Manhattan, IL 
Round Barn DGC Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #1
3 / 169ft.   3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
And yet, another course in a multi-use park

1    3/15/2017   3/15/2017
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course set in your typical multi-use park setting and a few holes go counter-clockwise around a small pond.
- Alternate baskets on every hole - red and white. In some cases like hole 5, this gives quite a different feel and challenge to the hole.
- Nice tee pads at all of the holes. Some of them were gigantic circles. Your entire card could place all of their bags/carts on the pad and there would still be enough room for a decent run-up.
- I thought the baskets on 9 were interesting being nestled in the tree trunks and having the red on top of the white. It was borderline silly but I still liked it.
- All of the baskets are a DGA Mach whatever and were in great shape.
- With all the mowed grass, roller throwers are going to love some of these holes.
- I think the placement of the red basket on 3 is a bit tough but certainly made things interesting. Along that line of thought, the course does an excellent job of making use of the water hazard there.
- Things seem to be pretty well picked up. But then that might be a product of the wintery time of year I visited.
Cons: - Like a lot of courses of this type navigation is a PITA. First timers are going to want to print/download the map off of this site or you'll get lost. The are very few tee signs here and with one exception none of the tee signs have any hole information on them. This course would benefit GREATLY from tee signs and "next tee" arrows of some sort otherwise it's kind of a mess of random baskets and concrete pads.
- The red and white basket locations often had me scratching my head as to what the idea here is. On most of the holes the red basket is clearly supposed to be harder of the two. But on number 11 the red basket is clearly a much easier basket than white. Then on 10 the red and white baskets are 20 feet apart. I do not understand the point of two baskets when the two locations don't really change the hole...The same can be said for hole 7.
- Several of the holes are just ... boring. 14, 2 and 15. Seems like with the available land something different could have been done with these.
- NO BENCHES. My 45 year old, achy knees hate you Round Barn.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course but nothing great. I think the design overall is not bad but, not great. And unfortunately, with the plot of land there I think this is the best you can do. It wouldn't be a bad course for a C or B tier type of tournament.

Its just another course with fairways that are mowed grass interspersed with trees. There is some elevation but not a lot. It's fun to be sure but nothing really special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/6/2016   5/7/2016
Review By: SpartanDisc
Played: 146  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good tee pads and dual baskets on every hole
- Hole 9 signature stacked and guarded basket is a nice touch
- A few risk/reward water holes added some challenge and variety
Cons: - Most holes are largely open and very forgiving
- Some of the 2nd baskets don't offer much variety (they are right next to each other). On other holes they are completely different shots
- Majority of signs were removed or blank. On several holes you can't see the red basket from the tee, so there was a lot of walking around the course trying to find the next basket before throwing
Other Thoughts: When I first drove up, I saw a pretty open field with a number of baskets in it and wasn't expecting much. While there were a lot of pretty open holes, they made great use of the trees that are available and there are just a few pretty tight and technical holes on the front nine. Water plays nicely into a few holes, but the pond was very green with algae so if you disk gets wet, kiss it goodbye. Also I have heard the mosquitoes get out of control in the summer which is believable giving the look of that pond.

This is a decent course and would be great for beginners (except the 1 or 2 water holes that could be risky). For more seasoned players it's worth checking out, but doesn't offer near the challenge or variety you could get from other nearby courses like West Park or the Canyons.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    9/14/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 89  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Equipment is good, baskets catch well, and the large circular teepads are great.

- Multiple pins (Though in many cases the alternate pins don't actually add much)

- Course is in a beautiful park and is nice to play through

- Variety, several holes around the pond, some longer more open holes, some winding through large trees, some through more tight alleyways.

- The limited elevation is used well to provide some interesting greens.
Cons: - There aren't really many great holes. Hole 3 is a standout, the stacked, protected baskets on 9 are cool, but the hole itself isn't spectacular. There aren't really any bad holes, but not really anything that blows you away.

- Always seems to be windy here, can get tiring.

- As mentioned above, the multiple pins seem like a missed opportunity, in many cases they don't really add anything, could be nice for more beginner players, but just come off as "meh."

