Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great course, heavily wooded, beware the murky water

2-4    9/29/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: nexusben
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Gorgeous course that is well maintained
- Mainly wooded shots, a challenge for anyone
- Some open shots give the opportunity to test out power, but still good for players with less range
Cons: - Some of the wooded shots are incredibly difficult, even for experienced players. Would be nice if it was cleared out just a little bit more on some holes.
- Murky water makes it hard to rescue sunken discs. Nearly lost 3 in just the first round (did lose one forever on 18)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Efficient.

5+    9/20/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: PRC90
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Frequent maintenance (hats off to the folks at Sellersville who put in their personal time to keep this course looking amazing)
Multiple Pin Positions and Tee boxes
DisCatchers <3
Decent Shot Variety
High Attention to detail: (pads on early trees to soften kicks, nets to help reign in stray shots, trash buckets at almost every hole, Pavers to help you cross water and 2 portapotty locations)
Cons: Parking, the initial Lot is very small (and a bit hard to find since it looks like someones driveway) but there are other places nearby to park and walk to the course start.
Longer walk for overall course, but relatively short distance holes (most are shorter than 400ft).

Other Thoughts: Sellersville to me has been the course where I go to break in new plastic (mostly because its kinda on the way from D-Town discgolf for me), the course lends itself to a wide variety of shots and covers a good gamut of distances making it the perfect (for me) proving ground when testing out new molds. This course is borderline manicured park level of fit and finish and that is largely attributed to the amazing community that surrounds this course. Difficulty wise I would say this is a "for everyone" course, because you could enjoy yourself whether you throw 100ft or 500ft but I wouldn't go as far to call this a course a national tournament stop as a seasoned player will have a birdie fest out here and my score refelects that. This course will charm you with its attention to detail with things like kick padding on early trees, hanging nets to keep errant drives from doming non-discgolfers, the ample amout of signage (clear and accurate Tee signs, pavers that mark circles edge, etc), and trash disposal options are things that so many other places overlook that elevate this course to a status that some other can't achieve. Sellersville really does achieve the nearly impossible and on your first playthrough you might not even notice it (because there is a fair bit of walking involved). The course is actually quite small only using a tiny postage stamp in a rather large Lake Lenape Park, where they manage to pack in a bunch of good qaulity disc golf holes before crossing the street twice to flesh out the rest of the course. Given what constraints they have I believe they have reached the pinnacle of what can be done with the amount of space alloted and it shows that if you can't make it big, make it good and people will play. It could be raining on a cold Tuesday morning in October and you will see disc golfers out here which to me is a testament to the qaulity of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

home of Hannah Leatherman

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Sellersville DGC is a very fun course with a mix of open and wooded holes, and some water that comes into play on numerous holes (but won't eat your discs).

Some of the holes have a bit of an artificial feel, with nets strung between trees to create an obstacle, logs set up to prevent discs from sliding up to the basket, an elevated basket, an island hole, etc. I like those sort of things, if done well, and feel they can add to the challenge and character of a hole. The course has a variety of hole lengths, although on average I feel they are shorter than ideal. Some of the shortest holes are very short, and even the longest are not true two-shot holes (more like a drive and an upshot). The longer holes, while very welcome, also tend to be pretty open off the tee with some obstacles near the basket. Because they are kind of in a tweener distance (at least for me), they lose interest quickly as you end up throwing a long drive and pitching up to the basket from wherever you end up.

The best part of the course, in my opinion, is the use of the water, particularly the hole that plays over the water towards the tunnel under the train tracks, and the island hole on #18.

It's a fun course with a couple of nice risk reward shots and good variety, but too many holes allow you to throw an easy shot and do not force you to be creative or make decisions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the area's best

5+    7/24/2017   7/31/2017
Review By: B_Murray
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, well thought out. Requires a variety of technical shots. Elevated tee pads are a welcome challenge. It's a nice park with a good crowd of players
Cons: Some of the fields have bad drainage, but never unplayable.

There is a lot of water around the course, and some of it is pretty nasty and brackish. Definitely spots to lose your disc in the water.

It can be hard to navigate your first few times playing.
Other Thoughts: Without a doubt Sellersville is one of the best courses in the area. More challenging than Boyertown, but it isn't a ball-buster like Nockamixon. I really enjoy playing here, and hope it's around for many more years.


