Thornton, CO 
Springvale DGC - North Share
Uploaded By: hirsch449 Hole #8 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
This course is missing one key thing

1    8/2/2017   8/7/2017
Review By: BrianElander
Played: 77  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is great for people to learn. Its extremely flat with virtually no obstacles or elevation changes. It perfect for someone who needs to learn to throw a disc because there is nothing to make the course difficult or frustrating.
-Good Mach 5 baskets that catch well and seem to be in good shape. Also the baskets are numbered.
-There is a practice basket good for people to warm up at. All courses need to have a practice basket in my mind, especially ones that require such fineness shots right from the start such as thin one.
- Concrete tees of a good length and width, as well as very good tee signs with accurate distances to the multiple pins.
-There is a bathroom on site witch is nice in case you feel the need because better save the sorry.
-The course is very nice in a beautiful park with well moved fairways and the occasional view of the mountains.
-The "other course" or "back 9" is within walking distance and that course also provides a good challenge.
Cons: -This course had everything that a good disc golf course needs. It has the baskets and the tees and the signs, but its missing one key thing that makes a course fun... A challenge. I mentioned in the pros that this is a good course for new players. However that is the only group of people that this course is good for.
-The shots are extremely boring. There is one shot here. That is a open 150-230 foot shot with no trees (perhaps one tree if you are lucky) on flat ground. Extremely boring and not fun at all.
-There is no elevation chances as this is on a roughly 2 acre lot of mowed flat land. This makes the shots even more boring.

*To be honest there are not a lot of things wrong with this course. Its just that lack of any challenge that really puts this course down.
Other Thoughts: When I review a course I look at two main things; the course layout and course amenities. This course has one of the things perfectly (granted its the less important one of the two). This course has the amenities down to the tee (no pun intended). When I say amenities I mean things like good baskets, concrete tees, and good signs. This course has all of those. But its missing the golf. If you took this course and stuck in the middle of the woods somewhere then it would be a 4/5 but its really a wasted opportunity where it is. In my option they should have put these nine down with the other nine because that course is much, much better then this one, as well as it has enough room for the extra shots. Then that course would be a 3.5/5 easy if not more. If you live right there then this course is good but don't come out of your way to come here. Your better of playing two round at the back nine instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring park course

1    4/18/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good tee pads, signage, and baskets
Good place to work on shots (no fear of losing discs)
Cons: Very boring shots in open grass park
Similar hole distances
Other Thoughts: Very nice park, not a great site for a disc golf course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2016   12/2/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 135  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - quick play easy access 9 hole
- newer baskets
- concrete tee pads
- tee signs give you all the info you need
Cons: - putter, beginner course
- most holes are under 250
- very few obstacles most hole are wide open
- boring shots
Other Thoughts: The entire course basically just plays around a big field. Basically just a warm up for the back 9.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another introduction course

1    9/6/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 241  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whether we want to believe it not we need courses like this for our sport. Whether you are a 'grow the sport' person or just want to enjoy your intermediate or pro course around the block without a takeover from new players a course like this is perfect. This is the perfect place to take people for their first round ever without giving them a total beat down so they will want to play again.

The course has beautiful baskets and navigation is a breeze considering you can see every tee pad and basket from the parking area when you drive in. Starting on hole one you go down a slight decline and then in the final two thirds of the course you make your way back up the same hill with a small incline leading you back to the start of the course.
Cons: This course doesn't have much obstacle and leaves a lot to be desired. The holes are short and easy and mostly flat with the exception of the small incline I mentioned before.

I don't understand the multiple basket locations at this course, it just doesn't make sense having two or more configurations on a pitch and putt especially when the shot stays the same and only distance is changed. Even longer/shorter distance doesn't do much here; advanced players are going to be birdieing the shorts and longs with no problem and the beginners don't really want a longer course. The extra distance added from the 'longs' is less than fifty feet and this makes almost no difference at all.
Other Thoughts: This is of course the sister course of South course. This is a nice warm up or cool down course but don't bring anything other than your putter or Superclass disc out here, sharp discs are not needed. The South course is very similar in terrain but with longer holes and slightly more elevation. The south course hole one is actually labeled number 10 I'm guessing they were trying to tie in the two courses as one eighteen hole course. This is a little confusing at first when you play the other course.

