because 5 guys not even playing any other holes are just unloading there bags at the pin. Have some disc golf etiquette guys.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Course

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rickerbocker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of narrow holes that will challenge your short and mid-range game. The change in elevation and creative use of the paths/woods made for a fun and interesting game. The multiple tees to throw from also lets you change up how you play the course.
Cons: Several holes (in the first 18 holes) seem to be very close to each each other and nearly overlap. An occasional, "Fore!" can be heard now and then. Some of the tees from hole 19-27 were pretty muddy when I went. Can be a bit crowded.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course, and its convenient for those in the Philadelphia area. I will try to visit this course more often; otherwise I have to travel a bit further towards Allentown or Tyler Park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 classic

5+    7/4/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great scene and atmosphere, beautiful course, lots of shot variety, well-maintained, great use of the available space, nice people, lots of benches and break areas on the course
Cons: gets a bit crowded on weekends, easy to lose a disc, some teepads are breaking down,
Other Thoughts: sedgley is a great place for a casual round with friends or for a serious game.

you will need every shot in your bag due to the awesome variety of holes. the front 18 are straight-up fun. the back 9 offer an additional challenge and completely make you forget you are in philly.

anyone i have encountered on and around the course has been friendly. as a new player, this is a great place to learn and appreciate the game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Traveler

1    10/17/2009   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the oldest courses I have played, it is a great course. Great people, that help thought out the coures. The coures held many different tournaments open to all players. They even had venders at each tournament.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you ever get a chance to play in the city of Philly, you have to go this course, it will not let you down.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic inner-city course

5+    3/21/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: mstrjollo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course near Philadelphia within 20 miles. 3 different T pads. 27 holes! Great wooded shots, requires supreme accuracy especially on the back back nine.
Amazing disc golf scene, comparable to the west coast. Always heads hanging around looking to join a group, and someone usually sells discs on weekends and after four during the week.
Cons: Holes on top of each other. No shots over 300 feet, maybe 2 or 3, but not by much. Crowded on weekends with beer drinking bafoons who don't respect the game.
Other Thoughts: My home course. Not necessarily my favorite, or most played, but it is where I am from and I know it backwards and forwards!
People put this course down far too often. The first 8 holes were some of the first this country ever saw. That is very much like the entire history of Philadelphia, not the best city, but the first at a lot of everything.
The back nine is a relatively new addition. Still is empty anytime I want the freedom to throw, so I love it. It has some tight long shots, not typical for this course. Check it out. FOur holes have been there for years, then two were added about 7 years back, and then the combined the 6 extra holes, threw in 3 awesome holes, and Sedgeley is a full 27 hole course. I love it!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Soggy Augie and his Soggy socks

5+    3/20/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 26  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *27 holes
*Great variation and creativity
*Friendly locals sellin discs
*Its a classic, the second oldest, Built in 1977 and rivals if not trumps Morley Field
*Good vibes, sick shots and multiple tee spots
*A great place to spend the whole day grillin, discin and relaxin
Cons: *Alot of people, but its ok cuz you can always hop on the back 9
*Wouldnt mid seeing some more mound holes
*That i dont live closer to Fairmount Park
Other Thoughts: The back 9 is a lot of fun and alot more empty in comparisson to the open field starting on hole #1. Despite the occasional back up on the tees this course manages to use elevation, trees and other obstacles that most popel would be suprised to find in Philly. Deff a better course than Tyler State Park and alot more clever, classic course designing. You cant beat a classic! I played it for a week straight every day while visitng my friend, so i think that says something.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

5+    10/21/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: Djmutiny
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where do I start? This is my home course. I play an average of WAY too many rounds here a week (10+.) What this course lacks in legth, it makes up for in character (and characters.) With 3 tee positions on almost every hole, you really can play almost any layout you like and with any skill level. The front 18 were installed in 1977 and remain largely unchanged. 19-27 were installed in 2005 or so and are definitely more challenging. The course club, FSW, and volunteers do ALL of the maintenance at the course. Almost all improvements are paid for out of money generated by tag sales and disc sales proceeds. I have never played anywhere else that has even close to the camraderie of this course and these golfers. It should be a must play for anyone who is able. I recommend Thursday doubles as a great way to see what this course and these golfers are all about.
Cons: Short, but a result of a design when wham-o was the primary disc manufacturer.