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sellersvilles theatre of disc golf

1    4/13/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: joshfullam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well thought out with tight driving holes for the most part. All par 3 course that is a quick play. Like the practice hole with the circle landing area. Water in play a lot which keeps it challenging in spots and fun. Great tee pads--long and well maintained.
Cons: None or no good hole map at the tees. Course is separated by two roads to cross. Easy on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little short course. Will be back to play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Snow

1    4/9/2016   4/9/2016
Review By: Glitch
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of diversity in the types of shots and terain

The water is an added dificulty which makes it very fun
Cons: There are alot of shots you could loose a disc on, best to use a floater on most of the holes with water around them.

Some spots become very swampy in wet seasons
Other Thoughts: The first time I tried this course was a two disc tournament, and it was very fun. I never got to play this course until today, and I think I'll be back soon to try it again when it isn't a cold wet day. Besides today's temperatures I had a lot of fun and wished I did better, there's always next time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Your putter sleeps with the fishes

5+    4/1/2016   4/7/2016
Review By: Chet
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big flat grippy paver tee boxes on every hole. Most have 2. I played a tournament here a couple of summers ago and found out some of the holes even have a third, "Tournament tee." There's a big map at the kiosk by the practice baskets tee. Most holes have a trash can or bucket. All the holes have multiple pin positions. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Makes you throw every shot you know how to throw and you'd better know how to throw more than one. It has some really long holes for a par 3 course, two are over 400 feet and another feels like it is because the basket is up 2 hills. Hole 18 is one of the coolest signature holes anywhere! This course is really well kempt, mowed, trimmed and no trash laying around.
Cons: Getting from 7 to 8 is a trek, especially when there's deep snow. Sometimes the creek is mucky by 1, 2 and 18 and you can lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Lots of elevated baskets here. Lots of baskets on the edge of the creek beds, so lots of OB water easily found. One hole even uses OB water as it's fairway through the woods. If fishing your disc out of water and circling the numbers on your scorecard really bothers you, you're probably not going to like it here, if you think that's just part of the fun, this course is a lot of fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sellersville

5+    3/11/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: dave greene
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 5/31/2016
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is my home course...very challenging ..lots of ob....water, water,an more water...I love this course,it just hates me...lol...very well maintained...trash cans everywhere...Must play if your in the area...easy to navigate... Tags 10 on Saturdays...one of the many great courses in the area
Cons: No night play...
Other Thoughts: Bring a receiver,ab make sure your name an # us on your disc

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I'm OB? You're OB! This whole course is OB!

5+    2/27/2016   2/29/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FUN!!!!!
Challenging
Large variety of shots/angles
Multiple signature/picture holes
Great locals
Cons: It can be a little hard to navigate the first time or 2 (the map makes this no problem)
The walk between 7 and 8
There can be mud
Other Thoughts: Sellersville holds about as much fun as you could possibly pack into a disc golf course whether you're playing by yourself, with some friends, or if you show up at their weekly tags (Saturday at 9:45) or dubs (Daylight Savings Time Mondays at 5:30) rounds. And this park has as much disc golf as could be fit into the available park property without having to worry too much about hitting other players or park patrons. What you do have to worry about here, is water. Water OB comes into play on almost every hole and my bad throws are so bad I've managed to find it on holes where it shouldn't have factored in.
There is a huge map on the board by hole 1. Make a note of where hole 8 is and how to get there. If there is little league baseball going on, there is a hot dog stand by hole 7's tee. In warmer months, there is often an honor box and cooler by tee #9, the money raised helps pay for gas for the lawnmowers (This part of the course especially is maintained by the local club and not the parks service.)


The red practice basket is 188'8" and was donated by the local fire company that was established in 1888. Having lost all of the trees in the field over the past couple of years, this is an open straight throw from either tee. There is now an alternate pin position on the right edge of the yellow brick OB circle that plays this hole like an island green. A miss off the tee has you throwing 3 from, "The Pedestal of Shame", a block of concrete (with the front edge painted yellow) to the left across the road.

Hole 1 is a tightly wooded fairway with trees creating a narrow point about half way to the basket after which the wider fairway is dotted with small trees, many lines but much to hit. Both pin positions here have the creek right behind them.

Hole 2 is a narrow wooded fairway that turns gently right through the trees before opening up to a field about &#8532; of the way to the basket. The basket positions are all guarded by several large, low hanging trees. There is a creek running along the entire right side of this hole. This is the first hole where there is netting in the trees, in this case off to the right of the tee, that eliminates possible lines but mostly saves some of the really bad throws from going in the water. Good luck finding and then hitting a line through the woods if you go off the fairway here.

