Lubbock, TX 
Mae Simmons Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #2 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 What fun

1    3/20/2018   3/26/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs on all the holes
Cement Tee boxes
Basket art is different on every hole, very cool
Both wooded and open shots
Cons: Not a fan of raised baskets, has 2 of them.
Not a fan of mando's, has 2 clowns mouth holes.
Other Thoughts: What a fun course. Dedicated park to disc golf, no others should get in your way out here. Parking lot is a little hard to find the first time, but it is right off 19th street at the bottom of the hill. Then drive down the single lane road to the parking lot behind the building.

Hole one tee's off up at the fence line near the parking lot. it has a steel mando clowns mouth that is not too hard to miss. The basket is down the small hill and just past a road/fence line.
Hole 2 is a tight little birdie hole. Notice the artwork done in steel in the fairway.
Hole 3 had the raised up basket, but only by a few feet, I have seen much worse. Still don't like them.
Hole 4 is fun, tight fairway to an open green. Get past the trees for the easy 3.
Hole 5 A little bit of a walk around a smelly blackwater spot, an little uphill hyzer shot just past the row of trees.
Hole 6 is probably one of the signature holes in that I have seen this basket before. The tee is around the corner of the pool (past tee 8) and throws downhill to another art project raised basket. This one is actually pretty cool.
Then over to tee 7 and back up the hill. Open hole, but up a steep hill
Hole 8 throws back down the hill into the trees to a flood control area. you don't want to overthrow this one and be in the water. Not sure I am putting my hand in that crap. But the green area is really cool with a sideways tree in front of the basket. Unfortunately, there was a lot of trash on this hole when I played it.
Then to another signature hole, only because the clownsmouth mando has signs all over it. Very cool looking. Still don't like it for a regular course. To putt putt ish in my opinion. However, I enjoyed throwing it. The basket was in the long position, way to the left.
Then you have several wooded holes, 10 and 11 are almost parallel, 12 is a very short pitch to a hill with the creek behind the basket.
12 shoots down with the creek as the fairway. Sign said this water was casual. Basket is down the creek and up on the bank.

Hole 14 is a nice little short shot, get out of the trees for an easy 2.

Then you get to the more open holes, 15 throws with the pond on the right, all the way down to a corner.
Hole 16 is a wide open shot across a field.
Hole 17 has you climbing the hill and throwing across the road to a basket under 2 large trees.
Then 18's tee is just to the right of 17's and throws all the way across the field, slightly to the right into the trees/creek area.

There are 2 alternate holes. One tee's off from the damn to 9's basket. The other throw from past 18's tee back to the practice basket.

Would I play here again?

Oh yes, this is high on my list of fun courses to play. it has a little of everything. If I am ever in the Lubbock area again, I will be playing here again. I highly recommend you play here over all the other courses in the area. It is the most fun course to play in West Texas.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your bug spray

2-4    8/30/2017   9/18/2017
Review By: Alan01
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical shots and great diversity of hole challenges. There are a few long holes that favor powerful drivers, and there are several shorter holes in heavy trees that favor players that are more technical...evens the playing field.

We were first timers, and the signage was generally good enough to find the next tee box (with the help of a digital map I'd downloaded before we went), each tee box described which direction to go to the following tee box. A few baskets/tee boxes were a bit tough to identify.

Tee boxes were cement and the baskets were all double-chain and in good order.
Cons: About half or more of the holes are located in heavily wooded areas along the river, this means LOTS of mosquitos. But bring your bug spray and apply liberally - you'll be fine.

