Kennesaw, GA 
Legacy Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Access Granted

1    6/20/2018   9/5/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.783 Rating) A nice little private park that offers a modest challenge and adequate variety.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Personally the nicest looking HOA course I've ever played. Just about every hole has a pleasant eye appeal to it. Nearly all of the fairways are defined by heavily wooded areas. There's a nice 25 to 30 wide creek running through the heart of the layout and holes (11) and (12) play along a 10 foot wide mini creek offshoot. The few open areas are mowed and manicured and the park facilities are well built with quality materials.
- CHALLENGING - Average. There are two sets of tees on seven holes out here. Playing the back configuration will add a bit of length. I did not rate the challenge of the backs as a par 59 but rather a par 56. The two par 4s being holes (5) and (18). Hole (4) at 370 is not a par 4, and neither is (16) being a very tight 300 footer. Hole (18) at 600 feet is very three-able and should not be listed a par 5. Overall I think 890 rated players will average par 56 from the back tees and 840 rated players should average par 55 from the front tees.
- UNIQUENESS - Solid variety for a city park. Several short technical holes requiring backhand and forehand plays. A few medium length technical holes. One good bomb play on back tee (5). There are a few twisting tunnel shots and there will be some shot-shaping. As stated above, a couple legit par 4s on (5) and (18) and there is some water in play on several holes. Missing items include a legit par 5 and elevation.
- CHARACTER - A touch above average. Nice DISCatcher baskets, although (18) had just been hit by a tree on my appearance. As stated above, a bunch of multi-tees. The course has an overall good vibe. Lots of shade at the tees, some benches and a few garbage cans. A nice touch with the shoe scrubber on (14). Signage was a bit subpar as it was a bit to diagrammatic. Tees surfaces could also use an upgrade.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - I think the difficulty presented here will reach a wide swath of skill levels. Everyone from novice through intermediate level players should enjoy the challenges presented here. These groups make up the largest portion of the disc golf community.
- QUICK PLAY - Our group of four blew through the round. It did help that everyone had the mindset that sundown was coming soon, and we were all playing ready golf. Figure typically 100 to 120 minutes for a foursome.

Cons: Just a few minor issues.
- ACCESS - This is a private course for members of the Home Owners Association (HOA) and guests. From speaking with my host, the security does come around and checks IDs.
- TEES - Gravel tees with two stone markers. A few had some minor pitting and few had some loose gravel in the lane. It appears there are some environmental restrictions that will prevent concrete from being poured near the creek.
- PARKING - There is no parking near the start of the course. Word is that many players start on (14) which is closest to the parking lot.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Several holes have plays down walking paths. Our group had to wait a few times for other park users.
- WATER HAZARDS - There's a 15 foot wide creek in play on several holes. This does not look like the course to play immediately after a heavy rain.
- DISCONTINUITY - The course makes several longer jumps between holes.
- ELEVATION - The flattest of the eight courses I've played in the Atlanta area. Hole (14) plays down about 8 feet and it's the most notable elevation here. Also, hole (7s) basket sits on a mound. That's about it.

Other Thoughts: A solid course, and one I'd happily play every day if I lived in the neighborhood. The course is basically right on my 2.75 threshold and really wish I was allowed to give it that score as doesn't feel like a 2.5 or 3. Of the three HOA courses I've played as of this review, this is easily my favorite as it offers good variety and eye pleasing shots. This course is definitely worth a play at least once if you live in the Atlanta area, but you'll need to find a sponsor to get an opportunity.
- THANK YOU - A big thanks to DCGR member craigd and HOA members Chris and Norm for getting me access to this course. I had skipped wish-listing this course in the Atlanta area due to my research and realizing it was a private course that monitors the park users. The group was a blast to throw with and to also talk disc golf. I hope to throw with these guys again.
- NAVIGATION - To be honest, I didn't pay much attention. I don't recall any navigational aids, but considering that players need an HOA member to play, visitors will likely already have a guide.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very nice little neighborhood course

1    8/22/2018   8/22/2018
Review By: Moose33
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice neighborhood course with some cool holes. Mainly shorter holes, but with some long ones sprinkled in and some very cool lines though the woods.

The course makes good use of the slightly limited space and the feel is very pleasant overall.

The signs are helpful, and look nice, some of the distances are not up to date though.

They do a good job of using the creek that winds through the course very well also.

There are some very fun little lines here too, where you could break out a fun OH or roller.

Nice Innova baskets too that make it easy to see in the woods.
Cons: Some of the holes are not terribly interesting, not a knock really but there is some filler.

The tees are natural and kind of sticky from mid and use. Someone takes care of them to some degree but it are still a little slippery.

