Lake In The Hills, IL 
Linda K. Fischer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tek34 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Could be fun if trimmed up

1    8/4/2020   8/4/2020
Review By: Billyray
Played: 71  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map at the beginning of the course with a port o potty. Teepads and baskets are solid, grass was mowed. All the holes had signs and the flow was good. Had a few interesting shots I'd love to be able to really take a shot at.
Cons: Overgrown. Not many lines to throw for and if you do hit em there is risk evwrywhere. Like many reviews stated, this is a course thats too frustrating for decent players or families but not hard enough to be interesting for good players. Dry when i was there but could see how drainage is a problem.

Other Thoughts: Hole 1- tunnel shot but there is no line to the basket. Trees have overgrown and blocked all the lines unless you throw a 300 foot shot no higher than 6' off the ground. Tallgrass on the left. Basket visible from tee.

Hole 2- 2 trees right in front of the pad. Had to putter past them. Tallgrass everywhere on all sides. Basket visible but only when you look around the 2 giant trees in front if the box (worst hole design ever nominee)

Hole 3- uphill shot with tallgrass on both sides. Visible basket.

Hole 4- downhill shot. Could be a fun shot but 10 feet behind it is a swamp. Both sides, tall grass. I chose to play 2 putter layups down the hill. Basket is visible and inviting you to deposit into the swamp

Hole 5- uphill shot into a tunnel. Was my favorite hole. Not a lot of growth, fun shot. Visible basket from tee.

Hole 6- back down the hill tunnel shot to a blind basket tucked right. Overgrown, no real line. Pray and spray or lay it up

Hole 7- uphill hyzer shot. Fun hole but heavily surrounded by tallgrass. Had a 5 minutes search here, off fairway by 4 feet. Cant see basket off the tee.

Hole 8- downhill to a basket tucked 75 feet behind a big tree. If you try to go around the tree off the tee and miss, good luck finding it. Can't see the basket off the tee

Hole 9- good finishing hole. There is some danger on the left but it wasn't as overgrown as the rest of the course. Cant see the basket off the tee.

I played with my son (13). He got frustrated early and used a putter to layup every shot. Glad he came as his help finding discs was huge. I shouldn't need a spotter for a 220 foot hole but without it on 6 I never find my drive. Could be fun with a bigger group to help find errant shots and/or some maintenance work. The sign board for aces on hole 2 seemed like a sick joke.

Decent local not worth any significant drive.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small but fun course

1    9/16/2018   9/28/2018
Review By: kknauer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: The course is fun to play and has some tight holes that make you keep your disc in the fairway. If you have a big hyzer you can throw that on several holes though.
Cons: It is a small course and not super easy to find. I didnt know where to park so I parked on the street.

I am sure it may not be like this all year round but the mosquito's are horrible and make the course borderline unplayable.

 Narrow Chicago 9'er!

1    6/30/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1556  Reviewed: 1501  Exp: 44 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a disc golf sign out on Haligus Street. This small course is in a fairly small park with trees, hilly terrain and lots of brushy rough.
There is a nice course map at the beginning with map as well as a nice bench and garbage can. The tee signs show the hole #, par and distance. There are nice sized concrete pads. The baskets have pretty orange rims which say' "Lake In The Hills" and then Rotary Club on them.

There's not a comfortable throw on the course. Every hole is tight and technical or overgrown or bordered by prairie grass or a blind shot with hazards abounding. For a very accurate thrower, the course might be acceptable, as long as you have a spotter or two. Playing by myself, I played extra cautiously and just hustled through my round. And I still had to spend timing hunting for discs that were just off the fairway.

# 1 is a 280' low, tight tunnel shot to a visible basket. # 2 is a 345', par, with no visible line to the basket.
# 4 was a 340' downhill annie shot with deep grass on the right.

# 5 is a 210; tight uphill that is overgrown.
# 8 throws 305' down a narrow fairway. The basket sits behind a large, clumpy bush surrounded by tall grass.
# 9 throws back to the beginning down a narrow fairway with tall grass on the left and the Haligus Street on your right.
Cons: Tight fairways with tall grass rough.
Overgrown in some places.
Blind shots requiring spotters.
Not a course you want to play alone.
Not beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad because with some selective pruning and cutting, this could turn into a fun little course. Take away the tall grass and some of these tight holes would be much more enjoyable. I agree with Three Putt that this course is designed for recreational play but recreational players will not enjoy their round here. Without a fairly substantial amount of cutting and mowing, this course will remain languished in mediocrity for the ages.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the Lawn Mower!

