Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #17 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A bit long, but fun with nice shade trees

1    3/2/2020   3/8/2020
Review By: ricklev
Played: 30  Reviewed: 30
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to get to off I-275 or Hwy 41
-Short walk from parking to hole #1
-Hole #1 is great for practicing your longest discs/drives
-After #1, you are surrounded by beautiful large trees with nice shade
-Clean course
-Lots of good places for lunch around the nearby campus (USF)
Cons: -Parking entrance and lot are not paved
-Hole #1 (976 feet) on windy day plays REALLY LONG!
-Some ant mounds, watch out for them
Other Thoughts: It was windy the day I played, and hole #1 (wind blowing against my throws) felt like it went on forever. I did like getting in the practice, though, of trying to improve my driving distance. As an average player, this course felt a bit long for me. However, I did enjoy playing here and will do so again. Maybe it will improve my distance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Hidden Gem

2-4    1/25/2020   1/31/2020
Review By: geocajun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained
Nice Signs
Beautiful Trees and scenery
tee boxes are concrete now
Cons: Obvious one is 9 baskets for 18 tee boxes. but honestly not a huge con if course is not busy.
Just personally hole one is a monster hole lol
Other Thoughts: Great hidden course that has been well maintained in middle of tampa. Location is great for us tampa residents that do not want to rive all the way to Pinellas county for a round. Curious to see how it will pay during the rainy months. Will definitely continue to play it since discovering it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scenic And Solid Course

1    10/17/2019   11/20/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 556  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 27.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I normally get a little aggravated when I see a 9 hole course with alternate tees passing itself off as an 18 holer , but this course is one of the exceptions . The places you have to park here aren't the greatest , but as you look over the landscape for the disc golf course , it gets better .The course was mowed okay and it was clean when I played . Bathrooms are near the ball fields . There is a nice kiosk near hole #1's tee pad . Take a picture of it or download the map . The large cement tee pads grip well . The signage is good , with hole # par distance and flight path . The blue Mach 5 baskets catch okay and are nice to look at ( harder for me to see at dusk ) . The course flows okay . After the long hole #1 and/or 10 , you make a hard left and play down the right side of the course until #6/ #15 which throws upward , then you go down the opposite side of the course for the last 3 holes . Instead of putting a smaller more open 18 hole course here , they put a dual tee 9 hole course with a lot more length . At 7132' for all 18 , this has to be one of the longest of the Tamps area . #1 is one of the longest holes in the Tampa area at 976' . The tee kind of points you in the direction of a large group of bushes and rough , with a little doorway in it . Aim slightly to the left of this area . The area is flat , but it will slope slightly downhill to the basket behind all of this . There is nothing here that is short ( #6 and #15 go in at 260' and 262' but are slightly uphill with obstacles like a gully on the left and brush in the fairway ) , with par 3's like 7 ( 428' ) and 18 ( 430' ) on the longer side . After teeing off at #1 , you drift away from other park activities , so you have to share the course with anyone other than some disc golfers . Popular ? I don't know , but on a Thursday evening there were some players out on the course when I was there . It's a good fit for most players . Disc Risk : minimal , since the course part of this park is so well clean and cared for . With no water hazards , as long as you watch your disc land , ( only a couple of spots where the basket might be blind ) and don't throw it up in a tree , your discs will return home with you . Once you start your disc round here , you will find that this course has a nice feel to it and is nice looking , with its large canopied trees , and 9 well placed blue baskets . Several good holes worth mentioning . #2/11 both give you different looks , but the basket is tucked in to the right of the course with sets brush on the right . #5/14 sends you from canopied tree to a cove of them with low hanging branches with Spanish moss on them . #6 & 15 are shorted uphills to a basket guarded by trees with a gully on the left . #18 is a great finishing hole , straightaway and flat , it has trees in the fairway and is 430' to a basket tucked in just behind a huge oak with a low hanging branch . This took me about an hour to play , and I was going at a good clip . It is going to take 2 1/2 + hours for a foursome . Signature Hole : #8/17 . These attack the basket from different angles to the right and the left , and the basket sits tightly against giant shrubs . Attacking it from 17's tee is a little more challenging because the giant shrubs create a tunnel to throw through from the left .
Cons: #1 Safety . Not from discs but the general area . The course isn't in the best neighborhood of Tampa , so make sure you lock up your electronics or valuables in the trunk BEFORE you get to the park . I was told break-ins occur here . Also , park as far away from the ball fields as you can . Even if teams aren't playing when you get there , they might when you leave . A softball through your windshield will ruin your day . #2 Crowds . This didn't affect my play , but since the course shares baskets , many people playing will jam this course up big time . #3 Distance . Not the course , but the walk from #9/#18's basket back to the parking lot is a few hundred yards . I finished my round in the dark , and walking out of the canopy and to your car could be eerie for some in pitch black and just suck for everyone else in the daylight . This course plays fairly flat , but the design made some good use of some of the slopes here , especially on the left side of the course . Not much in the way of amenities , no benches , or places to chill after or during your round , so nothing keeping you here after playing . No trash cans , so carry out what you carry in .
Other Thoughts: This course deserves some respect . Nothing here will stick in your memory bank forever , but it IS a well constructed course and gives you a scenic walk through the back of the park . I was brought up to date that this course has steadily improved over the last several years . If you like gearing up your arm for some lengthy throws and mixing it up with a few technical aspects in a typical park style course then this might be a place of interest for you . Thanks , Taylor Park Disc Golf Club and Tampa Rec Dept for letting me play here . My Recommendation : Even though long for newbies , little disc risk , good for the locals here . long enough for pros or ams , and a good leg stretching play for travelers , right off of I-75 . Play The Course !!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice course

