Sauk Rapids, MN 
Mayhew Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
5 / 466ft.   5 / 585ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Fairway to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
My favorite course to date

1    3/4/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: Der Kuru
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diverse terrain (open fields, hills, woods, river, etc.)
Huuuge, beautiful, well-maintained course
Challenging
Plenty of bombers (several holes >700 ft.)
Cons: Not easily accessible (the course begins in the corner of a huge parking lot for a high school in the middle of nowhere)
The openness makes for a windy course
Other Thoughts: This course blew me away both in its diversity and the sheer scale of it. Every hole seemed like a new experience because of the terrain, and there was an excellent array of technical and open bomber holes. I had such a blast and felt tested on all fronts with this course, and I can't wait to go back again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything.

1    3/4/2017   3/14/2017
Review By: Dswedburg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course has a ton of variation.
-Elevation Changes.
-Long Wide Open Shots.
-Tight Wooded Lines.
-Dog Legs.

All in all this course shows a player the areas they need to improve.
Cons: Signs are on the short tee pad so from the Long tee at times it's hard to know the true layout of the hole. ( Especialy Hole 5)
Other Thoughts: This was definitely the most fun and challenging course I have ever played.

Long, open and very challenging

1    2/10/2017   2/10/2017
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a spectacular piece of land, is well designed and easy to follow, has great baskets, and the tees are paving blocks which were remarkably even and not problematic.

The elevation on the first two holes open holes made for a nice warm up.

The next four holes were really nice technical holes that favored a lefty for getting a deuce (and you'd better get your deuces on the shorter holes).

The 7th is a huge bomber that puzzled me (see cons).
The 8th is a nice short technical birdie hole.
The 9th is a challenge to get 3 (I can see why it's par 4).
The 10th is long with a nice protected green.

The 13th is a beautiful open shot that must go into a tunnel that is over 240' away and runs along the creek. A lefty would be tempted to hang a hyzer out over the creek. Don't.
The 14th is a very challenging technical hole.


Cons: It's astonishingly long and deserving of the par 71 rating (though I might put that a little bit lower, perhaps around 62).

Some of the distances seem wildly inaccurate, while most are spot on.

The 5th is listed at 695 from the Pro and it goes about 140 to the Am and then turns left and is straight. The problem is that the Am is listed at 349 and it is easly 449. I hit a tree at about 200 and still had 250 and couldn't reach with a driver.

The 7th is listed at 588, and I went driver and midrange and was 22 feet past. There was a tail wind and my max driver distance is 330 and my max mid is 250, which is 580. I did drive about 300 and maxed my mid, so I would have to estimate that the hole is only 530 (because I went past).

The 9th is listed at 335. I drove 253' straight down the middle and had a perfect 120' second. The hole is surely closer to 375.

The 10th is listed at 360. I had a perfect drive of 256' straight down the middle and my second was 81' to the pin. This seems closer to 337.

15 may be the most difficult hole I've ever played. Not in a good way.

The 17th and 18th are unbelievably tough and very long and probably always into a brutal south/west wind. I walked away disappointed, believing I'd ruined a decent round by finishing bogie bogie. The hole info here tells me that I shot par, birdie to finish.

The course is deserving of a par rating of more than 54, but it is not a 71 as the course information declares.

Here are the holes that are rated one stroke too tough (shorts):
Hole 2 should be par 3.
Hole 5 should be par 4.
Hole 6 should be par 3.
Hole 7 should be par 4.
Hole 9 should be par 3.
Hole 10 should be par 3.
Hole 11 should be par 4.
Hole 16 should be par 3.
Hole 18 should be par 4.

This would bring the Am tee par down to 62.

The only other oddity is that the gold tees are the short.

Designers need to realize that the ball golf tradition is, in order of easiest to hardest:
Red
White
Blue
Gold/Black
(we don't typically see more than 4 sets of tees and gold or black is what follows blue)
Other Thoughts: Hmmm...perhaps the person who entered the data reversed the pars.

