Bainbridge, OH 
Centerville Mills Park Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    9/20/2016   6/28/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centerville Mills is a fairly quick stop in a small park. The course is dedicated to disc golf only, as it doesn't seem like too many other people make it back to this part of the park. It doesn't seem like other players come here often either, so this is a spot that you will most likely have all to yourself if that's something you look for. There are a nice variety of open and wooded holes. The bookend holes play mostly in the open, while the middle part of the course plays in the woods. The wooded area is a scenic hike.

Holes 1 and 9 are well-done, open holes that require some technical challenge.

The course begins and ends right by the parking. Baskets and tee signs are in good shape.

Yes, I'm reaching for pros.
Cons: This is one of those courses that doesn't really hit a target audience. The holes range from under 183' to over 300', with three holes being 150' feet or less. More experienced players will probably get bored with numerous short holes on a 9 hole course, while beginners will get frustrated playing the longer holes. Most of the longer open holes have narrow fairways with tall grass on each side - not a fun combination.

On that note, the wooded holes felt like a jungle and weren't really playable while I was there. The course needs way better maintenance to enjoy a round here.

Navigation isn't always intuitive and there are some long walks that you take while you're not even sure if you're heading in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: It definitely has potential, but it is in serious need of attention. Already having a nice variety of holes, maintaining the course more consistently alone would go a long way. From the looks of this site, and the course itself, not too many people come here to play. I could have just played here during a bad stretch, but it seems like the course is often in this state given that it's located right next to the maintenance building and I saw multiple people working in other areas of the park, yet the course was really rough. Only worth stopping at if you want to bag another course in this area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh Metal...

1    9/30/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 83  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has 9 brand new DGA baskets I believe. All are level and sturdy. Tees signs give you an general idea of hole length and line of path. The designer did a decent job of mixing up the style of shots required for each hole. #5 particularly caught my eye, being a very nice RHFH shot. Great for a beginner to the sport. Bathrooms on site as well as lots of parking.
Cons: Course design seemed to be somewhat rushed.(if that's the right word) I felt like with the land they have available they could have done a couple of the holes different. They are not all bad, some just seem to be placed there to help the flow. Navigating this course for the first time can be somewhat difficult. Next tee signs or some duct-tape on the basket in the direction of the next hole would be very helpful.
Other Thoughts: I think its awesome that a boy scouts put this course in, they did a great work that did not go unnoticed to me. The location is great being right off the free-way in Bainbridge. The park seemed to offer some other amenities. I think horse stables and some fishing ponds. Worth stopping by if your checking out Punderson State Park, or live close by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 okay 4 a novice player

1    9/25/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1487  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 29.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Disc Golf course is in a secluded section of the park.

Very generic tee signs, but never the less. They had tee signs that showed the lay out of the hole.

Ample restrooms

Plenty of parking for a 9 hole Disc Golf course.

# 9 was the only decent hole on the course (IMO)
Cons: # 2's fairway is mainly a gravel park road.
# 3 fairway plays along an (inactive) electrical fence, with the fairway as wide as tractor. the length of the hole is 420' (I didn't mind this hole, but the novice player is going to find it very frustrating)
# 4-7 are all under 200 feet in length and are bunched up together in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This course is not in Bainbridge, Ohio. It's in Bainbridge township (which is just north of Aurora, Ohio). So if your out and about and your using your GPS, it won't recognize the street or the name of the park if your using "Bainbridge, Ohio" as that town is aprox. 15 miles SW of Chillicothe, Ohio.

Don't know of the restrictions the designers had to use, but I felt that they're was more land available to use that wasn't being used to the courses full potential.

Print up a map of the course before you go out to play as one could get disorientated without a map.

This disc Golf course in it's present state is okay for a novice player. A more seasoned player wouldn't come to this course unless they lived close by as there are other decent courses (Hudson Springs and Punderson State Park within 10 miles or so from this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My "Near Home" Course

5+    7/25/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: trumpetman330
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park is never crowded; always more than enough space to play
-All holes have an indicator of par and general hole layout well and easily marked
Cons: -Not very challenging
-Hole 3 is right alongside a now inactive electrical fence and tall grass.
-Hole 4 can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: -I wouldn't drive more than 30 minutes to go to this course.
-Great for a quick 9 holes
-It's nice to consistantly not have to worry about other players/people at the park
-As of late summer 2012, it appears as if the park is beginning to clean up and clear out some thicket in the holes in the woods which is very nice to see

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9-hole course

1    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 71  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very secluded park/course
Course mostly isolated from the rest of the park
Cons:
Some poor hole design
Navigation can be frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: Brand new course, the Centerville Mills Park website indicates it was built by a local Boy Scout Troop.

In general, this is a decent course with some of my favorite things about a disc golf course: seclusion and scenery. The course stays away from the rest of the park activities in general, only for hole #1 and #8 and #9 will you veer near any others, and when I was there there wasn't anyone around. Those holes are near the parking lot and some basketball courts.

The course layout is decent if uninspired. There's nothing in the way of any "epic" or "signature" holes here. I'd call this a casual local course, but some of the holes are far too challenging to be considered casual.

Hole #3 in particular needs to be rethought, as the fairway follows a straight, narrow course that is bordered by a wire fence with overgrown plant life on the right. Accessing an errant disc is a major, unnecessary pain. I skipped this hole because of that.

Also, the tee for Hole #4 I never found. I forgot to snap a photo of the rough course map at the main park kiosk. For the most part, the other tee signs and baskets are easily enough found, with wooden arrow signs for tees that aren't in sight of the previous basket (tees 7 & 9).

Holes 2-7 for the most part take you into fairly densely wooded areas. These are a bit of a challenge, mostly for novice players though. Very little in the way of big arm holes, if at all. Being a new course, the trails from basket to tee are still a bit unmarked/untravelled but I'm sure that will change over time.

Course is in a nice, clean, and active community park. I didn't see any water fountains but didn't look closely. Park has some other amenities for non-discers.

Overall, a decent 9-hole course especially if you live in the immediate area as your options are slim. Not much in the way of a "destination course" though. Despite the cons mentioned above, I still give the Boy Scout troop a big thumbs up for building this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.