James Island, SC 
James Island County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kohldad Hole #3 (Taken 3/2016)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Awesome course, awesome park

5+    8/1/2017   9/16/2017
Review By: Geodisc25
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: James island county park is beautiful park featuring dense foliage, huge wooded areas, water features and swampy land. In the course you will find a huge variety of fun shots, difficulty tree obstacles, a pond hazard, marsh views and one cool downhill shot. There is a good variety of par 3s and 4s to keep the game changing.
Easy layout with clear maps and strategy at tees.
The park has a bathroom at the climbing wall at hole one.
2$ to get in, not bad to support such a great park.
Cons: This course is challenging, especially in the warmer months because of growth. I could see one hole being a more suited par 4 than a 3
Lots of standing water and mosquitos during rainy months ( right on the marsh)
So many trees right in the way ( like I said its pretty challenging)
Gotta pay..
climbing wall closes around 5 after labor day
Other Thoughts: Played so many times, great course.

Good Technical Course

5+    2/25/2017   5/16/2017
Review By: pandabud104
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: - Tee signs and baskets are in great shape.

- The layout is easy to follow as there are well worn paths.

- Nice restroom at the climbing wall which is the start and end of the course
Cons: - Tee pads are just sand marked by flags. There are some roots, so just be careful when throwing. Wish they were marked better.

- The course is more of an out and back course, so make sure you have everything you need before starting.

- There is a cannel, pond, and marsh on which you can lose a disc, but this also adds a good element to the course. You are not allowed to enter the cannel for a disc and the pond is where disc go to die as it is never cleaned.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall, but it is lacking some in the maintenance area. The course rewards players who can hit their lines, but it is a lot of fun for a beginner. I personally love this course and have played it well over a dozen times.

There's Tight, then there's James Island Tight

2-4    2/4/2017   2/6/2017
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 80  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just want to start with that there are tight courses. Then there are tiiiight courses. Then there is James Island tight. I hope you haven't eaten a big meal before you play 'cause you might not fit down what are comically described as 'fairways'. Actually I refer to what is here as 'almost unfair ways'. Honestly, a bit of an exaggeration. But these 18 links are narrow.

I also feel that on person with a chain saw and about an hour to kill could open this course just a wee bit and make it a stone-cold blast to play. As it is, its fun and not fun. I'm a strong player and can wind my way down the tightest of fairways, but the newer player going to get frustrated. Several holes out here could have a mime cursing.

Let's get to some specifics...

#1 has a weak line to the basket with a clump of trees right where you want to throw. Hardly an angle at all for lefties and I only saw a few righties park it with high hyzer shots around the trees.

#2 is a good hole, totally dig it. but Anhyzer/forehand shot finishing left.

#3 is 296' tight shot that if you hit anything and kick right, its at best trouble. At worst 'see ya later, hello alligators' as you are 10' down in a canal.

#4 is hole three but finish right.. Oh, they leave a nice fat tree right where you want to throw, and not that far off the tee.

#5 is a good hole, short with a BLACK water pond before the basket, Throwing the 229' shot it is easy. Not hitting the trees by the pond and splashing in is not easy. I throw an 'S' curve shot around with a stable fairway driver to stay out of danger

#6 is a cool hole. Some how they found a hill and put basket on top. It backs up to the pond on #5 Throw too hard and it's history. Land on top and roll and you're fighting the gator for your putter...oh yeah, short enough for a putter.

#7 really not a fan favorite. Tight shot off a small knoll to a basket finishing right. I haven't seen it parked - ever.

#8 a good, midrange shot with a tough of hyzer

#9 straight at it with a midrange

#10 is your first crank. 462' feet dogleg left. But hit ANYTHING for first 275' and you have nothing but trouble. Lots of 5-6-7's

#11 where this hole came from I have no idea! But a decent down hill shot finishing slightly right. But can't go at it due to some massive pines that almost make you 'S' turn to it.

#12 is a fairly straight hole but with a phalanx of guardian trees around the basket. Almost a poke and hope at 220' feet!

13# is fairly straight shot, just got to throw very straight!

14# is a cool 'lefty hating' shot. HARD left turn, but not a tough hole

15# is a short par 4 - for me that is. A clump of trees 100' down range take up 90% of the fairway. Gotta to right/left and not hit ANYTHING. Otherwise you're kicked into never never land. Not a big fan of the hole.

16#...can't remember much except it being tight ;-)

#17 is a repeat of #15. More freaking trees in the middle of the fairway, but this time almost 300 feet.

#18 is a lazer beam 266' (seems longer) shot. Hit anything earlier and...do I need to go on?? Sigh.
Cons: i really dislike sandy tee pads and that's ALL you get here. For me to throw with the accuracy needed on this course, I need concrete, something my feet won't slip on. If you're a stand-still thrower, or have little movement, you'll probably be okay.

