Keene, TX 
Carver Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #7 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Newbie/practice course

1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 76  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *beginner friendly course- alot of short shots to help introduce a new player to the game
*water hazard, even though its not very big or deep, it does introduce the aspect of water holes to new disc golfers
*great place to work on short game as most holes are all same distance
*the few trees it had were put to use
*tee signs- with distance marked
*once you start playing flows well
*not alot of players
*area was well maintained
Cons: *very simple course-advance players will not appreciate it, and probably wont play it
*long walk to first hole from parking lot
*its not by any other courses, and is off beaten track- again it would be a great practice for short game course, if their was something else around,
*plays through park/baseball diamond so would not suggest playing if game is going on
*every shot felt like it was straight on
*natural tee box, got to look for red markers pass tee signs
Other Thoughts: Again, i know ive said this before but its a very short course that would be great for midrange work. I pretty much played the whole course with a whippet, leopard, and my Anode putter. Just wished there was a second course closer to make it worth the drive.
I gave it the 2.5 because i felt like it did its job. Its a course to introduce new players to the game and be easy enought for youngsters to pick up on the sport

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Park for DG

1    9/15/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 190  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 20.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: These 9 holes have great baskets, nice tee signs and well cared for grass. Other than that there isn't a lot of nice things to say, the design did about as good of a job with the hole layout as possible, this just is not the ideal park for a disc golf. The first tee is at the far South end of the park and the 9th basket is at the far North. The creek you traverse on 3 of the holes makes taking a child in a stroller extremely difficult, though you wouldn't need a cart for discs as playing this course with more than a putter and mid would be overkill. A short barbed wire fence on the last 3 holes will cost you a disc on errant shots. The sidewalk can bring pedestrians into play on every hole and the park in general is too small for throwing discs.
Don't go out of your way to play this.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not to bad

1    8/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: Salcidomd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: it si a clear course very few obsticles and all baskets can be clearly seen from the tee
Cons: Very Short shots, not allot of obsticles all the shots are all strait
Other Thoughts: overall was a good course but becarefull on that 7th basket not to throw to far you ll land up in a whoooooole lotta thorns

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Carver Park DGC

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 176  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the DISCatcher baskets and the coca cola tee pads are a nice little feature
the holes were short and enjoyable. I liked the risk/ reward factor with throwing over a creek so often.
Cons: the course had no flow to it. I like when a course makes a sort of loop where the first and last hole are close so you can make a loop. hole 1 was on one side of the baseball field while hole 9 ended on the complete other side of the complex. i also wish it was a little bit easier to cross the creek since you do on about 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: The course would of been rated about a 3.5 if there was some sort of basket layout flow i dont like that after the round you have a big walk back to your car and a walk to start your round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Best 9 Hole South of DFW

2-4    5/29/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: Banshee38
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good clean park; Great for rookies, but still challenging for veterans; Brand new baskets; Nicely laid out & easy to follow; Nice signage; Nice field for practice driving;
Cons: Lots of Non Disc Golf Activity and Traffic; Narrow Fairways on the First Two Holes; No Tee Boxes;
Other Thoughts: Awesome quick course! Great for everybody who plays the game. Beware if Baseball games are in progress, might be worthwhile skiping the first two holes if they are!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting 9

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: gek76
Played: 40  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun 9 hole course. Good signs at parking lot and at tees. Great place to improve your short game. Great baskets. Well maintained grounds, only rough is right along the creek. Bathrooms close by. Trash cans all over.
Cons: No tee pads of any kind, just some plastic markers stacked into the ground. Already some tee makers missing and course only opened officially the day before. Bad throws on 7,8 and 9 will see a disc lost over barb wire fence to TXDOT property. Many of the holes are dangerously close to the next tee, if you are playing in front of or behind another group watch out. If baseball or any other activity is going on in the park it will be dangerous to try and play, holes 1 and 2 especially.
Other Thoughts: Finally a course I can walk too! YEAH! Disc golf is growing!

I was scared when I heard they were going to put a course in this park. I didn't think you could fit 3 holes in, let a lone 9. They did a great job squeezing the course into the available area. Is it perfect, no. Is it fun, yes. Really the only way to improve the layout would be more land, and I don't see that happening.

Leave your drivers at home. This is a short course and you won't need them. You will however be challenged on your short game. You will have to learn to throw accurate and control your power to do well here.

Holes 1 and 2 are really narrow. Will be very challenging for beginners. Holes 3 through 8 play back and forth over the creek. Creek and terrain along it added some fun challenges to the holes I didn't anticipate. I don't like hole 9 purely because of the proximity to a barbed wire fence that if you throw over you are out of a disc.

A lot of people will be fishing discs out of the creek. We must of gone into it 2 or 3 times and the group ahead of us was in it a bit too. Right now it is a challenge to cross the creek but I heard they are adding some additional crossings soon.

Due to the creek this isn't really a stroller or cart friendly course until they add the crossings. You can have your dog on leash but don't let your dog go off leash the local dog catcher isn't nice.

Do I like this course, YES! Would I drive a long way to play it, no. If you are in the area (South Fort Worth) it would be a great course to hit. It is the most enjoyable 9 hole course I have played. Experienced players can add challenge by trying to birdie every hole. Could see an ace race type tournament here. Warm up here before you go on to play Amigo or Bicentennial.

Hope to see you on the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Carver Park

5+    5/15/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 69  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Located in a city park, has restrooms nearby as well as a good playground. The holes are shorter, but take advantage of trees and Turkey Creek. The city does a great job of keeping the entire park mowed, so the grass is always cut on all of the holes. It's also worth noting that all the holes except 2 -4 are lit very well due to their proximity to the jogging trail, so night time play could work pretty well, although I wouldn't want to fish a disc out of the creek at night.
Cons: There are a lot of fences you can possibly throw over, the worst being the taller fences that border the cities maintenance area, and a TXDOT depot (Hole 9 has been moved to help keep people in the park property.). Hole 2 is very close to FM 2280, and discs can go into a busy road on a bad throw. 1 and 2 can be problem when the baseball fields are in use. The hole 3 basket is in a very busy area, I've never played without waiting for someone to go by. Most of the holes follow the jogging path, so on almost every hole you can come close to hitting people on it. The amount of water in the creek can very from a lot, to almost none. The creek can also vary from clear to very mucky. There are a lot of non DGers there.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice nine hole course, none of the holes are very challenging. The fences can make it a problem for newer players.

--The city cut down the main tree on #2. It had died over the summer, and they likely feared that it would fall over on someone. Unfortunately this now makes 2 a short wide open shot.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.