Daegu, Korea (South) 
Daegu Environment & Resources Park Share
Uploaded By: james pearson Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 184ft.   4 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Tough course in multi-use park

1    10/21/2018   10/24/2018
Review By: tbonesocrul
Played: 118  Reviewed: 16
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has several well thought out and shaped holes. While there are relatively few disc golf courses in Korea, the variety of tee pads and number of holes present a good opportunity to grow and develop your skills if you can frequent here. I would describe this course as being good enough for a local course, but not one I would go out of my way to play.

- 3 tee areas on each hole, red and blue marked by colored markers. The blue and red had some sort of rope mats built into the ground to help with traction and wear presumably
- permanent baskets with korean flags on top help make them more visibile
- A combination of long and short holes.
- Hole signs near the red tees on each hole
- I was able to get to and from this course using public transportation from downtown (bus route 523)
- big sign near hole 1 showing the layout of the disc golf course
- benches and plenty of shade throughout the park
Cons: It seems since the course has been installed, not a lot of focus has been put into maintaining the course. A few large bushes in front of the blue tees have grown pretty high, and it seems trees have been added to fairways without consideration for the disc golf course. I liked about 9-12 of the holes here, the full 18 holes feel a little forced. I was pretty frustrated with the lack of clear fairways/routes until I got to hole 6-7. I was contemplating just leaving the course after the first few holes, but after that point the fairways seemed a lot more defined and I enjoyed the course and my time much more.

- this is a multi-use park, keep an eye out for other park goers
- Several of the holes seem to just randomly go through groves of small trees. frustrating and boring playing several of these holes in a row
- because of all of the 10-20 ft trees many baskets were hard to see so I spent a lot of time walking the length of the holes looking for the baskets
- Hard to see/find the teepads when walking to the next hole
Other Thoughts: I mostly came to this course because it would be cool to have played disc golf in multiple countries. Navigating to and from here was relatively straight forward. I used the address from the discgolfinkorea blog to get here by taxi, then on the way back I used the KakaoBus app to located the bus stop across the street and catch a bus (# 523) back into downtown.

This course has a good foundation and a decent amount of hole variety. Based on pictures it seems like many of the holes were designed when there were less/smaller trees in the park. As the trees have grown/more been planted it makes the baskets harder to see, and the fairways less obvious. I liked the feel of the woven mats integrated into the natural tee-pads, even though they were lumpy, it still seemed better than throwing from dirt.

I think the biggest thing to improve the rating here would be working with the equivalent of the parks department to possibly remove trees from a few of the fairways to give them more defined shapes. A little bit of course navigation signs would help moving from hole to hole.

If you are looking to play disc golf in Korea check out the "disc golfers in Korea" facebook group. That is how I verified that this course was still active and based on posts it seems like there might be several other disc golf courses in Korea that are unlisted.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great course in Korea

5+    11/20/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: birdie_free_round
Played: 114  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my favorite course I played in South Korea. Great use of the land and great people running the course.

1. Tee pads - there are yellow, red, and blue natural tee pads on each hole. Tee pads were in good condition while we played.

2. Baskets - there are baskets on each hole not the totem poles that are avertised. Only one basket position per hole.

3. Shot selection - This course will allow you to use every shot in your bag depending on how aggressive you want to play the course.

4. OB - Natural OB on this course makes it challenging for most players without being over bearing. Some people will mark this as a con I find it as a pro.



you want to play the course.
Cons:
1. Tee Pads - Coming from Georgia I am spoiled by concrete tee pads at every course I play regularly. Like I said in the pro section there are 3 tees per hole but they are all natural.

2. Landscaping - The the Park has a lot of smaller trees some were planted in the fairways after the course design. Some holes were ffected. Hole 8 comes to mind where there is not a great line for a birdie look.

