Plantation, FL 
Plantation Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: TYDG1 Hole #17 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Mid-Fairway



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great Course in Broward!

5+    4/15/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: Brave_Sir_Robin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Easy to identify signage, tee pads, mando signs, and baskets (with arrows pointing to next tee).
+Course design takes you through the entire park and is very scenic, especially during sunrise/sunset outings.
+Good mix of water, open, and tunnel holes with rec/AM/PRO pads on just about every hole.
+Bathrooms and other amenities are available throughout the course.
Cons: -The baskets on the water holes (4,5, 11, and 12) are very close to the water, meaning you may lose a disc or two before your round is over.
-While some of the lake is shallow enough to retrieve a disc, most of the lake is deep, grimy, and losing a disc in these parts makes it near impossible to retrieve without scuba gear.
-Hole #10 can be a bit tricky to find the first time out (it's a good distance north of hole #9).
-Traffic (car and other park users) tends to delay your round on some of the holes on the front nine. Not an issue on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: This is my second favorite course in Broward County (behind Snyder Park). It is challenging, scenic, and each hole presents a different tactic to employ, especially with the OBs in play.

This course becomes rough to play on windy days, so factor that into your plans if you decide to play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT. Hate it. LOVE IT

5+    2/10/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: Santiago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels! Well maintained and Fun to play! Great mix of shots one can play on any given hole. Technical and attainable shots. Bathrooms and Hydration throughout at short distance from the course.
Cons: Wind makes most holes very challenging. Decent amount of park goer traffic can cause some waits. Biggest con is the park doesn't allow disc retrieval from the water, YET!
Other Thoughts: The holes here create a very well balanced game for any golfer in my opinion. I can play here everyday from open to close with no complaints at all.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun ,score able, challenging

5+    1/8/2017   2/8/2017
Review By: LeftysLivesMatter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pin positions , multiple tee pads for all levels of play. Fair lines well balanced track
Cons: Water hazards to the right all around the course. Ob on most holes. Also I heard of cars being broken into dont leave valuables in plain sight or bing any at all. Leave doors open so they don't break your window or park near the office.
Other Thoughts: Great edible forest in the middle of the back nine.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    1/14/2017   2/1/2017
Review By: Dgolfer89
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well manicured
Great baskets
Clean fairways
Well poured tee pads
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in the area offering multiple tee pads and pin placements. The course is always clean and well manicured. The club does a great job to maintain the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Avoid during peak hours

1    11/29/2016   12/1/2016
Review By: MigglePops
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent Aesthetic, decent variety of challenges with open and tighter technical shots, practice basket, score cards with map available in office. Also plenty of pavilions with bathrooms and water.
Cons: Had to refer to the map constantly because tee pads are often out of sight or difficult to spot. Spent a significant amount of time searching for tee pads. Long walks to some tee pads make this already long course feel longer than it is.

I happened to be there on Tuesday, which is food truck day. By 3:30 there were already trucks blocking two fairways. Pedestrian paths along fairways means you may have to wait for people to pass.

At one point a woman had her baby in a stroller just sitting there ON one of the white tee pads, with other family members wandering the fairway. They all just gave me confused looks or ignored me when I politely asked them to move, apparently implying they didn't speak English. She moved her stroller to the back of the pad, but not off it. That was a new one for me.
At another point I had a guy who was playing alone throw at me even after he had clearly seen that I was still finishing the hole.

Basically it was a shame that my round was tainted with other people's poor etiquette.
Other Thoughts: I anticipate amending this review with a higher rating if I have the opportunity to play again when the park is less crowded. The course itself wasn't bad.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stereotypical SE Florida Course

1    8/6/2016   8/6/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course shares some good traits with other area courses like minor elevation changes, nice grass fairways, decent tees and signs, and plenty of trees to work around. She is not the most scenic course in the area, but she is somewhat pretty none the less. There is a fair mix of hole types here and the course is fun to play.

There was an abundance of waterfowl on this course with one fairway being completely covered with several types of ducks, geese, and egret type birds!
Cons: The course also shares some of the negative traits with other area courses. There are a lot of roads and sidewalks winding through the course and a good chance of there being nondgers hanging out on the course also. Navigation might be a little tricky in a couple of spots for first-time throwers here. I would use the map or get a guide.

