Disc Golf Center
Jonesville, FL 
Jonesville Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #7 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 317ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Here's A Good One Folks!

1    4/15/2017   4/16/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 147  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun and diverse course with many different looks and hole types. Open holes, tightly wooded holes, long holes, short holes and minor elevation changes make for a fun and exciting round. This course will make you really think about lines and what type of throws to utilize. The course is beautiful and well maintained and features most of the amenities found on other top notch courses. This is a good one folks!
Cons: There are some long walks between holes. The course is large and spread out but there are navigation aids to help with the extra hikes.

The potato vine plants are very angry here. Watch out if you stray from the beaten path as these nasty plants have sharp thorns that will rip you up. You might want to wear long pants if your discs like to stray from the fairways a lot.
Other Thoughts: This course is a straight up gem and a must play if in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Jewel of G'ville

5+    11/2/2016   11/2/2016
Review By: llfour
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained.

Requires a full arsenal of shots: Backhand, Forehand, Overhand, Turnovers, Upshots, Etc...

Several Very Open Holes, Several Completely Wooded Holes, and Several Hybrid Holes.

Short and Long Tee Pads

A and B Pin Positions on all 18 holes.

Benches on every hole.

Metal Box to return lost discs (utilized frequently and the club is great about contacting disc owners).

Nice Shaded Pavillion.
Cons: Carpet Tee Pads (rumor is that these will be concrete at some point in 2017)

The last 4 Holes have very little shade and can be quite hot in the summer months.

No water or restrooms available without going into the Tennis Center.

Other Thoughts: This is the course in Gainesville that will make you a better player. It demands such a variety of shots that you can be rewarded with a bunch of birdies or can be brutally punished with bogeys or worse.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in the Gainesville Area

2-4    9/15/2017   9/25/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 185  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.491 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2017) A great mixture of heavily wooded technical holes thru open bomber holes.
- CHARACTER - I've been here three times now and they keep adding amenities and comfort items. Seating I believe is at all the holes now. Accurate signage, (some were blown away recently by Hurricane Irma) mostly shaded tees, practice basket and a shelter with picnic tables. The course also features pro and am tees and multiple basket placements (A/B). The baskets appear to always be in all B's or all A's so you'll never have to run down fairway to spot a blind basket unless it's your first go around.
- CHILL AREAS - The entire woods portion of this course (2-10), has a good vibe to it with benches and shade at almost all of the tees. There are trash cans at a few tee areas as well.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. I don't recall much trash on any of my visits. Hurricane Irma had rolled through 10 days before my last visit and there were hardly any branches littered in fairways. Hats off to the club and park staff here.
- CHALLENGING - As an intermediate player I felt thoroughly challenged out here. Several holes are well over 400 feet. A bunch of holes require well thought out lines and play threw fairways in the 10 to 15 foot width range. I'll guess that a 950 rated advanced player will throw 3 or 4 down on average out here. The front tees will very much challenge rec players.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course should attract a wide range of players because of the duel tee set up.
- UNIQUENESS - Above average. Although all par 3s there's still a good variety. Nice contrasts between heavily wooded and open holes, and also a few moderately wooded holes. One shot starts open and barrels into a pocket. Another starts in a tunnel only burst out onto an open field. There are several fully wooded holes with fairway hooks in both directions. Course also has a nice mixture of challenging and easy going shots.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - IMO the most beautiful course in the Gainesville area as of this revision. Well above average but not elite. Not quite Sawmill or Greenway level but close. Way behind the majestic looks of New World and Magnolia further north.
Cons: Jonesville Park is done well. All the issues are ticky tack things.
- NAVIGATION - A stroller friendly course that's mostly navigable but with one small issue. I haven't seen a course map on site. There is a course map on DGCR, but is not updated to reflect the change at (16). Old hole (16) is now (17). During the Summer of 2017 they removed (17) and made and new hole (16) New (16) is to the northeast of (15's) basket, behind some cedar trees. The rest of the course flows pretty well I think. There are directional arrows below all of the baskets.
- CRITTERS - I've seen snakes out here, but just rat snakes, harmless. However I've ran into a local whom claimed to have seen a poisonous variety out here. I've also run into lot of banana spiders out here. Not poisonous, but freaky looking and large. They seem to always occupy the little path thru the overgrowth on the way to dig your disc out.
- DISCONTINUITY - The journey between new (17) and (18) is well over a 1,000 feet. A couple other transitions are in the 300 foot range with the rest of the layout flowing together nicely.
- FORGIVENESS - I swear branches were growing into my desired flight path after I released. Hitting your lines on this course is personally satisfying. Many nearer rec player who haven't yet developed good accuracy are going pay for it on the woods portion of this course. Growing pains.
- TEES - Some of better carpet tees I've ever seen but still no match to concrete. I will update my review and rating if I hear or see that they are installed.
- ELEVATION - Listed as moderately hilly on DGCR but I think most parts of the country would call this one flat. Probably about average for a Florida course. I don't recall any holes changing by more than 15 feet. Maybe (5) is that amount. Definitely a few holes go up or down by 10 feet, by in my book, that's a flat hole.
Other Thoughts: A really nice city park course that the locals should be proud to call home. Maybe not a true destination course, but definitely worth a look see if you live within a couple hours. Plus, it's only 5 minutes from the I75 exit if you are traveling through. I currently have Jonesville ranked slightly ahead of Northside but they are so close that I bet there is much disagreement in town over which course is better. I'd definitely choose Jonesville if you're looking for some nice technical woods plays. Northside has an overall more open feel to it.
- TIME PLAY - I've completed three solo rounds here and I've averaged a little more than a hour to finish. I figure a group of four will finish in 2 to 2 1/2 hours on a near empty course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Offers some challenge :)

