Seaside, CA 
CSUMB Oaks Course Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #17 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    5/15/2017   5/15/2017
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: -Dedicated land for disc golf
-beautiful coastal flora
-large shot variety required
-forced lines and strict fairways requiring placement.
-uncrowded
Cons: -navigation is tough
-poison oak...worse than DeLa...in every rough!
Other Thoughts: This course has such a strange meandering layout over a very unusual stretch of land. With the constant mist and fog (when I've played) coupled with the moss swaying in the trees and the old baseball fields and abandoned campus buildings, Oak's has a ghostly atmosphere to it. I've played 8 or so times, and it has always been empty (or felt empty). Even if there were people out on the course, fairways don't parallel each other, so I never saw them.

CSUMB Oaks Course

1    12/11/2016   1/20/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 116  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads with notches carved across

Has tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has multiple basket placements for some holes

More open than wooded fairways with some holes having slight changes in elevations - which will be fun to the casual player
Cons:
Baskets are hard to locate on some holes - need flags or bright paint

Needs more next tee signs - recommend a course map for the first-timer

Some holes require blind shots - recommend a spotter

Ice plant vegetation made footing difficult to throw

Some holes have fairly long walks in between such as 1&2, 3&4, 7&8, 9&10, 11&12, and 13&14 - not really a con in my book but some may not like the additional walking on top of it being a long course

Pay to park
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging 20 hole course in Seaside that I enjoyed playing while vacationing out here. Being from the Southeast, I noticed that the flora here is very strange from what I'm accustomed to seeing. Lots of spongy ice plants are scattered throughout the course - making it very difficult to get a firm footing when throwing. The trees here are a factor in catching discs. Some of the holes could have used some next tee signs to direct flow. After holing out on #7, I went to hole #9 tee pad by mistake instead of hole #8. Fortunately, there was another group ahead of us that alerted me that we missed hole #8 - what a scenic hole that is with the low canopy trees! The Mach V baskets were in great shape to play with but some are hard to spot from the tee pad with the trees in between. Some holes had some long walks between holes but I didn't mind it since it was cool and windy on the day I played. This is a fun course to play but beware that it's fairly remote and lacks the amenities of a nearby restroom/porta potty, water fountain, and parking can be a long walk.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Seaside Enchantment

1    12/19/2015   2/15/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 126  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 14.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- Free course
- Full 18 and another Full 18 nearby
- Large circular concrete tee pads. They're my all time favorite pads
- Tee signs mapping distances and multiple pin positions
- Multiple pins
- Not a lot of underbrush to lose disc in
- Some variations in elevation
- Unique terrain
- Not crowded
Cons:

- No current pin position indicator
- Rundown dilapidated course surroundings
- Tee signs were beat up, one was missing.
- Hard to see baskets need a splash of color
- Directional signage between holes was lacking
- Mostly open or hyzering around or up and over the landscape
- Windy course
Other Thoughts:

Let's start with the parking confusion. It's mentioned by other reviewers that parking is free at the vet clinic, but it was a little trickier than simply parking there and walking to the course. It was the weekend when I played the course and the clinic was closed, yet the prominence of the "towing of unauthorized vehicles" signage remained. I decided to just bite the bullet and pay the 4$ all day parking fee. It was nice that the parking pass dispensers took cash or card. Later, I ran into a local that confirmed that parking at the Vet clinic on any day of the week was a safe choice with no chance of being towed. There are campus police roaming around, so do be careful.

As for the course, it was fun, but kind of trashed. The tees signs were run down, and there were old neglected items throughout the course. It was kind of cool, kind of and eyesore. It didn't take away from play, just an observation. I liked how different the trees looked and those weird rubbery bushes were throughout the course. Poison oak wasn't as big of an issue as the reviews and signs made it out to be. It probably could be in non winter times of the year though. All the different terrain, variations in distances, and slight elevation changes made for a fun round, even if the layout was a little more open than I'd like. Also, those tee pads were legit. I loved them

With the amount of land that this course was built on I doubt it ever has overcrowding issues. In the middle of the course navigation became difficult due to the lack of directional signs, luckily we trailed a duo of players. At one point we they even left an arrow etched into the dirt/sand for us to follow. It's hard to pinpoint exactly what I didn't like about the course other than there were a lot of the same shots over and over again. To be honest, it got a little boring. I would have liked to see some more creativity on the course. Most holes didn't really punish bad drives off the tee. I think the course was between a 3 & 3.5 . The close proximity to another 18 may have influenced the my decision to round it up a little.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    1/17/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Park for FREE at the VA Clinic.