Crowded - Philly needs another course!
Other Thoughts: There is a new long teepad on 22! Hopefully we'll be putting in new long pads on 23 and 24 soon!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley

1    9/22/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 297  Reviewed: 287  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Navigation-- Easy to find your way through this course. Each 9 hole loop is marked.

Variety-- A lot of everything. Open, tight, ravine, blind.

Upkeep-- beautiful upkeep in this urban park.

Teepads-- Rubber, but not slick at all.

Pins-- all in good condition

Signage-- all in good condition and easy to follow nav.
Cons: Ravine shots-- there are three on the first 18. the first makes sense. the second two are completely blind and heavily wooded, very difficult to see where lines would be for someone who is just playing for the first time.

Other Thoughts: We enjoyed this course while we were in philly, but the ravine holes were excessive and kind of disappointing.

I threw a -2 the first time through.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A living legend!!

5+    9/9/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: soft focus
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ahhhh Sedgley.. A pro in itself... the best disc golf scene anywhere hands down. You could show up there at 8 in the morning on a Tuesday in February and there will be someone playing. 3 tag rounds each week with doubles following. The Course is maintained by the locals with money raised by selling discs. The second course in the country. 27 holes with the back back 9 being tough for anyone from the red tees. 3 tees on each hole so the "short" story doesnt have to be a true story. the front 18 are more finesse shots than power shots...all par 3's but the 2's are nice. Sedgley is a great course in the city that feels like you've left the city. If your close to the city you have to stop by and play it. the back back 9 are a little tougher to follow than the front 18 but well worth the extra steps.

Cons: older course with shorter finesse shots through the front.. gets crowded..long walk between 24 and 25.
thats it. i love this place.
Other Thoughts: Sedgley is a unique place with an amazing group of players that are friendly and extremely competitive.
always a money game if your a player for that type of thing. you cant beat the atmosphere here.....top notch!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Review after 3 months of playing here.

5+    8/21/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: jparent
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think one of the pros here is the amount of people that play on this course. There are always people by the basket of 18 often willing to play a few rounds with you (if you come solo). There are 3 different tees and one pin placement per hole. The course doesn't seem to favor RHBH or LHBH, there are clear distinct flight paths for all different throwers. The course was originally designed for big lids so the front 18 may seem short if played from the blue tees. The red tees may only be 10-15 feet further back from the blue tees but they can be extremely more difficult because of the new lines and angles. Without a doubt this course is worth it just because of the people that play here. There are tag rounds 3 times per week (Thursday 5 hours before sunset, Sat 12pm, Sun 11am, with 2$ doubles to follow). The course is very clean, and with the addition of holes 19-27 can really add a challenge to your round. The monthly tournaments are also fun, as you can't complain about 7$ entry for a chance to win some prizes and CTP's. The course is dog friendly and beginner friendly. There are usually people by the entrance of the course with a few boxes of discs for sale or to answer your questions. There are two practice baskets by the parking lot. Very dog friendly.
Cons: For the most part the front 18 are easy par 3's. You can pretty much always salvage a 3 out of any drive. One of my cons is that there isn't any public water fountains. The closest place to get drinks is about a half a block away at a ball golf driving range, or 1.5 blocks at a water ice stand. Some people may not like the amount of people or how close the tee pads are from the previous holes pin. The porta potties smell like .... crap, and they are right by the parking lot (they do have a ladies only porta potty though).
Other Thoughts: The front 18 can be played with mostly mid ranges and putters. There are rarely any chances to air out a big driver. This can be a good thing as it gives you a chance to get a lot of practice out of your short game. There seems to also be a lot of distractions while on the course since the fairways loop back and forth. Listen, if you haven't played Sedgley I would highly recommend it, especially if you are a new player. The course pros are extremely helpful and without a doubt have increased my skill exponentially over the past few months. I'll add more to the review when I think of it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.