Seattle, WA 
Mineral Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #10 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Positive Feedback

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging Course, Narrow Fairways mostly and friendly locals willing to help you find the next tee spot. Trees challenge every shot
Cons: Extremely difficult to navigate, there are two holes that you tee off up hill about 250 feet from basket and then the next hole is right next to the original tee spot. Yes they fit a lot of disc golf on tiny property, but the course design could be a little better. There is 4 tee pads that shoot the same fairway so it can get pretty confusing. A lot of shared baskets and tee pads.
Other Thoughts: All and all it is worth it to try it, I didn't find it very challenging I am a beginner and shot a +2 on the first 11 holes, but then as the course got a little more confusing and I couldn't find the baskets I dropped shots more because I didn't know where to throw to then anything else. I wish some disc golf course designers took lessons from golf course design and plan on putting tee boxes next to the end of previous holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate Relationship

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: chow
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the other reviews have said, they were able to fit a lot of disc golf in a tiny space. After playing here I always do better at the bigger more wide open courses in the area, like Lakewood. Forces you to really think about each shot since the fairways are all pretty tight except 1 & 10. The course is always pretty clean and well maintained.
Cons: Can get a little crusty sometimes....wedged between I-5 and Aurora Ave in Seattle it's a big plot of land that the homeless and malcontents like to use...watch out for biohazards :)

But for a park in a major metro area...we deal with these things.
Other Thoughts: If the city would put a Honey Bucket up, that would be awesome. Any kind of doubles round or ace pot turns this place into a disc golf parking lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Mineral Springs Park

2-4    1/20/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: hyzer7
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great course design. They were able to fit a lot of holes into limited space efficiently.
- Easy to find lost discs. The woods aren't that thick so if you go into some bushes you'll be able to find your disc fairly quickly.
- Challenging, but not too hard. I have played for less than a month, and was able to move through this course with ease.
Cons: - It takes a game or two to figure out where every hole is at, and which tees and pins are holes 10-18.
- Busy course. Not too bad when I went, but I can see the potential for a busy course if the weather is good.
- There are poles and trees that get in the way of drives and some fairway shots.
Other Thoughts: If you need any help finding a hole, just ask, most of the people I asked were able to help me figure out where I was going.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/8/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 81  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads
- A good use of the space provided
- Locals do a good job on the upkeep
- A course to practice your accuracy
Cons: - Very small space
- Five back 9 holes are shot from a tee pad 10 ft behind the front pad
- Can get very crowded (might as well yell fore on every shot)
- Tons of nets, trees, and poles
- No map...so if you haven't played there can be hard to navigate
- Poor signage

Other Thoughts: This course can be real frustrating, finesse is needed or it could be a long round. Like I said it's a great place to improve your accuracy through the tight corridors.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 TIGHT!!!!

1    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenges all aspects of your throwing. Narrow tight fairways that take even tighter corners! Lots of blind shots into the woods and oput of the woods. Best course I have ever played that sits on .5 acres.
Cons: Nothing is marked, no maps available except here online(but it is not even correct). The tee diagrams are not correct, ended up playing the front nine twice b/c it was just to damn hard to figure out on my own!
Other Thoughts: If you are use to grip and rip courses then it will challenge you b/c allmost all shots demand preceise shots. It will be a course I play a lot due to the technically challenging nature of it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Technial Minutes from Downtown Seattle

5+    8/31/2008   9/12/2008
Review By: lari
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Technical course that makes you really think about your throws, encourages a wide variety of styles
- Some elevation change, esp elevated tees on 5 and 6
- Very close to downtown Seattle
- Good community, lots of friendly regulars
Cons: - Short...
- Not really 18 holes, there are a number of holes with dual tee pads, and some are literally right next to each other - does not even change approach angle
- There are poles and nets to keep you from throwing into the street/other holes - makes more technical, but also frustrating
- You will never find the holes in order without a good map, or someone who has played before
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite course, but man is it convenient. There are a couple of holes that I really like, and a couple of throwaway. If you are in Seattle, and looking for a quick 9+ holes, you cannot complain about having this course nearby. Great for beginners, especially if it is not crowded, but still a challenge.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mineral

