Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - North Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #1 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 316ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1    1/1/2017   5/23/2017
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 7/6/2017
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cons: ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Other Thoughts: ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Had to force myself to continue this one

1    5/12/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic - It was a fine wooded park, but just a park. Not dirty or anything. Nothing to really say it was aesthetic, and nothing to say it wasn't. The birds were really nice though, lots to hear, and a good deal of Orioles talking. I wouldn't say any signature beauty within the course though.

Challenge - I would say challenge was a pro. Not that this was the most challenging I've seen, and some of the challenge was paste a bunch of trees in front of a basket. There are strategically placed trees, some really tight dog-leg right and left and longer holes.

TeePads/Baskets - The teepads are long and straight, nice. The baskets are nice, and most are decent to spot with the shorter holes

Signage - The signs for each hole are markings on the 4x4 posts for each hole. For the most part they have hole, distance, and general layout of the hole. No signs pointing the next hole for the most part and it would be nice here and there as the next hole isn't within a few feet of the previous basket on many holes.

Variety - I have to say that there is a large variety of holes, just not my style of variety for the most part. But technically speaking, holes range from just shy of 200 feet to over 400 feet in length. Elevation changes, some up, down, some up and down, some down and up. There are blind drives, dog-leg left and right. Most holes are highly technical with moderate to heavy trees. If you visited the course multiple times it would probably make more sense, but not for this one-timer. There are at least 4 holes with blind drives, and 2 of them I'd be willing to say that shy of luck or a pro-golfer, nobody is getting a good look at an ace or even a birdie.
Cons: Fun - I am going to say it is a CON. Unfortunately, the holes that have blind drives, the ones where baskets aren't easy to spot, and the ones where a post pointing next hole aren't all the same hole. So the course kinda drudged along for me. Always searching for something, the basket, the next pad, or a driving lane or the impossibility of it. Some of the course was fine, couple good holes, but, just not my kind of course.

Congestion - I was here in May, during the week, during the day. Not many people (you're probably saying, why a con then). There were a few other disc golfers but nothing to be concerned with. However random people were just on the course, not disc golfers, and I'm not even sure they were walkers, they were sitting on trees in the middle of the fairway and what not. We skipped a hole due to them, and waited on another due to walkers.

Locatability - For such a compact course holes should be easy to find. But the map is horrid, and as mentioned there isn't anything suggesting direction to next hole, and locating the basket can sometimes be difficult because during the middle holes like 6 to 16 they are under the canopy of the forest and sometimes deciphering which basket is which or identifying yours at all is a struggle. On such a compact course this should never be an issue so I would consider this a major problem.

Maintained/Bugs - We were here in May, and didn't have any issues with bugs. And during the main stretch of the course, it doesn't need maintenance since it is under the shade of such tall trees. But at the beginning of the course, like holes 2 to 6, the grass was so long that with morning dew we had sloshers even tracking down discs in the fairway. Then the last holes, the trees have grown past the original design I'm sure which have blocked the original driving lanes, making some holes not really worth playing (I have a pic which I need to upload showing the 1 foot driving lane available).
Other Thoughts: Whats holding it back from higher rating - I would give an additional .5 if there was a good map, signs indicating where the next tee was, and painting of the baskets or something to make the baskets more easily identifiable with hole#. I would give an additional 1 full point if someone came thru and either move a few baskets (not shorter, just re-design/re-thought), or landscape the course so either the original drive lanes, or new drive lanes were present and usable by the vast majority of golfers.

Kid Friendly - Yes, the course is relatively short, and besides for the random and strategically placed trees that kids will definitely be hitting, I think kids will like it.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - I'm on the fence on whether these folks would like this course. This course is compact, but some of the holes have some elevation too them. Having said that, after the first 11 you end up back at the parking lot and could call it quits, and are near the parking lot for many of the holes after that.

Rookie & Average & Pro Player Friendly - I think it depends on if you are in the area, and who you are with. Alone, I would say no. But spending an hour or so with friends, especially if one of the people knows the course, and you know what to expect, then you may have a decent time with some friends playing disc golf, it just so happens to be here at Brewer Park. But there are so many better courses to hit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun course

1    2/18/2017   3/3/2017
Review By: jmherman
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I like this course. it's fun to play. some good challenging holes. well laid out and designed. This course has character. This is a family friendly course.
Cons: needs more signs showing where next hole is. not the courses fault, but this course seems to always be windy.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to going back and playing again!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well Done

1    8/6/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: GetMeOutdoors
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is well designed and interesting to play. Open shots and woods shots, hills and flat, right, left, straight. Uses natural landscape to give the holes character. Fun to play. Not too technical and good for family play. Great tee pads (concrete) and signage (simple but effective)
Cons: Wish it had multiple tee locations
Other Thoughts: I wish I could play this course more often! Fun!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than South

5+    6/1/2013   10/16/2014
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like this course, as to me, it's way better than South. I play this side the most when I go to the new brewer. Which is not as much anymore because of the entire park change.
Cons: The park changed. The old brewer was 1 million times better. Not as much people go to this park now with the new change.
Other Thoughts: It used to be that it would be crowded when going to brewer. You would have to try to go in the morning to play at ease. Now with the new brewer, it rarely gets crowded except for tourny days.

