Disc Golf Center
Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #15 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Very Nice course

2-4    5/28/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 35  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice and well kept course
-long holes to let it fly
-nice trees for shade on most holes
-tee pads and nice signs at each tee box










Cons: -no practice basket near 1
-confusing to get around at first
-multiple tee boxes per basket...what if both boxes busy
-first hole 976 feet...cant see basket
-no bathroom facilities
Other Thoughts: A little confusing to get around at first but enjoyed the course once I played it the first time...has a reputation for being on the bad side of town but I didnt have that feel about it...would recommend it to friends and play it when im in town again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Majestic Live Oaks

5+    10/9/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 201  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.018 Rating) (REVISED - replayed October 2017) One of Tampa Bay's longest courses, a par 59 coming in at 7,137 feet.
- HOLE LENGTH - 22nd Street Park is one of the few area courses that has some good length to it, and even allows the big throwers to really air them out. The par 3's here average over 350 feet and several of them are over 390 feet. Hole (1) to start, is nearly a 1,000 feet long, and is the second longest hole in the Tampa Bay area (24 courses).
- UNIQUENESS - Although a flat course and void of water hazards, the overall uniqueness is a touch above your average 18 hole course. There are a bunch of 4's and a par 5 and hole lengths vary from 260 feet to 976 feet. A few holes have some significant bend to them. Holes (6,15) plays along a dry creek bed. In addition, there is an overgrown mound on (8/17) that will test your combined drive shaping accuracy and length. In addition to water an elevation omissions, other missing items include a very well defined tunnel play, a true dogleg, and an overhead play.
- SIGNAGE - A wonderful course map is located on the walk to tee (1). Good hole signage is at all the tee pads as well.
- TEE PADS - Concrete tees were finally installed in either 2015 or 16. They are of good length and width.
- SPACING - Above average, perhaps there are but just a couple times that a disc can fade into another fairway.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues. Take a picture of the map at hole (1). If you take a picture, you'll have no issues on your first time threw.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although long, I still find the course acceptable to all skill levels (beginners thru pros). There are no water hazards and the fairways are more than reasonable spaced. I took my mom here once and she had a blast even though she couldn't throw beyond a 100 feet.
- RAW BEAUTY - Some of the most stoic large oaks and pine trees in all of Tampa Bay are located here. Some are as wide as a small car. They will definitely factor into your thought process on how to approach a hole.
Cons: Just a few issues with 22nd St. Park.
- LOCATION - Although easy to get to from I275. The park is located in an economically challenged area. Break-ins have happened at the parking area. Be sure to lock your car and keep valuables free from view.
- ELEVATION - Very little elevation change. Probably varies by no more than 15 feet on the entire course and no hole varies by more than 10 feet. Surprisingly this is probably above average for the area. I will add however, that holes (8/17) plays around a large dirt mound packed with weeds and small bushes. You will hate your life if you find yourself in it.
- GRASS LENGTH - Disc golfers beware, Hole (1) is notorious for losing track of your disc. The hole is wide, wide, wide open and players generally try to rip their arm socket out on the drive. In addition, the grass seems to always be higher here, than the rest of the course. Watch very carefully to where your disc lands and keep track of the line you'll need to walk. I have spent hours searching for my discs and my friends discs on this hole.
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. Most of the back 9 tees are at different angles, and the distances vary both shorter and longer. The back 9 plays about one to two throws easier than the front.
- CHARACTER - Slightly below average. Other than tee pads and hole signage as mentioned in the pro comments, there really isn't anything else. No shelter, no benches, no tables, no multiple pin placements or tees, etc. There is good tree shading however with hole (1) being the only exception.
- 18 AND PARKING - Hole (18) finishes about a 1000 feet from the parking.
- TIME PLAY - The course is not a quick play, a group of 4 should plan to be here nearly 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: A very underrated course in my opinion. The course takes a big hit due to the area it's in, but I've yet to have any issue at the 10 times or so that I've played here. In addition, a lot of the older reviews knock it for natural tees and navigation, and rightfully so. However, both of those issues have been fixed now. If you live in the Tampa Bay metro, be sure to play this course at least once. Definitely worth a look see if you are from out of town and you like the longer courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden jewel of a course

1    9/9/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Chrisyo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/13/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course might be the most underrated course I have ever played. The landscape is stunning with some of the most beautiful oak trees I have ever seen. There are 18 very nice brand-new concrete tee pads. Granted there are only nine baskets here but each basket has two different concrete pads that are very well thought out. The design flow of the course is so easy to follow. You can throw hard here and not worry about losing a disc. Strong-arms definitely benefit as most holes are well over 300 and 400 feet. Number one is over 900 feet and number ten is 500 feet. I love how the course takes you through some very creative obstacles. You're forced to stay low on many of your shots because of the thick Live Oak canopy. There are plenty of birdie opportunities for the average disc golfer. I would think this course would offer a great challenge to all skill levels.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All the makings

2-4    4/25/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 7/4/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a variety of shots are needed here while not asking you to play like a 10 time world disc champion either, by having the course be stupid hard (see Medard holes 11-14). A majority of the course is also shaded, but not jungle, impossible wooded either, like so many disc golf courses seem to be. While not offering the bite of other courses, it still can leave some sting. Recent new concrete tee boxes and tee signs are fantastic and the course while utilizing 9 baskets has a 18 hole feel with added length. This is a hidden gem and a good summer course as it plays mostly in the shade. Nothing like a 900 foot par 5 to start out. I am real impressed with the new changes
Cons: This course is not in the greatest area and I wouldn't play here close to twilight or dusk, and from the end of 18 or nine is a bit of walk.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 around the dirt mound and a batch of trees in the middle with basket slightly elevated and a slope overhang, is well done. If you haven't played here you should, great course, never too crowded!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, nice changes!