2-4    5/28/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice and well kept course
-long holes to let it fly
-nice trees for shade on most holes
-tee pads and nice signs at each tee box










Cons: -no practice basket near 1
-confusing to get around at first
-multiple tee boxes per basket...what if both boxes busy
-first hole 976 feet...cant see basket
-no bathroom facilities
Other Thoughts: A little confusing to get around at first but enjoyed the course once I played it the first time...has a reputation for being on the bad side of town but I didnt have that feel about it...would recommend it to friends and play it when im in town again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic Live Oaks

5+    10/9/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 428  Reviewed: 418  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.018 Rating) (REVISED - replayed October 2017) One of Tampa Bay's longest courses, a par 59 coming in at 7,137 feet.
- HOLE LENGTH - 22nd Street Park is one of the few area courses that has some good length to it, and even allows the big throwers to really air them out. The par 3's here average over 350 feet and several of them are over 390 feet. Hole (1) to start, is nearly a 1,000 feet long, and is the second longest hole in the Tampa Bay area (24 courses).
- UNIQUENESS - Although a flat course and void of water hazards, the overall uniqueness is a touch above your average 18 hole course. There are a bunch of 4's and a par 5 and hole lengths vary from 260 feet to 976 feet. A few holes have some significant bend to them. Holes (6,15) plays along a dry creek bed. In addition, there is an overgrown mound on (8/17) that will test your combined drive shaping accuracy and length. In addition to water an elevation omissions, other missing items include a very well defined tunnel play, a true dogleg, and an overhead play.
- SIGNAGE - A wonderful course map is located on the walk to tee (1). Good hole signage is at all the tee pads as well.
- TEE PADS - Concrete tees were finally installed in either 2015 or 16. They are of good length and width.
- SPACING - Above average, perhaps there are but just a couple times that a disc can fade into another fairway.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues. Take a picture of the map at hole (1). If you take a picture, you'll have no issues on your first time threw.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although long, I still find the course acceptable to all skill levels (beginners thru pros). There are no water hazards and the fairways are more than reasonable spaced. I took my mom here once and she had a blast even though she couldn't throw beyond a 100 feet.
- RAW BEAUTY - Some of the most stoic large oaks and pine trees in all of Tampa Bay are located here. Some are as wide as a small car. They will definitely factor into your thought process on how to approach a hole.
Cons: Just a few issues with 22nd St. Park.
- LOCATION - Although easy to get to from I275. The park is located in an economically challenged area. Break-ins have happened at the parking area. Be sure to lock your car and keep valuables free from view.
- ELEVATION - Very little elevation change. Probably varies by no more than 15 feet on the entire course and no hole varies by more than 10 feet. Surprisingly this is probably above average for the area. I will add however, that holes (8/17) plays around a large dirt mound packed with weeds and small bushes. You will hate your life if you find yourself in it.
- GRASS LENGTH - Disc golfers beware, Hole (1) is notorious for losing track of your disc. The hole is wide, wide, wide open and players generally try to rip their arm socket out on the drive. In addition, the grass seems to always be higher here, than the rest of the course. Watch very carefully to where your disc lands and keep track of the line you'll need to walk. I have spent hours searching for my discs and my friends discs on this hole.
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. Most of the back 9 tees are at different angles, and the distances vary both shorter and longer. The back 9 plays about one to two throws easier than the front.
- CHARACTER - Slightly below average. Other than tee pads and hole signage as mentioned in the pro comments, there really isn't anything else. No shelter, no benches, no tables, no multiple pin placements or tees, etc. There is good tree shading however with hole (1) being the only exception.
- 18 AND PARKING - Hole (18) finishes about a 1000 feet from the parking.
- TIME PLAY - The course is not a quick play, a group of 4 should plan to be here nearly 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: A very underrated course in my opinion. The course takes a big hit due to the area it's in, but I've yet to have any issue at the 10 times or so that I've played here. In addition, a lot of the older reviews knock it for natural tees and navigation, and rightfully so. However, both of those issues have been fixed now. If you live in the Tampa Bay metro, be sure to play this course at least once. Definitely worth a look see if you are from out of town and you like the longer courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden jewel of a course

