Central, SC 
Grand Central Station Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #17 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
One of the Upstate's Finest

5+    9/18/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Championship-level discatchers for all holes

Mix of concrete and gravel teepads, slowly upgrading to all concrete

Fantastic variety of holes, wooded and open, wooded to open, open to wooded, short and long, technical and bomber, forehand and backhand. While not testing every possible shot, will require a great variety of shots.

Many true golf holes, where thought must be applied to landing zones and angles to the pin.

Most holes have two teepads or two pin locations, providing for great variety.

Five new but rough holes which will replace most of the easy birdie holes. As I understand it, the holes which the new ones are meant to replace will remain in the ground, providing for one complex which can cater to a wide variety of skill sets.

Fully functional bathrooms with plumbing and water fountains.

Course signage overall is good, could be improved though (see cons)

Several holes which could be considered "signature" holes

Next tee signs at awkward transitions

Kiosk in parking area with course map

Benches on most holes

Many holes have bag hangers on the tee sign post

Creek used creatively without much danger of losing a disc to it.
Cons: Some vandalism occurred on the course and has not been fully remedied, so some signs are difficult to read.

Additionally, one tee sign has been removed because of the dual use of the teepad (hoe 17's teepad is played backward for new layout hole 7).

Grass can get high, especially in the rough areas.

Some of the wooded areas are incredibly dense, making it difficult to find discs and can result in some lost discs.

Some of the gravel teepads will buckle and not be fixed right away; this is part of the course moving towards concrete teepads.

Newer players will struggle on some holes, even when playing from the short tees.

New holes are very difficult to play, with one teepad unmarked and no mowing having occurred since the beginning of the summer. Because they are still somewhat playable and are a bonus to the original 18, I am not removing any rating points because of the overgrown state.
Other Thoughts: Grand Central Station is one of the best courses in the Upstate, bar none. With a fantastic mix of holes types and required shots, you will use almost every disc in your bag while playing. Most holes have two teepads or two pins, with each tee or pin offering a significant variation from the other. The course is also being added to, with five new holes which will replace most of the shorter "must get" birdie holes and make the course significantly more difficult. While they are not currently in the most playable state, it is possible to play them and see the potential.

Some of the only detractors from this course are the thick woods and tall grass, which make finding errant shots difficult and can sometimes result in a lost disc. However, the fairways are wide enough to where this should not occur too often in a round, and the fairways are fairly regularly mowed. Additionally, some holes are not as accessible for a new player, as they often do not have the distance or control to throw the required shots. However, some other holes are still birdieable for a somewhat new player, and can help improve a player's game.

Favorite holes:

Hole 2: a tight gap about 125' off the tee requires a fairly accurate drive to get the birdie on the left pin, while there is enough of a landing area for slightly missed drives to have a chance to save a 3. The right pin can still be reached from the landing area, but if the tee shot makes it across the row it is a much easier upshot.

Hole 6: Super fun bomber shot down a power line easement. From the long tee, a power line tower is in the way, requiring a huge anhyzer around the right side or straight to fade shot to the left for a RHBH player, with the second shot to a pin at the center of the next power line tower. The fairway slopes downhill the whole way, making distance somewhat easy to get and the tee shot extremely fun to throw. The short pad is just a wide open bomber shot to the same pin. A longer pin brings the second tower into play on the second or third shot, but is rarely played.

Hole 7: Fantastic bomber shot to a pin 500' away and about 65-80' lower in elevation. A creek about 385' away requires the golfer to decide whether to lay up and play an upshot around the guardian trees for a three, or a bombing distance drive to try for the 2.

Hole 11: The hardest hole on the course, the teeshot plays as a placement shot across an open fairway to a wooded fairway around 100' away. Take whatever line you want, just place your shot accurately to get down the wooded fairway to a plateau green with a steep drop at the back. If you miss any shot slightly, saving par will require smart, accurate golf.

Hole 14: two trees off the tee frame an island green at the bottom of the hill. Miss the island, proceed to a rock framed drop zone about 40' from the pin to try to save three.

Hole 15: The prettiest hole on the course, and a dealer's choice shot from the tee. Backhand, forehand, or overhand, just navigate the trees and get to the pin. For added difficulty, go to the long tee (past the short tee and to the left) where a gap 30' off the tee frames the access to the fairway.

Hole 18: A snaking left to right to straight fairway in the woods opens up to an uphill fairway with several shorter trees. Play a layup to the landing zone or get aggressive and try to work an anhyzer to the mouth of the fairway, a two will be very rare on the hole. Extremely fun and one final kick in the teeth from a fantastic course.

