American Fork, UT 
Art Dye Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 410ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Hard tech course

1    8/7/2017   8/7/2017
Review By: golfbrewer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice hard 18 hole course. Went on sunday around noon and not many people playing. Everyone that I saw was very nice. Nice long shot with lots of trees and some open shots.
Cons: Some tees are missing signage on the hole. Some holes say that they have 2 or 3 tees didn't see the extra tees. At one time the baskets had the numbers on them but they are not there any more. Some baskets have the numbers but only like 6 to 8 baskets. Kinda hard to navigate to the next hole.

Lots of trees and downed trees as well. There was one tee that is totally gone I think it was tee 12. I could not find it. There was a lot of trash. The course needs maintenance.
Other Thoughts: This course is not for a beginner. Make sure that you bring a map of the course you are going to need it. Play with someone that has played the course that will help a lot.

I will play this course again

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Potential

2-4    8/6/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: Jeremyallann@aol.com
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Technical holes with good shot selection.
Cons: Terrible or no signage. No idea what baskets to throw at, basket numbers don't match map. Basically playing in a trash dump.
Other Thoughts: They put a lot of money on hole ones concrete tee pad and signage, it's all down hill from there.

 Challenging tight fairways

2-4    6/6/2015   6/15/2015
Review By: DJord
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging tight fairways. Thickly wooded course. You don't feel like you're in Utah. This could be an incredible course with a little TLC.
Cons: Poor signage and tee pads. The numbers on the baskets seem to be backwards. They don't face the fairway. You'll need to play with someone that knows the course, or follow behind a group that knows the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 potential

2-4    3/10/2015   3/12/2015
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bring a map! This is a good course with a good mix of fairways. A few of the fairway designs are just awesome. Surroundings are rough at first but turn pleasant starting with 13. This is one of the most wooded courses in the state, so if you are like me, you will enjoy the challenge of hitting narrow tight lines. This would be a great course if you were are a local and knew the layout and placements. 3,4,5,7,14, and 15 were top notch.
Cons: Most of the baskets are blind. (at least in the current placements) Plan on walking fairways and searching basket locations. Baskets are dull metal with old paint and tend to camouflage so they are very difficult to see. Locals might want to take a cue from creekside and tie some bright orange streamers on baskets for visiting players. This would help increase pace of play dramatically.
Another drawback is that the first 12 holes play through a post apocalyptic dumping ground wasteland. The surroundings could easily be cleaned up and improved so hopefully the local club has some workdays planned.

One of the steepest downhill fairways is a blind hyzer starting across the crescent hill and disappearing left down to the target. 60% of your discs flight will be blind. I feel like downhill shots are like sacred gold and discs that fly downwards to a basket should be in view. It sucks to throw and hike up steep hills with no payoff coming down. Poor design in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: A few holes require you to land your disc on or near old stacks of concrete/asphalt. Bring some durable plastic. (this is common in Utah, disc clubs tend to get permission to use these areas as the sport is still in its infancy here)
Totally worth playing (with a map) course has potential.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun

2-4    8/8/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Starburst
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the variety and challenge of this course! This course is played in a grove of trees on the outskirts of the park. There are some open distance shots, curve shots, tunnel, uphill, downhill, and mixtures of them all.
Cons: 1) Be ready to hike. This course is not for those who can't hike up and down and back up hills. You'll also want a course map printout, it can be hard to find the next hole at times.
2) There may also be some BMX bikers or paintball teams sharing the area.
3) WATCH YOUR DISC! It's easy to throw a disc off course and lose it in the brush, so just keep an eye on it (use a bright color disc to help)
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 has a course map, take a picture of it with your phone. Hole 1 might be hard to find your first time, so a printed map is handy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home

