Morristown, TN 
Cherokee Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Has ups and downs

1    8/26/2017   8/26/2017
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 113  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cherokee is an interesting layout. It has some really fun holes with great elevation changes. It is mostly open, but it has some wooded holes to try an make it different/interesting. The length variety is also great.

-Tee signs are nice, the tee pads are long enough to crush a good drive, and the course is so well kept. People mow the grass every other day if not everyday.

-I love the huge downhill bomb hole 9. It's 450' but probably loses close to 50' in elevation. I disagree with the idea of it being a par 4, because it's very reachable. But it always feels good to make an eagle. #10 was my favorite hole on the course. It's another downhill hole that plays out of the woods and has the OB road on both side. Awesome looking hole.

-I also loved hole 17. I know some of you will disagree with me on this, but I think the old basketball goal in the middle of the fairway is a very cool feature.

-Already said it once, but it's worth mentioning again. The use of elevation here is very satisfying. There are only a few holes that don't have much elevation. Holes 3, 4, 9, 16-18 all have significant elevation changes (more than 25') while most of the others still have quite a bit (like around 15'-25').

-Practice basket beside the parking lot and #1's pad.

-There is a gas station just a half a mile from the place.
Cons: -I love a few of the wooded holes. Especially hole 6. But most of them are just silly to me. They have odd fairways to where the pros get annoyed. If you've watched Baysinger's youtube videos, then you saw the top level pros "stumble" on a few of the wooded holes. I'm not about to blame a pro for hitting a one of the many trees bound to be hit.

-Starts and ends somewhat like Frank Liske. Which is no fun. #1 is a bland downhill putter shot. Least it has a dropoff. #18 is uphill and wide open, just like #18 at Frank Liske. If you've listened to Bring Me The Horizon's "That's the Spirit" album (only album by them that isn't offensive), it has bunch of good songs. But ends with a kinda bland song called "Oh No." That's kinda how it ends at Cherokee. You scratch your head and say "Oh no." Some other holes were bland as well. It felt like listening to the Black Keys on a few holes.

-No effect on my rating of the course, but in tournaments, you'll probably have to park further down the road past #12.
Other Thoughts: -I love hilly courses. And I loved how there was a lot of elevation here. I just think a few trees on a few holes should be cut down. Can't do much about the bland holes. But the only holes that seemed truly bland were #1 and #18. Personally, I'd start on #18 and end on #17 because you'd be getting the boring holes over with first.

-There are more signature holes than bland holes. So that's a great thing about Cherokee. Of all the signature holes I could name, one of them is bound to be on your "Favorite Holes" list if you have one (I have GOT to update mine!)

-I played this course along with Rotary, Panther Creek, and Mills Park up in Gatlinburg. But if you think this course is hilly, wait until you see Panther. I recommend this course to anyone, as it is enjoyable for all level players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful!

2-4    5/17/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: SikMonkey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Probably one of the most well maintained courses I have played. Mostly open with a few technical shots thrown in. Not much of a chance for a lost disc. Makes great use of the open rolling hills. Has camping at the park and is set right on the lake.
Cons: Not much technical skill involved, mostly just grip it n rip it. Could use better directions between holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring an extra set of legs and an extra arm! There are some long holes and some nice long walks through the open hills!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long, open course

2-4    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 140  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 29.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park that is very well maintained. Quite a few long, open holes for those who like to throw with fewer obstacles. Good elevation changes. Mix of shots required to excel.
Cons: Not too good for beginner players who will have to throw over and over in open field to get to the basket. Limited bathrooms and water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Green and Clean

1    7/28/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: byebyebirdie
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long open fairways and holes throwing into or out of wooded areas. Bring discs for max distance but you'll also need discs for tight placement shots. Good signage and nice course flow. I was most impressed with the maintenance of this course. The grass was VERY well kept--no clumps of dead grass or tall seed heads to walk through. Lush green fairways cut at a perfect height.
Cons: Not too many cons here. Keep in mind this is a new course so I might expect to see things like benches/trash cans, etc. along the way. Lack of parking is a big drawback especially for the park's ability to host top a level tournament. Some of the baskets are close to the covered pavilions making it a little annoying when they are in use and people are walking around them.
Other Thoughts: This is a very family friendly park with a lake, campground, playground, amphitheater, and several covered pavilions. This would be an excellent tournament course if not for the lack of parking. Again, I cannot overstate how impressed I was by the maintenance and cleanliness of the park/course. It's nice to see a community take such pride in their parks and disc golf course. This is a must see if you are in the Morristown area. For a change of scenery also check out the Morristown Kiwanis course which is just a few minutes away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bing your big boy discs!