5+    11/6/2014   11/7/2014
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 48  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-Fun elevation changes
-A couple wooded holes
-Many open holes
-No waiting time
-Relatively secluded on the course, but as soon as you leave the course you are surrounded by suburbia.
Cons: -Fairways are way too narrow. Even for experienced disc golfers. I play a couple times a week and am pretty accurate with my throws. I land in the tall grass quite a bit on this course. The grass is also THICK. I've thrown a disc on this course, saw it land, walk to the spot and spend 5 minutes looking for the disc. Only to find the disc buried under grass.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown on me. I first played the course about 2 years ago when it first opened. I went on a July day and the grass was crazy thick. I lost my Surge on hole 4. I didn't return until this past August. I like to play this course if I have an extra set of eyes with me. It makes the round much more enjoyable when someone else can help find a disc in thick grass. I have been playing the past couple weeks and the course is in better shape since much of the grass is thinner. I even found an old disc that I lost!

I'll play this course when I don't want to wait at Lippold. It has elevation that Lippold does not have and there are no crowds.

Bring a friend, it will be much more enjoyable for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Winter Course

5+    3/12/2020   10/12/2013
Review By: Slow_Disc
Played: 47  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2020
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Short course is defined by the elevation shots as it goes up and down a hill, and is unlike other courses in very local area.
- Enjoyable in Fall/Winter/early spring (Rated 2.5)
- Concrete Tee Pads / Signs
- Hole #1 Very Beautiful Tunnel Shot is starting hole.
- Hole #6 technical downhill meat hook is fun.
- Hole #5 is frustrating, in a challenging way. High slope uphill tight wooded tunnel gap.
Cons: - Summer Play (Rated Below 2.0)
- Grass and the over growth makes it almost unplayable in Spring/Summer. (Disc search)
- Hole #2's line is just silly, as tree in middle of fairway is in your face, with no real lines to get around it. Most players will just hit the trees and fall into tall grass.
Other Thoughts: It can be hard to find discs as they say in the summer. But when the tall grass is brown and gets beaten down it can be an enjoyable play, thus fall to early spring. The shots are tough and technical and the #1 tunnel shot is best in area. I would recommend to play it in the winter, and you would enjoy the round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Frustrating?

2-4    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: naterob
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Some fun use of elevation which is uncommon in this area.
*High risk/reward hole placement if that is your thing.
*easy to follow
*you find random discs while searching for your own
*a lot of course packed into a small area
Cons: *you will be spending time searching for your disc
*narrow fairway and rough roughs
Other Thoughts: This course tempts you to "go for it" but then beats you down if your line is just a little off. You need to be mindful of each and every shot with this course. If you just go out there and wing it you will be frustrated. I think a lot of people downrate this course because of the frustration of searching for discs. If you play the course thoughtfully and within your limits there is a lot of fun to be had.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 search party

1    7/23/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Jagidlund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-short course for a quick game
- varied elevation throughout course
-hole 1 is a nice straight tunnel shot
-bathroom near 1st/9th holes
Cons: -fairways are way too narrow
-cannot see most baskets from tees
-tall thick grass on either side of fairways gobble up discs.
-no long holes
-very buggy. bring cutter. You'll need it while searching for your disc.
Other Thoughts: I live in the area and have only played this course once. It's a good thing I went with a couple friends though because even intermediate players like myself will lose a disc or two. Be prepared to comb the course on almost every hole, at least on your drives because the baskets are not visible from the tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little course

1    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.9 Years
Pros: -Fairly easy
-Good practice course
-Nice warm up round
Cons: -Not very challenging
-Tall grass can make for a frustrating round
-No long holes
Other Thoughts: I found myself not needing a driver for this course, anything longer than a Mid/Fairway would be too long. The longest hole is 360' but plays shorter because it is downhill. The course layout seems like they designed it for beginners but they let the grass grow too thick so I would not recommend this for a beginner because it would be very frustrating. Nice course if you are in the area but not worth the drive if you live too far away.

 It's a nice warm up

5+    9/19/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course if u wanna work on your straight line throw or hyzer. Not alot distance pretty open expect the thick grass on both sides of the fairways. If you wanna add some random discs to your collection walk around in the grass on hole 2 and you'll probably find something. Theres a nice basket there to practice putting.
Cons: This looks like it wasn't designed by someone who plays disc golf. This course eats discs like that's it job makes you not wanna try to make it to the basket on your drive. Most of the baskets can't be seen from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course if you live In the area wouldn't take someone there for their first time playing. You'll be looking for discs more then playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

1    6/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 286  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and signage. The innova discatchers are swell. The first hole may be the best, a low tight tunnel shot although I do think someone with a decent overhand could make this hole play different. Elevation comes into play on several holes. 7 is a right to left uphill shot that is ok.
Cons: This course is rather short and open. It lacks challenge. On a couple holes the over the top hyzer is there for the taking.
Other Thoughts: Not much you can do with the land here but I think this could have been designed a little better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.