Mix distances for the shots. On 01/17/15, the two long holes were set at the longest distance, one at 700+ feet and the other just under 700 feet. The photos of the course are not current as they do not show the very nice large circle T pads at each hole.

2011 PDGA Tournament was played here and that is when all of the improvements took place. The signage is accurate and intact.

Holes 10 through to 27 are the best of the course.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: AWESOME views of Monterey Bay on a clear day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    5/17/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through two distinct pieces of the property. The beginning and end of the course play through a flat area with scattered trees and bushes. There are some longer holes here, and many where you have to get a little creative to place your shots where you won't end up behind an obstacle to your next shot.

The middle of the course is a lot more interesting. There are a couple shots with cool elevation changes, using a fairly small but very steep dropoff to create a tricky uphill shot, a fun downhill shot and a couple pins with roll away potential. This part of the course also brings a more wooded area into play, forcing some shorter but more technical line shaping. You'll have to have some diverse line shaping skills to score well in the dense small trees here, and missing your line will require creative shot making to recover.
Cons: Navigation is tricky if you want to play just the Oaks layout. Signage and concrete tees are only installed for the worlds layout and the numbering doesn't correspond to the original layout. There are also several changes to the layout from the original, so the map isn't quite accurate and the next tee signs on the course aren't always accurate either.

The open part of the course got a little repetitive. Lots of poison ivy in the woods, keep an eye out especially on the paths between holes. The tees that aren't on the worlds layout are often pretty soft sand and don't provide the best footing.
Other Thoughts: Parking is difficult, I found it easier to just pay for a metered spot than try to figure out where it was legal to park for free. You may want to park halfway between the two courses on site if you plan on playing both, the lot by the oaks course was gated off and there didn't seem to be much right by this course.

Beginners will find this course significantly tougher than the Cypress course, with more length and more holes that offer some punishment for errant shots. Experienced players will find some really nice challenges on some of the holes here. A guide would be really helpful to avoid wandering and missing holes.

(Note, my rating for the combined worlds layout would be higher than my ratings for either of the individual courses on site, it offers better variety and challenge and doesn't have the same tee and navigation issues.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worlds layout

1    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: jksenior
Played: 158  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course layout was very challenging, but fair. It required a pretty range of shots.
Wind can be a negative or a positive, but it good to get experience playing in wind.
Course navigation was good, so long as you have a map (use the worlds map)
I really liked the elevation usage, I.e on 2, 5, 12, 16 etc.
OB was in play on a number of holes and certainly added to the challenge on some open (and windy) holes.
The circular tee pads and signage were both good.
On several of the holes there were long PVC poles o getting discs out of trees. Very helpful and necessary.
Cons: It feels like a desert at times, very remote.
Play with a partner. I played alone without losing a disc, but a spotter or second set of eyes will help.
Almost all of the holes required a driver, with the exception of 3 or 4. Maybe some additional shorter technical holes would make it slightly better.
Trees do an excellent OB of catching discs, so take advantage of he poles that are provided on som holes.
A lack of benches and trash cans could be a negative for some.
Other Thoughts: This is a review based on the 2011 worlds layout. I really enjoyed the course, definitely a different experience than I am accustomed to in NC.
I had a good time playing in he wind, but bring appropriate discs.
I preferred this course over Ryan Ranch because it provided a different experience than I've had. For those ball golfers out there, I thinks this is similar to playing an Oceanside links course like kiawah.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Surprisingly Enjoyable Walk

