Beatrice, NE 
Chautauqua Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 245ft.   3 / 226ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Chautauqua Rocka

1    8/21/2017   11/2/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chautauqua Park is a pretty good 18 hole course, with lots of versatility provided by multiple concrete tees on most if not all holes. Plays fairly easy from the shorts, and adds water, elevation, trees and distance if you use the longs. Baskets are good enough to get the job done, and there are tee signs that range from broken and crumpled to decent quality.

I liked hole 1 a lot, a good start that plays across a low lying area with a pipe bridging left to right, to a target atop the hill on the opposite side. 2 plays over the creek if you use the long tees, and trees take away some airspace. 6 was a fun downhill throw with some branches reaching out to thwart an errant drive. 7 has a winding fairway with undulating terrain and plenty of trees.

I thought different tees worked well providing different looks at the same pin locations, and would cater to players of all skill levels. The park grounds were nice and well kept.
Cons: The signs were ok, but a map is a nice thing to have if it is your first time here. Even with a map, some of the alternate pads are not easy to find.

A few holes play near roads and walking trails. Might have to wait for cars and pedestrians occasionally.
Other Thoughts: I played Chautauqua Park on the day of the solar eclipse. Beatrice was in the center of the path of totality, and the park had more people in it that afternoon than it had probably ever seen before. Hundreds of people were there to observe the event, and I was still able to play most holes from the short tees without much interference.

The Moon's shadow was creeping across the park as I teed off at the 9th hole, and I had a nice run. I keep thinking I should have waited for full eclipse to throw the drive, might have gotten some strange atmospheric shift pulling my Roc into the chains for the ace. Had to settle for the birdie before moving to the back nine.

I really liked a few of the holes, and the long tees would have made it more fun and challenging. May have to return some time and catch a round on the longer layout. My favorites were 1, 6, and 7. The front nine was overall a little better than the back, if you ask me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my hometown course

5+    7/10/2014   5/21/2015
Review By: kumpfboy69
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2015
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this is wear i learned discgolf theres a little bit of everything short long up hill down hill playing over water next a river along a highway ace runs i have 12 aces there btw and i love it very nice people out there
Cons: need new tee signs some where vadalized and it makes me really mad! when u land on the highway sometimes you get your disc ran over
Other Thoughts: i love it!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beatrice-Home of the 100 ft Silver Maple

1    4/18/2015   4/22/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 426  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well kept course that has multiple pads and pin placements too. The park uses the present elevation to its advantage in particular on the front 9. The tee pads were adequate and so is the signage.
There is a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes here. Also there is a good mix of open and moderately wooded shots. Some holes have ACE RUN potential.
There are holes with protected pins, low ceiling shots, and dog leg L/R shots can be found as well.
Well defined lines on several holes and a couple of holes have water threat nearby as well. The back 9 is more open for those players that like to air out drives.
There are other amenities here like a playground, campsites, etc.
Some of the tee posts had bolts which served as bag hangers.
My favorite holes here were 1, 4, 7, and 10.
Cons: The walks between pins and the next tee are lengthy at times. This slows the flow of the round down a bit. The walk from 18's basket to the parking lot is rather lengthy as well.
Holes 11-14 were pretty much wide open so wind will factor in here a bit.
The grounds and the hard pack around the tees will get slick after a good hard rain.
Navigation can get confusing in spots, front 9 in particular, so first time users might want to take the map.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course in a very large and well manicured city park. It has a lot of nice holes and the front 9 is some great disc golfing.
This is one of the best courses on the southern Nebraska scene. I would play this course again just for the front 9 alone. It offers different looks from the multiple pads and you will use all the shots in your bag in order to score well. If you are in the area this is a must play.
Check out the 100ft tall Silver Maple that is by 17's basket.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great park course

5+    4/10/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: AdamBarnard
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of course variety here
- High replay-ability
Cons: - Wayfinding is not great
- The 'A' tees seemed a bit short, consider the 'B' or 'C' tees to add some distance to the hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. A manicured park setting with 3 concrete tee box options and multiple pin placements per hole, I was quite impressed about the replay-ability of this course. I would recommend a MAP though as the wayfinding is not great. The front 9 is a technical course with lots of cool tree shots and some topography utilized. The back 9 is much more open with large trees coming into play - bring out your drivers for the back 9. I think that is what i enjoy most, is that is has a little of everything: Good design, concrete tees, usage of many disc types, great park setting. Overall, worth a visit if you enjoy disc golf.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course to try out!