The 8300 foot Pro Tees are listed as par 64, and the 6300 feet Am Tees are listed as par 71!!

This should clearly be reversed, though I'd still rate the Am Tees around a par 62. The Pros could be more than 71, but maybe only a couple of strokes.

I will add that I don't normally like open, long, boring courses, but this is not that open and not boring at all. It will wear a player out, but it's a great workout and will challenge all your skills.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy

1    8/3/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: reichmusic
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete pads
Good flow, signage
Multiple pads for pro/amateur
Mostly wide open for bombers
The couple of woods holes provided much needed variety
Cons: Number 5 pro tee line didn't make sense, short 100 feet to get to the short tee then turn more then 90 degrees to the right

By hole 16 I was tired of the long field play.....

Thick high grasss in the rough, easy to lose a disc

The grass wasn't cut when I went from hole 15 on- it was unpleasant, glad the whole place wasn't like that.

Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed my hour long speed round. Good for beginner and expert. Pars were manageable for a newer golfer, but the long tees provided a scoring challenge.

Nice place to start learning distance combined with accuracy.....you'll be able to be punished but still get to see your disc sore...(not hitting a tree)



0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough on the Arm

1    5/18/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: EliteSt4lk3R
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great place to throw all out... incredibly long holes, not many golfers so general wait time is next to none, open flight paths without worry.
Cons: Very Long... its like they designed this course just to waste space.
Other Thoughts: Have your arm warmed up, almost every hole is going to be 1 long drive if not 2

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not my kind of course

1    8/23/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Dual concrete pads at every hole.
+Quality baskets
+Easy navigation, just follow mowed paths for the most part. Very intuitive.
+Great signage at both tees. Short tees signs were larger with more information.
+Mostly open bomber type of course but there were a few wooded holes early on.
+Some decent elevation changes early and some minor rolling hills later on. Holes 1 and 2 were a great start to the course in this regard.
+Giant course map at start near high school's parking lot. Lots of parking when school is not in session. Not sure about when it is.
+Bathroom on site.
+Championship level distances on this course. If you like to throw far, you will like to play here.
+There was no garbage on the course and the fairways seem to be mowed often. It was in great shape.
Cons: -Many holes were too open and there were few shot shaping requirements on these holes. If you went into the rough you had a great chance of losing your disc but that was the only penalty.
-It's way too easy to lose discs here in the long grass. On hole 5, I threw my Striker from the short pad and it went about 350', faded slightly right and bounced a short way into the rough. I couldn't find it.
-Hole 5 was also odd shaped from the long tee. There might be a local line but otherwise it seemed like you just had to toss a short one out there to the short tee and then shoot again.
-This is one of those courses that seemed to be long just for the sake of being long and using up more land. I don't have a huge arm and don't like to throw all out on most tees and even more than once on some holes. I much prefer the woods and risk/reward shots that reward control and accuracy.
Other Thoughts: -This course had a pretty low fun factor for me. I respect the challenge of the course and could see how it might be fun to play a tournament here but it isn't a course that I would enjoy playing every day. This is why I couldn't give it the 4 that others before me had.
-This course is definitely worth a stop, especially if you like to throw long. You won't be disappointed unless you are looking for a tight woods course.
-There are a lot of good courses in the St Cloud area and this is one of them. Other good ones include Hidden Lake, Millstream, Cavalry Hill, and Riverside. This course probably rounds out that top 5.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    7/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the back side of a high school, which has PLENTY of room to spare. There are some houses in the distance, but otherwise the area is free and clear for disc golf.
- There are a few patches of forest that are in play here, with a handful of holes completely enclosed by the woods. #3 is a wooded RHFH hyzer, #4 is a slightly downhill wooded RHBH hyzer, and #5 is a dogleg left that has the second leg almost 5x longer than the first (kind of odd, truthfully). #13 is in a different section, a very skinny, long LHBH flex shot with lots of jail on either side. There aren't too many wooded holes, so they are tighter/tougher.
- Some other holes have the odd patch of forest/rough that gets in the way, or provides trouble to get into. #6 starts open, but the basket is tucked through a very tight gap, located on the left side of the fairway, with the basket on the right. #10 is a long hole with nasty rough on the left, and a patch of guardian trees with rough behind the basket. #13 also starts in the open, with a small gap into the forest well off the tee. Very important to hit the gap or at least have a good look at it. #15 has an interesting tee shot through a gap, and over a small valley of shrubbery.
- The rest of the holes are set in the prairie, with tall grass being the only real obstacle and source of punishment. To make up for it, the holes are brutal. Long and grassy. #1 is a pretty easy uphill, and #2 is a fun downhill, #8 is a shorter uphill shot, and #16 isn't too bad with an open uphill shot. Then you have holes like #7 at 815' and #18 at 729'. #10 is a huge hyzer around the grass at 435', an anny around the hill on #9 at 430'. #17 is a blind dogleg left at 600', these are big boy holes for big boy arms.
- Some hazardous areas here, on top of some gnarly rough and nasty tall grass. There is also water behind #12's basket (easily reachable with an overshoot), and to the left of #13, and maybe even way left of #14. Definitely something to worry about.
- Very nice brick teepads, great baskets, good signage with basic ones at the longs and detailed ones at the shorts. Navigation signs also present, the only tricky spot might be finding #15. Not too bad at all getting around.
Cons: - While the prairie holes are nothing to sneeze at, they are pretty wide open. Any kind of shot that lands in the open is fine, no line shaping needed with a few exceptions. A lot of nasty spots to search through on shots that are marginally off the fairway as well.
- Pretty minor elevation changes here; the first basket and second tee are located on a hill, but everything else is pretty much gradual. Though #18 feels pretty far uphill after a full round here.
Other Thoughts: - How 'bout those long pads! This course is a monster at 8354', with forgiving fairways but brutal rough in the warmer months. Some mega-bombers out here, some with tough hazards to worry about. The forest holes do provide challenge as well; two are shorter, while the other two are long and much tougher. Even from the short pads, it is tough to score well out here. Beginners might want to steer clear for a while, everyone else should enjoy a championship-length course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 beast

