Vista, CA 
Brengle Terrace Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
hilly

5+    5/20/2017   5/24/2017
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: really nice tee pads
has variety of holes(long, short)
good for backhand and side arm(better for side arm)
different pin positions
Cons: long walks between holes
Other Thoughts: bring water
alot of up hill shots, and some downhill

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up Up, and Away

1    3/29/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brengle Terrace Park Disc Golf Course is an 18-hole course spread out through the huge, hilly Brengle Terrace Park. Many points on the course afford great views of the surrounding areas. Driving in, it looked like a beautiful site for a course. The park also features baseball, tennis, and a huge botanical garden.

-The terrain offers a very wide variety of holes. Besides holes 17 and 18, every hole makes use of the slope. You must bring both a good backhand and forehand to make a decent score here. The first 7 holes play around the botanical garden and are lightly wooded. After that, the course plays in and out of moderate woods and grassy fields.

-Holes ranged from 200 to 500 feet (hole 5, the one par four). With that plus the hills, I used almost every disc in my bag.

-Holes 8, 9, and 10 are all very fun, downhill RHBH hyzer holes. Hole 8 is probably about 350', hole 9 is about 275' with a dropoff behind, and 10 is about 250' through woods. I actually hit the basket on #9 (on my second try :-)

-The Discatcher baskets were nice and in good condition. A few of them were elevated (4 and 18 come to mind.)

-With the steep hills, this course is definitely less popular among novice players. It was much less crowded than Kit Carson or Morley.

-Apparently there is a pro shop in the building by the baseball fields. It wasn't open when I was there, though, on a Wednesday. I heard that it's only open Thursday through Sunday.

-There's a practice basket near the first tee.
Cons: -The designers could've done a better job with the layout. I counted many more uphill holes than downhill ones. The pattern was Throw Uphill. Lay Up. Take A Par. Walk Downhill To The Next Tee. Repeat. If the course were reversed, it would be a lot more fun.

-The terrain is very rough on holes 10 through 16. It's easy to slip and trip on loose dirt, rocks, and roots. Make sure to wear sturdy shoes.

-There are a lot of long walkouts between holes, especially 4 to 5 and 7 to 8. Signage is poor, so make sure to print a map.

-The wildflowers were overgrown and teeming with bees on some of the holes, especially 12, 13, and 15.
Other Thoughts: -This course is a great workout. If you enjoy a workout, you might like this course, but if you aren't in great shape I'd recommend Kit Carson instead.

-Hole 5 had two baskets installed. Apparently there is also a second tee at the top of the hill.

-I feel like the course was designed around holes 8 and 9. While these holes are a ton of fun, this resulted in over half the holes on the course playing uphill, many very steep. 11, 12 and 16 especially come to mind. This is a beautiful property, and with a well-thought-out new layout, this would be a solid 4.0 course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The hills are alive!!

1    12/20/2016   12/22/2016
Review By: programchaos32
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of RHBH and RHFH shots (more RHFH!! Bring your flick/anny game right handers!)
Lots of different terrain changes.
Challenging wooded holes.
Tunnel shots.
Some water hazards (after the rain).
Friendly locals.
Beautiful location on a park in Vista.
Clean and well kept.
Great exercise!
Lots of up and down shots.
Course map near the parking lot and hole 1.

Cons: No course maps at each hole.
The pro shop was closed, but looked a little small (not really a con because we never got to look inside.)
Out of bounds area not defined.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a great course! My buddy and I cruised up to Vista in the late afternoon and played a round and a half there and we had a great time. There were a ton of open shots, dog leg rights, dog leg lefts, ups, downs, and wooded tunnels. A very nice mix of shots around a really neat looking park in the middle of Vista. We did wish the proshop was open (we got there around 3pm), and we also would have liked some course maps on the tees showing us where the out of bounds areas were, but other than that nothing to complain about at all here. Some of the holes were very challenging and were definitely not all aceable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brengle Terrace Park DGC

1    2/14/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 217  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Located In the beautiful city of Vista, Brengle Terrace Park DGC is the perfect place to challenge your game while getting a full workout. The course is 18 holes spread out through an enormous park filled with peaks and valleys. Nearly every hole incorporates elevation and can often times be reached from the tee.

Many baskets and tee pads are guarded, which makes proper technique and accuracy a must in order to birdie. Hole length for the course ranges from 235'-552', with some holes being even longer if throwing from the back tees. The course uses rubber mats, making them ideal when needing to be relocated due to construction (currently holes 17 & 18) or redesign. The course has multiple pin placements as well, allowing for some variety for the local scene.

There is a pro shop located on site just below hole four which is a major plus, offering plenty of snacks, equipment, and apparel for those in need. The course is well maintained, with clean fairways and well-kept flora. This course is best suited for intermediate and advanced players, but with the right attitude all skill levels can enjoy it!

Favorite Hole(s): #8 & #10
Cons:
As others have mentioned in their reviews, the biggest con from a traveling player like myself is course navigation. Once the course is played a few times it is quite easy to follow but for first timers...a map is a must! There are a few very long walk-outs and it can be quite easy to get lost. Fortunately, I was with a buddy who lives in the area but even then we still needed to pull out a map a time or two.