5+    3/21/2015   3/26/2015
Review By: NCK1990
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front 9 are very technical
-Back 9 are more open and LONG, yet still plenty of trees/bushes in play.
-Flow is good
-Well kept park, grass is mowed, very little trash
-Bathrooms available (were locked during a tournament)
-Plenty of parking by hole #1
-A,B & C tee pads to offer different challenges/distances(ALL concrete)
-Mach 3 baskets on all but 2-4 holes.
-Variety of shots needed to tame this course
- Pond comes into play on holes #2 and #10
- Hole #7 is challenging(playing road O.B.) but one of the most picturesque holes, I've ever played. Never saw the waterfall in operation yet but still beautiful!
-Multiple pin placements(I've noticed @ least on the front 9)
-Variety of trees to play around. Not just Cottonwoods.
- Hole #3 is a really cool one. Keep it between the pines and you'll be just fine!
-Elevation on the front 9 is plentiful.
-Hole #13 is REALLY LONG. Good opportunity for a long bomb and a long approach shot.
-Course plays away and around other park areas, so little need to worry about playgrounds/Camping/Parking Lot areas.(Walking/Bike path along the back 9 is the only part to be weary of pedestrians.
-Fun yet challenging course to play at.
Cons: -Map/Signage could be better and on ALL tee pads.
-Hole #5(B or C Tee pad) doesn't have a sign but A or B, in front of it does, kind of blocking a route between a couple trees.
-A few holes on the back 9 were replaced by cheaper baskets(I think all but 1 or 2 were single chain)
-Back 9 has ZERO elevation change.
-Didn't notice very many trashcans around the course.
-Some trees on Hole #3 looked like they caught the pine bug and/or blew down. (would hate to see any more of these trees disappear)
-Looked like someone was living next to the tee pad of #12. Sleeping bag/blankets/bugs, next to the river bank.(Guy on my card said that it was there during one of last years tournaments)
-Long walk back to hole #1 from #18
-If you like to cross the creek, from hole #8 to hole #9, there are stepping stones/blocks but it's sketchy to cross. Could easily put a bridge plank over this area.
Other Thoughts: Really cool course and worth making a trip to check it out! The transition from the, wooded/technical front 9 to the open/long back 9 is pretty intense so it seems almost like 2 different courses linked together. It's a great course for all levels of players, you just have to play the tees suited for your skill level. I never have had any problems with the few lower quality baskets, on the back 9 but when making a longer putt, I had some doubts. Can't say enough about holes #3 & #7, just really awesome holes that you don't see much of around here. Other cool shots are holes #1(footbridge),#2(over pond),#10(hard right around pond),#15(thick bushes by pin),#18(tall pines protecting pin) A windy day, out of the right or wrong direction can really change your score. Seemed to be little pockets, here and there, where wind currents will flow different directions. Awesome course!!!! I highly recommend giving it a go!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not just a stroll in the park.

5+    5/18/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is amazing for technical throws. Multiple tees per hole each bring a interesting drive angle towards the basket. #2 has a small pond you can throw over, which comes back into play on #10. #3 has tall pine trees that force a tight dogright. #5 is my favorite as the basket is situated on the slope of a tall hill. Very challenging but you fill rewarded when sinking a birdie. #7 can be quite scenic next to the basket as a rock formation has a waterfall when weather permits.
Cons: The back nine. Other than #10, each hole is long, open and has no elevation changes. Several large trees (One has a sign next to it saying its the tallest of its species in Nebraska.) can provide obstacles. If you like to throw long drives, this is a fair opportunity. As long as the wind is calm, otherwise watch out for discs heading towards the river!
Other Thoughts: This was my very first course to play on. A big thanks to my brother and the local players for introducing me to the sport. The local league is full of great players and they give great advice. Overall, this is a excellent course. Better signage would bring the course near perfection, including markers on the basket poles pointing towards next tee. Last thought, although it may be a huge undertaking. What if it were possible to dig a small pond on the back nine? The field in the park is largely open. Some bushes and park benches would create obstacles. If the City Parks and Recreation could get onboard for park improvement and beautification, this could help the course in a big way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Night and Day

2-4    7/2/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.8 Years
Pros: The front nine. Shorter, more technical holes, but don't be turned away if you just like to bomb. These first 9 holes are a blast! These weave in and out of trees and have some elevation changes as well. #3 and #7 (when basket is elevated) are very unique holes.

This is also a very nice, unique, and well-maintained park.
Cons: The back nine on hot summer days. Most of the year this would be a haven for long bombs, but in the summer it is wide open and loooong. So, only a con a couple months a year.
Other Thoughts: A must play if you are in or around the area!

 So many options...

2-4    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 189  Reviewed: 183  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts off with a couple fun holes. Hole 1 throws to a basket tucked behind a pedestrian bridge with a creek behind. Lots of routes to the hole, and lots of ways it could go wrong. Hole 2 throws beside or over a scenic pond (depending on which tee you use). Hole 3 is one of the coolest holes: rows of trees protect the short position, so a birdie requires a precise shot, or a very good turnover shot around the trees. I didn't get to see the long position in use, but this requires an accurate second shot down another narrow hallway of trees. Tough to explain, but I'd love to see this hole in a tournament.

The whole front 9 has some scenic holes, playing in an out of sunken valleys. Hole 7 has some natural rock walls that make a very nice border to an interesting hole.

Every hole on the course has three tees, which is something I rarely see. The A tees have a lot of birdie opportunities and some ace runs. The B tees are a bit tougher/longer, but the C tees (which I didn't get to play but did inspect) force some very difficult lines.

There are multiple pin positions on many (all?) holes. Tee signs were missing from most holes, though, so I'm not sure what all of the positions look like.