- Hole 5 seems to just eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course from time to time, but more often than not I end up heading to different courses when I make the trip to the Joliet area. Highland, West, and Community Parks are generally higher on my list of courses to hit.

Course is a nice addition to the area, but not quite as much of a draw.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 in 1 course

5+    8/23/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: StevieWraithVaughan
Played: 108  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pins on each hole
-Many circular tee pads
-Mix of challenging and easier holes
-Lots of variety available
-Unique
-Nice Park
-Disc store less than a mile away
Cons: -Location (kind of in the middle of nowhere)
-Not really a con but the pond can be a problem for someone not wanting to risk losing a disc.
-Not much to complain about
Other Thoughts: Really nice layout and some very unique holes and creativity. The round paved tee boxes are great and accommodate player that might want a different path to follow. (VS. straight tee boxes)

Having different pin options allows you to play a different course twice in the same location. Sometimes I will even mix and match between red and silver pins in a round. Having that option is truly unique and keeps the course interesting.

If you are one that doesn't want to lose discs in the water then layup, these holes are still playable if you throw safely. If you think you can clear the water and can't throw 350'ish consistently then maybe you should reconsider if you don't want to lose plastic.

Great course, fairly close to Westpark and the Oaks. Some of the red tees are really really long and seem nearly impossible to finish in two w/out alot of luck.

Not much around the area it is out in the country, so get food before, or bring a cooler.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Round & Round Dosey Doe!

1    3/9/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 7.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Round Barn (named for the huge white round barn at the entrance) plays through a grassy, mostly open area that has a smattering of trees throughout. One or two holes include somewhat tighter looks off the tee, but nothing gets into "technical" wooded golf. The course is open enough that most botched tee shots still result in a par.
- H20 is definitely the best part of this course. Unfortunately it only comes into play on #'s 2,3, 4, and 5 with #'s 3 and 4 Red (i.e., the longs) easily being the standout holes. Both offer risky water carries while offering a safety route for less experienced/skilled players.
- Good signage, tees (many are circular, adding to "round" motif), baskets. No lack of amenities. Dual pin positions offer a more difficult layout as well as the shorter Silver holes. #9 has the Silver and Red baskets stacked atop each other (Red on top). Definitely something I hadn't seen before; the concept seemed neat, but the execution (with a tight cluster of tree trunks behind the pin) took a lot of the risk out of gunning for the upper basket.
- Decent use of the minor elevation changes throughout. Nothing spectacular, but all the major wrinkles are used to utmost effect (#18 comes to mind).
Cons: - The major con here is that much of the course seems the same. Not much distinguishes the non-water holes from each other. The holes aren't bad, per se, just kinda bland.
- Several of the holes towards the middle of the course seem tightly clustered together, with potential for fairway overlap. This could become a bit of a safety issue on busier days.
Other Thoughts: - The greatest attribute of Round Barn is the nice lake. Not only does it provide some challenging, well-designed holes, but it also is a pleasant relief from some of the nastier Chitown-area "water" holes. Runoff ditches, scum-filled ponds, pollution, and poop-water are all "water" hazards I've seen in Chicago. Thus, the relatively clean and picturesque lake does much to help Round Barn's appeal.
- Overall, decent without ever really wowing. Simply not enough standout holes to bump it up to a 3.5.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Round barn a soild course

2-4    6/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: depauw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the tees are made of concrete and offer good grip the tee signs are of good quality there are two baskets at each hole one for advanced players and one for newer players there arent many people at this course so you can almost always play at any pace you want
Cons: tee signs keep disappearing ive seen many people lose discs in the pond the woods are full of misquotes and they will eat you alive unless you have bug spray

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Play, Bring a Boat

2-4    5/5/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has a great layout with a variety of short holes and long holes. The course is very well maintained and has large concrete tee pads and almost brand new catchers. There are both short and long catchers on every hole, and most holes are able to be played by beginners.
Cons: While the holes outside the trees are grass, those under the canopy are mostly weeds and can be a little buggy. There are holes on this course with water in play so bring a floater and a long pole for retrieval.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Round Barn DGC