Another improvement that would be nice to see would be some visuals on the tee signs rather than just a number. It is always nice to see the layout of the hole and the suggested route. Hole distance, par, and major obstacles would be a nice bonus but is not a must.

Last, the amount of people enjoying the park can be an issue at times. There is a long walking pathway that meanders throughout the course as well as a playground near the entrance that makes for the perfect gathering spot on warm sunny days. The day we were playing we came across a family reunion near holes one and two. Fortunately, they were extremely nice and allowed us to play through as they stepped aside for a brief moment to watch. However, I am not sure everyone will have that luck so some holes may have to be skipped.
Other Thoughts:
What made my visit to Brengle Terrace Park so enjoyable, besides the beautiful warm winter weather, was the variety of terrain the course provided. I know many complain about the amount of walking but I found the elevation to be extremely fun! Although some fairways play close to one another and may be lacking the challenge, it was nice to see variety in terms of playing across grassy fields, tree filled ravines, and over brush which blocked the greens. Although many may find the course short by modern day standards, I found it to be challenging enough due to the physical demand and would gladly call this my home course. If in the area I would most definitely consider playing it!

Note: The pictures on here do not match the current layout. Also, if looking to print off a map, use map 2 under the links/files tab.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of The Hydra Best

1    3/10/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: howlingwolfus
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: - great for working on Course Cardio.

- Varieties of shots, flight paths, and alley ways.

-extremely open. (bring walking / trekking shoes)
Cons: -ITS A HIKE, BUTS ITS FUN!

-Summer Time heat is an issue but bring water.

-the last two holes have been placed all the way on the other side of the course because of a remodeling and temporary revamping of the lower parking lot portion.
Other Thoughts: I call the southern california courses from Escondido, Vista, and Murrieta the Hydra because of great play, players and groups found within the courses.

Escondido has Kit Karson Park Group
Vista has San Diego Aces
Murreita has Murrieta Rattlers


The hills are alive!

2-4    12/25/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 139  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- Free to play
- Pro shop on location
- Bathrooms
- Rubber tee mats
- lots elevation changes
- Decent variety of distances and basket orientations
- Tee signs with numbers
- Clean, well maintained fairways
- Alternate tees on a few holes
- Multiple pin positions
Cons:
- No map or distances on tee signs
- Not enough directional signs between holes
- Layout hard to follow, especially from 4 to 5, 7 to 8, and from 15 to 16. It looks like the course designers either got lazy or ran out of room on 16-18.
- Baskets 16, 17, 18 are very close to each other and they share the same tee
- Walking trail and playground come into play
- Course fairways overlap on the back side
- Most fairways were too open and had no obstacles
Other Thoughts:
Fun course, but navigation between holes was a pain. After holing out on 4 walk up the hill on the road, you'll see a tee off on the right. 5 also seems to have long tee too. Make sure you either bring a copy of the map or consult the course map on the bulletin board near the start of hole 1 . The course wasn't overly difficult, yet I still justified the use most of the discs from my bag throughout the course. There wasn't a single hole that didn't use some sort of difference in elevation to add an element of difficulty to make up for the otherwise simple course layout. Hopefully putting baskets 16-18 in the same general area for the same tee is temporary thing. Fun course, but the end could use some rethinking.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's Beautiful!

2-4    1/21/2016   1/21/2016
Review By: PanamaJacks
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played this course for the first time and it's beautiful! The scenery and landscaping are incredible. I must have taken a lot of work to get this course in full shape. Well done! Every hole offers its own challenges and the elevation changes keep you on your toes. We only had a few park goers get in the way. Everyone was very polite. Get a course map from the pro shop so you don't get lost.
Cons: 16, 17, and 18 all play from the same tee box right now because of park restoration projects. Nothing to be done about it. I'm sure it'll be stellar when it's done. Maps on the tee signs would be a huge improvement to this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

1    7/6/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: cxr1037
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: - A lot of different shot varieties here. I find myself using a good range of discs on this course.
- Rarely crowded. Sometimes there's a big group going slow but I've always been able to play right through with no problem.
- Some nice views of Vista on certain holes.
Cons: - Park-goers sometimes get in the way. I've seen people picnicking in fairways, kids playing on teepads, etc.
- Can be a bit hard to follow if it's your first time. There are signs, but there are a few large gaps from hole to hole (another reviewer points them out).
- A good amount of elevation change here means it's a physical course. If you're not in good shape or it's the middle of the day in summer, it can be a very tiring course.
Other Thoughts: They change the basket locations from time to time, but most holes only have one set of tee pads (the exceptions are #5 [on the top of the hill along the fenceline, R of regular pad], #17, and #18).

I love this course and would play every day if I could!

 Fun course, lots of elevation.

