Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #6 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Majestic Live Oaks

5+    4/24/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 166  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.098 Rating) One of Tampa Bay's longest courses (a 7,137 foot par 59)
- HOLE LENGTH - 22nd Street Park is one of the few area courses that has some good length to it, and even allows the big throwers to really air them out. The par 3's here average over 350 feet and several of them are over 390 feet. Hole (1) to start, is nearly a 1,000 feet long, and is the longest hole in the Tampa Bay area.
- UNIQUENESS - Although a flat course and void of water hazards, the overall uniqueness is a touch above your average 18 hole course. There are a bunch of 4's and a par 5 and hole lengths vary from 260 to 976. A few holes have some significant bend to them. Holes (6,15) plays along a dry creek bed. In addition, there is an overgrown mound on (8/17) that will test your combined drive shaping accuracy and length. In addition to water an elevation omissions, other missing items include a very well defined tunnel play, a true dogleg, and an overhead play.
- SIGNAGE - A wonderful course map is located on the walk to tee (1). Good hole signage is at all the tee pads as well.
- TEE PADS - Concrete tees were finally installed in either 2015 or 16. They are of good length and width.
- SPACING - Above average, perhaps there are but just a couple times that a disc can fade into another fairway.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues. Take a picture of the map at hole (1). If you take a picture, you'll have no issues on your first time threw.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although long, I still find the course acceptable to all skill levels (beginners thru pros). There are no water hazards and the fairways are more than reasonable spaced. I took my mom here once and she had a blast even though she couldn't throw beyond a 100 feet.
- RAW BEAUTY - Some of the most stoic massive oak and pine trees in all of Tampa Bay are located here. Some as wide as a small car. They will definitely factor into your thought process on how to approach a hole.

Cons: Just a few issues with 22nd St. Park.
- LOCATION - Although easy to get to from I275. The park is located in an economically challenged area. Break-ins have happened at the parking area. Be sure to lock your car and keep valuables free from view.
- ELEVATION - Very little elevation change. Probably varies by no more than 15' on the entire course and no hole varies by more than 10'. Surprisingly this is probably above average for the area. I will add however, that holes (8/17) plays around a large dirt mound packed with weeds and small bushes. You will hate your life if you find yourself in it.
- GRASS LENGTH - Disc golfers beware, Hole (1) is notorious for losing track of your disc. The hole is wide, wide, wide open and players generally try to rip their arm socket out on the drive. In addition, the grass seems to always be higher here, than the rest of the course. Watch very carefully to where your disc lands and keep track of the line you'll need to walk. I have spent hours searching for my discs and my friends discs on this hole.
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. Most of the back 9 tees are at different angles, and the distances vary both shorter and longer. The back 9 plays about one to two throws easier than the front.
- CHARACTER - Slightly below average. Other than tee pads and hole signage as mentioned in the pro comments, there really isn't anything else. No shelter, no benches, no tables, no multiple pin placements or tees, etc. There is good tree shading however with hole (1) being the only exception.
- 18 AND PARKING - Hole 18 finishes about a 1000 feet from the parking.
- TIME PLAY - Course is not a quick play, a group of 4 should plan to be here nearly 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: A very underrated course in my opinion. The course takes a big hit due to the area it's in, but I've yet to have any issue at the 10 times or so that I've played here. In addition, a lot of the older reviews knock it for natural tees and navigation, and rightfully so. However, both of those issues have been fixed now. If you live in the Tampa Bay metro, be sure to play this course at least once. Definitely worth a look see if you are from out of town and you like the longer courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Natural Florida at some of it's best!

1    12/25/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: Marcwrosejr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok, I would give this course an actual rating of 2.75 but since it's not an option and I think if I were to go 2.5 it would be to low. This is natural Florida at some of it's best. The live oaks are beautiful and some of the holes run next to the Hillsborough River.

I think they did a great job in using the trees to defend the holes. I wouldn't classify the lanes as open nor would I say there narrow, there pretty nice in my opinion. The oaks provide most of the obstacles, #8 is really the only one hole with brush around it.

The course is only 9 pins and they use multiple tees to turn this into and 18 hole course.
Cons: There are several tee signs missing. The natural pads are well worn out, I couldn't find #17's pad. A couple of signs are inaccurate. The flow isn't the worst but it could've been better.

No restrooms, water fountains or concessions.
Other Thoughts: It's an enjoyable course with great natural beauty. I will come to play here upon my next visit in Temple Terrace. There's also a course near USF I would recommend as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Natural Beauty

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I feel very lucky to read about and then get to play this very pretty course in Tampa, Fl. The course parallels the lovely, Hillsborough river and contains many challenging shots. I really enjoyed holes 2 to 5, and nine was a nice finisher. The course asks for hyzer, anhyzer, long and low shots. Really is a good place to practice shotmaking in a very pretty setting...There are holes ranging from 250 to 700 ft. so you really get to use every disc in the bag. I really enjoyed the varied opportunities found here....
Cons: Hole one is 700 ft. and just starts in a huge open field. with all the nice area around, I'm confused why this would be, but at least it gives you a chance to go for everything you have. There is confusion between holes 6 to 8. I accidentally played to the 8 basket from the 6th tee, and had to backtrack and redo it. It wont be a problem the second time, but was confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are nice, but seemed a bit low in comparison to other courses. Maybe not a con, but see what you think. Overall, its a beautiful course that is definitely worth checking out. I would have given it a three and a half if not for the strange layout around 6 to 8....

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2nd chances

2-4    4/17/2015   5/3/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 317  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 41.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2015
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous canopy of mature live oaks bordering the Hillsborough river. Blue Mach 5 baskets and solid tee signs and course map. Some benches.
New long & grippy concrete tee pads.
Much of the course is shaded in the mature oaks canopy, which is a bonus in our 10-month long summers.
Cons: The course is listed as 18 holes even though there are only 9 baskets with 2 sets of tees. For me, the litmus test for how many holes a course has is simple... how many groups can play the course at one time? If your answer is "9", it's a 9-holer.

Some of the multiple tees play very differently. Others not so much. If you can't consistently throw 400' in a field, you may have trouble scoring on this course. With the extra length on some of the holes, errant shots stand a greater chance of going into an opposing fairway.

The neighborhood is no country club. I never had an issue, but I've talked to people who have. Stay alert!
Other Thoughts: Some of the course recently underwent a re-design, which addressed some of the earlier flow issues, which were also removed from this review.
Originally over 700', the 1st hole has moved back another 200' to start your round at a whopping 900'! So show up...warmed up!

There is still a bit of back-tracking in one or two places, but a new area that had seemingly been overlooked (actually disallowed) is now in play and makes for a couple of interesting and very reachable shots. A steep drainage ditch bordering these new holes was smoothed out and sodded and more benches adorn the park.

The signs are being replaced and several of the tees will swap from 'front-9' to 'back-9' to make it easier for first-timers to find their way around.
Tees 1-9 will be on the right and tees 10-18 will be on the left.

A very conducive piece of property for disc golf, but the average hole length definitely speaks to the power player.

That said, it's still a nice walk through a scenic area while tossing some plastic.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.