Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 263ft.   3 / 342ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Short Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 104
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
a must play

5+    10/11/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: fartbox
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: non stop work being done to keep it up to standard. lots of trimming done recently to improve fairways and play.
fresh wood chips around tee pads to help keep tee-pads dry
lights on red baskets for glow rounds.
tee signs for each tee-pad and pin location that are accurate.
fences around tee-pads to protect you from other peoples grip locks.
practice baskets for putting before round.
batting cage net to warm up the arm before a very technical hole 1.
lost discs come back 90% of the time always get a call if found.
tee-pads cleaned frequently
garbage cans on every hole
camping on property.
pro shop/bar
very friendly staff
pet friendly



Cons: can be rather wet in spring time, call to check on conditions before making a long drive.
Other Thoughts: so far I haven't found a coarse that compares to every thing the rollin ridge has to offer. definitely a coarse to go out of your way to play and experience. if you come out by yourself your guaranteed to run into someone that's willing to play a round with you.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course ever

1    9/25/2017   9/26/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 43  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start off by saying I've never rated a course 5 stars... ever. Usually there's always one or two things I can find that I would like to see different. That's just not the case here at Rollin Ridge. This place is phenomenal. Nearly every single hole is memorable.

From the moment you arrive you know this place is different. The pro shop is huge! Every disc that I needed and couldn't find somewhere else, they had here. There's a bar inside (with quite an extensive beer menu), a pool table, a lounge area, and the very large pro-shop in the back. There's a deck to hang out on outside too. The staff is very friendly as well! And helpful!

The practice baskets (yes multiple) are waiting for you right outside the pro shop. One is at typical height and the other is elevated to simulate some of the putting you see on the course. There's even a netted driving range as well.

On to the course... three teepads and three targets on every hole. So by my math that makes 9 different configurations of the course possible. We're not just talking shorter and longer here... each one has different angles and obstacles to consider. I don't see how you could ever get tired of this.

The tee signs are simply the best I've ever seen. Each tee pad (remember three per hole) has it's own tee sign specific for that pad's layout. Distances, OB, etc are all clearly defined on each sign... as well as a next hole indication (although you really won't need it).

The course itself is also terrific. Some hyzers, some flicks, a little water here and there, some tunnels, and some wiiiiiide open shots. Oh there's also a wall and a bowl... putt gently on those.

All in all this is simply the best course I've ever played...

- Concrete pads
- Multiple pins and tees
- Easy to read signs
- Variety on the course in elevation and woods
- Elevation
- Retrievers near water hazards
- Pro-shop
- Restrooms
- A bar!
- Multiple baskets
- An all around enjoyable round of golf!
Cons: Well... I'm stumped here. Usually I can find one or two things to complain about... but wow. The swamp water kind of stinks... and I saw a snake out on the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area... you have to check this course out. There is a $5 fee for playing, but it's well worth it. Park up front, grab something cold to drink in the pro-shop... then let her rip!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Holy amazeballs Batman

5+    8/13/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: deadbody
Played: 146  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lets see.

3 distinct baskets per hole, all on different lines, requiring different shots.

Multiple concrete tees per hole, also offering different lines.

Great tee signs.

Great mix of holes. Long and open, short and technical, right and left turns, up and down hills. Over water shots with clear bail out areas.

Seriously I spent a weekend there, and played 5 different layouts, and I know there was more there to play.
Cons: I'm not really sure there is one.

I guess Black Baskets could have been a different color, its a little hard to find them at times without scouting up.

And the red basket lights for night rounds are motion activated so you have to like walk up to them to turn them on, then walk back to throw.

Those are the most minor and petty complaints I could possibly make and seriously those are the only things I would change.
Other Thoughts: Amazing courses, camping on site. Great courses for all skill levels.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A mature, world leading course.

1    7/20/2017   8/1/2017
Review By: Tim Hultgren
Played: 119  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: "If you build it, they will come." This course is crafted by someone who loves disc golf and it shows. Everyone talks about the thee great tees and three wide ranging basket choices, but we forget that the fun is mixing up the choices. We were recommended to play orange (short) tees to a mix of orange and red baskets. It turned out to be the perfect mix for our group of over 40-50 year old guys. So make a plan to mix it up and play a new course every time. I loved this course. Good elevation usage. Good basket placement with trees. Creative solutions to eliminate any possible boredom. The two or three water obstacles were well placed and allowed for all levels of players to enjoy every hole.
Cons: I found the course to be dry, but I could see that at times it might be soft in the lower parts of the course.
Other Thoughts: Ask to meet Steve the guy behind the course. A very cool guy. Be sure to thank him.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disc Heaven

2-4    7/19/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: Dietrich Discing
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a must play for all players. Each hole had 3 different tee pads and baskets so it can be played by players of all levels. This course will test every shot. There are backhand and also forehand lines throughout the course. Each hole has a new twist to it. Many good basket placements, including elevated baskets. There was a good balance of long big arm throws and short, wooded, technical throws. There are some water hazards that make you decide if you should lay up or go for it. The lodge/pro shop was amazing. Not only did they have a very good selection of discs, the lodge had a bar and even a pool table to create a great place to hangout between rounds. There are two practice baskets in front of the lodge. One at ground level and one elevated. There is also a netted driving range to practice throws before you play a round. Steve, the owner is also a great guy that makes sure he talks to everyone.
Cons: The course can get quite muddy if it rains. I played three days after a really big storm and there was a good amount of mud on the course but it was very playable.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course I have played at. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

home

5+    3/21/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: TeebirdDan
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2017
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: just pulling into this place to see the facility its self should impress any disc golfer no expence has been spared to make it top notch .the course with its three sets of HUGE teepads and three pins to make 9 different courses in one .every fairway is so different from the next .the layout has about everything water, elevation, wooded ,open .its all there .long to long is par 69 . ITs got some of the toughest wooded holes i have played and some parts of the woods are stunningly beautiful. The proshop/clubhouse with deck and practice /warmup area with driving net and two baskets . and camping on sight .
Cons: gets a little swampy in spring on the low land holes .
Other Thoughts: i can say this is without a dought a 5 star course that will only improve threw the years . is it one of the nations best ?, I think so but I must admit bias . these people are my friends and have made me and my son feel more welcome than any other disc golf scene in my home state . the ridge is special and so are its people.Also there are so many places i have yet to see.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rollin Ridge

