Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun and Efficient.

5+    9/20/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: PRC90
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Frequent maintenance (hats off to the folks at Sellersville who put in their personal time to keep this course looking amazing)
Multiple Pin Positions and Tee boxes
DisCatchers <3
Decent Shot Variety
High Attention to detail: (pads on early trees to soften kicks, nets to help reign in stray shots, trash buckets at almost every hole, Pavers to help you cross water and 2 portapotty locations)
Cons: Parking, the initial Lot is very small (and a bit hard to find since it looks like someones driveway) but there are other places nearby to park and walk to the course start.
Longer walk for overall course, but relatively short distance holes (most are shorter than 400ft).

Other Thoughts: Sellersville to me has been the course where I go to break in new plastic (mostly because its kinda on the way from D-Town discgolf for me), the course lends itself to a wide variety of shots and covers a good gamut of distances making it the perfect (for me) proving ground when testing out new molds. This course is borderline manicured park level of fit and finish and that is largely attributed to the amazing community that surrounds this course. Difficulty wise I would say this is a "for everyone" course, because you could enjoy yourself whether you throw 100ft or 500ft but I wouldn't go as far to call this a course a national tournament stop as a seasoned player will have a birdie fest out here and my score refelects that. This course will charm you with its attention to detail with things like kick padding on early trees, hanging nets to keep errant drives from doming non-discgolfers, the ample amout of signage (clear and accurate Tee signs, pavers that mark circles edge, etc), and trash disposal options are things that so many other places overlook that elevate this course to a status that some other can't achieve. Sellersville really does achieve the nearly impossible and on your first playthrough you might not even notice it (because there is a fair bit of walking involved). The course is actually quite small only using a tiny postage stamp in a rather large Lake Lenape Park, where they manage to pack in a bunch of good qaulity disc golf holes before crossing the street twice to flesh out the rest of the course. Given what constraints they have I believe they have reached the pinnacle of what can be done with the amount of space alloted and it shows that if you can't make it big, make it good and people will play. It could be raining on a cold Tuesday morning in October and you will see disc golfers out here which to me is a testament to the qaulity of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

home of Hannah Leatherman

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 102  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Sellersville DGC is a very fun course with a mix of open and wooded holes, and some water that comes into play on numerous holes (but won't eat your discs).

Some of the holes have a bit of an artificial feel, with nets strung between trees to create an obstacle, logs set up to prevent discs from sliding up to the basket, an elevated basket, an island hole, etc. I like those sort of things, if done well, and feel they can add to the challenge and character of a hole. The course has a variety of hole lengths, although on average I feel they are shorter than ideal. Some of the shortest holes are very short, and even the longest are not true two-shot holes (more like a drive and an upshot). The longer holes, while very welcome, also tend to be pretty open off the tee with some obstacles near the basket. Because they are kind of in a tweener distance (at least for me), they lose interest quickly as you end up throwing a long drive and pitching up to the basket from wherever you end up.

The best part of the course, in my opinion, is the use of the water, particularly the hole that plays over the water towards the tunnel under the train tracks, and the island hole on #18.

It's a fun course with a couple of nice risk reward shots and good variety, but too many holes allow you to throw an easy shot and do not force you to be creative or make decisions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sellersvilles theatre of disc golf

1    4/13/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: joshfullam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well thought out with tight driving holes for the most part. All par 3 course that is a quick play. Like the practice hole with the circle landing area. Water in play a lot which keeps it challenging in spots and fun. Great tee pads--long and well maintained.
Cons: None or no good hole map at the tees. Course is separated by two roads to cross. Easy on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little short course. Will be back to play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun water filled course

1    12/29/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets were in good shape, tee pads were well constructed. The use of the water was excellent in most cases. Practice tee/basket was something you don't usually see gave me a nice warm up rather then just putting.

Course was clean and well groomed.

Hole 12!
Cons: SIGNAGE! There is none. each hole is just a tee box and a hole number. No par or distance or guidance to the next holes or the area surrounding the hole. Arrows under the basket help but were not always available.

Signage- There is water all over the course.( which i love) but As i drove to some holes i had no idea there was water directly behind or surrounding the basket.


