Wallingford, CT 
Lufbery Park Share
Uploaded By: leviathanman Hole #2
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun Walk in the Woods

1    8/27/2019   8/28/2019
Review By: cjwells24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Simple and accurate signs: tell you exactly where the hazards and baskets are
2) Well-groomed: the trails/hole were clean out. Side-shrubs were minimal. If I threw a stray disk, it only took me a few seconds to find it.
3) Great use of terrain! I loved the deep valley's at 13 and 14. Good vertical changes all around though.
4) Clear Fairways!: After playing Nichol's Park in East Haddam, I felt like these fairways were wide open. While I admit getting lucky on a few tee shots, this course is easily navigable. Lots of fun from the tee.
5) Multiple hooks on front 9 tee signs.
Cons: 1) Just a few tight tees: Maybe I was getting tired, but by the time I got to 18, I could not get off the tee-box. Throw, hit a tree, try again with a different disc, hit a tree. Both shots landed back at my feet. 13 felt like a tight start but ultimately was a great hole.
2) More tee sign hooks, please!
Other Thoughts: Inconsistent tee types.Not a big deal, but the tees are a mix of rubber, cement, wooded decks w/turf and finally, dirt. While I love a good rubber tee, and this variety might rub some people the wrong way, it's kind of refreshing.

I love open fields so this is a bit of a challenge for me. Overall, it was a great course, lots of fun elevation changes and great course design. Played all 18 holes, shot a 62 and had two birdies; my best yet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Slice of Lufbery

1    3/22/2019   3/23/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 83  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Most tee pads are either wood or whole slabs of concrete. The wooden ones give the player space for a wind-up while the concrete ones felt small to me.
+ Most baskets have 'next tee tape' wrapped around one of the bars to guide the player towards the next basket.
+ The tee signs are detailed and illustrated with clarity and simplicity in mind. Plus, the stands upon which the signs are attached have hooks or slanted bars to hold the players' bags.
+ The elevation challenges here are varied and satisfying. One or two jaw-droppers steal the show.
+ All of the holes play through a forest, so every throw requires planning and attention.
Cons: - The venue isn't fantastic. I know that many people probably don't care about sight-seeing when it comes to disc golf, but the course never loses that 'middle of a city park' feeling.
- The next tee tape stops abruptly at hole 14. I had to guess from that point where to go next.
- Four or five tee areas have yet to be updated to either wood or concrete. Currently, they are cleared out patches of dirt and rock.
- The baskets can be hard to see. They have no numbers or eye-catching colors. The baskets are just the normal metallic grey, which is difficult to spot in a shadowy forest.
- Since the course takes place within a forest, there are very few opportunities to really wind up and throw.
- Real possibility of taking a misstep and sustaining a nasty injury on the hills because of leaves, roots, and slippery rocks. Just take your time, and you should be fine.
- Like with most forested courses, many of the holes seem to blend together.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole at this course is hole 7 because of its grand elevation drop mixed with a peppering of trees. The joy of the downhill glide combined with the tension of tree dodging made for a dramatic throw. My least favorite hole here is probably 11 because of its straightforward nature.

As for the course as a whole, Lufbery Park DGC feels like a perfect place to get some good woods golf training. The course starts out with shorter distances, which helps builds confidence within the player. The challenges start to pop up with larger distances and crazier throws at around hole 10 so that by the time hole 14 rolls around, the player feels ready to attack it.

Of course, all 18 holes take place within the woods, which means that I definitely recommend it to players who enjoy challenge by way of perfect placement. Those golfers who prefer balanced or more open courses may want to give Lufbery a miss.
They will be missing out on some memorable holes, though! An easy example is the aforementioned hole 14. A leaf-covered valley expands in front of you for hundreds of feet. To make things more adventurous, the valley itself slants sharply down to the right. After you throw, the walk down from the tee pad is so steep that a taut rope handrail is provided to reduce slips, trips and falls. You will almost certainly need to use it. Players with weak knees, bad balance or unsteady footing may not wish to play here.