1    5/5/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 55  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course is in great shape and challenging
Interesting terrain and scenery
A nice mix of interesting and unusual shots
Plenty of room to warm-up/practice
Friendly folks
Fairly easy to navigate
Tees are all new concrete circles and the baskets are in great shape
Signs are all new although not completely clear in a couple spots
Cons:
Wind can be fun (not a true Con)
Footing can be challenging in places with the ice plant, sand, and other fun things
No restrooms/water that I could find
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Do take one of the Otter maps located here: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../2b556208.jpg
Take water and use the restroom before you head out. It's also not a bad idea to tell someone where you're going. It's deserted out there. Or bring a spotter, which is not a bad idea.
I think you can still park on Engineer Lane for free in the lot near #9.
Save yourself some pain and start on #1 to get warmed up.
Pay attention to where #25's basket is. It's towards the road a little to the left of the tee box. As you can't see it from the tee, it's easy to throw to the wrong spot, and do ignore the white plastic pipe sticking up in the air. That's not a basket indicator.

Random Thoughts:
Let me first state that the course(s) are still set-up for the Worlds tournament that occurred last year, so this is really a review of that set-up versus the original Oaks course (i.e. 19 holes on the Oaks and 8 on Cypress). Having said that, I had a surprisingly good time out there. Now I did make the mistake of starting on #11: a 705 foot ass kicker of a not-a-good-warmup-hole with few precious desirable landing spots. Nothing like a 6 right out of the gate. And truthfully, I think the difficult holes are really on the Oaks course, which is why I recommend you start on #1 over on Cypress to give yourself a chance to get warmed up. But even with that error, I really really enjoyed this course. After reading the reviews, I was a bit trepidatious about playing this course, and while I certainly see the complaints (the ice plant, the poison oak, the dense shrubbery), I believe the positives about this course far outweigh the negatives. This course changes its personality every few holes. You start out in a lightly wooded area and then you're out in a lake bed, and then you're in the deep woods, and then you're back out in the open, and then back in the woods. There is constantly interesting terrain around you and it's quite enjoyable to not just play through but walk through. It's also kinda cool/creepy to walk through the abandoned baseball fields in those spots. It's like you're disc golfing in an abandoned city. Anyway, as for the holes themselves, well, you're going to need every shot in your bag and you're going to need to be precise...in the wind. There are few places on this course where you can just rear back and let fly. You always have to be thinking about your path and landing zone on this course. Not just because there's a tremendous amount of OB on this course, but because there's precious few desirable landing spots. And by desirable landing spot I mean: non-OB, decent footing, visibility of the basket, and a desirable attack angle on the basket. And this is in play on every shot. Not just the tee shot. And if that weren't challenging enough, the wind is JeckyllyHydy out there. It's not blowing one minute, gusting the next. I threw back to back tee shots that landed 100 feet apart because I misjudged the wind at that moment. You're also dealing with a lot of elevation changes both uphill and downhill. Combine that with the wind, and once again you're using a lot of brain power before you throw. As far as signature holes, I would say I liked #14 because you not only throw over the lake bed on your first throw but you have to hit a billiard like shot uphill into a pocket of trees on your second shot. #15 is an enjoyable tunnel shot in a visually interesting forest. #17/18 are fun (yet butt puckering) bomber shots. I liked #9s demand of precision, and I enjoyed missing the island green on #4. I also enjoyed the challenge of the long and tree filled #27 which will demand 2 if not 3 precise throws. So with all that said, how did I do out there? What can one expect? Well, I'm probably an Intermediate/Lower Advanced player at this point in my disc journey. I'm typically right around par on the courses I play. For the 27 holes out there that day, I walked out with +9 including ~3 penalty strokes, which I felt was quite fair. Most of the time, the strokes I gave away were my fault versus anything 'unfair' on the course. So I really have no complaints about the course set-up. It seems like the right amount of difficult yet fun to me.

Bottom Line:
Of the courses I've been to thus far, I think this one may be the one that has the most elements of what makes disc golf fun: elevation changes, trees, terrain changes, long shots, short shots, left shots, right shots, OB, precise landing zones, wind, etc... The only thing really missing there is water. Is it a tough course? Absolutely. Is it beginner friendly? Noooot really. But I really enjoyed my time on this course and look forward to going back. Bravo!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Worlds 2011 Layout

2-4    6/18/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Discette
Played: 397  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was fortunate to play the 2011 Worlds layout in advance of the event with course designer Merle Witvoet. The map for the 2011 Pro Worlds layout (and the updated Oaks layout) should be available by 7-1-11. Many holes have been redesigned and new placements installed in the past few weeks in preparation for Worlds. Some holes were permanently relocated, especially around the "ropes area".