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: curveball4
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of holes here. There are open holes ranging from 400-600+ & shorter technical holes that require hitting tight gaps. There are also some good FH holes which is always a bonus.
The park itself was super nice. A lake, playgrounds, camping, large covered pavillions, very neat & clean.
New concrete pads & nice signs on every hole.
Elevation comes into play on almost every hole. Not sure I can remember one hole that was totally flat.
Basically had the course to myself. There were 2 other guys playing but that was it, never rushed & never had to wait.
Brand new practice basket by the parking area.
Cons: There aren't many cons. The main ones would be the lack of trash cans & benches. I don't remember seeing either except at the 2 or 3 pavillions you go by. There are some pretty big up & downs & a shady place to sit would have been nice. But this is a brand new course so hopefully that will change.
Another con is more of a nuisance & others may not see it as a big deal. On #10, there is a low hanging branch about 50 in front of the tee, directly in the line. It's a slightly downhill tee shot with the fairway sloping to the right & then back up to the basket. The two options I saw were to go at the branch & hope not to hit it solid, or go under. There's room under but with the slope of the fairway you're not getting much D before it hits. (EDIT- FIRST TIME THROUGH I NEVER SAW "THE" LINE. THERE'S A BIG GAP TO THE LEFT THAT ALLOWS FOR A BIG TURNOVER)
Another thing is parking. Right now it is in the grass by #1. Probably not a problem now but as it starts to get busy, or for a tourney, parking will be hard to come by.
Other Thoughts: Besides the fact that it was about 10 degrees hotter than the surface of the sun I had a great time. If you play it in the summer, BRING PLENTY OF WATER! I went through 2 33oz bottles just on the front nine!
Even the wide open, throw your shoulder out holes had enough elevation to keep them interesting. If you throw 500 ft then I guess they will be boring for you. There were a couple holes, 2 & 9, both long & downhill off the tee, I unloaded my bag. Noodle arms like to see the disc stay in the air for awhile!
As with most HB courses I've played there were some good FH holes. I'm mainly RHBH but FH keeps it mixed up, I get to use more discs with FH also.
If you're in the area I would definitely recommend stopping by. The park itself could easily keep a family entertained for a few hours & there was camping by the lake. The City of Morristown definitely takes pride in it's parks. Cherokee, just like Kiwanis every time I've been there, was very clean, trimmed up, definitely a family friendly atmosphere.
Another great job HB & Morristown. When Rotatry gets finished that should be 3 very solid courses in a very small town. I guess the fact that the mayor plays is never a bad thing!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Morristown Rip & Grip

5+    6/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: doctorgrainger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Playablility-
-Focus is mainly open rip & grip holes
-Possible Ace holes 1,9,13, and 16
-some technical holes and they are very challenging: 5,6,7,& 15.
-elevation on the vast majority of the holes
Cons: Bathrooms are a little distant from the front 9 and you can not use the pavilion bathrooms.
Only drink machines are at the end of 10 & start of 14.
Walking trails could be busy but this only affects holes 4,5, and 18.
Other Thoughts: The pros outweigh the cons for this course. Expect going up and down big hills on almost every hole and your best driver throws. If you can throw your drives over 350, expect the ace run. It Is the counterpart of the Morriistown Kiwanis Course, it is fun to play back to back. I recommend this to anyone in the Bristol/Knoxville Area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good for a change

2-4    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: lgary59
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good chance to get an ace on hole one. A lot of the holes are very open for a grip to rip disc golfer. Very good exercise with a total walk of about 3 miles once you complete all 18.
Cons: On the weekends its hard to play because of the people at the park with there kids I am a new player and really don't want to hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 (615 ft) and hole 14 (635 ft) are way to long for me but get ready for a long walk in the park have fun

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.