3. Park pedestrians - There are still a few people in the area that do not know what disc golf is and will walk thru the course. Please wait and do not throw over there heads while playing.
Other Thoughts:

This course is one I will try and play every time I come to Korea. I would recommend coming on Saturdays and playing with the locals to get a good feel for the course. They are good people and also play a safari of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The "shining star" of Korea...which says a lot

2-4    2/15/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 52  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 29.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A greater variety of shots than the other Korean "courses" I've played
-Three separate teepads per hole...reds, blues and yellows (Juniors tees) make it a good place to play for really any skill level
-Guardian trees and OB that are very tough, but usually not unfair
-A few long bomber holes
-Good use of the available land
-Locals are more than happy to guide you around...plenty of English speakers who play there every week to show you the "local" routes
Cons: -Not easily accesable...it's outside of the town of Daegu and if you are not in the Daegu/Camp Walker area, it can be kind of a pain
-For as much as KPDGA hypes up the course, it can use a lot of maintenance...it's okay not to have actual teepads, but there needs to be some work done on the tee-off areas. Footing is problematic.
-Fairly high-use park that sees lots of non-disc golf traffic. Koreans, by and large, have no clue what disc golf is and very little is being done to educate them. They WILL stand in fairways or around baskets. BE COURTEOUS AND DO NOT THROW ON THEM!
-There are a lot of mandos on this course, but only one of them made sense. Honestly, the others seem like they were put there just to take away good routes so that experienced players wouldn't have any advantage
-Very lefty and/or forehand friendly...not a huge con, I suppose, but at my age it's getting to the point where after two rounds of throwing huge flick hyzers to go over the stupid trees on every hole, my shoulder is killing me.
Other Thoughts: This is the pride and joy of Korea and KPDGA, and honestly, that seems silly to me. While this is a decent course, and I have fun playing it, it is not centrally located, has a steep learning curve, and highly favors the select few who can play it daily or weekly. I really wish KPDGA would focus more on installing more courses throughout Korea, but that just isn't in their short or long-term plans. So the DERP it is.

If teepads were put in, some of the more ridiculous mandos (one hole has a triple mando...a double mando about twelve feet wide but also a height mando which prevents anything other than a shot down the gut...a thumber or tommy would be parked everytime) were removed and a few trees were trimmed (not removed) I would bump this up a full point. But as it stands, DERP is nothing special...but it's special for Korea, if that makes sense.

Favorite holes:

6 (blue and red)
8 (blue)
9 (blue)

least-favorite holes:
2 (blue or red)
6 (red)
11 (blue or red)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oppa Daegu Style

2-4    5/30/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 310  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 17.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: D.E.R.P. has a big sign that shows where each hole is in the park. There are three different tee off points for each hole with detailed placards. The park is very clean. It has bathrooms with water fountains at the beginning and the middle of the course. The baskets where high quality with good chain count. The course had good flow with only one or two holes coming near each other, but not dangerously close. D.E.R.P. had a variety of tight, open and elevation shots. 6,7,8,9 were my favorites. That same area is the only real hazard zone for losing discs on the whole course. The hole distances from pad to pin were mixed well too.
Cons: Only grass and dirt tee pads. I slipped a few times throwing drives. The hole placards were well done, but lacking distances. The course is within a mostly flat park filled with lots of small to medium sized trees. Each tree usually had numerous thick wooden supports for bracing. This made picking a line through the trees increasingly difficult. The fairways were a little tight. The only people that can take advantage of the course landscape were those able to throw above the tree ceiling. I didn't like how riddled the course was with OB lines either. A splash of color on the baskets would be nice. Sometimes they were hard to see through all the trees.
Other Thoughts: The directions I followed from discgolfinkorea.com were good, but the course isn't overly accessible. I took the metro to the nearest KTX station (CheonanAsan), then to Dongdaegu Station. A 25 minute taxi ride to the course ended the 3 hour trek from Osan AFB. It costed 20,000- 25,000 won each way on the KTX and 10,000ish for the taxi ride each way. don't forget to ask for a card. I recommend against taking the bus to the course because it involves multiple transfers and is over 1 hour longer. You can receive addition transportation help/advise at the visitor information booth at the entrance of the Dongdaegu Staion, near the taxi lines. If you are coming from afar, start early, plan out your route, and budget plenty of time. Overall, the course was challenging and fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.