Lancaster, PA 
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #1
3 / 288ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Nice course for a short round

5+    7/18/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: Shaunjay
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
Pros: Clear Fairways, variety of shots, nice flow to it.
Cons: Some of the baskets are pretty old and the tee pads are crooked on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is my go-to course if I want to just get a round in after work. Playing by yourself, you can finish this course in probably 45 minutes. It's a nice walk, and has some decent shade.

Classic course

5+    3/7/2016   3/7/2016
Review By: pwolfinger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its great to play what I consider to be a "classic" course. By that, I mean the course has age (1994), is well kept and seasoned, and has a variety of shots. There is elevation change and good hole shaping. There are also decent obstacles given that its a relatively open park. Another noteworthy point is that many of the holes have an alternate basket; and the alternates are fun. One of the better courses to play in Lancaster!
Cons: Not much here. Mostly short holes if you're playing the regular (not alternate) layout; that is, a lot of holes under 300'. Other than that, there is a little bit of walking to get from hole 15 to 16, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: A good course for repeat play. They hold leagues here on Tuesday and Thursday during the season. Check out the LAFS website for more info. The Lancaster club is full of good people and its an active club.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Beginner Course

2-4    4/19/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: ofchampions
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes, decent grooming, manageable distances for beginners, some challenging holes to play due to elevation.
Cons: Maps at each hole are a bit inaccurate at times, particularly when it comes to gold baskets. Also, a lot of people easily get lost after the end of hole 8. The tee for 9 is really really close to the picnic pavilion across the road, and you can't see it very well until you're right on top of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Book it!

1    4/6/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very nicely maintained mostly shaded grass fairways with single concrete tees with two pin positions(couple have two baskets). Signage and navigation ok. Excellent use of the rolling elevation. Great course for beginners and still fun for more advanced players.
Cons: Plays a little close to other park users and roads. No indication of basket position. Couple blind holes. Not very challenging.
Other Thoughts: D.F. Buchmiller Park is the fun short old school style setting of golf with great elevation and beautiful park maintenance that gets most people hooked on the game. I enjoyed the course specifically hole 5 and the downhill bomb on hole 18 to finish the course off nicely. If you book it to Buchmiller you can expect to have some fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 worth checking out!

1    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: adazm
Played: 33  Reviewed: 32
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful scenic park in lancaster, PA!
i was there the day before a tourney, so there were OB flags EVERYWHERE. playing the course with all the mandos and OB made for a pleasantly challenging experience!
very few "long" holes. there are some downhill shots that "appear" long, but it turns out a putter/midrange will float that far.
conversely, some of the uphill holes look close but play FAR.
i liked how the rough/ob areas were not tangled webs of impenetrable branches and pricklies!
also NO ONE else playing course on a friday mid day. and only came across a sole other park goer.
elevation change is always a plus in my book, and this place HAD IT :)
Cons: minus the OBs, the course would really be rather easy and much much less challenging.
you will need to download/printout the layout or you are in TROUBLE when it comes to navigation.
some holes had 2nd baskets, which can be confusing, especially on blind holes.
am not sure a single tee sign is accurate distance wise :(
Other Thoughts: really interesting tourney layout. otherwise it is a very nice beginner/amateur course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Back to My Hometown

1    4/25/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course consisted of 18 holes in a beautiful park in Lancaster, PA. I really enjoyed the long bombs you got to throw on some of the holes (like 5, 7 and especially 18). There are also some nice technical holes thru the trees.

The tees are in excellent condition! They are big, and concrete! I have yet to play a course with better tees than these and frankly that makes a huge difference.

The course wasn't too crowded for a nice Friday afternoon. There were a couple players out there with a handful of discs just practicing. All of them politely let me play thru. Honestly if I lived closer, I'd be doing the same thing. There are no muddy areas and the grass is in very good condition.

The course is a smaller 18 holes, so you should be able to hammer in a round within an hour or so if it is just 1 or two of you.

Don't be afraid to send your group-mates ahead on some of the holes that turn in the wooded areas (such as 9 and/or 12) so you don't lose your disc.
Cons: As you have already read, some holes are very close to the main road, and the main road is super busy. You'd practically be crazy to throw a backhand hyser on Hole #3. I read some complaints about Hole #13 as well, but frankly the road there is in the park and the cars traveling on it are few and far between. You rarely have to worry about clubbing a car coming at you at 45 mph.

I also had some difficulty finding my way from tee to tee and finding the holes. I didn't find the tee signs helpful at all. The walk form 8 to 9 was especially confusing because you walk past the tee for 11 and the hole for 10 on the way to #9 tee.

Finally, while all holes are marked as having 2 baskets, I was only able to find them on a handful of holes. So either the second basket isn't there for some reason, or it's darn near impossible to find (probably led to my difficulty in reading the tee signs since the sign showed 2 holes, but I could only find one).
Other Thoughts: I grew up in Lancaster, PA 25 years ago. I wish the sport had been around then because I would have been there every other day. The course is literally just miles from the house where I grew up. The park is well maintained and safe. The course is just outside of and south of the city so if you're driving south thru the city, don't be frightened because the course will not be that scary.