Hole 3 is a wide open field shot to basket positions protected by trees. Longer throwers will have multiple lines to get to the basket, there's a huge hyzer approach, but for most of us it's a long straight throw setting up an approach from the field into the treed area.

Hole 4 is a longer wide open throw but the water OB comes back into play long or right of the basket along the latter half of the fairway. This is the first of the elevated basket holes with both pin positions up on concrete pillars. There's a sparse wall of trees separating the fairway from the green.

Hole 5 is back into the woods for a fairly tight fairway but an ace run in either the straight or left pin positions. The OB creek comes into play if you go long. There's one horizontal branch/tree that hangs out into the fairway that forces you to keep your throw fairly low.

Hole 6 is an annie or flick for righties. The creek here runs along the entire right side of the fairway and the long pin position is precariously close to it. There are a bunch of large trees guarding the basket in either position.

Hole 7 is a straight throw with a very small doorway to get through the wall of trees about 20' in front of the tee box. There are lots of trees here and several nets strung in them to eliminate some of the throwing lanes. The baskets are well guarded with large trees.

Here's the navigation bummer of the course. Although it's awesome that they got the land to build 9 more holes after the first 9 were so well received by the town, you have to walk across 2 streets and a field (off to the side of 16's fairway) to get to them. There is a sign next to one of the positions for basket 7 but it can be hard to find and I think the first time we played here my friends and I didn't find 8-16.

Hole 8 is a long semi-open fairway. There are a few huge trees in a straight line to the right and a pond and then creek off to the left. The trees make for a low ceiling. The straight pin has OB water right behind it and the left pin is elevated (another concrete pedestal) and has OB water left and long.

Hole 9 is the first time elevation comes into play with a slight uphill on a tightly wooded fairway to a pin set off either to the right or left.

Hole 10 has a sharp uphill right in front of the tee. The first third of this hole has a very tight wooded fairway before getting to a more open area in the middle. The pin to the right makes this hole play annie or flick. The basket is set into a hillside with a bunch of medium sized tree trunks right in front of it. The hill makes a great backstop so you don't have to worry too much about overpowering your upshot or putt (or drive if you have a longer arm than most). The straighter basket plays slightly downhill from the open middle area with a defined fairway and possible water OB if you go really long.

Hole 11 plays downhill to a basket off to the left or a basket more to the left. The early part of this fairway has lots of trees that make for a fairway no more than 6' wide. They are hit so often they have pads and boards nailed to them to protect them. If you get through the trees and down the hill to where the open greens are, all you have to worry about is the OB water RIGHT behind the basket in either position.

Hole 12 is one of those signature/picture holes. The entire fairway here plays over the OB creek the whole way to a basket which is set on either side of a stone tunnel that the creek flows through. The creek bends allowing a couple of trees to be growing dead center in the throwing lane. This is one of those holes where every throw, even a short putt, can go OB. It's not hard to go OB twice on this hole.

Hole 13 is really 2 different holes depending on where the the basket is. If it's to the left, it's the long tee (by the tree) that plays to a basket up a hill behind a plateau. I've seen a few players who can make the ace run here, but for most of us the goal is to get up onto the plateau to have a look at an uphill birdie.
The alternate pin or, "Basket in the Sky" is an elevated basket (built up ground and a concrete pedestal) on the edge of the plateau that throws from the tee on the right (when looking at the basket). The only sage tournament advice I have on this course is for this basket... No matter how close you are, lay up until you can drop it in. If you want to card a 3 or a 4 and not an 8 or worse, LAY UP!

Hole 14 plays from an elevated tee through a tree door (from the lower alt tee here you could barely call it a window) out to an open field. As with hole 5, there's one big branch out in front of the tee that really makes you keep your throw low. There is a line of large trees of the way to the greens. Going long or fading out left on this hole can put you in OB water. The shortest pin position is an elevated basket in a tree stump. An approach at any position from the left will have a low ceiling.

Hole 15 is a straight throw with 2 rows of early trees making for a very tight throwing lane. I've seen people with power go over or around them but seemingly not with any more or less success than people who try to go low and straight. There's a slope down and left away from the straight pin, the longer pin is down the hill with guardian trees and OB water just to the left of the basket.

