Addison, IL 
Foxdale Park Share
Uploaded By: EspressoPatronum Hole #3 (Taken 8/2018)
4 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
My local course

5+    11/3/2020   11/4/2020
Review By: BlackberryGirl
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is a semi circle from parking lot. First tee along wall near basketball court. For a 9 hole course, this offers good variety, length, and challenging winds. Water comes into play on two holes.
Safe area with plenty of soccer, baseball and walkers.
Parking lot is between hole 1 and 9. You can also park along road and start at 7 or 8.
This course plays well all year
Cons: Hole 3 tee box is a small pond most of the year.
Hole 3 almost always requires waiting for walkers on the path but people are very friendly and some waive us to throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice 9 hole course!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Chicago 9 Hole

2-4    8/23/2018   8/24/2018
Review By: EspressoPatronum
Played: 72  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice tee signs for every hole
- very nice blue baskets
- surprising shot variety for a small multi-use park
- incorporates woods, water, and trees
- a few holes have some mild elevation change
- ample parking
- some challenging lines to hit despite a mostly open course layout
Cons: - no practice basket
- very noisy
- mostly flat
- natural tees, some of which had some rather unfortunate low spots in them
- most holes are under 300'
Other Thoughts: This course is around a 2.25 for me but was just nice enough to round up to 2.5. I actually was surprised how much I enjoyed this course. It's a typical Chicago multi-use part 9 hole, but I thought it was pretty well designed. The holes generally avoid the walking paths and other use areas of the park, although there is some risk of throwing into the road or into nearby houses if you lose it.

I will admit the blue baskets everyone describes in their reviews are pretty cool looking. They also are in great repair. Two of the holes play into the woods a bit, and several others have trees placed pretty nicely to force a more specific line. This course certainly isn't going to strain intermediate to advanced players, but I had fun playing it.

I'd say it only takes about a half hour to play this course alone. I think my favorite hole was #5, which is the more open "wooded" shot which still has a lot of trees to avoid. I also enjoyed the shot over the pond on #8 which is pretty easy to clear as long as you don't blow it.

I will say this course is a bit on the short side. I didn't mind it but if you prefer longer holes you may be disappointed. Most holes were under 300' and several were under 250'.

This course is literally against the wall for I-355 and also right under the flight path for O'Hare, so I'm not sure it will ever truly seem peaceful. It was pretty noisy but you do get used to it. I don't think I' go out of my way to play this course, but since it's on my way home from work, it's definitely worthwhile for a quick round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Another Chicago 9'er.

1    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foxdale is a small community park nestled between houses and I-355. The park has a smallish pond in the center. One old guy fishing pulled a two pound carp today. The murky pond only comes into play on # 9 and not too much danger for most players.

The tee signs are the old school fiberglass ones. They're a fine fit here. There are no tee pads persee but there are one or two little concrete markers on each hole showing you to tee off from. The star of the show here are the lovely and talented bright blue DGA baskets. They really are pretty!

The course basically plays around the park counterclockwise which is going to result in anhyser throws. I think the first three all require an Annie or a roller. Both holes 1 and 2 tee off right next to the freeway wall. If you somehow throw over this wall, you can kiss your disc goodbye. Hole distances vary from 140' to 350'. There are a couple of technical type wooded holes as well as 9 which requires a short (150') to get across. Mostly, it plays games with your mind. I'm sure a few discs have drowned on # 9.
Cons: Between the freeway noise and being under O'Hare's flight path, this is perhaps the noisiest course you may ever play. But I think most players quickly adapt and tune all that noise out.

The tee sign was completely missing for hole # 5, I believe it was.

A walking path runs through the park. I sincerely doubt whether there would ever be enough foot traffic to affect your game much.

There is chance someone could fire one over the wall into freeway traffic. I threw rollers on both holes just to eliminate that happening. It would have to a really poor shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid little Chicago 9'er. I enjoyed my round here and would return if I lived anywhere near. I'm hardly concerned with the stated safety issues. I doubt rather this course will ever get so busy that other players will be firing discs off your head. Life is a risk! Playing the extreme sport of disc golf has it's dangers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not good.