While not an extreme destination course in and of itself like the IDGC, Grand Central is definitely a must play for any Upstate roadtrip, and is one of the jewels of the Upstate.

 One of South Carolina's Best DGC's

5+    2/4/2017   2/28/2017
Review By: Sawyerh
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course to play. It is a beautiful place to play and is kept up with very well. Very well laid out and has many different hole types and they change hole layouts from time to time which makes it diverse and enjoyable. There are not really any long walks between holes and there are benches at certain holes so players can rest if needed. Signs are made well letting players know all of the information that is necessary about the course and each hole. It is easy to locate the holes due to the signs. Overall a great course to play.
Cons: Hole number 2 is somewhat dangerous since you have to cross the road that is coming into the course. Hole number 6 which is the longest hole is in between two power lines which have a high potential to tear up your discs if they are struck. They have a Porto potty but an actual restroom would be nice but I realize it is expensive. Overall there is not much I would change about this course.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is more geared towards more advanced players but is still very fun for beginners. I will definitely keep playing at this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Central

5+    11/7/2015   11/8/2015
Review By: lukehamrick5
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open course for about 10 holes and the other 8 are wooded and technical.
Good number of holes have benches/seating
Will test your long driving ability and short technical game.
Whoever tends to the course does a great job of switching some pin positions every month or so.
Cons: Honestly can't think of many cons for this course. Play this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/5/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: trotline32
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Layout
Variety of Holes
Course Upkeep
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course. It is maintained by the town of Central. This means the grass is always cut, trash taken out, and the course is clean. The layout rivals that of any professional course. You have to be good at every aspect of the game to have a great score here. The are a few opportunities for Aces but they're few and far in between. Some holes are really long and you'll need distance to par out on these. There are a few short holes but basket layout adds to the challenge. There are some open holes and some wooded holes. Just an all around excellent mixture of hole layouts and settings. Overall this is an excellent course that will challenge every aspect of your game.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun!

1    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: BobbyCorn
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BASIC STUFF:

Great course out on its own piece of land. good signs from the road to get you to the course, great kiosk with a course map, portal-potty in the parking lot, and good teepads.

COURSE:

This course was well thought out and a lot of love and care have obviously gone into making it a great course in the Clemson Area. It's a long course that makes you throw several shots for distance, short shots, anny, tunnel shots, open to tunnel, tunnel to open, open, wooded, hyzer, downhill and uphill. Trash cans throughout the course and it is in great condition with Innova baskets. A few holes play over or along water and even some power lines as obstacles.
Cons: I did have a few moments of getting turned around going to the next tee, signs were mostly there, but I did not see them initially. A few more signs and a way to make the existing next tee signs pop more would go a long way for players playing it for the first time. I would not say it's bad, and common sense of disc golf will get you to the right place. In trying my best to remember specific holes.....1 to 2 I looked to the left and saw it was teepad for 11, not sure if a NexT sign was there......4 to 5 is up to the right and I don't recall a NEXT sign there but found the teepads.....I think I got turned around on holes 14, 15, 16, and 18 but found my way.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course in a tiny town just outside of Clemson. I was there to see the NOLES rock the Tigers and had the time to go play this jewel.

Great job to the designer and whoever assisted them getting the course in and installed.

Some will say the walks and overall course length from hole to hole or overall walking distance is too far, I say thanks for spreading it out and giving me some great walking exercise!

Thank you for taking the time to make that course as good as it is.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Grand is the key word in the course name!

