Mint Hill, NC 
Mint Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 150ft.   3 / 150ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful 9-holer

1    5/17/2019   5/17/2019
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 153  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mint Hill Park is a beautiful 9-hole track work rolling, grassy hills and light to moderate woods.

+ The property is beautiful--the entire park and the course itself. It's a serene "country" setting. You'll forget you're in suburbia. Very peaceful and picturesque.

+ The park has amazing amenities: clean bathrooms, really amazing playgrounds, tennis courts, a baseball field, paved and gravel walking trails.

+ While a pretty short course (typical of 9-hole tracks), Mint Hill has a nice mix of hole designs. There are uphills, downhills, 2 sub-200-foot holes, 2 400+ holes, maybe 1 in the 300-350 range, and the rest in the 200-275 range.

+ The baskets are well placed with guardian trees on some, fair fairways, a few with multiple lines in play, and one with a steep green / death putt.

+ Decent tees, baskets, and signage. Simple navigation. Park at the bottom parking lot near the playgrounds.
Cons: The number one con for me is that it's only 9 holes! This seems like a big tract of land. I wish they could add a back 9!

- This course is clearly designed for beginners, as evidenced by the ridiculous posted pars. Basically all the "par 4's" should be 3's, the 5 should be a 4 or even a 3.

- This course is a modest challenge for intermediate players. It's a cinch for advanced and up.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! Definitely try it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warm-up course, Beginner's Paradise

1    6/10/2018   6/11/2018
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 36  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge for beginners - short, but not a pitch and putt course.
Well marked, easy to navigate. There was one tee sign down (I think it was on 8 or 9), but for the most part this is an easy course to play and find your way around.
Great warm-up or cool-down course for your day of disc golf in Charlotte.
Cons: Not a lot to challenge more advanced players.
Par is WAY out of line. I can see 9 as a par 4, and maybe 7. Nothing else. I am a noodle-armed player and I shot -5 my first time here. 29 should be par, not 36, and I recommend playing it that way (7 and 9 as 4s, everything else as a 3) - even for beginners. There's plenty of opportunity to score on this course.
Other Thoughts: I like to play a warm-up round of 9 holes before I start my annual Day of Disc Golf in Charlotte, and this course is perfect for that. A couple holes that I can kind of air one out (as much as I can air one out, anyway), a bunch of holes that are ace runs. Nice, well-kept park that keeps most of the other activities away from the course (there will be walkers/runners, but most of them are aware of the course and pay attention). Actually one of the better 9 hole courses I've played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    12/17/2016   12/17/2016
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 71  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun, short beginner friendly course with a decent mix of wooded and open holes.

This course is suited for the new disc golf player. The holes are mostly short and easily reachable for the intermediate to advanced player, but the pars and distances are geared towards the novice.

Keeping that in mind, it's a great 9 hole course.

The color tee signs and ample concrete tee pads bolster this courses rating and make it fun and easily playable.

At the time I played the course, the grass was freshly mowed and there wasn't a speck of trash to be found. This combined with the natural beauty of the old farm land this course covers really makes for an enjoyable (but short) golf outing.



Cons: The cons aren't major, but...

It is a short, novice level course. The experienced player may be disappointed by the level of difficulty at this course. (If they read the reviews here, they should know what to expect though)

The older, single chain baskets don't grab like the more modern baskets. Could potentially lead to frustrating spit outs.

I can't remember which hole #, possibly 5 or 6, but compared to the level of difficulty of the rest of the course, the fairway was a very challenging gap through the trees.

Missing tee sign at hole 9, and a lack of directional signage could turn off a newcomer to the sport.

No trash cans! Even though there wasn't any trash on the course, there weren't any trash cans along the course. Not a major con, but...
Other Thoughts: Fun, short course here. If you're nearby, it may be worth playing as a warm up for the near by 18 courses, or a fantastic place to introduce new players to the game.

Take this course for what it is, and enjoy the quick jaunt through some beautiful land.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ultimate Beginner Course

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mint Hill is as good a course for the novice as I could imagine. If I lived in Charlotte this would be the place for introducing new players to the game. Unlike many newbie-friendly courses, this one looks like a real course. It is a real course, only smaller and easier.