Hole 16 is across the street and down the hill. It's an anhyzer or flick with water guarding the entire right side of the fairway and both pin positions are on the edge of small slopes down to the creek. There are some trees and a particular low hanging branch early that makes you either go low or throw out really wide left.

Hole 17 is a bit of a walk across another street and along side 7's fairway. There are 2 pin positions, one on either side of the creek. There's a fairly large straight throwing lane at them between two rows of large trees. There are also several throwing lanes at the short pin through the trees out to the left for flicks or annies. I've seen bad throws at 17 chain out of 6's basket.

18 is another signature hole. From the tee, the creek makes an S in front of you with the basket tucked into the second curve which means you have to cross the creek twice before you get to the basket and if you go long or fade left it's there waiting for you again. Anything wet off the tee and you're throwing from the drop zone on the island (walk across the little dam just left of the tee). From here you're still throwing across the water but regular OB rules apply. Did I mention there are trees everywhere? There are 2 reasonably wide doorways to get through on both edges of the central island and then one large tree looming on the small patch of land the basket is on just waiting to toss what you thought was a pretty good throw backwards into the creek. If you want to take most of the water out of play, there's an alternate tee off to the right of the main tee. You still have water left and long, but you're not throwing over the creek (twice).

Final Thoughts: I once played a course called, "The University of Out of Bounds"... That place ain't got nuthin on The Ville! They used ropes and gimmicks everywhere like Sellersville's practice hole does (The "Fire Hole"), Sellersville just has water Everywhere! I don't care who you are, a clean round here is hard to do. I've laid up from 15' here only to have my disc hit the ground exactly where I wanted it to but grow legs, get up and run down to the creek 2' behind the basket. It's the kind of course where you can throw two rounds, be in the exact same throwing groove all day and still have a double digit difference in your scores. On 13 of the holes here you can chain out and then end up in the water! On several of those, you can do it from multiple pin positions. If you're the kind of person who is frustrated by OB water, this probably isn't the course for you.
I've played club rounds and made friends on courses all across the country and have to say the group of regulars at Sellersville are about as good as it gets. The volunteer maintenance is top notch, especially around the tournaments they run here. They will show you the course, teach you to play (or help you get lots better), show you around other courses and even show you where to get the best cheeseburger known to mankind.
There are a ton of other courses in the area, including several that have hosted Pro Worlds and other big tournaments, there are even a few closer than Sellersville (including Tyler), but this is the course I play the most because of how much flat out fun it is to play here.

Final Final Thought: If you have some sort of retriever for getting your discs out of water, BRING IT!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to Sillysville

1    7/5/2014   1/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 Discatcher baskets with dual tees either rubber or brick on the majority of holes providing good variety playing well from the novice to advanced level player. Tricky basket placements near water provide the biggest challenge and keep this course interesting. There are a few chances to air out a drive although the course is more on the short technical side placing a premium on accuracy. Well maintained course with erosion control around the water and rubber protection for trees that are prone to taking hits off the tee. Practice basket and portapotties by parking lot.
Cons: Nothing major. Course lacks in tee signage and the navigation is a bit weird having to cross two non-park roads twice during a round and having a feeling like this can't be the right way. Bring a map if playing the first time. A couple holes backtrack to the next tee and a couple holes play a little too close together for comfort. Not a fault of the course, but the land is pretty flat so there's not much wow factor or more interesting variety elevation wise here. Not two loops back to main parking lot, although it does to the parking lot I parked in.

Just note that my GPS took me to the wrong parking lot by hole 7 and walking to hole 1 from here is a hike. The park is fairly active with other park users and disc golfers, but the other park users seemed to steer clear of the course. Also there was a motorcycle cop roaming around the paths looking for riff raff.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed my round at Sillysville, I mean Sellersville and I'm rating this course as good. I played here after Nockamixon and it's safe to say these are two very different courses catering to different players. This is just like my opinion, I understand since the course is on the short and flat side but I thought the basket placements were a little repetitive on the ridiculous often being raised and right next to water hazards tending to feel like a one trick pony, as if missing your putt wasn't bad enough, you might be adding a penalty on top rubbing salt into your wound. This is fun stuff in recreational rounds, but not so much in a competitive round. Hole 7 was my least favorite being a short poke and hope of pine plinko to the basket. Hole 18 was probably my favorite with the snaking creek up the fairway and behind the basket. Great way to finish the course!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.