If you REALLY don't like spiders and snakes, this might not be the best course for you!
Other Thoughts: We had a good time playing this course. It might not be quite a destination course, but it is solid enough if in the area and pairs well with the Jetstream course.

Oh yeah, watch out for those Pokemon hunters. They like searching this park!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Plantation

2-4    8/6/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: adlacro
Played: 101  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with Chainstar baskets in good shape. Concrete tees for every pad, and three pads to a hole. Signage is at the am pad, and the signs are really nice. Course offers a nice mix of open and wooded holes, plus 5 holes that border a large pond. Restrooms and water fountains available. Nominal park entrance fee on weekends and holidays.
Cons: The walking path comes into play on a number of holes and so too does the entrance road. Please take caution near these areas. No real elevation other than a small hill on a few holes, but that's typical south Florida disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Heritage is a good challenging course that will offer a little bit of something for everybody, from longer drives over OB water to tight, challenging wooded holes like 6 and even some birdie opps if you have the distance. It is well maintained and offers a weekly league night during daylight savings time, and is in a rotation of Saturday league courses. Most disc golfers would enjoy this course. By no means this is a destination course, but if you have time and find yourself in or around Fort Lauderdale, come west and give Heritage a go.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/28/2015   3/13/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The section of the course from 14-18 is really cool. It feels like a little glade of purity with no paths and a variety of trees that make you throw actual lines. It's a big open space that is not overused. It supports a variety of shots with the trees forcing the disc to actually move.
And yeah, 10. Ten ten ten. I straightforward shot at the start that needs to curve right and up a hill into a grove of trees toward the end. It's a beautiful that requires a specific line. Loved the line of sight off the tee. Loved the finish.
Cons: After playing through most of South Florida in a weekend, two common threads emerge. One: there is water. Lots of it. It often lurks on the side of a hole rather than take an active role, but it's there. Two: damn the walking paths, full speed ahead. Plantation Heritage might be the epitome of both of those phenomena. A large portion of this course wraps around a pond. And really, it's the same shot over and over. Hang it over the lake and fade left or play it safe and throw it straight. When a pond is too wide and too round to offer real carries, it often plays out like this and it never really does much for me. Too repetitive.
Not only do many tees cross paths, or even parallel them, there are about six that use the path a s a fairway. I had fun here in a drizzle but I can't imagine how long you would be waiting for slow walkers to clear entire fairways on a busy day. Even ten, my favorite hole, tees off directly behind a walking path. Moving it just a few feet up wouldn't really change the hole much. It's like they want the path to be in play.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/23/2015   1/27/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 188  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a nice public park with about half the holes playing around the edges of a pond with the other half playing back and forth among the groves of trees.

The holes are almost entirely in the 250-350 foot range. As an intermediate player, I really enjoyed it. I felt like I had a shot at a birdie on about 2/3 of the holes.

Two holes have water carries but with a good risk/reward profile. You can bail out if you are confident, but the more dangerous carry is required for the birdie. A few other holes have the basket near the shore so there is no water carry but you are approaching toward the pond.

While you can certainly air it out here, the trees are used well. Many holes require low shots beneath the branches. There was a nice mix of righty and lefty shots. I got to use more turnover shots than I have used in months.

Tee pads are concrete and a little thin. Tee signs are okay. They show shorter tees, but I never saw most of them (they were rounded stakes in the ground).

Navigation is pretty easy, although the transition from 13 to 14 was not intuitive. There is a long walk from 9 to 10 but there was a sign pointing the way.
Cons: Very little elevation here.

If you play here often enough, you'll probably put some discs in the water.

Not a ton of challenge for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This is a really enjoyable rec and intermediate course. It's probably not suitable for an absolute beginner, and more advanced players might be underwhelmed, but the vast majority of players will have a good time here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course, fairly open, some water risks

1    11/27/2014   11/27/2014
Review By: dkarlan
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice course, well marked with next tee marked too for the less than obvious (plus a map available at the entrance gate). more trees than nearby
Cons: some holes tight against the water.
Other Thoughts: amenities in park too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.