It's not just an open space. It's a real course, with nice baskets, and helpful signs, and useful tees. It sports real fairway. Nicely-mowed, manicured fairways lined with trees. They are very generous and not overly long, but they present an accurate picture of what the game is about without frustrating new players with holes that will take multiple short drives to traverse.

There is a little bit of distance, with the last three holes measuring over three-hundred feet. New players will learn to throw straight sooner rather than later, because while this course is forgiving, it is rewarding to better throws.

There is elevation. There are uphills and downhills here. New players will grow accustomed to throwing uphill and downhill.

Honestly, I can see this course appealing to true novices, making their way up the fairway in 50-foot chunks, to red-level players learning their discs before moving up to some of the big boys in the area. It's a very well-kept and pretty little park that I hope introduced numerous players to the game over the years.
Cons: It's great for who it is meant for, but experience players will find little of interest here. The combination of fairly short holes and fairways that will seem like open fields to those who have played much in Carolina means that there is not a significant challenge here for those seeking one.

Other Thoughts: For veterans, the joy here is in seeing a friend or family member throw a disc for the first time and just possibly grow to love the game. Mint Hill isn't just beginner-friendly. It's a beginner's paradise.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mint Hill Park

5+    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live in the vicinity of Mint Hill Park, this is a great course for beginners to learn the basics of the game. With a lot of open, straight fairways, you don't have to worry too much about what line you are throwing. For more experienced players this course becomes a great pitch-and-putt course to use for ace runs.

The course has a variety of shots, from completely open fairway bombs (Hole 1) to holes that require more accuracy (Hole 4), and even some that reward placement shots over big arms (Hole 7). There is a decent mixture of RHBH and RHFH lines on this course, allowing players to experiment with both. Hole 8 is a great example for beginners to learn how a low ceiling affects the way they can drive from the tee. Hole 9, is just a good fairway, with grabby cedar trees on both sides. Windy days can become interesting on the back tees on Hole 9, very fun for beginners!

While the course is definitely a great beginner course, the holes on this course could easily be inserted into an intermediate level course, and not feel out of place.

The fairways are all mainly well maintained grassy fairways lined with trees. The rough on this course has cleared out immensely over the past decade as the Park staff does a better job maintaining it and the popularity of the sport has risen. This makes losing a disc here insanely hard compared to how it used to be.

It also seems the fence near hole 7 has finally been opened up so players with errant drives can go retrieve their disc without having to hop a barbed wire fence. This is probably my favorite improvement this course has seen!

The course has multiple tee positions on a few of the holes, which allows you to squeeze a bit more challenge out of this course!
Cons: Unless experienced players get creative, this course can become stale quick. A putter, and maybe a midrange, is really all that is necessary to do well here at the higher levels. The use of DiscCatcher Sports as opposed to DiscCatcher Pros is also disappointing. They have a tendency to spit your disc back out since they lack the double chains (making Ace runs more of a gamble.)

When the course isn't being maintained the way it is now, errant drives can be hard to find. As I said in the Pros section, this doesn't seem to be an issue the way it used to. I haven't checked out the creek area if you overthrow the fairway on Hole 6 though. That thorny thicket used to gobble discs up, so beware. So can the thorn thicket on Hole 6 if you overthrow. (But you can always wait for it to rain, then check the creek bed for your plastic.)

Par on this course is not really accurate at all. This is the only aspect of the course that tends to baby beginners. Other than Hole 2, Par should be one less on every hole.

Hole 1's short pad is so covered in run-off mud that you can't see the concrete anymore. It's been like this for years, I wish the Park's staff would get a construction spade and dig it out. Also the one tee that provided the hardest hole on the course (the long tee on Hole 7) seems to have been removed. This doesn't keep me from walking to its old location and tossing from time to time.

Hole 6's RHBH route used to be constantly overgrown, but seems to be maintained these days.
Other Thoughts: This course will always have a bit of nostalgic shimmer associated with it in my mind. This is where I started to play Disc Golf, my senior year of high school. A buddy and me would head here everyday after school, and throw a round or two. It was a blast!