5+    7/15/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: Funleavy90
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Extremely clean and well-maintained (mowed weekly)
-Offers both open and wooded shots
-Some varied terrain (nothing too extreme)
-Most holes require some sort of technical shot
-Variation of doglegs and straight holes
-Open field next to #1 Pad to warm-up and practice drives along with a practice putting basket
-Rarely flooded unlike other courses in the area. Drainage works well here.

Cons: -Carpet tee pads
-Lots of trees/woods that consume discs. I suggest bringing a friend to assist with spotting if new to the course or have wild shots.
-Spiders and their extended families in the wooded portions.
Other Thoughts: Spanish moss from trees and ground brush are cleared frequently to mitigate unwanted blocked shots.

Lost Discs are normally returned. A lost and found box is located on Pavilion near the #1 Tee Pad. The Box is controlled/maintained by Chain Hawk Disc Golf Club.

"Straighter is Greater!" on hole 4,10, and 11. You'll see why once you play it ;)

**Special Note: 05/19/2017: #17 has been officially removed due to County Parks and Rec land use adjustment. The replacement #17 (now #16) is located in the tree line NW of the #15 basket. There are signs posted in various locations detailing the new location.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This course is ready for prime time!

5+    7/11/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: allenshorter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained
- Grass is now cut every week
- Great mix of technical wooded shots and a few open longer shots too!
- Locals play free doubles matches late on Tuesdays and Thursdays all summer long.
- If you lose a disc, you are likely to get called back (if you have your number on it and it does not go into private property).
- Very pretty with very little trash.
- Handles rain very well, and rarely any real water hazard in play here.
- Lots of spiders in the woods, but virtually mosquito free.
- Easy to access (8 minutes and 2 turns) from I-75.
Cons: - Lots of sun on a few of the holes on the back nine. Trees are getting bigger now so only a few places.
- If you throw too far off the fairways, you can lose a disc. if it goes over a neighboring fence, you can lose it to private property.
- Some Poison Oak on all many of the wooded holes. Wash your hands and feet well when you leave the course.
- Carpet tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Over the next year all 18 holes will get A and B basket locations, and several will get C locations. Concrete pads, a bulletin board with a disc return box, more trash cans, and better signage are also all in the works. But it plays GREAT now! Most of the older reviews are critical of the grass, but it is mowed every Thursday now. If you lose a disc now, it is because you hooked or shanked it way off the fairway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