Land is dedicated to disc golf only, although there may be an occasional dog walker or hiker.


The new tees are 10 foot concrete circles. With constantly shifting winds and multiple pin placements these round tees allow for approaches from all directions. Definitely better than playing from the sand.


Multiple pin placements on almost every established hole with more to be installed on newer holes.


Course is built on coastal sand dunes. There are many oaks, ice plants and grasses. This is a rugged piece of property with its own special beauty.

Great variety of holes utilizing the elevation change, wind and vegetation.

Prevailing winds add to the challenge especially on more open holes. Windier in the afternoon or when weather moves in.

This course is challenging both in design and ruggedness of the terrain. Not recommended for beginning players or those with physical limitations. Course is sandy and many areas are covered with large patches of ice plants adding to the challenge. Oak trees are very dense and make it difficult to retrieve discs and to get out of trouble.
OB areas are well marked and add to the challenge.
Cons: Sand and ice plants make for challenging footing on the fairways.

As with all courses in this area, there is poison oak. Be prepared if it is a problem for you.

No restroom facilities of any kind. Ample opportunity to rough it.

Due to elevation changes and/or vegetation, some pin locations for Pro Worlds are blind. Designer is already working to install flags and trim vegetation to increase visibility.


Not recommended for beginning players or those with physical limitations. It would be near impossible to use a stroller or cart. Would recommend the CSUMB Cypress Course across the street instead.


Would not recommend playing alone. Vegetation can be very dense and lost discs are a definite possibility. Again, play the Cypress Course instead.
Other Thoughts: This course really is exposed to the coastal winds. Players not familiar with wind play will suffer. Bring a jacket or sweatshirt as the constant ocean breeze can get chilly after a while.


Pro Worlds will use the redesigned 18 holes for the Oaks course plus 7 from the Cypress Course across the street. Pro Worlds numbering is different, with normal Hole 1 on the Oaks being called Hole 11 for Worlds.


The hard working volunteers are finishing the installation of all new tees by July 1st.


I had a chance to play the seven holes from the Cypress Course. While they are set on more typical park land with grass and sidewalks, there was still challenge from the wind and elevation changes. OB roads and sidewalks are well marked and add challenge to these holes. (Other extra holes will not be set up until Pro Worlds.)



8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging yet Disappointing

1    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Jahilbert
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Oaks course gives you everything you want in a course. Elevation changes, wind, woods, open areas, left hand shots, right hand shots......beautiful scenery, distance....the works!
Cons: With all those great pros, the course is in shambles. No one seems to know where the first teepad should be, several baskets in th 8-10 positions are missing and the navigation is downright cumbersome. My group of four experienced players who had all played the course before, spent more time looking for where we were supposed to throw then actually playing. After playing a new and improved Ryan's Ranch in the morning, this course was just frustrating. You can definitely see how great this course could be if it were cleaned up and navigation provided! This local club has lots of courses to maintain so I don't blame them, they do great work!
Other Thoughts: DO NOT FOLLOW LINK FOR MAP ON DGCR, IT IS OUT OF DATE!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The Oaks Course

5+    9/9/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: NoTwoToFours
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging pin locations and green variations. This course has excellent flow and plenty of natural beauty to compliment the design. Definitely a championship caliber course, with a great mix of long fairways and tight wooded greens. New O.B. areas make for even more of a challenge. Certainly a rugged course, with no forgiveness for bad shots. There are also some great look-out spots in which you can see the entire Monterey Bay. The wind does add another challenging factor into the course design, since about half the holes are w/ tail wind, and the other with a stiff head.

All in all, I can see why the local tournaments held at the Oaks probably draw so many World Champions and NT point leaders each year; and is also most certainly deserving of the 2011 Pro World's!
Cons: No concrete tee-pads yet. Lots of wind on a breezy day (almost everyday), can make it a challenge for those not used to such conditions.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if ever given a chance!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.