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 153  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 16.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The main pro of this course is that it has amazing, beautiful, blue DGA baskets that shimmer in the sunset. I wish every course had baskets like these. Also, the park was clean, nice, and didn't seem super busy. There was plenty of parking and the location of the course was well marked.

Cons: The course as I played it today was not worthy of more than a 1.5 disc rating. But because it is relatively new and I will not be going back there, I gave it the benefit of the doubt and bumped it up to a 2.0. There are so many cons to this course:

*No tee-pads (I didn't dock the rating too hard on this because I've heard that the course might be getting slabs)
*Hole 4 was completely gone. No sign, no basket (I also didn't dock too hard for this... maybe this new course is getting some design kinks worked out?)

But even if the above cons are fixed, I still don't ever plan on returning here.

*Course is right next to the highway... even though there is a wall separating the park from the road, it's super loud and annoying.
*The tee for the first hole is under a tree that hangs down and prevents any kind of run-up.

*The course flirts with, and even crosses a walking path the whole time.

*None of the holes are exciting... they're completely flat and not challenging enough to be exciting, and there's not much of a fun factor.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course the same rating as nearby Lombard Commons, but I would choose that course over this one any day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course if you live nearby

1    8/18/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 83  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Baskets
-Well Kept
-Mix of Challenges
-Holes are of Reasonable Length

The course has a good mix of challenges. The holes still require shot-shaping to avoid ending up on the highway on holes 2-4, and a few of the holes go through a small forest, which helps with variety.
Cons: The highway barrier is about 10 feet tall and will really punish anyone who grip-locks it or thows a forehand shot a bit too high.

The pond seems to be filled with runoff from 355 and 290, leaving it oily and disgusting.

No teepads. The course doesn't seem like it gets much traffic, so it shouldn't be a huge problem, but I threw from the worn out areas and ended up backhanding a sign, which have fairly sharp corners. This is a result of my own idiocy, but also results from a lack of tee markers beyond the signs themselves.
Other Thoughts: You would be hard-pressed to land in the water on any hole if you have and sort of skill at disc golf. On the one throw which requires you to throw over it, you would have to throw the disc about 40 feet to land in the water, it is all of 30 feet wide, MAX.

Course is short and forget-able, however it is well-designed for the space and the baskets are incredible. I gave it a half-disc boost just for the baskets. I would be a very happy golfer if every course used baskets as nice as these.

I would also avoid backhanding the signs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Foxdale

1    8/11/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 1240  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Rules sign a the first tee.
2) DGA signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map.
3) Very nice pocket of woods used on #4, and #5.
4) Water carry on one of the holes and water danger on another hole.
5) Distance variation is not bad with a couple in the 100's, some in the 200's and a couple in the 300's also. It's always nice to be able to throw a handful of shots and discs in a round.
6) The course initially feels a little repetitive because it is 5 anhyzers in a row and then finishes with 4 straight to hyzer shots. I would prefer to have those broken up slightly but at least the shots are all out on the course.
7) Nice blue powder coated Mack baskets.
Cons: 1) Grass tees always leave a lot to be desired.
2) Freeway noise comes over the top of the noise barrier along holes #1-3. It isn't too distracting but it is noticeable.
3) Overall this course is pretty flat. Hole #6 goes slightly downhill and #8 goes uphill just slightly. It is always more fun if you have to think about elevation and how your disc needs to land around the basket.
4) The walking path is a distraction and could be a danger issue, so please be aware of everyone around you.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice diverse course. There are no glorious overwhelming holes, but there also are no absolute duds. It is a solid course overall but is not championship caliber by any means. It is short enough for beginners but has enough challenge to keep better players intrigued. All in all a decent experience.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