5+    11/5/2016   11/7/2016
Review By: DoUntoOthers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everything about this place is great. 3 baskets per hole. 2 or 3 tees as a few holes use the same tee for black and red placement. Well stocked proshop. You usually get discs back if you went in the pond or marsh if your name was on it. Red baskets have lights for night rounds.
Cons: Lol, I don't throw far enough for this course.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Disc golfers dream

2-4    10/1/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: HeatMcgreet
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is over the top. It starts out with the clubhouse that has some food, lots of craft beers (at decent prices), and a wide selection of plastic and clothing. Right outside the clubhouse, there are 2 baskets for putting. One bigger elevated basket and one regular height. There is also a cage to practice driving in which is something unique to me that I have never seen before. This course is $5 to play and well worth it. Camping is available on site and there are some secluded sites back by a couple holes. (number 15 looked like one of the best. There are 3 sets of tees here, as well as three sets of baskets. Orange (short), Red (medium), Black (long). I Think it is great that they always have 3 baskets in at all times. This gives alot of different skilled players a vast variety of options. The blacks are extremely tough and championship caliber, Red is still a tough layout that will challenge Advanced and Open players alike. Orange is a fun short course with lots of deuces, but you can also still find lots of trouble. The teepads are extra long and have a foul line with another few feet of space to follow through on. These are hands down the best teepads I have ever used. The tee signs here are on another level. Big circular signs that are mounted on a slant, and are very detailed. They shows everything from trees, to water, to bridges, as well as OB. Each sign gives you the distance and routes to eachieve layout from that teepad. There are alot of fun structures like Hole 4 (the pyramid) Where the basket is elevated up high on a wooden pyramid platform. Hole 5 has a big dragon in the trees. the baskets of Hole 6 are all placed around a huge bowl shaped of the dirt hill. Hole 14 has a fantastic wall with different tiers for the various baskets, with a sand tier that plays as OB in some tourneys. The upkeep of this course is some of the best in the game, and there are garbage cans at basically every hole; as well as very nice wooden benches. Some holes even have different wooden Walls to block errant shots hitting you from another hole. They even fetch discs out of the pond from hole 2, and have tons of lost discs there just waiting to be returned to their owner.
Cons: I honestly can't find much to say bad about rollin ridge. Sometimes it will get muddy here after rain, and it could also get really windy up here. But that doesn't take down the rating at all for me.
Other Thoughts: Rollin Ridge deserves to be in the top 3 courses no doubt, it may even be the best! I can't quite say that yet as I still haven't played Selah or Flip. But the variety of holes this course offers, the amenities of the clubhouse, camping, perfect sized tee pads, best signs in the game, the list goes on and on. If I could play one course for the rest of my life, it would be rollin ridge. I've played some really great courses, but this still trumps them all imo. Do not hesitate to plan a weekend golf vacation here. It is well worth it!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding Course

1    8/24/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Kennan J
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is very good signage, and it is almost impossible to get lost
Unlike most wooded courses, this course doesnt have a bunch of sticks, logs, and lots of leaves on the fairways.
Concrete teepads on every hole
Three different tees and baskets on each hole to make the course that much more of an amazing experience
Practice basket along with a driving range (which is basically a batting cage with a teepad)
Proshop with almost every disc on the market (For people wondering the size, it is a large room so you won't be disappointed.)
The bar/clubhouse is a great addition to the course
The staff is very friendly, inviting, and will help you with any problem you might have
There are wooden bridges that keep you out of swampy areas and the wet areas
Some teepads are put on the bridges which is an interesting twist
Excellent use of elevation both on the fairways and the baskets
Some open bomber holes are a nice mix with the woods
The alternation between long, short, and in between holes was nice
Most if not all holes have benches where you can sit
Not large amounts of bugs, and they have bug spray by course map if you think you might need it
Large range of shot varieties during each round here
OB is marked clearly by ropes
Cons: Water in low areas, and can be muddy. (I recommend not wearing your nice shoes)
The front 9 repeats the same teeshot often
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. If you're going to be in the area make sure to stop here, you won't regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ratings are inaccurate

1    7/5/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: StevieWraithVaughan
Played: 114  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everything. It's all about service and making the disc golf experience epic at Rolling ridge. From the property to the layouts, baskets pads, hole options. Ability to camp on-site. A clubhouse with a bar and food that awaits after hole 9 and 18. Lost a disc on hole 2 and it was fished out of the marsh and waiting for me by the time I finished my round.
Cons: I don't live closer.
Other Thoughts: After playing the #2 rated course in the country Flip City, I realize many of these reviews are likely biased and based on factors that shouldn't matter. Basing it strictly on the course itself at least should be rated #2 because I haven't played Selah. Not to dog on Flip because it was fun and a great course, but it isn't even the second or third best in Michigan. RR is far superior to any course I have ever played.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.