5+    8/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Squirrilah Fish
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly in the shade, and a really fun layout. Once you know your way around. Virtually every shot you could think of is available to you. Long and straight, right and left dog legs, up hill, down hill, pedestal baskets. An absolutely terrific course to hone your skills. The field between the course and parking lot is the perfect field to just let discs rip, and practice drives and other shots. If you want to throw a 1000' roller, you have the room. Granted there is not soccer practice.
Tile tee boxes have now been put in at every hole except for 12, but they are a little narrow and short.
Cons: It's very confusing without a course map, especially between holes 14-18. They do have a course map at the first hole, so snag a picture of that with your phone if anything.
There's often pedestrian traffic, and the occasional BMX bikers. The area was formally known as the table tops, I actually helped build a lot of the jumps, but a few of the holes fairways are the span of the table top, so not very friendly when you have bikers and golfers.
BUGS! Holes 15,16,17 you get eaten alive if your there around dusk.
The course can be really hard on discs. Lots of trees, rocks, and hard ground, but there are also lots of grassy areas.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time saying anything negative about Art Dye, I've spent most of my life in that area, wether baseball, soccer, football, BMX, or paintball. It's a popular area, watch out for pedestrians especially on holes 13, and 14. They need to put up a sign on the walking trail that says "watch out for frisbees" or something. I have hit one older gentleman after a bounce in the shin. Not a good feeling. If your looking for the best course in Utah County I say Art Dye is number one, Jolley's Ranch number 2, although obviously I am a little biased.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Dirt Course

2-4    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had a lot of really good things about it. All in all it has pretty much every kind of throw that makes it fun and challenging. There are some good straight shots with only a few trees, then there are other holes that are littered with trees and you have to swing your disc on some nice curves and throw through some tunnels of trees. There is a hole that you throw uphill on and then there are a few holes that you throw downhill on. Most of the tee areas have nice tile there so you have a good solid throwing area.

The course really is great, it will test your skill shots for sure. And discs are not hard to find if you throw a bad shot.
Cons: Finding the first hole was a little bit difficult. (Look for the big open area just north east of the soccer fields in the dirt and you will find the tee area for hole one). The course to me felt like it was built on what used to be a dumping ground for construction companies. You will find old metal piping and concrete slabs littered all around. It makes for some hazardous areas if you aren't careful. And yes, 17 of the 18 holes are played in the dirt, so be prepared to get a little bit dusty.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun course to play for sure. One of the best things is it is in the shade for most of the course so you beat the heat. It is in a park so you can bring the family and there is something for everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course, a little hidden

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: - Great variety for a wooded course, some mostly wide open holes plus some great technical holes
- A little elevation, which is great
- It's in Utah, so the scenery is nice
- Not crowded at all (I was alone on the course) unlike Creekside, which was jam packed
Cons: - Some teepads are just dirt, which sucks
- The actual teepads are some kind of slate blocks, and they're small, so that's kind of a bummer
- There was a lot of construction going on when I was there, so it was hard to find the first tee
- Navigation wasn't awful, but it was a little tricky, especially since they move the baskets around. My map didn't always match the actual layout
Other Thoughts: I liked Creekside more, but this was a very good course. I would enjoy playing here more.

 Give it a chance, it will change your game...

5+    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: cleverett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety: tunnel shots, open shots, up hill, down hill, elevated basket, etc.
-Teaches you good golf as the technicality of the course makes you think through your shot and challenges your drive and approach
-Multiple basket placements that will change often to keep the course interesting
-Lots of opportunity to play with others as they have doubles nights and some league play there (check out Wasatch Disc Golf Club)
Cons: -American Fork uses part of this park as a road construction dump, holes 1, 11, 12 constantly change
-No signs, can be confusing to navigate (try to play with a local if it's your first time. Very simple once you play it through)
-There are non disc golfers on a hike and bike trail and bmx track that can be oblivious to the course
-Tee pads are a little small and a few holes are missing them all together, but that is a relatively minor con
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time with this course the first few times that I played it. At first it is tough to navigate and the changing pin placements would throw me off a bit. However, after asking to play with a few groups to get a sense of the course it has quickly become a favorite of mine.

This course will challenge all aspects of your game, from mental, physical, and technique. There is more variety in these few 18 holes than in most courses in UT valley combined. The terrain can be rough so bring sturdy shoes and be ready to hike a bit. I would say that this course is not very beginner friendly as it can be unforgiving with the many trees and hills, but like I said, it will make you be a better, smarter player.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

5+    4/15/2013   1/30/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. It easily the most underrated course I have played. There are very technical shots that will punish almost anyone, but everyone can still have a great time. Very creative layout with lots of diversity. Wooded shots, tunnel shots, open fields, etc. Truly a gem of a course.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty narrow, and not very long. Also, it is very difficult to find your way around the course if it is your first time. I really recommend finding somebody there to play your first round with.
Other Thoughts: I've played Dela, Whistlers, Selah Ranch, Bud Hill, Fountain Hills, Morley Field, and lots of other fantastic courses. This course is right up there with some of the most enjoyable courses I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center