Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: @iDiscGolf Hole #5
3 / 264ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 100
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LONG on Fun

1    10/18/2019   10/19/2019
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Decent signage. Excellent baskets. Helpful next tee signs. It's a beautiful park that accommodates the disc golf course very well. It's surprising how the designers were able to coax such long holes out of a relatively compact and shared facility. Well done!
Cons: It was tough to know which position the hole was in. The signs didn't say what pat was. Some of the bag holders on the posts were broken or missing. Some sign vandalism. Even though there were "Next Tee" signs, we still accidentally skipped two holes!
Other Thoughts: Very impressive city park course in a cool classic Portland neighborhood.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not to miss if in area

5+    8/16/2019   8/19/2019
Review By: fastdds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golf under the canopy of enormous pacific northwest evergreen. Nice baskets and tee pads. Well thought-out layout. I fair degree of elevation changes and variety of shot requirements.
Cons: crowded, slow rounds on weekends. Large groups. Could use a few longer holes (par 4) but size of park limits distance.
Other Thoughts: Some very tight fairways on a few of the holes requiring precision drives though corridor of fir trees. Great disc golf course for a densely populated city park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very crowded, and for good reason

1    4/9/2019   4/18/2019
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 90  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-This course has some really solid amenities, great signs (with multiple basket placements), bag holders for when it gets muddy, and concrete pads that have held up impressively to the wear this course gets.
-Baskets are Mach X's, which are one of my favorite types. They are also yellow, which is super visible, especially in the trees. I'm sure that they used to be neon yellow, but these baskets look pretty worn down. Not that they don't function well, because they do, but because the rim and other parts are super worn.
-The fairway and rough are super nice out here. There isn't any underbrush that would hide your disc, which is great because hitting trees out at Pier Park is pretty much required. The other great thing is that what this course lacks in underbrush rough, is made up for with sheer quantity of trees.
-Elevation is a key component of this course. There are some great uphill/downhill shots, some downhill death putts, I mean, all the classic examples of great elevation.
-Another hallmark of this course is the trees. This densely wooded park is one tops those places where you could plop down a basket and have a great hole without any work. That being said, this course is designed effectively with both cool holes, and flow in mind.
-Navigation is a no brained on this course, as I just said, flow is great at Pier Park. Signs are clear, and it is almost guaranteed that you will find someone to follow.
-Once you dive into the woods, like for real, you will be amazed. It is a total wow factor. There are so many trees, but, the amazing part is, you aren't playing disc golf into a wall, there are different routes to take, that is amazing to me.
-One innovative feature on the course is the tree protection. Now that I think about it, innovative might be the wrong word because it is actually pretty simple. They have put wood sticks on certain trees to protect the trees from the constant onslaught of plastic. Super nice touch in my opinion.
Cons:
-This is a very well played course. Tons and tons of people come here to play, I played on a Tuesday afternoon, and there was still a line to get to the first hole. People have good reason to come play this course, because it really is a great course.
-Because of how crowded this course is, both with disc golfers and normal park goers, there is a rather high "garbage quotient" as my dad put it. Definitely not the biggest problem out here, especially compared to some other courses of have played. But nonetheless, there's some garbage laying around.
- I feel bad bashing this course for the amount of people that play it, but it is legitimately a little annoying to wait on every hole. This course is worth waiting for, but I would much rather not wait.
-This course also doesn't have much opportunity for those "hero birdies" a lot of times, to really park a hole you have to get lucky. It is one of those places where you can miss your line by a three feet and end up in the circle, but miss by an inch and end up 50 feet in front of the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Great course, swing by if you are in Portland, try to play on a less busy time, like early morning on a week day if possible. This course gets crowded.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    3/14/2019   3/15/2019
Review By: naman919
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The baskets, pads, and signs are all nice and for the most part maintained
- There is little to no underbrush so it's pretty tough to lose a disc
- This is a good course for players of all skill levels. There are a handful of tight drives from the pad, and for the most part the course allows for open shots.
- The course wasn't too crowded and the people on the course were helpful and friendly
- There is some elevation which makes the round an enjoyable hike through some terrifically large cedar trees
Cons: - There are conflicting signs on the course that need to be updated. E.g. there's not a sign for hole 7, then there are two signs for hole 14. I felt like i was going crazy trying to keep track of where i was after hole 6.
- The numbers embedded into the concrete pads aren't always right. E.g. i think hole 10 has a "9" embedded. Further adding to me feeling like i was taking crazy pills.
- It'd be useful if the tops of the baskets had one of the metal chain holders painted to indicate which direction one should travel to the next pad. it's a clever way to provide some help to new players in the area and it's fairly common.
Other Thoughts: - The course is located in a remote part of the city next to a skate park, and a bunch of apartments and homes. It's a neat little park that feels like its own island.
- Overall i wanted to love this course and i don't understand the excessively high average rating. This course is a lot of rinse and repeat for the holes. It's not a terribly challenging course, and the Mach X baskets are just okay. The chains added to the baskets as a second layer still allow some spit outs, which is annoying.
- Perhaps my East Coast bias is showing, but i expected the course to offer some variety, and it came up short. It was a fun course, i probably would go back, it just doesn't meet the expectations set by the average it has earned. The course design could have been thought out a little better, the baskets are in simple positions.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    8/11/2018   8/12/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 133  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pier is a fantastic course set in big redwood trees. Hole 15 being a signature hole that is a tight tunnel shot around 350 feet. The course is fairly long with great use of elevation change, and variety of backhand/forehand holes. It's a very clean course with almost zero chance of losing discs. No underbrush and great tee signs. Has a winter and summer layout for a little more variety, also beautiful lime green Mach x baskets.
Cons: Very few cons
-Some times player traffic is bad being in main part of Portland. Have to wait for multiple groups and people just jump on whatever holes they can
-having a summer and winter layout sometimes you can get turned around, or skip hole going on wrong trail.. just make sure to look at the t signs to make sure you're in right area.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course in Oregon and if you get up early play this without question. It's not an easy course to par and will test your game but not overly frustrating at same time