5+    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Grand is the word to describe a course like this one. Once you see the arrows pointing you to the course, you are on your way to an amazing course on a pretty small piece of property. Anything could have been chosen to be on this property and not only is it a disc golf course, it's a grand destination course! FOLLOW THE ARROWS!!
-Well, a grand course has some seriously well and unique holes. Grand Central Station has so much uniqueness, scenery, variety, water and elevation! It has every hole you can think of.
-Every hole has something special to it. Whether I liked it or not, I noticed something special from holes 1 to 18!! You start off with an easy downhill, open shot and you end with a sick (Meaning epic) double dogleg par 4 baby!! Course comes from easy and straightforward to extreme (AKA 11).
-Some good consequences to the course. Heavy woods, OB and weeds. Doesn't seem to always be a pro but it can be fun to try to ditch trouble in general. Hole 7 is a downhill par 4 with a creek over 300 ft past the tee and it's always fun to try to get over and possibly make eagle if you are really impressive. I did the Huk Central tournament and the second day (Today) we played a different layout. Some holes were longer, like #6, we teed off on the orange pad and the basket was NOT under the power tower like it was the first day, it was 220 ft past it exactly. We played a few of the short pads as well and #13, believe it or not is severly punishing on the short. It's a sidearm par 3 that I triple bogeyed because I kept shanking it. Baskets were moved in easier and more difficult spots but this layout is only for tournaments here except for the teepads. We played the original layout yesterday and the special layout today.
-#15 actually has a long tee. The original layout has the short tee that's 250 ft and the long tee is relatively new! It's a really fun pro par 3 only 285 feet long but it's a deceptively difficult hole. A righty backhander or lefty sidearmer has an advantage. You want to start off with an understable disc so it will go right and you want it to turn back just a little because you still have to go through one of the lanes (preferably the right one) so you can make a possible birdie. A two on this hole is quite rewarding but it's a pretty easy three.
-Great mix of open and wooded holes. As well as long and short holes. I always tried to get some strokes back on the easy ones. Like after 11, I tried to birdie 12 and I successfully did on the final round!
-Like I said before. Every hole is special, every hole has its own name to it. The only name that needs to be changed is #16's. #16 was actually my favorite hole! It now has a left mando on the tree right in front of the tee pad. The hole is called "Better Safe than Sorry." Now that you can't go safe, I think it should be called "Risky but Rewarding!" I love the hole and the challenge of avoiding the creek to the left. That mando makes it super fun. I don't know why most people don't like it when I usually don't love mandos but love this one. It's so fun!!
-Plenty of benches and next tee signs. The only long transitions are the ones from 8 to 9 and 17 to 18 but both of the holes are worth the wait because they are both very fun and scenic.
-Arrows pointing you to the course. In the GPS you should definitely type in the address because on your way you will see the arrows pointing you to the course. Don't go down Sanders Rd when the GPS says to because it takes you to the neighborhood and loops back to where the arrows points you to the course. I do cross country and I get the point of doing loops in a CROSS COUNTRY meet because it's a specified distance but doing a loop before you turn where the arrow points you to is disc golf course is pointless. By the time you see the arrow, turn left! You will get there more quickly. Type in the address because the GPS will get to to the arrow except it doesn't tell you to TURN to where it points.
Cons: -The weeds are not trouble but there are many thorns in the woods. I got cut up because I played terribly on a few holes. I played too consistantly too. 67, 67, 67, 65. I wish I could've found a way to get better than +6. The special layout was a par 58 and the first was the original.
-Good luck on #11. It's terribly frightening. If you are uninpressive like me, I'd go short of the opening. Every round I went for it and made the distance to the woods but not the opening. My other triple bogey was on this hole on the second round. I came from +2 to +5 and parred 12, bogeyed 13 and parred 14 (Wimpy tee shot). I started on #15 everytime except the first round.
Other Thoughts: -Wow! Such a standout course in South Carolina. Not something you should ever skip. All the holes I played terribly on were my fault that I did. Even on the "extreme" hole 11. This course is better than some of the ratings given in the previous reviews. A 3 rating would be the rating for a generic course that I wouldn't play so often just because I wouldn't really feel like it. There are so many holes here that I really loved.

Holes I loved!

#2. As unusual as this hole is, I really liked it. The basket is in a yard close to a decrepit shed and the tee shot is over the road.

#3 long. This hole was mean to me but it's something else! It's a tight 245 foot anhyzer shot that needs to turnover by the time you are sort of close to where the short basket location is or you will be in the trees.

#4. This hole has two positions. The original is a super fun downhill anhyzer shot around the high wire and over the crap and the special position is just a straight 420 foot downhill shot. Don't want to go left because it's very messy in there.

#6 original. 760 ft long!! Throw under or hyzering around the power tower is extremely fun and you get you throw another shot just as far as you can and hope to get to the basket under the second power tower!

#7 in general. This hole has a great view from the top and I found it so tempting to attempt to throw a big shot over the creek but I wanted a birdie. #7 on the special layout was a cool hyzer shot over the creek. #7 on what I call the special layout is a fun hyzer shot over the creek.

#8 original. Such a difficult par 4, but quite interesting. The first shot, you want to lay up with a midrange to get in good shape for the second up the 20 something foot hill!

#9. This hole is a great birdie attempt. Take advantage of it if you had trouble on #8.

#11. This hole was super mean to me but I will be the good guy in this and say that it's such a unique pro par 4 that goes into the woods. If you go right into the mouth 280 ft from the tee. You are quite impressive. It's a definite payback for a couple of birdies you made if you are not careful.

#14 original. Before you get to this one you may be wishing the approach shot for #8 was downhill instead up going uphill. On #14's tee pad, you are about 50 feet to the right of #8's basket and you just throw down the hill and then you are maybe 70 feet from the basket. Pretty easy birdie and it's aceable.