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Axx3d
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Tee pads
Wide mowed fairway
Elevation and a little water in play
good signs for each hole and directions to next tee
Well laid out course over all with not alot of walking in between holes.
Long holes.
Cons: I really didn't see real any con's. You need a spotter for a couple of the holes. If you go to deep off the fairway the weeds/woods can be thick.

Some may say the over all length is too much but after seeing a lot of pitch n put courses put up.. i like the length.

could be bad on a windy day, today was ssw 5 mph and it was fine.
Other Thoughts: If your going to enjoy this course you need an arm. It is not for beginners even at the AM tee's. You can see they have done a lot of work on opening up fairways since last year, they have widened every single one.

I gave it a 4 overall because it is refreshing to see a course that requires you to drive 400+ feet more than once a round. The layout is done well and it was a great course.

I'LL BE BACK !!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Hardest course I played in St. Cloud area

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: Zamascus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes - most over 450, challenging course, good variety with elevation on a couple holes, woods on 3-6 and 14, and a stream comes into play on a couple holes, good tee pads and signage - overall in great shape for a brand new course.
Cons: Very narrow fairways - talking 20 feet wide on 800 foot fairways with tall grass and shrubs on about 15 of the holes causing the need for a spotter on almost every throw. Fairways should be 3X wider, but it was day 1 of the course so maybe this will improve. Also the pin location for 15 is very unclear - it is over a small hill in front of the teebox - on the other side of the hill is water. You have to walk a good 100 feet around this hill to see it is way out in a field on the left hand side of a row of trees.
Other Thoughts: This kind of reminded me of some of the highbridge courses - very long, lots of tall rough. You won't be happy with your score if you play all as par 3's - this course will most likely test your nerves on a windy day.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.