The main issue is safety on the course. The walking path which is heavily used has some blind turns and you could easily hit someone and not know until it was too late.
Other Thoughts: It's odd that this is the first time playing this course, since it's been the closest one to my house for 5+ years. But since you usually have to be with a homeowner there I have never gotten the shot.

The two disc Lat64 event my gateway to this and I am glad I came.

If you get the chance to play here you should, but I'm told it's usually patrolled fairly strictly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Play with a homeowner

1    7/29/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: Captain Schwartz
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful private course mostly flat. It follows a walkway and a creek. Property very well maintained. Quite a few tunnel shots. Water hazard shots but not many opportunities, if any, to actually lose your disc to the water. Mixture of wooded shots and open shots.
Cons: The homeowner we played with indicated that it can get really busy. However, we did not experience that the one time we played it.
Other Thoughts: Pedestrians walk the same pathway so be on the lookout. Also, they are very serious when they say no playing without a homeowner. We were passed 3 times by a security guard looking for proper identification.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Legacy Park

1    5/22/2016   5/27/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 186  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has tee signs

Multiple tees for some holes

Has some benches throughout course

Many of the holes have shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Good mix of wooded and open fairways

Water comes into play on a few holes but the creek is shallow and narrow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Well-maintained
Cons:
Private course

Walking path meanders throughout the course and are also part of the fairways where parkgoers can cause some delays

Gravel walking paths/fairways will scuff up the plastic

Park seems to be popular with parkgoers on nice days

Some of the natural tee pads have exposed tree roots

Lots of trees where some fairways are tight and can be quite unfair

Didn't recall seeing any next tee signs - refer to the course map

Course can hold water and get pretty muddy after rainfall on the back nine

Parking available only on the street
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice course that I got to play due to a two disc challenge offered by a disc golf company. The first nine holes are more wide open where you can rip some drives while the back nine are generally more technical where some are "filler" holes in my opinion. The park can get crowded so you can expect to be delayed with other parkgoers walking up and down the fairways.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Legacy Park

5+    7/28/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: Mateuis
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/25/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful courses I have had the privilege of playing. Some parts are open while others are wooded. It has a nice creek and many benches you can stop and take a break on. There is plenty of wildlife as well.
The baskets are in great condition and the course is well kept up with. The holes are pretty easy to find as well as your disc if you have a wayward drive, even if you toss it in the creek.
Cons: Course Holds water in quite a few places after it rains. Mud as well.
No parking, have to park on the road.
A bit too many trees on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: Although this course is wooded and can be annoying when hitting small trees, it is a really fun and challenging course as it will test your accuracy and precision. One of my favourite ones to date.

There is a wide variety of holes that require different types of shots; some open, some that curl right and left. There is always a challenge, no matter how many times you play it.

*All of the Holes have signs on them now*

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course But no signs after hole 9

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: Jamiesjammin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The fairways are very well maintained. There is a map at hole 1 that I recommend taking a pic of on your phone to use as you go through through the course. Holes 1-9 were great! Really nice course!
Cons: Holes 10-18 were not marked and are mostly in the woods so we did a lot of searching for the last nine holes and were not even sure where to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Great course to do in the summer because it is almost entirely in the shade!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Legacy Park Disc Golf

5+    3/20/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: kyattb22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2014
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Short Course
Very Nice Scenery
Relatively Easy
Cons: Too Many Trees
Unmarked Holes on the Back Nine
Other Thoughts: I think that they should mark the holes on the back nine, but other than that it is a very nice course that I love to play.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 waste of time

1    6/22/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has nice baskets... that's about it.
Cons: Signage is really bad. It took us almost an hour just to find the first pin. The course length is extremely small. It's good for someone who just started playing yesterday or if you'd like to practice driving with your putter. There is nowhere to park near the first tee.
Other Thoughts: I feel like these nice Innova baskets are being wasted on such a dismal course.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Legacy Park

5+    6/8/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Disc100
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/19/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is very well designed with a wide range of difficulty in the 9 holes. Since the course is in Legacy Park, the landscaping and maintenance is excellent. The baskets are all brand new and the tee boxes are well marked and easy to find with tee signs showing the Par, Distance and a map of the hole..
Cons: Only Legacy Park residents and their guests are allowed to play on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great family friendly course designed for casual and advanced players. I saw another review that criticized the proximity of the walking trails. I think having the course close to the trails is great, in all the times I have played there was never any issues with course play interfering with walkers or non players.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Legacy Park

5+    6/2/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 120  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2018
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Legacy Park hosts an enjoyable course set in a nice neighborhood park. It's humble beginnings, with a comparatively short nine holes, eventually morphed into this current 18-hole track. It's an easy layout on paper, but often reality shows its teeth and so does the course. This is one where you can throw five down one day and five over the next. Yet somehow this course is also somewhat beginner friendly, even if only in length. But beware, unlike a lot of beginner friendly courses, this will give you a free lesson in the woods.