#15 special. This hole is super fun and challenging! To get to this tee, go straight past the original tee and go the left. Try to start your throw to the right and left it turn. Easy par but rewarding birdie.

#16. My favorite hole. Tough ace run. Throw left of the mando with a slight anhyzer with a disc that will turn back just a little. The creek can be tricky to avoid.

#17. Hyzer king!! Throw an overstable disc. Timing is everything!

#18. Double dogleg! Throw a rightly flick or lefty backhand for your tee shot ACCURATELY. A birdie is seriously rewarding. You will have to rip a driver accurately out of the woods. Great finish.

-I'm coming back for sure. I encouage everyone to come out and do the annual Huk Central Tournament. On the special layout holes 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 15 have a different tee, basket or both.
-Standout to Bryan Schaupp. He's was such an amazing host to the tournament and I never got to play with him. Great guy and he designed an epic course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenging Course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect mixture of long and short holes in woods and out in the open. Great long holes which is a nice change from the short hold courses which dominate the area. Elevation adds alot of fun to this course and makes it a nice hike as well.
Cons: 11 is awful. Extremely hard hole to me. You need a semi long and perfectly accurate shot to get to the opening of the woods. Then another perfect and long shot just to get near the hole which is almost impossible with the random trees in the middle of the fairway and huge ditch right before the basket. And then theres a huge drop off behind the basket. Just a little too much stuff to deal with all on one hole. Cut down the trees in the fairway and fill the ditch and leave the drop off and you would have a great hole. This hole is the only reason why I did not rate this course and 5 disc.
Other Thoughts: 13 and 18 are rather difficult. Depending on your skill level this could be a pro or con. They are long holes with narrow fairways and require pin point accuracy. Little hard to get a disc to fly with the fairway on 18. it dog legs right then back left and then opens up. Still haven't managed to get my understable wraith to go right then left on it quite right yet. But I love a challenge!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

2-4    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 149  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the prettiest greens I have seen. Holes 8 and 15 really highlight this feature. They're both in the midst of woods, cleared out areas, with really pretty grass. Very picturesque.

The secluded feel of this course is very nice. This aspect of the course is highlighted in that this area is DG only.

Out of every course that I've played, this course has the best mix of open and wooded. The ratio is perfect. To shoot well at GCS you have have to be long and accurate.

The tee pads are excellent! Almost all of them are now packed sand and gravel which offer great footing.

Baskets are all new DISCatchers. All double chains.

Tee Signs and Course Map are top notch, in the top 3 of all courses I have played.

All challenges are present at GCS: Distance, tight gaps, Creeks, OB, Precarious putts, etc.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in most parts. Briars, poison oak/Ivy/etc. This should get better the more the course is played.

Somewhat lacking in parking. There is a small gravel lot right next to the course map which is ample space 99% of the time. But more space is required for a tournament.

No bathroom or water source! This is what really cost GCS and prevented me from giving this course a 5. For such a long and strenuous course, amenities are almost necessary.

One thing I really can't fault it for, but would make it that much better, is the presence of a lake. If you had a lake to contend with on one or two holes, it would be that much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just flat out amazing. Great variety of shots, beautiful fairways, great pads/baskets, etc.

I would recommend this course to any player Intermediate-Pro, but Grand Central Station has it all and is worth the trip for any level player! The course that it is most similar to (In my opinion) is Lake Russell in Elberton, GA.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 105  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All shots are required here. It will test your game at every turn.

Tees are not concrete but a honeycomb system filled with sand. Grip was fantastic on a hot summer day. Not sure about rainy days. Some tees are not complete yet but no issue on natural surface.

Secluded filling really adds to the allure of Grand Central.
Cons: Very hilly in some spots so some might think this is a hike of a course. I enjoy that aspect in most cases.

No bathrooms/facilities of any kind. Could use some trash cans which I imagine will get put in soon.

My only concern was a few more bridges need to be added when finishing a hole and moving to another tee box. In a few cases you have to walk backwards to the same bridge. I would imagine this would cause a problem during tournament play. The bridges were beautiful so I'm sure it was a cost factor as to why only one was installed at each creek crossing.
Other Thoughts: Course was put in after I moved to Greenville. BUT my old stomping grounds are 5 minutes away so road trips are planned.

Warning: It is a difficult course and if you enter the woods you can expect high numbers.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Complete Package

5+    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: muneebee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has it all. A little bit of everything, and not too much of anything. This is a course I could play a few times a week and not get tired of it, as it tests every shot in the bag. Since I don't know every shot it will be a long time before I tire of the course, and hopefully by then I'll be good at every shot!
Cons: The only thing wrong with this course is that's it's not quite done, and that it wasn't built a few years ago because I would have been playing it longer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.