Also...no benches...period. Would like a place to sit after I've spent 20 minutes looking for an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: Now, I criticized this course for being tight, but I tell you this, if you can play here, you can play anywhere! These lines can be merciless, but if you want to play a course that will truly make you a better player, James Island will.

I gave this course a '3' on the hope that one day it will have concrete tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/19/2016   3/19/2016
Review By: kohldad
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The sign posts are excellent shape and clearly identify the typical path. A challenging course where you shots must be controlled. Easy to follow the course thanks to "Tee" signs which point you to the next tee.
Cons: Lots of stubs and roots so you have to watch your step and skips are hard to come by.
Other Thoughts: After reading the reviews, didn't really want to go play this course but my daughter wanted to play in the JI League so I agreed. Very glad I did as it is a very fun yet technical course. Even when you have a bad shot and get off the course into the woods, it is usually easy to find a line at least back out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A promising course

1    11/26/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: nicklee56
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great designed course. Love the lay out of the course and the flow of it. Almost all the holes end near the beginning of the next hole. Love the fact it is in woods and not alot has been cut away. Helps you learning to control high and technical throws
Cons: First do not forget your bug spray. Mosquitoes where awful. They have had a lot of rain and in a swampy area but a staff member did say they are bad normally but worse recently because of the rain. Second, would be nice for concrete pads. I slipped a few times during my throw. Last a little maintenance would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Read the signs about keeping in bounds. There are allegaters and snakes there and they are not nice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded, technical round

1    6/8/2015   9/18/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: James Island County Park DGC is located in a huge park with many different activities and is a shorter par 3 course that plays through woodsy and sandy terrain. You are in tight woods throughout the entire round, so the course forces you to be technical and concentrates on your approach game more than anything. Off the tee, many holes require you to hit tight windows, so I found myself starting out with my midrange discs more than usual.

You get some interesting shots that provide shot selection. Hole 5 gives you the choice of either throwing left to right over a water carry, which is a more open shot to the basket. Or, you can throw a RHBH hyzer through a tight gap. Being 244' and on a more recreational course, getting wet is a possibility for some players who come here, so this hole gives you a nice risk/reward option. Hole 12 offers two distinct lines on either side of a patch of trees, so it also provides some nice shot selection. They holes highlight the course as they require more thinking for how you approach the hole.

The tee signs and baskets are in great shape. Navigation is very straight-forward and you mostly have very short walks to the next tee. Next tee signs are provided when needed.

The course is very secluded from other park activities, even playing near a marsh on a few holes. This is a nice peaceful and natural environment. The thick woods and jungle-y feel of the course was a pleasant surprise and not what I expected for the area.

The thick tree cover keeps you out of the hot South Carolina sun.
Cons: A few efforts have been made to provide elevation - like 11's elevated tee pad and 6's basket on top of a slope - but it is pretty much dead flat here. Playing through the same type of environment/terrain throughout the entire round, the course would improve with more variety of lengths and hole types. Being a tighter and shorter course, there are not many chances to let your arm go. Only two holes are over 300'.

It's pretty rugged in terms of terrain. Lots of long, skinny branches and vines hang throughout and many roots sticking out of the ground keep you watching your steps as you walk. There was never any disc-swallowing rough but you constantly need to keep an eye on the flight of your disc. Discs are easy to find if you have an idea of where you land, but are sometimes hard to follow the flight of your disc within the thickness of the woods.

The sandy tee pads were often loosely packed and didn't always offer good footing.

Finding the course can be difficult. It is in a secluded section of the park and starts near a rock climbing wall. Look for signs or ask to be directed to the climbing wall, as that probably gets more traffic.
Other Thoughts: A few things to make note of before playing here: though we were able to play the course on a Monday, it's said to be closed on Mondays on this site. I'm not sure if you'll have the same luck as us or not. Before playing, you have to sign in and then sign out after you are done. They seem to be somewhat strict about keeping the curfew, which I believe was 8 pm. The $1 park entry fee is obviously not steep, but keep that in mind as you pull in.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/8/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: James Island County Park's DGC is set in a patch of woods behind the park's climbing wall, pleasantly secluded from other park activities. The woods lend the course a technical nature, with precise lines to fly and windows to hit. There are a few holes with landing zone considerations, and one risk/reward shot with water in play. Elevation is scant but there is one basket positioned atop a modest hill and one raised tee. The course's main focus is hitting narrow windows and corridors at shorter distances. Lots of putter and midrange throws off the tee, even for modest arms. There is a variety of left, right, and straight lines.

Navigation is smooth with lots of helpful signage; the wooded scenery is pleasant. The underbrush is relatively cleared out given the environment, so there's not much chance of losing a disc in the undergrowth. Some nice views of the marsh at the course's edge further enhance the seclusion.

