Central, SC 
Grand Central Station Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #15 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Very nice course that is great for distance

5+    5/7/2017   5/16/2017
Review By: pandabud104
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: - Easy to follow layout with maintained fairways. It is nice that you go near the parking lot several times, so easy to grab something or run to the bathroom

-Great mix of holes that play over creeks, up hills, down hills and everything in between. Love the island hole (14)

- There are several open holes where you can just let it rip so great if you want to see how far you can throw.

- They are building a bath house for even nicer bathrooms. They also have a few picnic tables and a nice little cover.
Cons: - There are a few tee pads that need maintenance. A few of the gravel ones need to be re-leveled and the concrete pad on 13 needs to be redone as it very uneven.

-A lot of the tee signs are messed up where they can't be read. This course is near some apartments and neighborhoods and graffiti is an issue. They have tried to clean the signs, but they just become unreadable.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a really nice course, but there is a lot of walking to play this course. I like that there is a good mix of holes and I feel comfortable enough to play this course solo as there is a lot of other people who are out there. This course is also the host for several tournaments each year, so I would check out their Facebook page before making a drive just to play this course.

I Hear the Train A-Comin'...

1    5/14/2017   5/15/2017
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 144  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So you end up driving through this neighborhood that is frankly not exactly the most upscale to put it kindly and right as you're about to curse your GPS for sending you on a wild goose chase you come to the end of the road and voila, a disc golf course magically appears, like stepping through the wardrobe into Narnia. Not just any run of the mill course, mind you, but a dedicated mamma-jamma all doo-dadded out with fancy railroad themed signs and multiple practice baskets, some weird shelter with an upper deck for observation and apparently more to come. It doesn't feel like a park insomuch as discovering an uncharted territory that was settled by a colony of disc golfers, staking out a claim and raising a village. I fully expect a small fort the next time I come, with some sort of disc golf flag flying from it.

So this is disc golf exclusive (sweet!) and meticulously designed and maintained by guys that clearly know what they're doing. It's like playing a private course except it's public and you can show up and play for free about anytime. It's courses like this that spoil me and make me thumb my nose at the "Pay to Play is so superior" crowd.

Amenities galore as far as disc golf goes. Great tee signs, lots of well-made tees, next tee signs make navigation none too difficult, shiny Innova baskets with flags on them, even orange whiskers stuck in the ground to denote the 10 m circle. It's a serious tournament disc golfer's dream course.

The course itself is top-notch. Design-wise you can't complain much. GCS mixes in short, medium and long holes, fairways of various shapes, a little elevation change, and a great balance of wooded and open holes. Most of the holes are a great test of skill and rarely is luck rewarded, a testament of great design. Attacking each hole is fairly straight-forward and it's up to you to execute. Multiple tees for most holes I think as well as alternate pin placements should assure that players never get bored.

The open holes aren't too wide open and the wooded holes aren't too wooded so golfers that like ball golf style courses and those that like really wooded courses should both be well-satisfied. Many of the holes are pretty unique, like hole 6 with its length and metal towers, hole 7's picturesque downhill bomb over a creek and hole 14's mini-gauntlet with its island green made of large stones and red wood chips. The par 4's are legitimate 4's, especially hole 11 with its fiendish wooded approach and quick green.
Cons: The use of available elevation is terrific but the course still suffers a bit from flatness, it reminded me of Castle Hayne a lot in this regard. Hole 1 and 10 are meh, hole 2 throws over the entrance road blindly and hole 16 seems like a filler hole. Hole 18 was a mildly disappointing way to finish. Some of the par 4's seemed a little soft or at least they weren't super-sized par 4's like at a lot of Charlotte courses where you have to crush shots back to back to score a birdie.

Navigation was a little confusing because the course overlaps itself in places but the "Next stop" signs cleared up confusion quickly. Unfortunately some punk graffiti'd a few of the tee signs and made them illegible. There's also nothing else to do but play disc golf basically so someone with kids in tow might not have a good time.

This is a preference thing but the wooded holes were mostly too much like the corridor variety where there's nothing really in between the tree-lines to serve as obstacles. A lot of the greens weren't terribly hard to approach either.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course but it's not quite an excellent course. It's close, like a very, very good course so I'd give it a 3.75 if I could. The lack of geological features to "wow" you, the relative flatness and a few handful of slightly underwhelming holes hold it back a tad for me. Still though, this absolutely a must play and deserving of its high ranking. The designer and all the helpers have done a great job, the Upstate SC crew really seem on the ball and I've really enjoyed their work so far.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of South Carolina's Best DGC's

5+    2/4/2017   2/28/2017
Review By: Sawyerh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course to play. It is a beautiful place to play and is kept up with very well. Very well laid out and has many different hole types and they change hole layouts from time to time which makes it diverse and enjoyable. There are not really any long walks between holes and there are benches at certain holes so players can rest if needed. Signs are made well letting players know all of the information that is necessary about the course and each hole. It is easy to locate the holes due to the signs. Overall a great course to play.
Cons: Hole number 2 is somewhat dangerous since you have to cross the road that is coming into the course. Hole number 6 which is the longest hole is in between two power lines which have a high potential to tear up your discs if they are struck. They have a Porto potty but an actual restroom would be nice but I realize it is expensive. Overall there is not much I would change about this course.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is more geared towards more advanced players but is still very fun for beginners. I will definitely keep playing at this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/2/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 270  Reviewed: 259  Exp: 20.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice 18-hole course tastefully spread out on beautiful land that is just perfect for disc golf and is only used for disc (no walking trails, playgrounds, etc.) I liked that each hole has its own space and is not crowded with the others, yet there is still only a short walk from hole to hole. The course is very well maintained, and it is evident that much time and effort has been put in to it, to the point of having hidden security cameras throughout the course to ensure it stays that way.