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course with some fun shots.

5+    5/19/2017   7/2/2017
Review By: Nate32
Played: 60  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2020
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pier Park is a challenging 18 hole course with some fun shots as well as a pretty well maintained course. Pier Park is located in Portland Oregon with some very challenging holes.
It feels like almost every Saturday they have a doubles tournament at this course.

-The great things about this course is that it is has great tee pads and signs. This course is crowded on every weekend. It might even be the most crowded course in Oregon. Sometimes Milo Miciver is to far for people so they come to Pier Park.

This is probably one of the more challenging courses I have played for sure. Each hole there are different lines and shots. Its hard to select what disc I want to chose on every hole and shot.

-Also the course has two layouts so when it is winter time the ground does not get as muddy as the summer layout. Winter layout changes quite a few holes to this course as well as some fun unique holes. Number 5 is one of the most uphill holes I have ever played.

I like holes 2 through 4. On hole 2 you can play this big annie around a massive tree. There are people that have aced that hole. Hole 3 is the first hole in the woods. This hole is another fun hole just because some of the holes later have very tight gaps. This hole does not. Hole 4 is a fun S shaped hole.

There are no signs to the next hole but it is very easy to find were the next hole is. Most likely there are paths to the next hole but the holes are pretty close to each other but not squished together. The baskets on this course are Mach X and are not rusting unlike Milo.
Cons: There are a lot of holes where you have to go up about half way to see the basket. So I wish they would put a flag on top of the basket so you can see where it is.

No pay to play but this course gets very busy whatever time of the day you are in, It is very helpful to go in the morning but it is even busy then.

Some holes on this course need clearing badly. There are a ton of trees on this course and it is very hard to manipulate your way around this course.
Other Thoughts: Pier Park is a great course for people who have at least a year of practice because on almost every hole there are 3-10 trees that blocks your path but besides that it is great course!

- I like this course because it is long but not to long also this course does not have a lot of hills except for number 4. This course is a great course if you like technical shots around trees.