1    12/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: NSDallin
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good teepads and quite a few "go this way" signs, especially when its a far distance. I wouldnt have known how to get from 7 to 8 if there wasnt a little sign that said "walk across the road to the left of the gazebo". Those "this way" signs on certain holes were very nice.
- Great use of the elevation and distance of the perimeter of the park.
-nice innova baskets.
- Friendly locals that helped me find where hole 1 was and navigate the course the few times i got lost.
- Nice array of shots needed.
-
Cons: -The layout has been changed and a lot of the maps online are of the old layout.
- a lot of holes have far walks between them and were very disconnected. especially holes 4 to 5, 7 to 8, and 16 to 17.
-Hole 4 often times has people just 50-100 feet to the left of the basket in danger if you arnt accurate with your drive.
- No distance or map on the teesigns. Just a sponsor name and a hole number.


Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with good basket and pads, that runs around the perimeter of a park with gardens and walkways in the middle of the park. The course is very well taken care of and is loved by the locals i can tell. The few times i got turned around or lost i could just holler a question to sometime passing by and they were happy to guide me to my next hole. Very nice locals. The course is split into a few sections. Holes 1-4 are in one area, holes 5-7 are another pocket, holes 8-16 all connect well together, and holes 17 and 18 are a pair. as long as you can find your way between holes 4-5, 7-8, and 16-17 this course is easy to navigate and play in a short amount of time. Highly recommended. It demands every kind of shot. left, right, and straight shots are all here. a few blind holes, and a lot of elevation. Its a gem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Varied Terrain

5+    8/26/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: endermetal
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brengle Terrace Disc Golf Course is set up around a public park. The course makes very good use of the land and avoids the major pedestrian walkways. I first played here a month ago, and the layout seems to have been improved on from its previous incarnation. The course plays in such a way that very few of the fairways cross one another. Overall great design and layout.

Several of the holes are unique and offer a different challenge. Indeed, the variety of holes is quite impressive: tight, wooded and technical; open fairways with minimal hazards; epic downhills and everything in between. The course does not seem to be heavily favored to any one particular throwing style, and a variety of shots may be needed. Definitely the single most distinguishing factor--and what I found to be most impressive--is the amount of elevation change and the variety of terrain this course offers. Some of the views are also quite spectacular, which I would partially attribute to the maintenance of the course; the trees are well trimmed and the grass is always cut and green.

The tee pads and baskets are in good condition. The tee pads are mostly of the rubberized variety, and I didn't see much deterioration or unevenness. Trash cans are located throughout the course

There is a refrigerated drinking fountain in the indoor sports building to the left of hole 3, which is a huge bonus as it can get quite hot during the summer.

The course is not crowded at all, and generally the disc golfers you run into are friendly and will let faster groups play through.
Cons: The tee signs do not contain any information other than the hole number. This can prove to be frustrating at times if there are OB areas, unseen hazards, etc.,

While the overall layout of the course makes sense by going in a clockwise direction around the amphitheater, there are a couple of holes that are difficult to find. This is exacerbated by the fact that there is no information on the tee signs. There are a couple of separate signs posted on fences that give a written description of where the next hole is located, but having this information on a tee sign depicted by a graphic would be more helpful. After playing the course once or twice, this becomes a non issue though.

I do not recall benches on any of the holes, although this is not a huge negative for me as I'm somewhat young and in decent shape. I could see this being a bigger issue for folks that need to frequently sit down.

The number of uphill throws is slightly more than I would prefer. The course is more or less divided equally into 1/3 uphill, 1/3 downhill, and 1/3 level shots.
Other Thoughts: Brengle is a newer course, and I applaud the designers and the amount of effort that went into constructing it. I believe the course is still unfinished and, with time, could potentially become the premier disc golf course in San Diego County.

This course provides a very PHYSICAL workout--you will constantly be climbing up multiple hills. I personally found this to be a positive as I enjoy doing cardio. Others may be deterred from playing here for the very same reason.

I took a look at the photos of the old layout, and was really interested in 14 and 15. It would be nice if they could bring those back somehow and remove the somewhat mundane 6 and 7 holes.

The course really starts to come into its own beginning with hole 8. Not that the first 7 holes are bad, they're just not as good as some of the latter holes. My personal favorite is 10, which is this neat little secluded wooded tunnel that requires precision control to get in range for a birdie. Other standout holes would be 8, 9, 13, and 15.

During my first play through, I thought hole 5 was going to be located beyond the baseball fields to the left where there is a densely wooded canyon. However, I quickly found out no holes were located here and hole 5 was in the opposite direction. I wish some holes would be placed here. The canyon provides a truly awesome jungle atmosphere, and would offer a unique experience in the disc golf world--utilizing this part of the park would only enhance the course and increase its reputation of offering interesting and varied environments. I understand making this a reality would require a ton of work, as several plants would need to be removed (and may prove to be illegal if it's a protected area). I could also see this as possibly interrupting the flow of the course without modifications. If holes were to be placed here, I see a few possible solutions to keeping the course at 18 holes:

Remove holes 1 and 4 and start the course at hole 2
Remove holes 6 and 7 (these were the least memorable holes of the entire course for me)

Brengle Terrace is a very enjoyable course that every serious disc golfer in San Diego should check out. I find myself playing here and at Kit Carson often to avoid the crowds at Morley Field.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center