Other Thoughts: It seems that there is a large disc golf community that play this course, someone paint on the pavers or under the hole number the distance of the hole. And perhaps provide additional next hole signs. If this course had signage it would be one of my favorite courses because of its short technical nature.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A very good Short Course

1    7/6/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 63  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 7/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees and excellent baskets
-Good signage and directions around the course
-Set in a beautiful park
-Really unique holes and great variety of shots
-Great use of the creeks requiring thoughtful, strategic golf
Cons: -The inconsistent size and materials of the tees led to some awkward run ups
-The club used the land available to them, but the fact that holes 8-15 are accessed by crossing two roads and 16's fairway is still a con
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and found it a challenging, unique brand of golf. The close proximity of so many baskets to creeks puts a premium on smart golf and precise execution. Considering the land they had to work with i think the designer did a great job designing a course to fit the space available. The course is full of mature trees and well kept grassy areas making for a pleasant walk. The club seems really active on this course and i'm sure it will only improve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun Course

2-4    6/28/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun easy course to play, Par 3's. Lots of open grass holes to let lose on. Fun over and near water holes.
Cons: Can get muddy. Easy to go OB with water close to most pins.
Other Thoughts: Hard to find the driveway in to the parking lot. Long walk to back 9 over 2 streets.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 They Nailed it!

1    5/22/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course set in multi-use park in small town. Every tee had good, flat tee pads with rubber mats. Baskets were also all in excellent shape.

Park and course were well groomed. Grass was short and undergrowth was minimal. Everything is well tended and cared for. Nice job by the park department or local volunteers.

Good variety of shots. There are some straight tunnels, lefts, rights, ace runs, and even a couple long holes. Nothing is boring or repetitive. Course plays mostly as a wooded technical course with a couple chances in the open.

Course design does a great job of keeping discs and golfers from interacting with other park users. Holes near the walking path are facing away from it, and I didn't ever think there was a spot where I would have to wait for another person to make a safe shot. Well done.

The creek(s) is used throughout the course to add some risk to holes that are all fairly short. Many times the baskets are close enough to the creek to make you think about how to make your shot. It is not a disc eater, but will add to your score if your can't hit your spots. It makes a few simple ace runs or simple birdies a little more interesting.

There is a couple baskets on hillsides and small hills to keep things mixed up. Good variety all the way around.
Cons: Most of the holes are short Par 3s. Only 2 or 3 holes where you really need any type of driver.

Signs were either non existent or very rudimentary. And upgrade would be cool.

Navigation is a little tricky. Especially the walk from 7 to 8. Bring a map if you can.
Other Thoughts: This course really impressed me. No, it is not Tyler or Nockamixon. But it does a great job of fitting a fun course in a park with other activities. It keeps everything safe, and there is enough variety here to keep things fun. The navigation is a little tricky, but that is a small price to pay for better shots, and no conflicts.

Holes 3 and 4 are the big open holes that let you breathe a little. 3 is about 500' and 4 around 400' Plenty of room to throw something however you'd like too.

Hole 12 is a great looking hole with the creek as a fairway and the basket on one side with a stone bridge tunnel behind it.

17 is a tunnel with the basket perched across the creek. But this time there is an OB line right in front of the basket too. Depending on your ability it makes you think twice when trying to park a shot near the basket.

18 is another cool hole that only plays 220', but crosses the creek twice and has enough trees to keep the shot interesting. It's really a very nice hole.

Thanks to Optidisc for recommending this course. I'll be sure to stop here again when I am in the area. It probably won't be the best course you've ever played, but it does a really good job at being what it is. Just a fun course in a clean, well kept park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated Gem

5+    2/18/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 53  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is really well done. There is a great mix of open holes, wooded holes, and water shots. They also spice things up with a lot of raised baskets that make for interesting putting.