I am super excited that effort has been put into this course over the past few years! I know I was a little critical of the condition of the course when I first wrote this review. Pretty much everything that could be addressed, was addressed! I plan to start stopping by on days when I want to get in a short round of ace runs and nostalgia, and will bring new players to learn the ropes of the game here again! I sometimes throw in my own Mandos to make things interesting.

Obviously I always wished there were more holes in the woods across the creek from Hole 6, or two tees at every hole to have an "18 Hole" course, but I can honestly say, even without nostalgia, Mint Hill Park is one of, if not the best 9 Hole course I've played. In fact it's better than many of the 18 Hole courses I've played. The quality of the individual holes, and their variety, is high enough, that they would find their way on to many of the quality Charlottean courses, but because it is only 9 Holes - I would feel weird giving this course more than a 2.5. If this was a full course, at this caliber the whole way, you best believe it would get a higher rating from me!

Favorite Holes: 1, 5, 8

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9-er!

1    3/19/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 134  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great little 9-er! As far as 9-hole courses go, this is one of my favorites.
The holes are challenging without being supremely long. Great use of the elevation on the grounds -- if you imagined this plot of land without the course on it, this layout would be optimal for using the ups and downs of the hills here.
Great blend of shots -- uphill and downhill, left and right, open and alley shots. Long and short tee shots, even a couple blind tee shots.
Old school Charlotte signage with all pertinent info.
Easy to navigate, save for finding the first hole, but the description on the course page got me there. Locals park on a side street, near where 9 finishes.
Doesn't interfere with the rest of the park, except for a walking trail which is off the fairways.
Cons: Baskets are older and single-chained.
Some graffiti on the signage, especially the last few holes.
I've heard this place gets popular with big groups and single-discers, but I didn't have any traffic just after work on a gorgeous day.
Other Thoughts: Park seems like a great place for the family. Bathrooms and a nice walking trail. I didn't see any trash cans on the course, but it's only 9 holes, so pack in and pack out!

This is one of the most fun 9-hole courses I've ever played. Feels like an older, seasoned Charlotte course that got cut in half. Not overly challenging, but far from easy -- great for anyone wanting to play disc golf -- newbies will love this course, and seasoned veterans will see that while it's not the toughest course around, it's not wide-open, repetitive flat shots either.
Favorites were:
-- #3, downhill blind through a wide tree fairway;
-- #7 -- longest hole, uphill blind into the trees to set up your second shot, or go way around the left side and hope to find a line at the basket.

Charlotte offers a wealth of courses. If you're coming for a disc golf road trip, I can guess which courses you'll hit, and this won't be on that list. However, if you're here for an extended period, live here, or just want to get in a quick 9, Mint Hill will give you a full smile with only half a course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 So many Eagles!

2-4    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 457  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2013
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its a fun little course to play and not too tough for beginers.

If you decide to play by posted par you will shoot the biggest negative of your life on a 9 holer

the use of elevation is pretty good for what little there is. Good mix of left to right and straight.


Cons: Litter is really bad.

Next tee signage is pretty rough and there are a few places that can be confusing. Its also pretty tough to find hole 1.

it's been pretty crowded both times Ive gone. mostly players with 1 or 2 discs.

No benches or garbage cans

Barbed wire fence next to a few of the holes that you can easily throw over and have a time getting your disc back.
Other Thoughts: This course gets lost in the shuffle of all of the 18 hole courses in charlotte however I feel like it is my favorite 9 hole course. If you are finishing up your day and youre in the neighborhood it is a fun course and is right next to 485. Not worth driving out of your way but if youre nearbye stop for a quick round

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9-holer!

1    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in a multi-use park. Course it located off to one side of the park away from other park users and activities. Good concrete tee pads with short and long pad available for some holes. Signs are adequate and tell you what you need to know. Navigation is a piece of cake. I had no issues locating next basket. Course flow is smooth and brings you in a nice loop.