If you are in the area I would definitely check this course out. Although if you are new to the sport I would no recommend it as your first course.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

1    6/9/2017   6/29/2017
Review By: Javy818
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful mix of elevation, narrow fairways.
Tall trees. Makes you stop and look around.
Cart Friendly.
Plenty of tree cover for the rain and sun.
Got there around noon on a friday and it wasn't packed like everybody said it would be.
Cons: Signage not good enough for a first time player. I found myself getting lost and had to catch up with an experienced group.

Kind of in the middle no where.

Apparently it gets super packed during peak hours.

No stores nearby to stock up on drinks, snacks...etc.



Other Thoughts: I brought my GRIP bag with rain fly and it was a life saver cause it does rain in Portland whenever it feels like.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: TeebirdDan
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 17 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: love how this course plays huge douglas fir trees with a few cedars mixed in , i love these trees they make you feel really small throwing discs around and past them is sooo fun . some of the fairways are forgiving others really tight . light elevation threw out
Cons: its in the city best to come early [am] or weekday

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course!

1    9/2/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: Bassmaster421
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Went about 7AM on Friday before Labor Day weekend. Only saw one other disc golfer out there. Beautiful park. Nice pads and tee signs. Well manicured. Various layouts and obstacles.
Cons: Came across two hole 6's that confused us.
Other Thoughts: Most favorite park I have ever played!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/28/2019   6/3/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 63  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2019
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pier Park is a very challenging course built in a city park in North Portland's St. Johns Neighborhood. It is the only course in the city owned by Portland Parks and Recreation.

-The scenery is unbelievable for being in the middle of a city. Massive Douglas Firs envelop most every hole. Occasional understory maples and cedars add to the scenery. The property is gently sloping and expertly used by the course designers.

-This is a challenging course, and not one to expect to stack birdies. Hole 2 is the course's shortest at 280 feet and many holes reach 400+ through tight woods lines. Even the best players are likely to take a couple of bogeys before the round is done.

-Best holes
Hole 4 is one of the easier holes on the course, a 300 foot flex shot with the basket in a beautiful bowl in the woods.
Hole 6 plays downhill, 390 feet, and open for approximately 280' before entering the woods. A straight line drive or a wide hyzer are both good choices.
Hole 15 is the signature hole of the course, playing 450, slightly uphill, and absolutely straight as an arrow through a couple dozen trees. Most players would be more than happy to take the par three on this hole. However, I had the pleasure of watching Paul Ulibarri absolutely PARK the thing in the 2018 Portland Open. He flew the fairway the entire way and did not go back-door around a single tree.
Hole 18 is a wonderful finishing hole, a gently downhill and relatively open 450-550 foot shot. It's a great opportunity to crush your last drive of the day.

-The Mach X baskets have been well used, but they still catch as expected. The tees are spacious and well textured. Tee signs are great as well. They are full-color and show both pin placements. There are also PVC pipe bag holders on the tee sign post.


-On several holes, strips of wood as well as mesh wraps are attached to trees in high-impact zones.

-Shout out to Next Adventure for being a major sponsor of this course. Check out their shop if you have a chance, on Grand and Stark. They have a wonderful selection of discs.
Cons: -If you are a novice player, this course would not be my first recommendation. Precision is a must on most every hole and there are no short tees.

-The course, like most fantastic city courses. gets awfully crowded. It's certainly not a good place to squeeze in a quick round. I would plan for around 2.5 hours to play on a nice day. At least players here tend to do a good job of keeping group size to 4.
Other Thoughts: -There is a separate winter layout to protect against erosion on holes 3, 4, and 5.The winter layout is: 1 and 2, 18 backwards, a temp hole, 17, another temp hole, 6-16, and another temp hole. This layout is well thought-out and equally fun.

-This is so close to being a 5-star course. I would award five stars if it had any of the following four things:
-slightly less crowds during weekends (not happening)
-no pedestrian trails running through the course (not happening)
-a pro shop (probably not, it's not CA)
-a few par fours (reasonable adjustment)

-This course is an absolute must play if you're in Portland. This is just one of so many amazing City parks in which you can go from downtown to the middle of nature within twenty minutes. (unfortunately, this is the only one with disc golf.)

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.