Mint Hill, NC 
Mint Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 325ft.   4 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Most beginner friendly Charlotte course

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 947  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are always a plus. The second tees on 1, 7, and 9 are also concrete and nicely sized. They are also rough for a good grip on your drive.

2) Disc Golf sign at the parking lot to help direct you to the course from the parking lot. It not only helps people looking for the disc golf course but it also makes the public aware of the sport as well as non dg'ers that there is a course out there. they might just think people are out there throwing "frisbees" around. It gives some credibility to the sport.

3) Nice signage. I have seen these signs before on different courses and I like them. They have big lettering and numbering, clear differences between tees, and all the necessary info along with a diagram of the holes. All ina ll some of the better signage I have seen. Functional but not decorative, which is fine in my book.

4) Very nice park. It is not a Mecklenberg county park, but it does a good job to represent the area it is in. There are multiple activities there including a walking track, walking trails, disc golf, baseball, an open field for all sorts of activities, and a playground for kids. All in all another great park for the Charlotte area.

5) This is the only full size course in the metro Charlotte area with fairly open fairways. There are avenues to hit and some woods on the course but the fairways are more forgiving.

6) Obviously the most beginner friendly course that truly represents the game. Cameron Yards can be an equivalent, but I think it doesn't truly show what courses can be. This one is a full fledged DG course and can be enjoyed by so many people, especially beginners.

7) I think there is more potential here for more holes. I might be a really short 18 hole course if it were to expand but there are so many lanes in through these trees that could be more holes. Perhaps a multiple tee course to make 18 holes would be more appropriate here. They could make 18 holes with only 9 baskets pretty easily.

8) Nice variety of shot shaping available on this course. There are hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, s curve holes, and multiple option holes available on this course. I think this variety makes this course as good as it can be.

9) Moderate hills make this course as good as it can be. Sure it doesn't have as much challenge due to elevation on this course, but the hills are rolling and do force some different shots.

10) Good turf, probably the best turf on Charlotte courses. Sure most of the Charlotte course are densely wooded, but some of them do have turf in areas. This is well maintained and is nice to have a course that isn't all compacted soil.

11) This course does do a good job of using the limited space. It fits 9 holes into a pretty tight area of the park, also an arra that wouldnt be usable by any other sport without major excavation or soil work.

12) Natural flow of the course is pretty good except for the fact that there look to be lanes to throw down all over the place.
Cons: 1) The wooded spots on the course are not in the fairways, but if you go errant and get a kick into the wooded areas you wil struggle to get out cleanly. They are dense and they are evergreen so there will always be something in your way to try and advance the disc up the fairways.

2) Directional signage would be helpful in a few spots for beginners or first timers. The reason I say this would be helpful is because there are all sorts of avenues that could look like holes. There are basically pockets of trees that these holes wind through and around and you may struggle for a few seconds to find the appropriate spot for the next tee.

3) You might think that this course is forgiving, but if you are errant or you hit the wrong tree, you will be punished if you are in those dense cedar tree wooded area. I was surprised on a few occassions where I had no way to advance my disc when I was 10' off the fairways. Sure the fairways are wider and more forgiving, but once you leave the fairway they are punishing . . . almost too punishing for what I consider to be the most beginner friendly course in Charlotte.

4) Doesn't really challenge the above average player.

5) The long tees are only on 3 holes, so even if you play the long tees, you are still playing a beginner course.

6) Course has almost no variety because it plays mostly open with tight woods on either side of the forgiving fairways. Sure it has some elevation, but it would still be nice to see some more variety like maybe a hole in the dense woods, or a water shot included somehow. It is very monotonous.

7) Duece or die for advanced players. I think this is a negative because I like more variety.

8) Walkpath comes into play along a couple holes. Not as bad as many courses I have seen but still mentionable. It never crosses a path only errant shots would hit the path, but again, still worth mentioning.

9) Baskets are a little old with some rust on some of them. They still catch just fine but the aesthetics of the baskets are starting to decline.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course and definitely a course needed in the Charlotte area. It serves its purpose by providing a course without dense woods on every shot. It isnt as forgiving as you might think because once you get off the fairways you might as well be in the dense woods because you are not advancing the disc at all! I did have a good time playing here despite having a good round at Reedy beforehand, but this simply is only an average to slightly above average course. The beginner can enjoy it and the advanced or pro player can shoots for aces and birdies on every hole. Like I said it is an important course for Charlotte as it gives an outlet for many people to play a different type of course. This course gets a three becuase it serves a purpose no other course in the Charlotte area offer. It caters to beginners. If it was surrounded by average course it would get a 2.5 from me, but because it is the most accepting of beginners it gets a 3 from me, even though I no longer consider myself a beginner.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Mmmmm, Minty!