My favorite holes were the tight and straight hole 3, the 462' hole 10 with its emphasis on hitting the landing zones, and what I believe was hole 12, offering two tight lines to the basket around a patch of trees in the fairway's middle. The presence of choice made for a nice hole.
Cons: JICP DGC plays relatively short, with most holes in the 200'-250' range, and no option of multiple tees or pins to adjust the challenge level. While the woods offer a pleasant challenge, the lines themselves are straightforward to the point of redundancy by the round's end, with lots of straight or straight-to-fade shots, especially if you have a decent forehand. I threw a straight-flying putter or a straight-to-fade mid up the gut on most holes. The course is great for a three disc round, but only challenges a narrow albeit important part of your game with its emphasis on straight and tight lines. Not a lot of lineshaping or variety in feel; the drivers hardly come out.

On courses like this one where space seems to be an issue - the wooded patch allotted to the course seems a tight space for 18 holes - I always wonder why 9 or 12 holes wasn't considered. The terrain offers enough technicality that some more challenging par 3s and even a few par 4s are definitely possible, beyond the few already given. With the course already too tight for a beginner, a greater variation in distances, pars, and lines would have really improved it.

There are a few spots where the course is fenced off from other areas of the park; one wrong tree kick or griplocked drive could very well cost you a disc.

The sand-filled natural tees provide pretty poor footing, even if run ups aren't needed given the short distances.
Other Thoughts: JICP DGC is tight and technical enough to offer an engaging round, but its relentless preoccupation with short tight holes caps its offering. It's a great course to play if you're in the immediate area and has some appeal, but it isn't a must-play by any stretch.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Getting Better

5+    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: spaghetti
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Challenging
Technical
Variety of different shots/approaches
True test of skill
Shade from the sun
Nice wildlife
Cons: Can be draining if having a bad day
Bugs
Fence on the right during the first few holes
Other Thoughts: The course is getting broken in nicely as more ppl get out there.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unfair

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 78  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Shiny new baskets!
*Scenic overall
Cons: *This might sound annoying, but this course is plain UNFAIR. Every hole there are no lines to the basket. It seems like the designer just put a bunch of baskets into a woods.
*Every hole you couldn't see the basket
*The baskets of other hole were near the regular baskets (you can get mistaken)
*Too many tree stumps in the ground; tripped over at least 6 or 7
*So narrow!!
*They have silver tee signs, but they don't have info on them!

Other Thoughts: This course was extremely unfair, but at least I had fun playing it.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Park

1    11/24/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was a bit of North Carolina tucked down south in Charleston. I walked aways from the parking lot back past a small climbing establishment and down a trail to find the first tee. The vegetation was different, a lot more scrub palms, but I was struck immediately by how tight I was. At the same time, the line immediately presented itself. I played fast, needing to make up the time I spent finding the place(see below) but it was fine, because no time was lost looking for discs or standing at tees puzzled about what I was supposed to do. These are some tight, tree-lined fairways, but the lines are there, with some straight shots and some well-crafted doglegs.

The flow of the course is very well done. Navigation aids are present when needed and the paths that lead from hole to hole are obvious and pleasant. I don't think there was a single head-scratching moment and that really makes for a fast and fun round.

There are even a few memorable holes. 6 doglegs left to find the basket on a large embankment, offering a steeply upwards putt. The 11 tee sees discers climbing a curving ramp to an elevated tee that sticks out over the surrounding landscape like an all-too-welcome thumb.
Cons: What the course does need is tee signs. The small posts that mark the tees are wood-covered, which makes them tough to spot. The flow keeps you headed right for them, but something more visible would be good. It's possible that in summer they would be even tougher to spot.

There is also a complete lack of information about the hole. Most holes I deduced where to throw based on the fairway, but sometimes I was wrong. It's a nice course and it deserves tee signs. Knowing the distance and fairway curvature would be very helpful here as most baskets are not visible from the tee. Again, this didn't affect my round but this is a problem that will likely be worse in summer.

I would also say that this course is on the easier side of the balance. There's not a ton of distance and the lines are all hittable. I'd also admit that it possible that this course swings too far the other way in the summer months. With a ton of growth, those lines could be swallowed up. With a bunch of underbrush, the speed and ease of the course could disappear.

I found a course that was in great condition but this is Charleston and I'm aware of what Charleston vegetation looks like in the summer. So my pristine November experience has to be balanced somewhat with what it will look like in the other half of the year.
Other Thoughts: I'll make no claims for how this course plays in the summer, but I couldn't recommend it enough in the winter.

The worst part of my experience at James Island had nothing to do with the course but with finding the course within the massive park. I understand that disc golf is not their most popular activity, but neither it nor the climbing wall were easily found. (and more than one employee was unaware of the course's existence. I'd say that the directions here could be more specific as well. (I'd rewrite them myself but at this point I have no idea what I did, and "drive around aimlessly asking everyone you see" would probably not be too helpful.)

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.