2-4    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 94  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of shots here, Some short but technical shots and some wide open holes.
-Concrete pads, Some of which are circular which is unique.
-A couple risk/reward shots which are not usually found on other courses in the area.
-Lots of big oak trees, and plenty of other smaller trees to add obstacles.
-The double basket on hole 9 is awesome. Both times I've played here I hit the basket but missed the ace, I like the idea of having two baskets on top of each other, increasing the odds of an ace.
-Signs are now up and look very nice, despite the fact that someone has already broken the display off of their respective posts on two holes.
-Multiple baskets, These are great if you are an experienced player and will be bringing someone who is not as experienced.
-Nice quiet setting, If you come here and there are only a few other disc golfers out it can be very peaceful.
-Excellent place to work on shot shaping
-Proximity to other good disc golf courses
Cons: -Its always windy here it seems. That can get old but it is what it is.
-Some of the holes seem repetitive.
-Fairways do get close together here and that could be an issue as this course gains popularity and traffic.
-Needs a couple more garbage cans throughout the course and maybe a port-o-potty near the back of the course near the 11 teepad.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the second time today and I enjoyed it much more than my first time here. Now that there are signs and I knew how to navigate the course I was a lot more at ease. The lack of signage the first time here really bothered me.

I really would like to hit this one up as my first play of the day when I am fresh, because then I believe I would have a better time here. Both times I've been here I had already played 18+ holes at some of the other nearby courses and I tire out after the first handful of holes when I get here. That being said, trinity links and highland are both nearby, if your coming down to the the J town to make a day of disc'n then make sure you hit this one up too.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 round barn

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 94  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - very nice park
-some tee pads are nice big round and concrete that are very nice for me because i have a very big stride
-the shots by the pond are fun you can risk a shot over the pond if u want but don't have to
-many holes under huge oak trees make for nice hard shots
-each hole has two baskets silver ones that are easier and red tees for more skilled players
-hole 9 is awesome with 2 baskets stacked on top of each other that is possible to ace with a perfect shot
-has one or two holes that really test your arm
Cons: -no directions to baskets / next hole as of yet but there is a map in the parking lot i would recommend taking a picture of the course map on your phone to help u find your way
-if you throw into the heavy underbrush / heavy woods on the back side there are thrones F*@%ing everyplace you step
Other Thoughts: me and my friend played here for the first time today and my buddy was getting frustrated by the lack of signs until we met up with a local who had played it many times who helped show us the way
- i was told that they have put in signs at the tee pads but have not been there yet to see for myself

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park with mature oak trees. A few holes bring a pond into play, offering some great risk/reward decisions. All offer safe shots that avoid the danger of ending up in the water but take away the birdie opportunities, to get deuces on these shots you have to take the riskier route over the pond. On each of these, the short basket is a much more beginner friendly option with less risk and more room on the greens between the basket and the shore.

The rest of the course offers multiple routes through mature trees. Having a good selection of different line shaping skills is valuable here, you can throw a hyzer on most holes but it's not always the best option. A few elevation changes come into play, and are used as well as possible. I liked the rollaway greens on the last couple holes, they keep things interesting through the end of the round. The stacked basket is a cool quirk, adding an elevated pin position while still offering the cool protected pin position to the shorter basket.

The tees are nice, many are large circular pads and the rest are standard rectangular pads, all are textured concrete. The baskets are new and catch great, and having the short beginner friendly silver baskets and the tougher red baskets is a great feature.
Cons: There are a lot of holes in the trees that feel a bit similar, there's not a whole lot of space to stretch things out and the rough is very limited so the land doesn't offer much chance for variety. The lack of length keeps even the long layout from being all that challenging for better players. Some of the holes don't offer much difference between the long and short baskets which was a little disappointing. A few spots have fairways that are very close to one another, that definitely could be a safety issue as this course gets popular.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the silver baskets approachable, with reasonable lengths and less water danger. The red baskets offer some fun challenges, they're a little short to really test top players but it's a course that is enjoyable for most skill levels. I will definitely be playing this one again when I'm in the Joliet area, and I recommend a stop if you're passing through.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.