5+    4/5/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: jdeserio
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic fairways, landscaped with ancient oaks. This course has some great anhyser and hyzer shots to be played. 90% of the holes are challenging and tough to birdie. One 800 ft par 4 and 450 par 3, can test your distance. With some recent changes to the basket locations on 6 and 15, this course is even easier to navigate. Grass maintenance has been fine. New signs have been installed and some are being corrected!
Cons: The lack of pads is the only bad thing about this course. However, we received confirmation that City will be funding concrete pads in the next few months.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be appreciated much more. The negative reviews really don't showcase what it's worth. Do it, try it out. It will definitely test your game. Thanks for the design Patrick!

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 johnny4put

1    10/22/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: johnny4put
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Quiet and shady. Well painted baskets.
Cons: Located in a bad neighborhood. Tees were hard to find. I couldnt find 5 and went home. Kind of creepy with the moss on the trees and the nearby river. I kept listening for banjo music..
Other Thoughts: The grass was so long on 1 it took me 10 minutes to find my drive. As returning to my rental car I noticed young thuggy type guy hanging in the parking lot. They left as I got closer. I carry .357 mag.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    4/20/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Scenic Park
Cons: -Natural tees
-Park is in a bad neighborhood (would be hesitant to play alone)
-Only 9 holes
-Course get flooded and really mushy after rains.
-Course was not designed by a professional
Other Thoughts: It's great that the City of Tampa agreed to another disc golf course in the area, however with so many other great courses within 30 minutes of here it left me never wanting to play this course.

I'm told that the park is becoming something bigger other than disc golf, which could be good if they invest in some nice pads and tee signs. But also could be problematic for foot traffic as the park isn't tremendously big.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course Improvements Making This Course Much Better!

2-4    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a scenic park with large oak and pine trees, giving multiple ways to throw most of the holes.

Nice grassy fairways make losing a disc very unlikely.

The park has a nice quiet, peaceful vibe to it. A nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Tampa area.

The course is fairly long, with a couple of bombers. Big guns might like the longer holes here.

Cons: Um, having nine baskets with 18 tees is not an 18 hole course in my opinion, its a nine hole course with 18 tees.

There is also a long walk back to the car from hole "18".

There is a river in the park, but it isn't really used for the dg course.

No restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization, and there are plenty of trees.





Other Thoughts: This course is coming along nicely. The greater Tampa area has been upping their game lately, and it shows. The Tampa area is quickly becoming a DG destination with several great courses now.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Spooky 22'nd street park

2-4    4/24/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 151  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2016
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Newly added concrete tees. Never busy. Very nice blue baskets. Great challenge with very large mature oak trees garding most baskets. Old mans beard adds challenge as you have to keep it low. Some long shots to air it out.
Cons: Only 9 baskets for 18 holes. 10-18 play back to basket 1-9. No rest rooms. Just port-a-pottie by baseball field. Parking is a little far from the course.
Other Thoughts: Fun & spooky to play at dusk. The large trees with the old mans beard create some spooky shadows at dusk. If you like to creep yourself out like I do, try this one at dusk.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Varied for Nine

1    1/18/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This one surprised me in a good way. It's not a destination course, but as a beginner- or intermediate-level course, it offers a decent variety with some nice length, some pretty surroundings and even some length.

The first hole offers some length and its a good one. At seven-hundred feet, most will need a second drive even after airing it out off of the tee. There's even a little downhill at the end, leading to a tricky little approach shot with trees coming into play near the green.

The next few holes play along the river. The water lurks here, only threatening truly errant shots, but forehanders and lefties (though not forehanding lefties) will have to at least consider it before throwing. These range in the 300s distance wise, and there are enough trees to force players to aim carefully, but straight shots should suffice. The final hole of this group(5) is the longest at 435 feet and it plays towards the river instead of along it.

The last bunch of holes are shorter featuring distances between 200 and 300 feet and tend to force you to use a strong turn or skip to get near the pin. It's one case where the the alternate tees are actually different, as the second set plays right-to-left whereas the originals play the opposite. They are actually very nice lines to throw, especially the RHFH lines.

It's a nice collection of holes that I enjoyed. The kind that I would like to be near home, but not the kind that I would seek out or consider an integral part of a road trip.
Cons: It's definitely a misnomer to call this an eighteen hole course. There are nine holes with two pads each. Most of the alternate pads are just a dozen feet to the right or left of the original pad, and don't provide anything resembling a different look at the basket.

This could be a three-star course or more if the second set of tees was moved to somewhere not so close to the first nine. This wouldn't be too hard, as the tees are natural(not something I mind) so the sign posts would just need to be dug up and placed somewhere they could approach baskets from a different angle.

It's also clearly not a course that will challenge the veteran player, nor one that I would seek out or travel to. There are no spectacular holes here. Nothing to remember. There's nothing wrong with a solid course that can be played quickly and in likely solitude, as long as that's what is expected. That's what you should expect here.
Other Thoughts: That said, it was easy to follow and had nice variation, some length and some tricky shots. Really a solid course that plays to a certain ability level, knows what it is and executes the vision.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center