GCS has a little bit of everything with no two holes the same and no repetition on consecutive holes: 1) open and tight woods with lots of degrees in between; 2)flat holes and others with enough elevation to add interest and variety; 3) hole distances from the regular tees range from 180' to 760' and cover just about everything in between , with some legit par 4's ; 4) the wooded fairways contained forced shots going both left and right plus straight, and the more open holes give you options; 5) there is water on a few holes in the form of large creeks.

I like that each hole has something that makes it challenging (shape, distance, elevation, narrow, or water), yet nothing is insanely difficult just for the sake of being cruel.

The fancy and sturdy tee signs are proof of the thought, planning, and work put in here. Hole number, distance, and map are there of course, but also ad space which I am sure helps finance the course. The course has a train theme throughout and each hole has a signature nickname/motto. Navigation was easy with all the "next stop" signs pointing the way to the next hole. It makes two loops of 9's coming back near the parking lot between #9 and #10.

Tees are your usual material, but worked the same as concrete. All baskets in great shape, numbered, and easy to find even if hidden off the tee.

Great setting for tournaments, and not just the course, but with the added amenities of the covered picnic area with the lookout tower on top allowing for a view of about half the course.
Cons: Not a lot of anything major, mostly just some opinion things.

A couple holes had below average hole locations in my opinion of just being in the wide open middle of nowhere and are relatively easy to approach with lots of room for error and easy recovery. I am not saying all baskets need to be tucked tight in a grove somewhere, but maybe beside a single tree on one side or something to add just a bit of thought on the upshot. (it is possible that there are smaller trees planted that will eventually grow bigger and take care of this.) #1 is ok as a starting hole, #7 could have put the creek more into play as a risk/reward vs play-it-safe option, #9 , #10, and #18 all have open area baskets. (Now it was windy when I played, and if it is usually windy here, then that obviously makes these shots tougher.)

I was disappointed with #6 in the lack of the use of the electric towers on what is just a long and mostly wide open hole. Since there is nothing that can be done about the large metal man-made towers being there, and they are kind of an ugly feature on what is an otherwise beautiful course, I like the philosophy of "if you can't move them, then use them." The map and pic on DGCR showed the basket in the tower, but in reality the basket was further down taking the two towers practically out of play.

Hole 2 is great, just a minor unfortunate detail in that it does have to play across the road coming into the course. It is only disc golf traffic, but still you have to be aware of cars coming and going.

Not sure if it is possible here because of having to run plumbing/sewer lines and such, but one amenity bonus would be nice restrooms since this course is not near much of anything, however there was a port-a-potty on site.

What keeps me from rating this higher than a 4.0 is there are about 14 great holes and about 4 that are just average, which is what puts GCS just one notch lower than the best of the best in the country.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fantastic course that is suitable for just about any level of disc golfer, especially with some of the holes having some shorter alt. tees. I would play here all the time if I lived here. And I totally recommend it to others if traveling to the area. In fact, this part of South Carolina (Clemson, Greenville, Spartanburg) makes for a pretty nice disc golf destination with a good set of very nice courses of all different varieties.

The designers, caretakers, and local players should be proud of this course (I know they are). Well done, and I would like to come back here and give it another shot!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Central

5+    11/7/2015   11/8/2015
Review By: lukehamrick5
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open course for about 10 holes and the other 8 are wooded and technical.
Good number of holes have benches/seating
Will test your long driving ability and short technical game.
Whoever tends to the course does a great job of switching some pin positions every month or so.
Cons: Honestly can't think of many cons for this course. Play this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    8/5/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: trotline32
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Layout
Variety of Holes
Course Upkeep
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course. It is maintained by the town of Central. This means the grass is always cut, trash taken out, and the course is clean. The layout rivals that of any professional course. You have to be good at every aspect of the game to have a great score here. The are a few opportunities for Aces but they're few and far in between. Some holes are really long and you'll need distance to par out on these. There are a few short holes but basket layout adds to the challenge. There are some open holes and some wooded holes. Just an all around excellent mixture of hole layouts and settings. Overall this is an excellent course that will challenge every aspect of your game.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

5+    6/14/2015   6/30/2015
Review By: Streetcar
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. A very well designed course. Great use of elevation and land features.
2. Great mix of holes, long and short, tight and open.
3. Exclusive for disc golf. Don't have to share the fairways with trail walkers.
4. Nice tee pads for not being concrete, tee signs and posts in place directing you to next tee.
5. Will challenge all parts of your game. Wind can be a huge factor.
6. Alternate tee pads bring even more variety to this course.
Cons:
There are very few cons for this course, so,
1. If you are a beginner, this course may not be for you.
2. The No. 18 tee pad needs repair. The pad grid support has buckled.
3. Stray shots are punished severely.
Other Thoughts: Us upstate players have a jewel of a course to play at Central. Coming in at 6,600 feet, you will need a long game and accuracy. There are technical holes and several holes that will give you the opportunity to just air it out. Trouble abounds for errant shots especially on 8, 11, 12 and 13. If you are beginner and you want to play a course that the big boys play, this is the place! It is a tournament grade layout. My game is not quite up to the level it needs to be to play this course well, but I absolutely love playing it. It tests every part of my game and I'm better for it.

