Topeka, KS 
Lake Shawnee Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great Open Course

1    8/20/2017   9/10/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 105  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Easy to follow nothing blind.

Not many players not crowded

Great tee and nice little rock signs
Cons: Wind i know the state but no trees to block it none and wind is often

Fishers on 18 cant play 18 since so many people fishing by basket
Other Thoughts: The back is more interesting than front for sure.

Blown Away

1    11/10/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 346  Reviewed: 231  Exp: 14.5 Years
Pros: Lake Shawnee sits on one corner of a nice park that surrounds that end of the lake. There is a full 18 hole course, all with numbered concrete tees and dual pin positions. No tee signs, but the basket is usually in sight from the pad.

It is almost all grass, with a few nice old trees here and there, and a patches of thicker rough on the holes that are nearer to the water. There are rolling hills, not huge, but far from flat. Elevation changes on several holes that make it a bit more interesting. Water is in play on 4 or 5 holes, mainly at the end.

I liked the first and last holes the best. Number 1 tees across a trickling stream, downhill and up the opposite side. A line of trees offers some ok gaps with low clearance, or there is a 2 o'clock window if you want to try a right to left spike hyzer. Not deep enough water do lose a disc, but some undergrowth could hide one here. I went right side, but it is a hard bend playing the short pin position, and wound up 3 putting for bogey. 18 is over water, the right to left hyzer is required to make it back to the shore, where a few trees that stand around the pin position I played to on the right. The other is further to the left on the land. I didn't put enough air under it, and it splashed about a foot short of the bank. Luckily it was easily retrieved from the aquatic plants growing there, and I was still able to make a bogey after the penalty.

I found the back nine to be more interesting than the front, holes 12-18 in particular. All of the elements become more prominent and blend together more often. 12 is not long to the short pin, but steeply up hill and with large trees taking the direct line and right side away. Challenging for the RHBH style I am most comfortable with. Hole 13 is a short one, but has the steepest drop, and is no room to overshoot it because the lake is about 15 feet behind the pin I played. Laid up close enough to insure an easy birdie. 14 is kind of close to the water in the pin location I played, but there is room to the left for a safe line if you are not wanting to risk getting wet. 15 takes a left to right line to get around the trees that protect the basket in that position when I played, bending toward the water, but not perilously close to it. Managed a birdie there too.
Cons: There are a few holes that are fairly average quality, maybe a bit boring, but can become difficult if you are unaccustomed to playing in high wind, like I am. I was spraying drives everywhere, and my short game was atrocious.

This is par 54 any way you play it, and should be an easier course to experienced players with any kind of accuracy and a decent arm. I finished my first round at 7 over, with two inexcusable double bogeys, even with the high gusts of wind. So I am looking forward to redemption when the conditions are more favorable.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun round at Lake Shawnee. I didn't light it up, but it was my third course of the day, so at least it was nice for the simplistic layout that does not require too much exertion.

I struggled a lot with the wind, but did take three birdies, although one came after a bad drive on hole 7 and a perfect 75 foot Roc shot that got the air bounce straight into the chains. Best shot of the day on any of the three courses.

If you want an easier course, that plays pretty quick, this is a nice option. Not ridiculous easy, with several fun holes, I would say it is worth a trip if you're not too far away.

 Lake Shawnee - North Course

1    5/23/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was in the area for the day and had the afternoon off so I decided to check out the most highly rated course in town (per DGCR). Whether or not it is the best course is neither here, nor there. It is the only one I have played in Topeka though.

- Being that I am of novice/intermediate skill level, this course was a pretty good fit. I can only drive about 225 right now so making par was a fair challenge for my skill level.

- The back 9 in general was designed well for my style of play.

-Plenty of parking and I know there are bathrooms within a short drive.

- The baskets have big number signs on top of them making locating the baskets, for the most part, relatively easy. Of course, I could not locate 17 but determined it was buried in the woods through a process of elimination.

- Some of the nicer tee boxes I have played on. Long enough and make of concrete that has minimal cracks or issues.

- Plenty of benches if you need to sit to rest or if you are waiting on the group in front of you.
Cons: - The 18th...where do I start. I didn't even attempt to tee off from the box for fear of losing a disc in the water. Instead, I teed of from about 30 feet from the shoreline. I can see how higher skill level people would enjoy this hole.

- Holes 3 through 9 are somewhat repetitive as they zig-zag across a field with little elevation change.

-Some holes have markers that state their numbers, others do not.

- There are not multiple basket locations, as stated on here. And there are not multiple tee boxes for each hole either. I don't have a problem with this though.
Other Thoughts: DGCR states that there is a south course on the other side of the park road but I looked and did not see any baskets. I did not look hard but I could have missed them. I would not say that this is a must play but, in the case that it is the superior course in Topeka, it was worth the stop. I know people said this is close to a disc golf shop (LSDiscs). I would have stopped but my phone gave me the location as being a persons home so I skipped for today. Overall, I would recommend this course but would like to play the others in the area before going back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a trip

5+    9/10/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: easy to tell where you're going, Pin placement is good. LS Discs is pretty close if you lose something in the lake. aceable and birdieable holes.
Water holes give this place the challenge it needs

Cons: No signs to help you find it if you aren't around, also no signage by the tees to show distance or anything. except for the holes around the lake no real challenges. Dries out slowly
Other Thoughts: Great atmosphere, great place to practice, you can even take a swim at the end to cool off on a hot Kansas Day

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 tops in topeka

1    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very nice park, well maintained. nice teepads at every hole, easy to follow. water comes into play on a few of the last holes. good use of elevation. multple pin placements were available
Cons: was pretty windy when i played here, not really a con but more of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: the baskets were unique, some looked home made, this was definitly the better of the two 18 hole courses in topeka. there was a lot of un used land around the lake that was screaming to be used for an additional course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie course

5+    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: rlangton
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Shawnee is an enjoyable course with quite a few elevation changes and holes right at 200-300 ft. Birdie opportunities abound for players with a decent drive. Not a lot of obstacles but many holes are strategically placed next to or behind a tree or two.

The course is well maintained and mowed regularly. Hole 18 can be a memorable experience as you're shooting from a high tee across a cove of water with the hole on the other side. Can be played safe fairly easily though if you don't want to risk losing a disk, although the distance is very manageable for most people. Just enough to tempt a lot of drives into the water.
Cons: Baskets are old and worn. The course is also probably not challenging enough for very good players.
Other Thoughts: Nice wide open course, good for tweaking your game. Between Lake Shawnee, Crestview, and Rice in Topeka there is a good variety of disc golf to be had. I would suggest starting at Lake Shawnee.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

5/21/2008   5/21/2008
Review By: aspentopeka
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a good course for a newer player that needs to work on throws without worrying about a ton of trees in the way. Many of the holes are pretty wide open. Couple holes on the back side play by the water, but still pretty open shots. Many birdies available on this course. All concrete tees and several alternate tees. Every hole has at least 3 placements. The grass gets cut quite often by the county so this course is always in great shape.
Cons: Not very technical. Not very long. Can teach bad habits if played every day.
Other Thoughts: Visit lsdiscs disc golf store while in the area as they are 1/4 mile from the course and have anything you need!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.