1    9/9/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Chrisyo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/13/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course might be the most underrated course I have ever played. The landscape is stunning with some of the most beautiful oak trees I have ever seen. There are 18 very nice brand-new concrete tee pads. Granted there are only nine baskets here but each basket has two different concrete pads that are very well thought out. The design flow of the course is so easy to follow. You can throw hard here and not worry about losing a disc. Strong-arms definitely benefit as most holes are well over 300 and 400 feet. Number one is over 900 feet and number ten is 500 feet. I love how the course takes you through some very creative obstacles. You're forced to stay low on many of your shots because of the thick Live Oak canopy. There are plenty of birdie opportunities for the average disc golfer. I would think this course would offer a great challenge to all skill levels.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All the makings

2-4    4/25/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 7/4/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a variety of shots are needed here while not asking you to play like a 10 time world disc champion either, by having the course be stupid hard (see Medard holes 11-14). A majority of the course is also shaded, but not jungle, impossible wooded either, like so many disc golf courses seem to be. While not offering the bite of other courses, it still can leave some sting. Recent new concrete tee boxes and tee signs are fantastic and the course while utilizing 9 baskets has a 18 hole feel with added length. This is a hidden gem and a good summer course as it plays mostly in the shade. Nothing like a 900 foot par 5 to start out. I am real impressed with the new changes
Cons: This course is not in the greatest area and I wouldn't play here close to twilight or dusk, and from the end of 18 or nine is a bit of walk.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 around the dirt mound and a batch of trees in the middle with basket slightly elevated and a slope overhang, is well done. If you haven't played here you should, great course, never too crowded!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, nice changes!

5+    4/5/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: jdeserio
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic fairways, landscaped with ancient oaks. This course has some great anhyser and hyzer shots to be played. 90% of the holes are challenging and tough to birdie. One 800 ft par 4 and 450 par 3, can test your distance. With some recent changes to the basket locations on 6 and 15, this course is even easier to navigate. Grass maintenance has been fine. New signs have been installed and some are being corrected!
Cons: The lack of pads is the only bad thing about this course. However, we received confirmation that City will be funding concrete pads in the next few months.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be appreciated much more. The negative reviews really don't showcase what it's worth. Do it, try it out. It will definitely test your game. Thanks for the design Patrick!

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 johnny4put

1    10/22/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: johnny4put
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Quiet and shady. Well painted baskets.
Cons: Located in a bad neighborhood. Tees were hard to find. I couldnt find 5 and went home. Kind of creepy with the moss on the trees and the nearby river. I kept listening for banjo music..
Other Thoughts: The grass was so long on 1 it took me 10 minutes to find my drive. As returning to my rental car I noticed young thuggy type guy hanging in the parking lot. They left as I got closer. I carry .357 mag.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    4/20/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 66  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Scenic Park
Cons: -Natural tees
-Park is in a bad neighborhood (would be hesitant to play alone)
-Only 9 holes
-Course get flooded and really mushy after rains.
-Course was not designed by a professional
Other Thoughts: It's great that the City of Tampa agreed to another disc golf course in the area, however with so many other great courses within 30 minutes of here it left me never wanting to play this course.

I'm told that the park is becoming something bigger other than disc golf, which could be good if they invest in some nice pads and tee signs. But also could be problematic for foot traffic as the park isn't tremendously big.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.