Bottom line: Lufbery is a very good training ground for disc golf in the woods. The easier first half and tougher second half combine to make a course that accustoms players to all sorts of possibilities. It isn't so lovely to look at, the holes can feel samey after a while, and a player could twist an ankle. But if you're up for a challenge, then leave the drivers in the back of your bag, watch your step and come test your delivery at Lufbery!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of great shots and beautiful holes. All of the tee boxes were very usable, even the dirt ones
I enjoyed playing this course. Reminded me of Pike Lake in Ohio
Cons: Huge bees nest just to the right of the basket on hole 5. It is located at the end of a log. By the time I realized it was there, I had been stung 4-5 times. Be careful!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, technical but fun

1    6/7/2017   6/8/2017
Review By: cachow6
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good hole variety in terms of shape and length. I liked the up and down nature of the course. Nice tee boxes and signage. The woods make for a fun challenge as basically all of my drives went straight into trees. Fun hiking around. Very navigable.
Cons: Not much room for cranking drives, none of the holes are very wide open. Some of the fairways are ridiculously tight with the trees. basically luck in some cases.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't want to play this course all the time as it's somewhat frustrating not being able to throw any open, far shots. But the trees and changing altitude make for fun, challenging holes and the scenery is pretty as well. Would definitely recommend checking it out.

Also the sign at the front says that the back 9 is coming soon, but all 18 holes are completed at this point.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Great New England Course

1    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: NewEnglandDiscGolfer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All tee signs are VERY nice and new
-Most holes have concrete tee pads, the rest are being installed in the future (we could see outline)
-Paths are well marked/cleared, obvious to see where you are going
-Easy to find course, since it's a small park. Nice sign with map
-Holes 13 and 14 are GREAT, as you throw over a big ravine.
-Nice variety of short and long holes, as well as straight aways and curves
-Not TOO much brush, discs pretty easy to find
-All holes are seeable from the tee, for the most part
-Park right off Merritt Parkway
-Course is 3 minutes away from a nice DG store in Wallingford
-Lots of elevation changes, as well as some flat ground holes
Cons: -You can't get back to the parking lot from Hole 9 easily, as it's right in the middle of the woods. (Tip: You can play 11, then cut down a path to 18)
-As you get towards the final few holes, the paths aren't as clear, but I'm assuming that will be fixed.
-LOTS of walking up and down hills (can be good and bad)
-No Rec Tees
-Not much to do in park, just one baseball field
Other Thoughts: This course is a great alternative sister course to Panthorn, as it provides different challenges, like elevation and a peaceful atmosphere. It's also cool having a store 3 minutes away, in case you lose any discs. The front nine goes pretty quick, as the holes are very technical. Once you get the back nine, the real challenge (and fun) starts. I highly recommend this course to anyone in CT, and I believe in a few years it could be one of the best courses in CT, maybe New England.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love the elevation

1    7/3/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 33.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great terrain makes for many varied holes. Elevation changes on almost every hole really define this course and add to the challenge. Some of the holes shooting over the ravine on the back 9 are very cool. Tee signs on every hole and navigation between holes is very easy.
For a wooded course, the fairways were just the right size. Not so large that anything will get through, but not so small that even a good straight shot needs a little luck. And the brush off the fairways isn't bad at all. You won't be chasing after a bad throw/carom worried about whether you'll ever see your plastic again.
Cons: Not many real cons, unless you don't like the woods (you won't find any open field shots here).
I had a little trouble finding the first hole, there's no obvious course sign by the parking area (it's to the left of the baseball field).
Other Thoughts: I haven't been, but there's a disc golf store right in town, OTC disc golf, which could be helpful if you break/lose any of your favorite discs!
Overall, another great new addition to CT disc golf!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Hills Batman

1    12/14/2014   12/14/2014
Review By: skizilla
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome terrain
Great Views
good layout
woodsy but not dense
Challenging play
Cons: Very challenging play
Serious steep uphills be in good shape
Gully of holes 12-14 if not mistaken can be a bit ridiculus but if you have an arm good fun
Direction from some holes a little confusing 8 and i think seventeen or eighteen
Not to many pads but not a big deal to me.
Other Thoughts: WOuld love to be the guy with house on top of hill by hole 8 epic views i am sure.
WIth some better signage and some more step building or trail maintenance on holes 12-14 the place would be among the best in ct. It would also be nice to get a little more views by cutitng some trees by a big field.