5+    1/5/2010   1/5/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2016
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely a hidden secret amongst all the Charlotte courses. While you have all the big, tough courses in the area, this is the little engine that could. Nothing flashy about it, but always solid. This course has a traditional golf course layout with distinct fairways, thick rough and good variation. The more open holes, especially #1 & #9 have a distinct links-type course feel to them where you have to keep shots low and out of the wind.
- Good hole layouts and great use of land. With limited space, this course does a great job using elevation, as well as natural fairways.
- Elevation plays a big factor on holes #2 - 7. For example, on #3 - 259 foot downhill hole - I've thrown a Roc 50 feet past the hole with little effort, but on #4 - 204 foot uphill hole, I've had to throw an Eagle just to get to the basket. Granted, there are other factors in play - i.e. the thick trees on #4s fairway - but still, #3 plays a lot shorter than #4.
- Great risk/reward. Every hole is a birdie opportunity (assuming you play #7 as a par 4). But with thick, tree-lined fairways and/or windy conditions, every hole is also a bogey chance. Trees are thick, but fair, on most holes to the point of throwing short distance just to get back on to fairway, instead of advancing towards basket. Accuracy is of greater importance than distance on this course.
- Great course to introduce new people to the game. As mentioned above, this course isn't going to overwhelm people with difficulty, so there shouldn't be too much of a frustration/intimidation factor for newbies. Shorter holes will also appeal to the non-big throwers.
- Course is easy to navigate. There's a natural flow, and short walk, from one basket to the next tee. The only semi-long walk is from #1's basket to #2, and that has a sign. First-timers will have no problem navigating the course. With the way the course is set out, you can even jump holes easily, so if you only want to play the open/drivable holes, you can keep going back and forth from #1 to #9 without having to walk any further.
Cons: The woods are thick, fair, but thick. If you land in the woods, be prepared to possibly spend some time searching for your disc. The only way you're really in trouble searching for a disc is if you land in an evergreen. They suck discs in, and rarely drop them to the ground, so make sure you look up when searching. The evergreens (naturally) remain full year around, so don't expect any relief in the winter.
- The fence that runs alongside #7 & #9 stinks. There's no opening in it until near the basket for #9. So if you throw a shot over the fence, especially on #7, you every can try to jump the barbwire or have a long walk up and back to retrieve a disc. It's an added problem on #7 because the fairway is narrow. At least on #9, there's a split fairway, so you can throw the side away from the fence.
- There always seems to be a crosswind on the fairways for #1 & 9, which comes from an open field next to the park. It's a right-to-left wind on #1 and left-to-right on #9. Of all the times I've played the course (at least 20+ times), I'd say there's been some crosswind at least 3/4 of the time. It's not always strong, but it can be enough that you need to adjust your shots accordingly.
- Other than that, just small, petty stuff. The baskets aren't perfect, a couple are slightly bent. It's not a major issue. Some people may have a problem with the trees on every hole. There isn't a huge variety in the holes, in that there is only 1 dog leg. The others are relatively straight with some variation based on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is the best 9-hole course in the area, and the best one I've played so far. For only 9 holes, the course has plenty of personality. Holes #1 & 9 are good to practice driving; #2 is a great ace hole; #4 is always an interesting decision to throw through or over the trees.
- As with all 9-hole courses, you can play through in no time, and should be able to play through twice (for a full 18) in less than an hour. The course never gets backed up with players, but always has people playing. Even on a cold, blustery weekday afternoon, I saw 4 other groups playing the course.
- It's a great park with plenty of ammenties - ballfields, picnic area, playground, restrooms, walking trails,water fountain and drink machines. Good for th entire family.
- The course is set as a 9-holer, so don't expect expansion. That said, I've always wondered if it were 18, how it would compare to Reedy Creek.
- It is less than 15 minutes from Reedy, so you can play both courses in an afternoon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    11/26/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: Patrick21892
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great course for an easy playing experience with fair basket placement and smooth transition form hole to hole.
-Never overcrowded, although its never completely empty either.
-very open fairways for the most part, and overall a very fun course to play.
Cons: -I've played here hundreds of times and every once and a while when i come the grass will be in pretty bad shape around a couple of holes (poorly cut), but its really not that big of a deal, just an observation.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to anyone who is in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Drove a good ways and had fun