8/6/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 14.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of shots and looks here, open, tight, doglegging, ranging from open to dense forest, some tee boxes elevated. Many of the baskets are in the most interesting mix of bushes and trees and elevation that have an entirely different look and feel when approach from another side. The course plays quickly either because of its small size or speedy crowds. After around here you feel like part of a disc golf community because of the close proximity to other golfers. The nets and poles not only protect the trees, they protect you. A player in north Seattle does not have to drive far to play this course. You hear the traffic nearby but you are within your personal oasis the entire round. This park is the least repetitive duel-tee-to-make-18 course I've ever played, the designers should pat themselves on the back for maximizing land use.
Cons: Because of the duel tee layout and the random mandos, even with a map it can be very confusing to navigate by yourself. I've played this park a bunch and it gets very crowded. "Fore" is commonly yelled.
Other Thoughts: This course could be the most use I've ever seen on a small piece of land. Perhaps this course could set the standard for urban disc golf. Mineral Springs, shows that it's possible to have disc golf in an urban setting with little land. If you thought disc golf couldn't work in the heart of the city, I think you should tour this place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course Designer Must Be a U of Wash. Engineering Grad

4/26/2008   4/27/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Squeezing 18 holes into this 3 or 4 acre plot of land is pretty amazing in itself. But the designers here have impressed me with some raised tee boxes with steps leading up to them. Great use of the land. All together, it makes for some fun throws. The park itself, is a lovely little wooded gem within the city.
Cons: I understand it gets crowded but I couldn't find anyone to help me find my way. It's a little difficult to navigate the first time. I'm not sure about the poles in the middle of the course. They're protecting trees? Or are they planning on hanging more nets? How does one thin pole do much protecting?
Other Thoughts: The nets are interesting indeed. Not only do they keep discs off the busy streets but I'm sure the regulars know how to use the nets to their advantage. It's probably a stratigic move to hyser your shot off the net on #2 or #3. On #4, I thought I had a pretty good approach to the basket until I realized that I had hit a net there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 North Seattle aka Mineral Springs

5+    1/4/2007   3/31/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 217  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Considering the amount of land this course resides on it is extremely well layed out. This course is very tight and if not careful can destroy your chances of shooting at or under par. Although there are not a lot of opportunities for big drives, the few chances provided are essential and must be capitalized on in order to do well. Although the poles can be considered a con, being the environmentlaist I am, I like the fact that they protect the trees. The nets and poles add an interesting feel to the course and feel like the future of 21st century disc golfing considering how difficult it is to find land let alone use it for disc golfing.
Cons:
The course at times is way to busy considering its size. Thursdays and Saturdays can be crazy so it is wise to find out when random doubles and tournaments are being held. Trash is also another problem. There are a lot of alcohol bottles and cans around and the cigarette butts can be too much at times. Even though there are garbage cans located on the course, it just seems like the amount of garbage coming in far outways the garbage going out.
Other Thoughts:
For being located on the outskirts of Seattle, this course is a lot of fun and great for mid-range and putting. It is very difficult and should not be seen as easy because it will have the last laugh if your not careful. The time and effort put into the course is apparent and I am proud to have the opportunity to play on a course such as this.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A Day of Disc in Seattle!

6/18/2007   3/31/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 110  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In beautiful Seattle....has nice views, excellent foliage and trails and functional O.B. nets. Does a lot with very little relative space. Very excellent sitting and resting spots throughout. Good tee boxes. Picturesque and serene.
Cons: A bit cramped. Somewhat confusing alternate tees for 18, but a nice local fella helped me get it.
Other Thoughts: The second of 2 Seattle area courses i was lucky enough to hit up on my summer vacation in 2007. Nice local dudes showed me some of the nuances of this beauty as i trudged through a few 18 hole rounds in my day of fun. When my gal is with me, she can barely get through 18 but if I am alone and the weather permits, three or even four rounds are a given. Thanks to the nearby Arby's for the bathroom facility....nice course....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.