Great job to the volunteers who are bulding the back nine.
Again if you have bad knees or am out of shape back 9 can be taxing

Toilet not open late season.....so ah my bad

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much potential here. It's still in progress. Some tees are poured and other have yet to be done. I'm going to assume that they all get poured in the near future and raise this course to a 3.5. Plenty of fantastic holes with the highlight being a few that cross back and forth over a valley. On these the tee and basket sit at a much higher elevation then the ground inbetween. You can attempt to make it all the way across for a chance at birdie but if a tree knocks the disc down, you are suddenly looking at a long climb to the pin. (Like a mini-Richmond Hill) I love this type of hole. So much exhilaration as the disc bends around the last tree en route to the opposite high ground.
There's quite a bit of elevation here beyond the valley holes and it is all good stuff. Real disc golf elevation holes, that well-thought out flight paths can take advantage of. There aren't lot of sudden drops or overly steep climbs. (unless you go off course) I love those dramatic drop-offs from an aesthetic point of view but throwing wise, I prefer the more gradual descents that are present here. They allow the shot to be not just a drop but a coolly curving drop that bends to the right or left around a line of trees.
For a new course, the navigation is surprisingly intuitive. Often, that is one of the last things to be added to a course, but visitors should find their way around without a problem. The course is in remarkable shape for such a new project with the fairways pretty well established and the rough manageable.
Cons: Sometimes, it's hard to find cons for an unfinished course, because you don't know what's about to be fixed. Typically, I can always find something to put in cons, even for my favorite courses. But on a new place this, with so much potential, I will have to leave cons to those who play the finished version. I'll only say that, yeah, it's not finished yet and while it is already a solid play, the true value is still in the potential.
Other Thoughts:
If Lufberry continues to improve it should challenge Cranbury for the number two course in the state. The elevation available on site is just that good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 soon to be my favorite ct woods course

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: elcapitanmas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: awesome technical holes with great elevation changes
super clean course (no trash)
awesome DETAILED tee signs
nice quiet park
great baskets
great layout
work in progess (yes its a pro, its nice to see a course progressing quickly, work was being done on a SATURDAY while we were playing)
new 9 holes and paths marked, even though temporary, they were still well marked.
Other Thoughts: can't wait to play this course again!

 Potential to be one of the best in CT

5+    5/29/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: chikago12
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of elevation change. A lot of the holes are up, down, around, and you're often not just shooting up or down, but also left or right, further adding to the awesomeness of seeing your disc hit a tight gap.

-Chainstar baskets are in great shape.

-Paths between holes are very well marked. Never a doubt where you're going.

-Located in a beautiful park in Wallingford, CT. Sleeping Giant State Park is right down the street, so the course + the park makes for an excellent day trip

- Has a very 'clean' feel. Fairways are very clear and obvious, and you can see the gaps that the course designer had in mind when making the course for almost all the holes. Brush and thorns are mostly cleared away if you happen to stray off the fairways.
-Some holes just feel epic because of the elevation change and the challenge. The course does a great job of making almost every hole feel important.
-A lot of really fun shots:
#8 is a cool short risk reward hole, with the pin perched on the edge of a cliff. Forehand line goes away from the cliff, but there are trees in the way. Backhand line hyzers toward the cliff, but is a little more open.
#12 is my personal favorite hole on the course. A HUGE downhill swooping right to left shot with a beautifully laid out green.
#13 is a great set up hole for #14. Very short, over an ENORMOUS canyon through a narrow gap. Super technical.
#14 is easily the signature hole on the course. You have to pure about a 10-15 foot gaps across a canyon, then you play through a clearing to a pin drilled straight into an enormous rock, to create a naturally elevated pin.

Cons: -Tee pads on a bunch of holes. The locals have done a great job installing concrete pads out here.

-TIGHT. A lot of holes are honestly just one tree away from being perfect, although taking down trees is easier said than done.

-Some odd fairway shapes. You'll need to use your imagination a little bit to get from A to B.

-Bathrooms are locked up.

-No open holes. There are definitely holes where you can unleash a big drive, but if you miss your gap you're gonna have a bad time.
Other Thoughts: -Feels a lot like Page Park, in Bristol. A lot of really fun shots and a lot of birdie shots, but any hole can ruin your round if you're not careful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.