We had no idea where to park or even find hole #1. We later learned that you need to pull into Mae Simmons park off of 19th Street (the drive is very rough...4x4s preferred). We parked by the pavilion at the other end of the park our first (and second) time started midway through playing back to the same hole.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are so heavily forested that even excellent players have to rely on a good dose of luck to par. Miraculously, we didn't lose any discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Little of this, little of that

1    10/22/2016   10/27/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 53  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads
- Decent baskets
- There are tee signs on just about every hole, but they are in need of a tune-up
- Good mix of open and technical holes
- A few par 4s thrown in for good measure
Cons: - Some of the baskets are too close to each other - pay close attention to the basket numbers.
- The layout isn't incredibly intuitive.
- I know of one instance where the walkover to the next tee crosses another hole's fairway so be careful.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Basket Art

1    5/25/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 82  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Concrete tee pads, adequate signs
- Mostly shaded
- Great use of elevation
- Variety of open and tight holes
- No easy holes, no impossible holes - every one is challenging, yet accessible
- Interesting sculptures and artwork on top of the baskets
- Water hazard in play on several holes, but easy to avoid
- Hole 6 - The Hunger Games!
Cons:
- Litter everywhere. Some from disc golfers, some from flooding and water run-off
- Would have liked to have more of a bomb to throw on the elevated teepads (6, 8, 17)
- Layout is confusing... bring a map
Other Thoughts:
Played during the rainiest weekend in recent Lubbock history, I think. The ground was a little muddy, but I can't hold that against this course. The litter was really bad, but if the community would come together and help clean it up, they'd have an excellent little course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great, Groomed and Tough

5+    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: dac252
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. It has difficult tree holes, long open holes and fun downhill holes. It is challenging and fun. Concrete on every tee and clearly marked. Cool metal designs on all the baskets. Great for new and experienced players. Hole 13 is tough! Constantly being improved.
Cons: Right now it's a little over grown but it's not hard to find your discs.
Other Thoughts: I'm not from Lubbock and have played courses all over the US. This isn't the best course I've played but it ranks up there. In just the past year it has improved to go from a regular to ok course to a phenomenal course. In response to the earlier reviews, the tees have been clearly marked and the course is no longer confusing.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Experience

1    3/23/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: Beginner@51
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Several holes of high level of difficulty, interesting lay-out. Many trees block both the sun and wind. Challenges your accuracy and obstacle avoidance skills.
Cons: Unmarked tees and occasional confusing pad locations.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course

5+    5/7/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: jalowtx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is fun and difficult at the same time. It is pretty versatile where every basket is different witch keep players on their toes. Once you have been a couple of times the confusion of finding the tee boxes goes away as their are paths to the next one you just have to pay attention for them. The course layout is well done as it is all woven together so you can go and play 18 without taking up all day.
Cons: The only con for this course for me is that a sewer line runs along side of the course and it gets a little smelly at times. Other than that it is a good course for they group to go and have fun.
Other Thoughts: If you love trees you will love this course!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mae Simmons Park

1    1/27/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the difficult and technicality of the course. They recently have added tee pads, which is very nice compared to the unlevel dirt that you had to throw on.I liked the uniqueness of each of the baskets. They all have some cool designs. The course doesn't favor righties or lefties but definitely test your ability to throw on a line. I also really like the mando's because they make the course even that much tougher.
Cons: In my original review my cons included lack of tee signs and signage. However, since then they have addressed those issues and even added in benches on many of the holes. The maps were nice and gave accurate locations for the baskets. The only other issue is the trash that is scattered across the course. I know it is not their fault because after rains the trash gets washed down to the course.
Other Thoughts: *I also updated my original review from a 3 to 3.5 because they address some of my issues that I originally had with the course*

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Change of Pace

5+    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: ChampionWraith
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New course that has great potential! Shaded for most of the course if you want to get out of the heat. Awesome shot on #6 off the top of the hill. Mando routes make it challenging. Great change of pace!
Cons: If you don't know where the basket is, take your time to walk down and find it. Most are hidden within trees. Definitely a little to overcrowded with trees for my preference. Also, park seems to be a water run off: ton of trash. Some holes run parallel which makes it confusing for beginners. It is apparently easy to lose a disc of there (I found 3 the first day out) so pay attention if your looking to keep your plastics.
Other Thoughts: Take a trash bag please and do something good for the people who spent valuable time and money to make this course possible. Take care of our parks!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.