Conway, SC 
Coastal Carolina (CCU) DGC Share
Uploaded By: Im_Ryno Hole #4 (Taken 10/2017)
3 / 154ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

2-4    10/21/2017   10/22/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 105  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coastal Carolina University (CCU) is a fun 9-hole course on a pretty piece of property on the campus of CCU and the adjoining community college.

+ The entire course is on a beautiful tract of land, park setting, bordered by campus roads and the main highway. For a quick causal round of golf, this is the best option in Myrtle (as far as 9-holers go). I don't see a reason to pay per round at Tupelo Bay when you can play as long as you want to at CCU for free.

+ Good baskets.

+ I was really surprised by how long the holes were. Most 9-holers are pitch and putts. Not CCU. All holes are over 200 feet, almost all over 250 feet (maybe 8 out of 9?), and about half are 300+. And if that's still not long enough for you, you can play CCU safari style. It's really just a big field dotted with baskets and beach trees. The tees are natural and marked (for the most part). But you can throw to any basket from anywhere you want to.

+ Very clean and well-maintained. Manicured grass. Feels like you're on a ball golf course. No risk of disc loss. No underbrush at all.

+ Easy to get here from Myrtle Beach, right of a main highway. Park at the bookstore across the street from the course.
Cons: CCU is a fun 9-hole course, but does have some frustrations:

- The course is not well marked for navigation. Tees are marked with dual white PVC pipes. But they don't indicate which holes they're for. Sometimes it's intuitive, but not always. I played to the wrong basket a couple of times and didn't realize it until I got close enough to see the number on the basket. Also, the way they've laid out the course doesn't match up with the UDisc map. You can choose which one you want to follow though. Like I said, there aren't real tees, so you can play it however you want to.

- Tees are natural and not always well marked or easy to find.

- No elevation. (They did a good job of using the space they have though, including nearly 100% of the property and good guardian trees.)

- Not much variety. They mix it up some with distance and trees, but not much.
Other Thoughts: If you play 1 9-holer in Myrtle, play this one. If you play 2 courses in Myrtle, play Socastee and this one. Socastee is clearly tops, but Tupelo Bay is a distant third.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

October 2017

1    10/19/2017   10/19/2017
Review By: Im_Ryno
Played: 128  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Landscape kept very well, beautifully mowed grass.
Bring a putter and a mid, you won't need much more. The course is great for practicing those shots!
Cons: No tees
No signage
Pretty confined space
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed when I visited this course. The pictures I had seen all showed tee boxes and great signs. When I went, all tees had been removed in return for a couple pvc poles spaced about ten feet apart and grass in the middle. All signage had been removed. The only distance I had to go off of was what had been provided on DGCR previously and was then outdated. I was unsure about a couple of baskets and their correlating tees because the only hole information was the number on top of its target, my eyes just aren't that good. Hopefully the absence of tees and signage means they're testing for a longer hole layout!

 Uncomplicated and fun

2-4    2/4/2016   2/9/2016
Review By: Disc Ordat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is easy to find, located just off a major intersection. It's well laid out, and easy to follow. No problem whatsoever getting from tee to basket to tee. I'm told there is nice signage during the on-season; off-season tee boxes are marked with PVC piping. Course is in terrific condition with few obstacles. There are a few strategic trees, but mostly wide open. Will be better as it matures. Excellent for beginners and short hitters.
Cons: Sadly, not very challenging at all. Course is wide open with very few difficulties or distractions. Will be boring for good players. Tees were barren ground, although mulch is reportedly laid down during warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Convenient to Myrtle Beach resort area and easy to find. You can easily play 9 while friends grocery shop; 15-20 minutes tops. Park across the street at the CCU Book Store, as the closest lot requires sticker.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 hole ace run!

1    7/18/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 87  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The title says it all! Very nice well maintained course. I was on vacation when I played the course, so I was able to get in and get out when playing. I was able play the course in 15 minutes.
Cons: Other than having some weeds in the a few of the tee boxes and one of the signs being knocked down there are no other cons.
Other Thoughts: Fun short little course if your on vacation. Not much variety but the cleanliness makes up for it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

1    7/19/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: beardlikeabe
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2015
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am on vacation with my family in Myrtle Beach and this was the first thing I did this morning @7am. The course is open from sun up to sun down and is an excellent practice course.

Simply put- you only need a mid-range disc and a putter to play hole 1-8. You MIGHT need a fairway driver (thrown at 3/4 speed) for the 9th hole. I used my mid-range and putter the entire time.

The course is absolutely beautiful and the baskets are excellent.
Cons: Its short and could use a little bit more diversity
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a course to perfect your short game, approach shots and putting, this is the place to be. I wish I had a course like this near my house for the practice it would allow.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Putt-Putt!

1    6/6/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice to see disc golf officially incorporated into the local university to grow the sport. The grounds of this course are impeccably maintained, far better than most short courses I have ever seen. Beautiful shrubs and flowers lined almost every hole.