I did have some trouble finding the first tee/hole. If you are coming into the park off of Rt 72, then drive your way thru the park until yo get to an intersection where you must turn either left or right. Turn left and immediately park on the left. Right smack in front of you will be the first tee! Happy discing!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park Course

1    8/2/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a nice park. Nice mix of wooded and open holes. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: All hole signs show two baskets on each hole but most only had 1 when I was there.
Some holes are really close to the road especially number 13.
Other Thoughts: Was a nice course and in good shape when I was there. Most of the holes are not real long which makes it good for newer players. Not close to home but would play there again if I am in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Throw In A Beautiful City Park!

1    7/18/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buchmiller Park is a lovely green city park with rolling hills, lots of mature trees and acres of lush green grass, just about a perfect environment for disc golf course. The multi-use park features everything you would expect here. I spent a few minutes watching a group playing pickleball, one of my favorites.

I played early on a perfect July morning so the park and course were both relatively empty. The course features nice, extra long concrete tee pads and great, vandal proof colored tee signs. There was a kiosk at the beginning but it had no information about disc golf on it.

Each long had at least two tee positions. I played from the shorts which played as just a perfect little recreational length course. Holes 12,14 and 15 were cool little ACE runs bunched in a group. I really enjoyed # 8 and it's lovely little natural fairway.

Superb use of the elevation. Nice mix between open and more technical wooded holes. This course, even from the shorts, gives you opportunities to throw every shot in your arsenal.
Cons: Very few, IMO.

From the short pads, holes starting to blend together. A lot of 250'-300' with a hyser. But this could easily be fixed by playing from the longs.

A couple of the concrete pads sloping uphill. A personal pet peeve of mine.

Not quite challenging enough for some.
Other Thoughts: D.F. Buchmiller would be about the perfect home course for many of us Rec types. This is a course that I could see myself playing in a stress free environment over and over. You're not worrying about losing discs in the thick underbrush or down that steep embankment or in the water. It's just a really fun, easy, walk in the park, type of day spent disc golfin!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Pleasant Park

2-4    7/28/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 62  Reviewed: 17
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty, well kept park makes for a nice walk during your round

-Good mix of shot shapes and elevation. I felt that most shots a person would throw (with the exception of the 450' bomb) were represented on this course. The use of elevation was excellent and made the round much more interesting.

-Tees were in great shape and the signage was thorough and informative.

-The wooded holes that were sprinkled had well defined fairways and were a nice change of pace.

-Hole 18 was a nice way to finish a round. Big sweeping hyzer from an elevated tee that you can empty your bag on.
Cons: -Hole 13 presented a bit of a safety concern for me as the easiest route for a rhbh player would be to throw a spike hyzer up the hill and over the road. As the pin is at the crest of a hill and the pin below it you can't see oncoming cars from the tee.
-Lots of non discgolfer's near fairways the last time i played which isn't a big con but requires caution on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I have really enjoyed my rounds here at buchmiller, pleasant is the first word that comes to mind to describe it. The layout is well done and none of the holes feel boring or like filler holes. It isn't overly challenging and even with the long pins the course is pretty short, but I think its about as well done as a true par 54 golf course can be. If you're an intermediate player you can come and enjoy challenging par and if you're an advanced player you can certainly get it in the forties here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

D.F. Buchmiller Park

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2017
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Excellent variety and flow
- Beautiful park
- Well maintained
- Great for a quick, casual round
Cons: - Short
- Can get a little crowded
- Sometimes have to watch out for other park users

Other Thoughts: D.F. Buchmiller Park is one of those older, park style courses that was built before high-speed drivers were available. Accordingly, it plays much shorter than more "modern" courses, and many players will find that they can play the entire thing with just a putter, or maybe a putter and a midrange. This may not appeal to players who are looking to really challenge themselves or who want a more difficult course.
That being said, it's still an excellent course, and for what it is, it's the best I have played. It's great for quick, casual rounds and short game practice. It's also just a lot of fun, and it's the first course I would choose to introduce a new player to the sport.
If Buchmiller had the length of a modern course, it would probably be my favorite. It has excellent variety, with shorter holes and (relatively) longer holes, tunnel shots and more open shots, elevation change (both uphill and downhill), ace runs and guarded greens, and so on. And the flow is great as well. While some courses have a night and day feel to them - for example nine holes in the woods and then nine in the open - Buchmiller has everything blended in perfectly so that you are constantly throwing a new shot. It's a beautiful park (there are a couple of wooded type holes, but overall it is definitely a park style course), and it is always well-maintained. There are very few places to lose a disc. There isn't an excessive amount of walking between holes. And you can easily get in two or three rounds within a couple of hours.
But it is a shorter course. There are now long (alternate) baskets on many holes, which helps a little bit. However, in my opinion the alternate baskets don't play as well as the shorts. There is more backtracking, some overlap with other fairways, some of the "long" baskets are actually easier, and in many cases I think the shorts make for a better "golf" hole. But some of the long basket placements are significantly better, and my ideal layout would include a mix of shorts and longs. I sometimes see people making up their own "long" tees, and I know the local league sometimes plays safari holes, both of which would make the course a little more challenging. And like I mentioned above, it is a great course for putter only rounds.
Overall, I think it's an excellent course. I wouldn't travel just to play this course, but I definitely recommend it to anyone who is in the area, especially given that it plays quickly and is located centrally to many of the other area course (and is just up the road from Ship Rock).

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.