Blue was the best course for most people, and me. And the old four courses keep the park more fluent.
- Bring Blue Back!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northern Exposure

1    10/13/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 144  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly solid course in a typical city park setting. Has some pretty decent length and nice concrete tees. Probably the best thing going for the course are plentiful, mature deciduous trees that mostly provide just enough obstacle factor without ramping up the luckiness or discouraging you from ripping your drive (as opposed to holes so wooded you have to really go into finesse mode).

The variety isn't textbook but the land and hole shape changes enough that you don't feel like you're playing the same hole repeatedly. Fairly decent elevation comes into play from time to time.

Goes without saying, there's another course right next door, which has to be considered a "+" when on a road trip. That never hurts.

Surprisingly devoid of litter. Buckets at each tee provide ample opportunities for disposing trash.
Cons: Shows some age, especially the baskets and signage. Some old Machs with shallow trays can induce the occasional mind-boggling spit-out. The tee signs are about as detailed as a paleolithic cave painting done by an elementary student. And that's the holes that have them; many do not.

Biggest con are some safety issues. Hole 1 is really short-sighted design. The mando on the kiosk (while necessary and appreciated) isn't going to do anything to negate the very high potential for grip locks straight into the parking lot. I saw 2 golfers do exactly this and they weren't exactly n00bs. Not a good idea to have a hole run parallel to a parking lot, especially when players aren't warmed up yet.

Some of the fairways have a tendency to run pretty close to each other also, raising potential for friendly fire. 11's tee is ridiculously close to 13's basket.

Not a terribly hard test of one's line-shaping ability. If you can throw decently far and straight you stand a good chance of tearing this course up. That being said, the trees do a good job of asking questions of what line you want to take off the tee instead of forcing a particular shot.

Navigation isn't too bad but can be quirky due to obvious signs of redesign and the ability to spot multiple baskets from some tees.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely play here again, for sure. Fun, fairly low-stress golf in the classic sense. Probably not my choice for beginners due to the length and some safety issues but I recommend it for anybody in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 154  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-Variety of terrain (open, wooded, canopy of mature trees, some elevation change)
-Variety of throws required (Left, right, hitting tight gaps, uphill, downhill, open)
Cons: -Fairway overlap (Some holes run parallel to each other with no foliage to prevent bad shots from finding neighboring fairways. One hole (4?) offers the distinct possibility of landing in two different fairways other than the one you are aiming for.
-Beat up old baskets
-Poor signage (Signs consist of a small piece of plywood with a basic layout, #, and distance in Sharpie)
-Luck vs. Skill (While I like tight lines, a couple of the gaps off of the tee felt more lucky than fair)
-No true multi-throw holes
-The best way to describe the appearance of this course is a little scruffy lookin'.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course that has, for the most part, fun tee shots. With that said, the course has a few issues. The 3,4,5 area of packed together holes in an open field is a major design flaw. It's no fun when you have to wait on a group playing a different hole to clear your fairway. Signage leaves something to be desired, although there are a few directional signs to keep you on track. This is a solid course that I wouldn't mind calling my home course; although I'd be annoyed every round at the backups caused each round by the 3,4,5 sh!tstorm.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 4-28-13

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: mcnugget
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good distance holes some nice hills good hole placement
Cons: we smelled pot most of our round there was alot of loud and obnoxious people hole one is to close to the parking lot cars willlllll be hit
Other Thoughts: not favorite at all heard rumors about drug issues there but had to go the course looked really good

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No variation

1    3/14/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: wicket
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: tree obstacles, but all holes have lines to hit.
a couple mando's make some holes interesting.
Nice tee signs and pads.
Cons: Very wet. (swampy in some areas).
Not much variation, mostly straight up shots through trees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: edcarpus
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distances and shot requirements.
Lots of tables and well marked tee signs.
Very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Kind of "field-y"
Lack of next tee signs.
Can see parking lot from most of the holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.