Just what I'd call a pretty little course. Uses elevation well and has several holes that play up and down a hill. Mostly wooded fairways by normal standards, but probably considered more open for NC. Terrain reminds me a lot of some of the courses in Nashville. Nice hills with some well defined fairways that have just enough mature trees in play to keep you on your toes. This course also have a few holes with a little bit of length so you're not totally just threading putters through the woods like at some 9 hole courses.
Cons: Not really any glaring problems at the course. Hole 1 is probably not the best way to make a first impression, but for the most part this course is a fun little place to play. Probably if you're an advanced player this course may be too simplistic or short, but I found most of the holes to be well designed, and at least had some risk if you couldn't hit your shot.
Other Thoughts: I don't play a ton of 9 hole courses so I was pleasantly surprised by this one. While not a perfect course, it did force me to break out more than just my putters, and gave me enough challenge that I got in the woods on a couple of occasions. Don't let the 1st hole fool you, this is a cool little 9 hole course that is worth your time if you are in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Generous Par

1    2/19/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2011
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tee pads
- good signage and flow
- 2 tees on 1 and 18
- Great course for beginners and rec players.
- Baskets in good shape
- Bathrooms, playground, and trash cans among available ammenities.
-good use of land, some elevation changes come into play.
Cons: -Second pad on 1 is the same as the other pad, but back 40 feet, no added benefit or change in the hole.
- Eagle opportunities abound (if you play it as posted), several par 4's that are under 250 feet and aceable.
- The hole variety is limited.
- advanced players can play all par 3's and still seek more challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course that can be played very quickly, but does not have any holes that you will find memorable.
Course is easy to find with lots of other activities.

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Lost my thrill at Mint Hill

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 166  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.2 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well-defined fairways, concrete tees, multiple tees available, tee signs, the whole nine yards available in a very well-manicured park. It's one of those "sorta wooded" courses, not really in the woods because there's no shade to be had, more like a park garden with little trees like cedars and brush gone fallow used to line the fairways. It flows well enough and the baskets are great, very visible with yellow tops and basket bottoms. The wire-frame baskets were deep, fat-bottomed baskets that would have given Freddie Mercury something to sing about.
Cons: Some tees had broken beer bottles all over them. The pars are extremely forgiving, I don't believe in anything being over a par 3 unless it's at least over 330' or more realistically 350-400' and this course had a couple holes under that range as par 4's and 5's. There's no sign that I could see that actually shows you where to find the course, hang a right out of the parking lot (away from the ballfields), past the playground towards the fence at the top of the hill out there in the open. The pro tee is hard to see because it's almost completely washed over with red mud/dirt. There are some long and short tees, but they're all virtually right behind the other with about 20-30' between them, and none of the longs are very long, this course is really short, only a couple in the 300' range. I loved the baskets but they had single chains only, so don't be surprised when piddly hole # 2 with its 150' of ego stroking length spits out your Cubby Ace.

Playability: Not much variety here, all mostly short and straight with some slightly bothersome tree-lined fairways that cause you to sort of turnover or hyzer your disc a little bit here and there.

Elevation: Nil.
Other Thoughts: Signature Hole: #4. There's really not much of a fairway on this little hole, just a platoon of skinny pines huddled together, as if to say, "Red rover, red rover, send your drive on over," which is exactly what you do, hyzer spike over them b/c they're only ~30' tall at the most. Also a good FH roller hole.

Hole #'s 8 and 9 specifically were really nice and much more challenging, S-curving enough to actually make you think about disc placement. If most of the course was like these two, I'd have no problem rating it in the 3.0-3.5 range. Alas, as it stands now, Mint Hill reminds me of the uglier friend of a group of hot, college girls. You could score well and easily with Mint Hill and it's got a nice personality but every fiber in your body is telling you that you'd rather take the risk of getting rejected by the more daunting Hornet's Nests and Renny's of Charlotte.

This isn't a bad course, and if amenities and things like signs and concrete tees rate high in your book, then you'll like this course more than I did. But from a playing perspective, there are just so many better options. HOWEVA, if I wanted to bring an initiate into the world of DG, this is a great course for that.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.