I love the 18th hole. A true island green. You have to really commit on this hole.
Cons: The long walk in the middle is annoying. And it is often very muddy.
Other Thoughts: For a great day of disc golf hit nockamixon first, and then this course. They are only about 20 minutes part.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Way to go Optidiscic

1    10/13/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 467  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 16.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- I Got to Play with Opti. Optidiscic hit me up because he knew I was coming through his region and told me they were having their weekly singles event on Saturday at 10:00 AM. We played on the same card and had a great round. Not only was it cool to play with him because he is one of the more recognizable names on DGCR, but it was cool to play with him because he designed the course... and was cool as hell too.
- Use of the Creek. Due to a decent sized, shallow, creek that flowed through the park, Sellersville had some amazing pin positions. I could easily state that more than half the holes had water within 30' of the basket. The use of the creek turns what would be a rather ordinary park course into something much greater and much more fun to play.
- The Extras. Opti and his crew have really done a great job with the added amenities. There are great next tee arrows and a few directional signs that explain two rather long transitions that happen in the course. They have also installed an island green and a few raised baskets.
- Holes 17 and 18... super fun finishing holes. Both had amazing pin positions with exceptional use of the creek. Hole 17 was 280' with the basket on the other side of the creek, which really makes you think strategically about your drive, approach shot and putt. Hole 18 was a short putter Hole that had an island green created by an ox-bow in the creek. You either park it... or, proceed to the drop zone.
Cons:
- Two Awkward Long Walks. There are two really long walks on the course that need to be navigated. You literally have to leave one part of the park, cross the street and walk through another section of the park, and cross another street to get back onto the course. However, there would have been no other way to have an 18 hole course; and, as mentioned above, they have great signage explaining what to do.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I played Sellersville on my last day of a 10-day, 16-course roadtrip that included some of the best courses in the upper North East, including: Iron Hill, Maple Hill, Warwick, Joralemon and Tyler... and, while Sellersville isn't on the level of those courses in terms of "Championship greatness", it is FUN as HELL. I had a great time playing with Optidiscic and his boys. The use of the creek on 90% of the courses' holes was fabulous. The amenities -- in terms of next tee-signs/arrows, tee-pads, and extras around the pin positions (raised basket, brick lined OB, etc...) -- were done with care. Etc... Optidiscic has really created a super fun city park course that is appropriate to a wide variety of golfers, beginners to pros alike.
- My Score: -4 (with a few bogeys and a 4 putt on the first hole - Yikes!)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 two 9 holers squeezed together

1    12/7/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So much more character has been added since making the move to 18 holes. Several scenic holes have been added.
Hole 12 throws at a tunnel under a bridge with a creek separating the 2 possible pin locations. In the right lighting it is nearly calendar worthy.
After hole 7 there is a sign with written directions and a visual map to get to hole 8. If that is not enough there are numerous bright yellow arrows to guide you the entire wat to hole 8.
13 throws up rolling hills and will soon have an interesting second pin position.
Hole 16 has a small "waterfall" next to the basket. Hole 18 is old hole 9 where you throw over the S shaped creek.
Course is constantly changing. Jerome is always on the course looking for ways to tweek the course.
Lots of water provides numerous risk vs. rewards.
10M marks have been put in most holes so you know where the putting circle is.
Many of the holes had 2 pin positions and 3 tee areas.
Interesting practice hole
Porto-potty on site, several trash cans that are frequently emptied, and there was a map at hole 1.
After playing so many courses in sketchy areas it was very nice to play in a small town course that I am 90% sure is protected by Sheriff Andy Taylor and Barney Fife.
Cons: If you can not find the basket, look next to the water. a majority of baskets are right on the edge of water which can be seen as gimmicky.
Navigation is quirky. You play the first 4 holes then walk back past 1 to play 5-7. then you have the long walk across the street to the new holes. You play 7-16 and have another walk to get to 17 and 18.
If you are looking for championship caliber golf, go back to Nocky. This course is more family friendly and less stressful.
One of the holes had black netting that was impossible to see. The first set of netting was clearly for safety, but I was not a fan of the netting near the basket that offered a blind surprise obstacle.
Due to vandalism, signage is minimal, but adequate. You are not going to see perfect tee signs here, it is simply not a priority for the designer.
Other Thoughts: NO ALCOHOL! This course is a dry park. Nearly all of the neighbors are on board, but if their properties become littered with beer cans, or they are bothered by loud vulgar players, they can shut down the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.