If you are not from here, and you are in the upstate SC to play, put this course on your itinerary.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A sweet spot

2-4    5/3/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 22.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I finally got to play this course I'd heard so much about, and it was a delight from beginning to end. It's cleverly designed, full of fun and challenging holes, with not a single bad hole among them, and lots of variety. It should provide enough challenge for better players, and at the same time be accessible to newer players, which is quite a trick.

The course covers 3 or 4 types of terrain. An open grassy hilltop, dotted with small trees (destined to become greater hazards in the coming years). A steep wooded hillside. A low, level creekside area with huge, and I mean huge, trees. And long, sloping powerline right-of-way.

Many of the par-4s, or even long par--3s, place an emphasis on shot placement---not just hitting the fairways but hitting the right spot in them to line up the next shot.

With the possible exception of the open area, there's not a bit of redundancy. After 1 round, I could remember every hole; no two seemed alike.

There are multiple tees on some holes, multiple pin placements on others. I played in a tournament, so don't know how often baskets are moved.

And this is a disc-golf-only public park, not sharing the land with other park activities. That's always a pleasure.
Cons: There are a handful of fairly open holes on the grassy hilltop, and how challenging they are depends greatly on your arm. If you've too little arm, they're routine 3s. I would imagine if you've got a big arm, they're routine 2s, at least when it's not windy.

On the wooded holes, the areas off the fairways are pretty dense. "Jail" is the word that comes to mind, and if you don't control your shots, you may be pitching back to the fairway a lot. Sometimes, even that is challenging.
Other Thoughts: The place is beautiful, and a joy to play.

It has a railway theme, with the excellent tee signs and even the "next stop" directions between holes. And railway lines on the hill in the far distance, so that a half-dozen times a day trains come cruising by, whistles blaring. You don't get ambience like that very often!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great and challenging course

2-4    3/6/2015   3/11/2015
Review By: chadwaters
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course because it has a tremendous mix of holes that tests all parts of your game. The first few holes give you a chance at a couple of birdies because you will need them if you mess up on hole 8. After hole 8 there is a great mix of shots that require you to make a distance shot through a tight corridor. Several of the holes on the back 9 are shots that beg for you to "go for it" but if you miss, you are gonna have a hard time getting out of the woods...lay up and play safe and you lose your birdie chance. Great risk/reward holes on the back 9.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great front 9

1    6/27/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: Hearin Chains
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent, excellent front 9!

Hole 2 is a lot of fun and really begs you to go for it in two, but if you miss right off the tee your going to work for a four. Nice risk / reward.

Hole 4 is a down hill 450ish , id say it plays more like 350 so its also a lot of fun to really let one go.

Hole 6 plays down the power line, Very cool! I've always wanted to do that. 760' that's going down hill a bit, very nice par 4 but Im sure some rocket arms get it in three.

Hole 7 continues down the same lines, but shorter at 500' with a creek to contend with. I did not realize how deep it was before I got to it, Im glad I didnt go in!

Hole 8 was my favorite. First part of the hole before you go back over the creek felt very "park" like, would be a nice spot for a picnic. Then its a nice uphill blast to the pin. Doable it in 3 with 2 well executed shots, but not a easy bird either.

Park was pretty much empty at 530 on a Friday night, was nice to have the run of the place.

Good signage at tees. Cool pavilion with a observation deck, would be really cool during a tournament to hang out up there.

Plenty of benches

Land is just for disc golf, very cool private feel. Wonderful space, pretty clean area, felt safe.
Cons: Holes 14, 15, 16 and 17 did not live up to the rest of the course, and felt like the belonged on a different track. There not "bad" holes, the rest of the course however set the bar much above the difficultly of these 4.

Hole 13 was a great par 4, then coming down to 14 as a gimme was OK, but then backtracking back 15 to play 16 was odd. Would be great to see 15 extended and 16 come back towards 17's box, but play across the creek.

Next tee signs please! I finally realized the next tee info is on the teesigns, but I never got to looking till i was putting out. The transition to 9 was especially difficult to figure out as a first timer and solo. I found the box for 18 so I turned around!

Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 3.5, overall its a great course, and if your in the area, its well worth the time. I will come back for sure!

To make me revisit and raise my rating I would like to see some redesign on 14,15,16. A raised basket on 14 might be something easy to implement to increase the difficultly there, as well as taking another look at the flow from 15/16/17.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.