Navigation wasn't too bad. I didn't use the map much, and the various tee pads were visible and were usually in places that made sense.
Cons: Unfortunately, the back 9 is not nearly as interesting as the front 9. Hole 10 is a nice right-to-left fairway with a wide part of the creek punishing errant shots or skips (this is one of the only places you could lose a disc). But holes 11-15 are kind of boring, long, open shots with trees coming into play only occasionally. I think the designers of the course did what they could with these holes, but I wonder if the wooded area near hole 10 could have been used for some more inspiring holes. The final 3 holes are better but not on par with the front 9.

Hole 18 finishes pretty far from Hole 1, and it's a hike back to your car.

Tee signs are missing from most holes. The few that had signs had distances that didn't seem quite right.

The tee pads are the narrowest I've seen, maybe only 30 inches wide, and no more than 8 feet long. It made doing an X-step awkward if you weren't throwing directly in the direction the tee pad was pointing.

I never found the B position for Hole 18.
Other Thoughts: This park has a lot of stuff. I bet on a summer evening it's a busy place (baseball fields, trails, horseshoe pits, tennis courts, playgrounds, and even a random military tank), but it was quiet on the early March day I was there.

There is definitely some touching up the course could use, but make no mistake: this is a fun course. I'd be happy to have a home course like this. It's worth a trip down here if you're within an hour or two.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: JimmyJazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was such a joy! I made the trip from Omaha, and it was definitely worth it. The front nine is a really varied collection. Depending on which of the 3(!) tee-pads per hole you throw from, you'll be throwing under a bridge, over a pond, right by a beautiful waterfall,and through a veritable peg-board of trees. It all meanders through a gorgeous, well-kept park. Some good downhill throws here, so get your gliders ready (I used my groove to great effect) There are ducks. The back nine is mostly long, flat, and uncluttered. There are a few holes along the outskirts of the forested area that will require some amount of precision to avoid ending up in the brush. The majority of them, however, will not present you with many obstacles.
Cons: Personally, I don't mind a few wide open holes, but I know some players will find the back nine dull. Signs and trash cans could be more readily available. Finding your way from one hole to the next can be problematic (we fortunately had some players familiar with the course point us in the right direction a few times).
Other Thoughts: The cons amount to very minor quibbles, and shouldn't prevent anyone from playing this awesome course (probably the best for hours in any direction). Scenery is comfortingly peaceful and quaint, and the locals seem to enjoy spectating while you throw-how fun is that? Highly recommended.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout... This is a very fun course, especially the front 9. The front weaves through an area with some great elevation change and water on a few holes. Big, mature trees are all over adding to the challenge. The holes aren't very long, but are pretty technical. I usually throw BH, FH, Rollers and sometimes thumbers while playing here. The back 9 is much more wide open and longer. There is plenty of space to bomb some drives.

Infrastructure... Three cement tees per hole - beginner, intermediate and pro - is very nice. The pads are pretty small compared to other courses, but doable. The baskets are in OK shape, this park occasionally floods and some baskets are rusty. Some tee signs are present, others aren't. This is mainly a pro because there are 3 tees/hole.

Challenge/fun... This course is a blast to play. You'll throw a wide variety of shots and have to shape lines to avoid the trees, water and manage the elevation. While the elevation isn't extreme, it is enough to make you think about your approach to the hole. A couple small ponds and a small creek run through the front 9 while a large river borders a couple holes on the back 9. Holes 1,2,3, and 7 are especially memorable. Hole one is a long shot over a large open valley and creek, hole two's intermediate and pro tees force you to throw over a scenic pond, hole three is a long tree-lined (righty) anhyzer/forehand shot, and hole 7 is bordered by a creek and road, with the basket placed in front of a gorgeous artificial waterfall. The tees allow everyone to have fun, no matter your ability.

Park Atmosphere... Chautaugua is a very nice, large, clean park. Besides some playground equipment and a large tabernacle, this park is pretty empty of man-made structures. Everything is kept up really nice, and the park is really pretty year-round. There is a road that winds through the park and a walking path, and an RV park that is usually fairly full in the middle. None of these interfere with the golfing, and the park is very quiet and peaceful. For the most part no graffiti or vandalism is present.
Cons: Navigation... while I think the course layout is good, the navigation is tricky if you haven't played here before. Since many of the tee signs aren't present you'll need to hunt for the alternate tee pads. The front 9 is pretty easy to navigate, but the back is kind of tough to find your way around. Get ready to walk because the design uses the whole park... and its a big park. There is a huge hike from 18's basket back to 1's tee, might take 10 minutes or more.

City Support... for some reason the city parks dept. has never liked the course, even though its one of the best in the state. They have purposely planted large bushes directly in front of tee pads, ran over pads with heavy equipment and cracked them, and "accidentally" cut down trees so they would fall on baskets. Even with a great course this small town hasn't really caught on to disc golf, other than a small group of hard-core golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very fun course, definitely worth the drive to check out. With the wide variety of shots, obstacles, and tee's, you're sure to have a good time. It's just a shame there isn't more local support and tournaments held here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.