Baskets were all gently-used Discatchers.

Tee boxes were ample and allowed far more runup than would be needed on most of these holes.

There was actualy fair variation in the shot types needed on this course, and a few ornamental trees actually became obstacles if the golfer missed in the wrong position.

This would be a great course to introduce a beginner, or for someone to come and play this one using SuperClass discs. I think SuperClass might make this one a lot more fun now that I think about it.

Most high level players will be able to easily birdie every hole, and have mostly unrestrained ace-runs if that is what you are looking for.

The tee signs here are really nice...far nicer than I would have expected from such a short course.
Cons: The obvious - most of these holes are well under 200 ft. I think the yardages on the signs may even be a bit generous. This is a complete pitch-and-putt. It was so short that I actually found it hard to get myself invested in the round. I can see where that would be nice for someone trying to sneak in a quick round in between classes though, so I suspect this course is filling exactly the role for which it was intended. I'm not sure if that is something that I can fault the course for.

I didn't enjoy the woodchip teeboxes. They were very uneven, so even if I had wanted to do a runup, I'm not sure if it would have been a very stable platform. Luckily a runup here isn't generally a necessity.
Other Thoughts: I am always supportive of schools setting up disc golf on their property, especially when they let outsiders come in and join in on the fun. I would have liked to have seen a bit more of the available terrain used in the making of this course so it could have a bit more challenge to it (there are stakes and flags out right now with hole signs, so as far as I know this might be happening in the near future...maybe a redesign or a back 9?).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course has been redone Fall '15

5+    10/16/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: chris.hill
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/18/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (I'm revising this review to reflect the course remake. This part still applies) Well maintained, easy access, never crowded. I have had a lot of fun on it.
Cons: Was super short, now it's better. Still a Par-3 on every hole, but now the holes are longer and there are some trees you have to navigate. The course drains poorly, and after rain it gets sloshy and the tee boxes may even fill with water.
Other Thoughts: It used to be this course was ridiculously short, with few holes over 200' and some under 150'. Now it's more reasonable. It's still an easy course, well maintained and beginner friendly. But I played it today (with an ultimate disc) in a big wind and was happy to score 27, where under the old configuration I was trying for a 2 on every hole, and usually ended up scoring 20-23. So it's better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good but small

1    3/20/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: SamuelCollins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -very good location right on 501
-the grounds are on the ccu campus so it is very well keep
-no water or another chance to lose disc
Cons: -Very short holes
-most baskets are located Very close to next Tee
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a nice little course. Very short and easy so any good player looking for a challenge should skip this one. On the other hand if you are looking to introduce someone to the sport or work on your short game this is the perfect course. It has a few obstacles and could have made better use of the land available.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Putt-Putt

2-4    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 317  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coastal Carolina's on-campus disc golf course is located in a small landscaped section of a field just off of US-501. I've never played a disc golf course that looks like it was designed by a landscape artist, but this short little 9 hole has young trees and woodchips galore on this pristine little patch of land. Very thoughtfully maintained and manicured.

Because of its minimal length and solid Innova baskets, this would be the perfect course to teach children to play the game, practice your short game in a somewhat competitive setting, have an ace run, or set the world record for most holes played in a 24-hour period. Play this course for 30 minutes every day after class and you'll be the Phil Mickelson of disc before you know it.
Cons: This course is short enough to be designated disc putt-putt or disc mini-golf. You'll only need a putter and maybe a mid for this one. As a result, there's no opportunity to stretch your arm or even feel like you're doing anything other than killing time. A fairway obstacle or two would've helped make this a little more interesting and challenging, but you'll have a clear path to the basket every time in this complete openness.

Woodchip tees are loose and uncomfortable, but you won't be doing much of a run-up anyway, so the impact is negligible.

Almost all of the baskets are located extremely close to the next tee. Coupled with the length of the holes, and there could be some serious safety concerns. Luckily, the course seems like it's rarely crowded, but as a previous reviewer mentioned three's a crowd in this case.

Despite being on-campus, the course isn't particularly close to any academic buildings. Personally, I would use the course as a way to kill time between classes, but having to hoof it out to the field makes that a less likely prospect for students seeking a casual way to waste time.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, this course is very, very short. I finished four successive rounds in about 50 minutes while waiting for a basketball game to start at the HTC Center on the other side of campus. This course is a fun way to waste time, but nothing more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

5+    9/6/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: Sarge Cal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. My short game and putting has improved drastically. Great for a quick game and to practice your throws with no chance of a disc getting lost.
Cons: Almost no obstacles. CCU decided to cut almost all the trees. Pins and tees are close together. Dangerous if more than a couple people playing at same time.
Other Thoughts: Greens beautifully kept as it is on campus. Great place to introduce someone to disc golf. Where I first played and now hooked.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.