Pineville, LA 
Kees Park Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    4/15/2017   4/16/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 124  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kees Park DGC is tucked away behind a playground in a small city park. The area the course lies in seems to go otherwise unused, minimizing conflict with non-DGing park goers, although you might get some foot traffic.

The course sits in a relatively small plot of land but feels remarkably uncramped. Holes stretch out with a bit more distance than I'm used to seeing in these kinds of small park courses, and even the shorter ones feel naturally so, a product of design rather than forced limitations. The inherent features of the land are used to good effect, with subtle elevation changes and the trees that dot throughout providing nice wrinkles off the tee and on approaches alike: there are some engaging but fair windows to hit, some trees to bend around, and even some water to avoid on drives and on putts. Most holes may be tackled in a variety of ways, and having a versatile game is rewarded. At the same time the course is kind to newer players owing to the not-too-daunting distance and happy medium of trees in play. This is a very solid course given how small and casual it is.

The course plays fast and parking (simply pull off the side of the road) is easy. Baskets are in good shape. Navigation isn't too difficult.
Cons: The course is rough around the edges in terms of the park it sits in and how it's treated: on my visit several fairways were disrupted by fallen trees in various stages of removal. It was still very playable, but gave the sense that the course is disposable.

The play itself is limited mostly by the course's casual nature: there are no challenging par 4s or signature holes to be found. Holes are par 3s and pretty much all are birdieable for a solid player. At the same time the course is far from having an ace run feel: there's enough nuance in the design to be enjoyable for even experienced players. Just know what to expect.

Dirt tees would muddy after rain. With a few baskets in sight at any given point it can take a few moments to orient yourself and discern the basket you should throw to. Hole 7 was missing its tee sign when I visited and I couldn't confidently find its box.
Other Thoughts: I always have low expectations for small courses like these. They're usually meant to fill out a day trip after I've played the main attraction. But Kees surprised me with its solid design, flexible strategy, and just enough obstacles and elevation changes to keep things interesting. My wife, a disc golf newbie, enjoyed her round here too. If you're looking to supplement your rounds at Fort Buhlow while playing in the area, Kees is my recommendation.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Course

5+    9/9/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Mr. Limu
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course to play a quick 9 basket game after work. Free to public and kid friendly since there is a playground next to the course.
Cons: After any rainfall the course is covered in water.
Other Thoughts: I heard the City of Pineville is going to add 9 more baskets to make it a 18 basket course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Catch a quick game.

1    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free, close to town, shaded/cool, well manicured, short, lots of birdie potential.
Cons: Terrible tee boxes, deep ditch along #4 & 5, only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a neat little 9 holes course, that can be played on a lunch break(during our brief spring/fall when the temp isn't terrible). The tee boxes are rubber, and too short or misaligned. Otherwise, it's a great short course, all under a tree canopy of pines, hickory and oaks.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Can you fit 9 holes in 4 acres? Why yes you can.

1    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 70  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is easy to get to. It is free. It is a short walk - you can play this whole course in less than 30 minutes. It is shaded and has mature trees. This is a great course for teaching new players and children to play, as long as they are wearing good shoes (see Cons below). The more I play this course, the more I am learning to appreciate it for what it is: a good beginner course.

This course is also not without a few challenging holes. Holes 1, 5, 8 and 9 are tough birdies. And holes 1 and 5 have significant OB risk. But an experienced player should expect to finish every 9 hole round at least 3 under par.
Cons: There is fair amount of broken glass around the first tee and between it and the 9th basket. There is a big ditch along holes 4 and 5. This is a drainage ditch that apparently picks up some nasty stuff when it rains. Forget about scrambling down and up after a rain, the sides are steep and slippery. This course holds water in a lot of places despite having a drainage ditch run through it.

It takes a while to find the first basket from the first tee. Seriously, I'd never thought about it before, but fat, red numbers on baskets are almost impossible to read in the shade. Could basket designers not use high contrast black and white, and thinner numbers? This is an issue on this course, you can see 4-5 baskets from the first tee. Better make sure you know which one is number "1" before you throw, it's not one of the obvious or close ones.

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that the tees are 4x4 feet squares of rubber matting that were apparently placed on the ground with no attempt to level the ground first (or pick up broken glass). This essentially prohibits any run up if you need one. To be fair, most of the holes are so short that you won't need one. The rubber mats are actually more of a tripping hazard than an aid to throwing. Locals throw from the ground to the side of the mats, but this can get pretty slick after rains on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: There is more water on this course than just holes 4 and 5. There is a creek behind the baskets on holes 2 and 3 that could easily come into play. You could also get there from the first tee if your shots fades too far to the left.

If you are in the Alexandria area, play the Buhlow and Martin Park Courses if you want a challenge. If you have small kids or are looking for a quick game, Kees Park is a good choice. It will be cooler and a much easier walk and the kids can play at the playground after you finish your round.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New, fun course.

5+    7/9/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: n8hobbs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall I'm new to disc golf, I've only started playing in May since the Buhlow course opened. So now we have this smaller course, it requires more finesse shots and control then some of the long distance shots Buhlow requires. I think what's also great about this course is that the whole family can enjoy it. It's not too long where kids will get tired and older ones won't have to worry about walking long distances. Course layout is very nice, I love the different shots you can do on various holes.
Cons: I don't have much to say as it's mowed, no huge bushes or limbs that are in the way. There is a bayou/ditch that runs along holes 4 and 5, if you throw right, you'll most likely be in it. I've thrown in there a few times, and some of my friends, we just walk down there and grab it though as it's not full of water, just about ankle deep. Parking could be improved, only able to park about 4-5 cars before getting in the way of hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really have enjoyed this course and will continue to. If you wanna play a quick game, this is perfect, if you wanna play 18, just restart on hole 1 and try to have a better back 9. I think everyone in the Pineville/Alexandria area should definitely play this course at least once, because once you do, you'll love it too.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.