This isn't for the open division players this course is for your family and friends who have little or no Disc Golfing experience. Have fun and stay safe, keep the grass green and the course litter free and vandalism free.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners and a wonderful teaching course for anyone wanting to try out the sport. It will get them very comfortable throwing, without a lot in the way. Very easy to follow and signage is very clear.
Cons: Not a lot of obstacles and a very short course.
Other Thoughts: Again, this is a great teaching course to introduce new players to the sport. Everyone that I've taught here has continued on with the sport.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SV North

1    4/10/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets
+Great signage. It is attractive and well done. Provides hole length as it can be hard to judge on open holes.
+Some elevation, not much but it can make you over or underestimate the power necessary for a drive.
+Nice tees
+Shorter holes are good for beginners, kids, elderly, families, etc.
+Many aces to be had here
+Shouldn't lose a disc
+Other 9 is just down the path. It is a pleasant walk (I ran) but can also be driven as well.
Cons: -Not many obstacles. There are small trees evenly spread throughout the course but they don't really force a shot at all.
-Very short hole lengths and not a lot of variation. Won't challenge most players.
-Practice basket is awkwardly placed too close to 9.
-Pretty repetitive. I had some fun running aces and racking up birdies but I don't think that I would bother stopping here again.
Other Thoughts: -This course is ideal if you live around here and are just learning the game. Especially if you have kids, parents, girlfriends, etc that you want to teach the game. They will feel at home here and will have a chance to par some holes.
-I wouldn't go out of my way to play here. Camenisch park or Benedict park are more fun and longer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 best beginner course imo

2-4    7/4/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice new/clean park, good signage (other courses i have played are lacking in sings/direction), Best place to take beginners, pars are to be had by beginner players, birds and aces for intermediate/advanced players, put away the driver that you cant throw anyway and work on getting your mids and putters to fly. you will have to get way out of shape to loose your favorite disc around here.
Cons: deer flies are hungry! some what repetitive , the practice basket is right in the death zone for the 9th basket. (those beginner hyzers will be coming right at you wile you are warming up) If you want to play the back nine, the hike is about a mile to the tenth.......(we drive over)
Other Thoughts: When i put my driver in the bag and started hucking my mids/putters is when I started to learn how to throw. The wife and kids also enjoy this course,. When you are ready for more distance, head over to the south/back nine.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North suburban redemption

1    1/22/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice condition- signs and tee pads are A+!

Attractive landscaping.

Touch/short holes allow beginners to learn complexities of throwing and discs and experiencing success.

Fills in a part of the map that seems otherwise free of courses.

Cons: I did not find a local potty, perhaps I didn't look hard enough?

Signage indicates poison ivy can be found in the ditch (I didn't find this, either, but I'm not going to seek it out...)
Other Thoughts: These courses sit in the middle of a garage-forward subdivision that can be challenging to get from one area to another. If you are patient, and find a friendly local, they can show you how to move from north to south.

It may not be a stellar park, and it has no real wilderness qualities in the north section, but this is where disc golf needs to be present if we want to integrate the sport into more municipal parks and recreation planning. Kids will learn to play and love the sport.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Ace Place

1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee-pads
-Nice tee-signs that are easy to read and give a layout of the hole and distances of each pin placement.
-Brand new baskets that catch very well
-Practice basket and information board at the start of the course
-All of the holes provide a chance for an ace run.
-This is a very good course to bring someone to introduce them to the game.
-The whole course is in a well-groomed area of the park and there is very little risk of losing a disc here.
-There is a trashcan at most (if not all) of the holes on this side of the park
Cons: -This course has very little distance (The longest hole is about 210 feet long).
-There are very few obstacles and the obstacles that there are a very short trees that don't provide much of an obstacle
-While the course does have different pin positions, they only really add a little bit of distance and don't change the look of the holes.
-Pretty much all of the holes are straight, wide open shots and the course gets repetitive after a while
-A couple spots can be a little hard to navigate the first time you play because there are a lot of tee-pads and baskets near each other.
-The course has no elevation gain on it (the only exception is if you have a bad shot on Hole 1).
-This course does not provide much challenge and more experienced players may get bored quickly here
-We were there on a Saturday and the course was definitely quite crowded and there were a decent amount of non-dgers using the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to just bring your putter or mid-range and practice shorter drives. It is also a great place to introduce newer players to the sport. There are no very memorable holes on the course and it starts to feel repetitive pretty quickly. It is a great place to stop if you are in the area, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it unless you like shorter courses or are trying to introduce someone to the sport.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great for the whole family

1    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: used disc seller
Played: 99  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: super short and all on the grass. You will not lose discs here. All ages and experience can enjoy this corse. Very simple lay out, easy to follow.
Cons: not very challenging if your looking for a challenge. You can use your putter on the hole thing. No mature trees or shade. It was very windy when I was there, not sure if that is normal.
Other Thoughts: Super quick rounds and there is a little more challenging corse around the corner from it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.