2-4    7/17/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 831  Reviewed: 777  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small multi-use park. A couple holes play in the woods at the back of the park offering some tighter lines and some punishment for errant drives. The rest of the holes play out in the open areas of the park with some scattered trees for obstacles. A pond comes into play at the end of the course, with a short water carry on the last shot. The course is easy to navigate, and the signage is plenty adequate to know where to throw.
Cons: Overall this layout is pretty short and straightforward. The water only comes into play for newer players or really shanked shots. Most of the holes are open enough that they don't really offer a challenge. Too many holes have left to right turning shots, it feels a little repetitive and doesn't test a wide range of line shaping skills. The grass on the natural tees is already starting to die, if there's much traffic they won't stay flat for long. A walking path and soccer field come into play on a few holes, a potential safety issue on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the shorter lengths and limited punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find a couple interesting shots, but it's not much of a test for better throwers. Despite the water, this course blends into the rest of the mediocre 9 hole courses around the area for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Suburban Course

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: axiom
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variety of terrain. Most are fairly open, but 4 and 5 are heavily wooded, and 8 offers a fun shot over a pond. Everything is pretty much brand-spanking new, so the course is in good shape.
Cons: If, like me, you're still unsure about your shot, holes 1 thru 4 might be troublesome for you. I skipped hole 1 all together. It's bordered on the left by a basketball court (with a game in progress) and on the right by a 10' wall such that a really bad drive will put your disc on interstate 290. Holes 2 and 3 run along the same wall, but with a soccer field to the left. If you wind up in the trees on 4, you'll almost certainly lose your disc, as the foliage is impressively thick.

There is signage, but it's relatively poor quality. The tee signs are white-boards with crappy decals showing obstacles and baskets. The decals don't look like they'll hold up for more than a few months, and the signs are kind of unintelligable (fortunately, the holes are pretty straight forward). The course map is all the way at the entrance to the parking lot (why?), which made finding both the map and hole one a challenge.

There aren't tee-pads, just throw next to the signs.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, hole one runs along the 10' wall that seperates the park and 290... just in case you have trouble finding it. From there, navigation is easy.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Foxy

1    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 351  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 19.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is very open with only minor rolling terrain in a few areas. There are only a few tree obstacles to contend with. Making on/over the fitness trail being out of bounds adds difficulty. Water could comes into play on a couple of holes.

This course was very easy to navigate. There is a map off the parking lot.

New tee signs on all 9 holes.

Brand new Mach 2 DGA Blue baskets.

This is a great beginner course for the area.
Cons: My #1 con is the tee pads. Natural grass that will over time turn to dirt.

I'm not sure how much the very nice walking path gets used. It comes into play a lot.

By no means was this course ever going to be awesome but bringing the water more into play could have made several holes very interesting.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel to far out of the way.It's just minutes off the interstate if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    7/3/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 532  Reviewed: 281  Exp: 17.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small neighborhood park that has some woods, trees, and a pond. A couple holes play next to a walking path, but other than that should be free of any interference.
- Some interesting lines here thanks to the various woods. #4 is a short little RHFH flex shot into the woods, and #5 is a low RHFH hyzer or a skinny hyzer thru a small gap. A few other low ceiling shots thanks to some trees, with a few RHBH anny friendly shots.
- A few spots have decent elevation changes, like a downhill shot on #6, and some slight uphill shots on #7 and #8.
- Water is close on a few holes as well. #6 has water on the left, which is primed to snag shots that hyzer out too much (especially with the downhill). #8 plays directly over the water, it isn't very long but it's definitely in play.
- Decent mix of hole lengths, with some shorties, and #3 at 350'. Good for beginners.
- Good baskets and tee signs. Teepads are still in good shape, but it is brand new. Navigation is a breeze.
Cons: - Course plays very short overall, with 5 of the holes under 250'. Definitely caters to the newer player, or those of us that can't crank them out that far.
- A lot of open shots, with little to no trees to worry about. #3, #6, #7, and #8 don't require much line-shaping, just distance or accuracy. #9 is the opposite, with a very tight line on a very short hole. A little silly.
Other Thoughts: - A good course for beginners to learn about the game, with some tricky lines, and some open bombers. But, players starting from scratch might have issues staying out of the water. In that way, the course is just right for a beginner who's not TOO new to the game. More experienced players should be able to tear through the course without much trouble.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.