Course Extinct
Bristol, North Somerset, United Kingdom 
Ashton Court Estate - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: WeapoNEXT   (Taken 10/2012)
Ashton Court Property Map



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great gun parkland golf

5+    3/1/2016   4/21/2017
Review By: rhatton1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
Pros: - Beautiful Park setting
- Good mix of holes and shots required.
- Lovely use of elevation and features.
- Cafe/restaurant on site but a long walk.
- toilets on site but a long walk
- Ample car parking
- Little used area of the park so not much waiting
Cons: - Only 13 holes
- Signage and flow - very difficult to find your way from hole to hole.
- Some pretty nasty rough areas.
- Can get very overgrown in places and very wet underfoot.
Other Thoughts: Course design is what you would expect of a Matt Cutler course, well thought out holes, all sorts of shots required, some fun par 4's with good risk/reward.

A very fun and attractive place to play but a bit daunting for a new player to the course. It's hard to find your way around and the layout is certainly suited to a more experienced player.

In terms of hole design for the 13 holes it's probably pushing a 4 star, in terms of the other bits around more 2.5 so i've settled on a 3.

You should play it if you get the chance, you should try to play it with a local if you can it will be a much better experience.

A let down

1    3/24/2017   3/24/2017
Review By: lathama
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course, next to a deer park on the edge of Bristol. Superb views over the city

Friendly locals, one dog walker helped me search for a disc.
Cons: Only half the holes tee markers, yet other holes which don't appear on the official course map do.

Played 4 holes before realising that 2,3&4 weren't actually the course I was on.

Hole 8 is an accident waiting to happen. Tee off over a blind Ridge and below Ridge is a cycle track!!!

Other Thoughts: Glad I've played it but I won't be back in a hurry.
If this course has some work done on it, there is potential for improvement

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/20/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: durdensoap
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain and obstacles. Challenging but not completely discouraging.i am used to USA courses but this is a solid UK course. I truly enjoyed myself. Beautiful scenery to match. I would play again any time.
Cons: Needs more pins but main problem is signage. Very little to no signage. Difficult to work out where tees are and to play the course in an effective way because of it. Once I knew the rout it was ok but I found myself making up tee placements to match the map because there isn't even a worn patch of ground as a clue.
Other Thoughts: I hope our beautiful sport continues to grow in the UK.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awsome Course

2-4    3/13/2013   3/12/2014
Review By: robbnot
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lovely park setting with great hole configuration which demands your best shots, a great use of landscape and water danger (my first putter is in the pond)
cafe on site
Cons: not enough baskets (yet)
Other Thoughts: can be wet under foot like most UK courses

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.