Springfield, MO 
Crusader DGC Share
Uploaded By: grantbenson Hole #8 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun course

2-4    5/5/2017   5/5/2017
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 187  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Nice little course on the school grounds.

Well maintained and easy to follow.

Good use of elevation, mature trees and the creek that runs at the far end of the campus....

Memorable holes:

#1 Straight level throw to a basket that is on the end of a plateau that drops off to the rear and the right of the basket.

#2 Similar throw but several trees as protection

#4 Down a hill with two large trees as protection on right side of fairway

#5 Throw across the creek (creek is about 3/4 of the way from tee box)

#6 Straight throw to basket that is positioned 10 feet in front the creek.

7-8-9.. straight throws with mature trees as protection.
Cons: Rubber mats for tee boxes... very short...allows for a step and a half throw... some are getting uneven.

Long walk from #5 tee to basket... no close bridge across creek.

Some signage missing.
Other Thoughts: Was coaching a St Louis team on site for a soccer tourney and had a two hour break between games.... glad I always travel with the discs!!

Course is a fun little course, quick to play....

Needs a bit of sprucing up.... put in concrete pads and replace the missing signage and this gains a whole point in my book!! Flow is great, thought needed for shots, creek adds a neat scenic aspect...

If you're in Springfield, it's definitely worth the stop...

 good

2-4    5/13/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: kumpfboy69
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: short and quick mostly ace runs accept hole 9 you can only really looes a disc on 5 and 6 thats
Cons: really only throwing putters and mid exept on hole 9 baskets splash out sometimes
Other Thoughts: its nice for a quick round i know the guy that deisned it more of a left handd course but you can get a lot of aces if you can throw straight

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course!

5+    3/20/2015   4/24/2015
Review By: theRHW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +variance in the holes
+well maintained grass
+easy to navigate
+little chance of loosing a disc except for hole 5, but you can usually get it back
+few obstacles
+usually very little foot traffic
+rubber tee pads
Cons: -holes are not labeled
-Baskets could be updated
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is next to the student fitness center on Evangel Campus

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 quick lil 9

1    2/25/2014   2/28/2014
Review By: ag_hittman
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Quick I guess, and it does have big trees which I liked
Cons: Only 9 relatively short holes, not very challenging, and several distances at 215ft area

Just not my cup of tea this is for folks just beginning

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

5+    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Tribefan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can be played in about 30 minutes, 10 baskets and most are within 200-250. Great for working on putting and mid range.
Cons: There are some holes that are close to some minor college traffic and parked cars. I have never officially hit a vehicle, but can say I have cringed when I was really close.
Other Thoughts: I attend Evangel for Graduate studies so I can trade my backpack for my DG bag. It is a wonderful course for short throws.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, really fun

1    5/15/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: jonno_norton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Great to walk around on campus, feels very safe and the grounds are kept nicely. Great area to walk through.
Cons: Sometimes it's really hard to find your disc in certain holes. Remember where you threw it! Also watch out on the water obstacle, you may get your disc stuck on the house across the stream! We did this and used a long branch from a nearby tree to get it off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really great course. I played it as one of my first times and did a positive 7 I think. Not bad considering there are water obstacles.

 Great course in Springfield

5+    10/12/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the space available. I like the rubber tee pads, and all the holes are well marked. Kind of short, but there is a decent amount of obstacles to most baskets
Cons: I wish it was a little longer. Not really a great way to cross the creek on hole 5. They didn't really flatten out the area underneath the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: After hole 4, you have to walk between the baseball fields. It's fun, and it won't take you long at all! Always worth play through at least twice in an evening.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to play on a lunch break!

5+    2/24/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: Dubbel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Fun and quick course to play. At most it takes an hour to play.
2. A good beginner course that a more advanced player can enjoy too.
3. It's a well-designed course. Mature trees and the creek force shots instead of the designer arbitrarily creating mandos.
4. One of best manicured courses I have played. The grass is always cut, the baskets and signs are well cared for, and there is not any trash lying around.
5. Disc can easily be retrieved from the water hazards.
6. Tee pads on every hole. It should be mentioned that the pads are short and rubber so this isn't a big pro, but it's better than natural tee pads.
7. There is always another person playing, but the course is never so crowded that it slows down play. Also, the people are friendly, and willing to help you find the next tee.
Cons: 1. The walks between holes 4 & 5, 6 & 7, and 7 & 8 are fairly long. This can make finding the next hole difficult if you don't know your way around.
2. Holes 2, 3, and 4 are too clumped together. On these holes you have to watch for other people's discs.
3. Hole 9 is across a field that is regularly used, and sometimes times this hole has to be skipped.
4. The tee pads are too short, and this is causing them to become rutted on the front and back. Normally this isn't a problem, but if it is wet the ruts become mud pits.
5. Holes 1, 2, and 4 are right next to busy parking areas meaning an errant throw could easily hit a car.
6. The creek on holes 6 and 7 has no nearby bridge. You either have to go out of your way, or hop across loose rocks in the creek.
Other Thoughts: To find hole 5 walk north from number 4's basket. After you've gone between the baseball fields the tee for 5 is on your left. To find hole 7 walk keep following the creek towards Division, walk across the drainage bridge, and hole 7 is on your left. Hole 8 is across the soccer field and the entry road. It is at the corner of the entry road and Division.

This is a fun and quick course that is only 5 minutes from 65 and Division. Head west on Division until you cross Glenstone, after the light turn left into Evangel. This way will be quicker for everyone except people driving east on 44.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NON SMOKING/NON ALCOHOL COURSE

5+    6/3/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: drdupree
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean and mowed regularly being on a college campus.

Enough trees to be interesting without being congested.

Creek gives the only water hazard within 20 miles. And it's a perpetually-flowing shallow stream.

Good signs and directions. Easy to follow to the next tee.
Cons: Temporary (hopefully) rubber pads. These will be slippery if you like to throw in light rain, like I do.

Parking is limited being on campus. Although they have marked the parking lot between the 9th basket and the 1st tee as "Visitor Parking", there's no guarantee you'll find a spot during classes.

Other Thoughts: This is a NON SMOKING/NON ALCOHOL course. It IS on private property. The Administration are talking about putting a fence around the whole course because of some ^%$*^%$*s drinking early one Saturday morning and swearing at some higher-up out playing with his kids. NOT cool. Please, show respect.

If there is no parking available by the 1st tee, you might park in the park off Division St. Play from the 6th back around to the 5th.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Beginner Course

5+    5/24/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: cookrite
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course is well layed out considering the small amount of land it sits on.

- Mature trees are in play on nearly every hole.

- The course is always mowed and no trash or other common problems you find at many public parks

- There are a couple of holes with water in play that don't require a swim to retrieve a disc.

- There are tee signs now that are clear and well done.
Cons: - Being a college there are a lot of activities going on during the school year so waiting on people that are in your way can be irritating but not too bad.

- The rubber tee pads are a bit short but it's not too bad of an issue since a run up is not require... except maybe on hole 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: This is an above average beginner course in my opinion. A great place to work on your mid-range and putting.

Being on a college campus may make it congested but you can always rely on it being a clean safe environment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.