The course design itself offers duel tee pads (on some holes) and a variety of shots. The short tees, often referred to as "the reds", offers family or beginner friendly shots while still presenting enough challenge to keep the interest of a more experienced player. They bring in a par 58 at only 4500'. The longer tees, or "the blues", add a bit more challenge. For the most part, they're challenging enough to keep an advanced or even a low level pro player on their toes. Although it only brings in about 667' more feet than the shorter pads, it feels like it's much more. And that's surprising because after all, nearly half of that is from hole five where you'll throw 300' before you ever reach the short tee. Of course, that's where you pick up the additional par stroke for a total par 59 from the longs.

Most would classify this a predominantly wooded course. As such, you'll find holes that ask for some precise shots with clean finishes. Some of the holes are so tight that a little luck won't hurt either (more on that in the cons section). Even still, there's a decent amount of hole types represented. Beyond the theme of shorter tightly wooded shots, look for times where the fairways open a bit. A time or two the big throwers can really "air one out" on a handful of some of the longer open holes. Beyond that there is a good variety of left and right bending shots, creeks and out of bounds water, and lots of other natural features to keep you fighting to stay clean. Of course, you won't play through without noticing the demanding holes 8, 9, and 10 tunnel shots in the heart of the course. To top it off, hole 18 is a multi-shot par five that puts a premium on placement. It can be a real heartbreaker of a round killer if you don't play it well. It's a great way to finish.

Most of the tees are indicated by either red or blue blocks, often buried at grade level to mark the spot. Here you'll find natural tee pads that are in remarkable good shape compared to many courses that have them. Yellow Innova DISCatchers are here and as usual, they're easy to spot from the tee, and they're properly numbered. A few pads have benches, there's a couple of footbridges, occasional tee pad benches, tee signs, and other bells and whistles. Note that at hole 14, you'll swing by the neighborhood clubhouse. If you are with a resident (and really you should be), you can access the building for a bathroom break and perhaps get some refreshments. There are also some picnic tables in this area. It is also the most common starting hole for the course for the regulars. It's also where the occasional league players or groups meet up to start their round. There's also is a parking lot just a couple hundred feet away. With that in mind, I'm really surprised the course hasn't been renumbered with hole fourteen as the new hole one.

The course is in a nice setting with A+ maintenance. Being that it's a neighborhood park, grass is always cut, and the landscaping is nice. You're bound to see a lot of wildlife as well, especially deer which are so tame at times they will be standing in the fairway looking back at you.

Cons: I thought there were some real safety issues. There are several opportunities to accidentally hit pedestrians/park users. Holes eight, nine, and ten are probably the worst as the fairways are walking paths. To top it off, the baskets are placed near blind curves. Other holes also play near paths but at least you can see people coming. You need to be cognizant of the non-playing pedestrians as they do have the right away. Some "watch for flying discs" signs would go a long way out here for some peace of mind.

There are some invalid fairways on the course, some arguably and some not. A couple of them are just poke and hope holes where literally a closed eye throw from the tee will net the same result as a carefully thrown drive. Unfortunately, the neighborhood association prohibits the removal of any trees (may be an EPA issue). That's a shame too. I mean, they allowed the course, made the investment, and then won't allow it to be to its full potential. It amazes me that a few scraggly trees can't be removed in a heavily wooded forest to enhance the enjoyment of a nice amenity for the residents.

Of course, the tee pad aficionados will scowl at the natural tee pads. I'm told that although the neighborhood disc golf club has had to jump through hurtles, permanent tee pads are at least in the plans. Oh, and speaking of tee pads, currently the markers are hard to find. Without a resident or local familiar with the course, expect to miss a couple here and there.

The course holds water on several holes. Expect some soggy areas, if not some standing water, after heavy rail or during a wet season.

Being that it's a private course, your only chance to play will be if a Legacy Park homeowner accompanies you. Note that more often than not, folks that sneak in for a round are going to be seen and questioned by neighborhood security and ultimately asked to leave.

Other Thoughts: I don't think anyone is so naive to believe that disc golfers aren't going to try to sneak in a round out here unaccompanied. If you do, please be respectful and just leave if you are asked to do so by residents or security. There is a great group of disc golfing residents who take great pride in the course. They are very generous and accommodating in escorting non-residents through the course. The last thing they need is bad press related to the course.

Occasionally you will find the residents running leagues allowing non-residents in to play. "Like" the Legacy Park disc golf Facebook page for updates and announcements https://www.facebook.com/grou...069253077052/. Often, if you post that you would like to play a round, someone will be willing to show you the course.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.