1    11/7/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: sasquach
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was a nice challenge for the average player from the long tees. Good use of hills to place baskets for rollaway risks. Multiple basket positions. Navigation was not bad but a course map was usefull a couple of times.
Cons: Carpet tee pads. Zero garbage cans on the course. A pet peeve of mine. None in the picnic area either that I saw. Holes 15 thru 17 are off on their own around the other side of the ball fields.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy this course and will make the hour drive to play it again once in awhile. It could use better tee pads and a really signature hole. The potential is surely there and over time this course will become better.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Gainesville Course

1    10/16/2015   7/29/2014
Review By: bilborph
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 10/20/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mixture of woods, small hills, and open fields.
Fun to play from short tees for a novice.
Well laid out in a multi use park - tennis, jogging, sports fields.
Cons: Hard to find a couple of tees.
At times, grass in the fields is very long.
Other Thoughts: Way different course than Gainesville Northside, but just as fun, and better drainage.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/6/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: GhostmanOn2nd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not much litter on the course.
Cons: A mowing is well over-due. If you miss the fairway you'll likely encounter spider-webs among the foliage. Locating your disc can also be quite difficult.
Other Thoughts: Bring your brightest plastic and hopefully a friend to help you find errant throws that enter the wooded areas.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jonesville

2-4    3/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 151  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2016
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great to have a new course close to Gainesville. Better drainage to play when Northside is flooded. Hole 1 starts with an open shot into a notch in the woods to warm up. There are some nice wooded holes that provide a great challenge for all with the use of long and short carpet pads. Nice job of carving the front side out of the woods. Great mix of woods & open bombs but also nice looking semi wooded holes with pins placed under the large mossy oaks such as 7 & 8. Holes 12-14 play semi open with young trees guarding any direct line to the pin, a fun challenge to ponder. Fun risk reward shots such as 16 which is behind a usually dry pond with marked o.b. Basket #17 is on a tall pole on a hillside slope. The bolted down carpet tees are secure and grip is fine, baskets are in great condition.
Cons: Rough is thick in summer on front 9. Watch for thorns if you are in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I play this frequently as close to moms house and I feel it has a nice variety of shots.

Rating: Can vary from 3 when rough to approaching a 4 when mowed so I settled on a 3.5.

The course and parking is free and there are rest rooms by the baseball field and tennis courts. Ample parking and a practice basket by tee one which is at the end of the paved parking lot past ball fields and tennis courts.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Variation of Landscape

1    2/19/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that plays around a huge baseball and tennis complex (seems to be a common theme in Florida). Plays about half in lightly-treed and semi-open areas and the other half plays through a mix of thick woods and on the edge of thick woods.

I was most impressed with how the makers created many unique holes and used pathways and other artificial OB to make the open shots more challenging.

Thanks to the metal "next tee" arrows on the trees and baskets kept navigation fairly simple.

Seems water can come into play during the rainy season, but when it's dry (as when I was there), they have OB markers in those areas. These markers make the course more honest and challenging (though some despise artificial OB). The water areas were only on two holes from what I recall.

Favorite holes:
(Most Scenic) #7 goes along a marsh to the right and through mature trees with the hanging moss that is so unique to the South.

(Best woods hole) #4 - the most challenging of the woods holes (in my estimate), a long tunnel shot with a few trees mixed in the fairway.
Cons: The walking path on the left of #13 & 14 could be a danger to pedestrians for a couple reasons: one is that when the trees are leafy, they may block your view of oncoming peds; and second, the easier shot seems to be a left to right shot that carries over that same path.

Holes 12-14 are a bit too similar to each other (lots of little trees with a left to right carry being the beneficial shot).

Course kinda dead-ends on the 17th hole and it's a bit of a walk to get to the 18th which is a bit of a lackluster finish to an otherwise nice experience.
Other Thoughts: If you want to jump ahead of the crowds, you can park right by #7 and start there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.