2-4    10/2/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety, play longs for the back nine on a beautiful Carolina fall day.I was bored in the city and this cured me.I still believe in playing as many courses as you can, and if you live in Charlotte you should take some time to play the courses that are not big project works.Worse thing that can happen is fresh air and throwing things.If you ace every hole I will retract my statement.
Cons: When you throw into the rough, it is thick, but passable My friend lost a firebird in the top of a pine tree, but that was odd not a real con..Found or way around fine.Short course but fun.
Other Thoughts: Get on down to Mint Hill if you are foundered on mega courses, bring a handful of discs and play like the old days.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Lovely Green, Grass Fairways!

1    7/17/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1029  Reviewed: 979  Exp: 39.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, the official name of this park is "Park On Fairview" not Mint Hill Park. At least that's what is says on the sign out by the street. The park is fairly large multi-purpose park with all the usual goings on. But the course itself is set beyond the kiddie play area. The only thing golfers have to contend with is a walking/jogging trail. The course has multiple teepads, single chain discatchers and nice signs at the tees. The first hole is an open 300 footer across an field. The rest of the holes are then, morel like golf course holes, with lovely, natural grassy fairways. Not fairways chopped out of woods like many disc golf courses but grassy natural feeling fairways. The roughs are particularly thorny and hard to locate errant throws in. Most holes are between 200 and 300 ft. A few are shorter. It's not a pitch and putt but plays more like a recreational/intermediate course. If you play the listed pars, you should be looking at some eagles as some of the par 4's are basically just par 3's on most others courses. # 6 is a 226 ft. blind, anhyser shot listed as a par 4. I parked it for a gimmee eagle. I think most players would just play it as a par 3.
Cons: It's too short to be taken real serious as any kind of championship course. But I think it's fine if you're looking to practice a new throw. Or teaching someone how to play. You're out in the sun a lot. Bring water on those hot Carolina days.
Other Thoughts: It's a very pretty course with it's lovely fairways. The fence is a minor inconvience on #'s 8 and 9. I don't think other park users would ever be much of a problem. It's not a destination course. It's just an enjoyable little 9 holer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Whet your appetite for Charlotte DG

5+    7/13/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: innovator
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is great for warm up. Nice long direct shot at basket. Can try a number of different throws. Just watch you don't drop a bomber to the left on a jogger. Really a par 3 except for maybe hole 7. However, if you go by posted pars, you will feel on top of the world!
Cons: Needs 9 more holes. Would be nice to see 9 go through the wooded area of the park as a contrast to the first 9.
Other Thoughts: Not crowded most of the time. Excellent, fun course for a quick 9. Gives one an opportunity to try a variety of shots in a relatively forgiving area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not so much a secret anymore

5+    5/13/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice 9-hole course. A deceivingly open course.
Hole 1- open field, great warm-up and a bag emptying opportunity
Hole 2- excellent ace opportunity for RHBH players. 150', basket offset to the left.
Hole 3- straight shot with a large tree in the direct path from tee box, slightly downhill.
Hole 4- a cluster of good sized trees crowd the entire fairway about 50-100' away from the tee.
Hole 5- steep decent about 100' from basket, rollers beware.
Hole 6- a right bend benefits LHBH players, a flick shot for RH players serves well, good ace possibility.
Hole 7- the most difficult on the course, par 5. Tight fairway to the right and left of a bunch of trees. Right fairway guarded by two trees, Left fairway bordered by a fence to the left, OB.
Hole 8- Straight shot, hole valleys halfway to basket. Cluster of trees to the front/left of basket.
Hole 9- Straight shot, semi-open fairway. This shot is downwind 95% of the time.

This course provides nice, concrete tee pads, tee signs with maps, and old DisCatcher baskets. Most of course is openish, grassy with very defined fairways. Maintained very well.
Cons: Briars and underbrush line most of the holes, which could leave you searching for a disc for some time. Not very secluded, with a walkway along holes 1-6 and fence/road along 7-9.

No benches, Baskets are single chain, and don't catch very well.
Other Thoughts: There is no white tee pad for hole 7, was eliminated when fence along roadway was installed. Pictures of course are somewhat outdated, trees are much larger, and fence is very much in play along holes 7 and 9. Excellent beginners course. Course offers a great day of play with friends, and fast play(group of 2 can play 9 holes in under 30 minutes). Check it out.

Favorite Hole: 5

Least Favorite: 9

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost as good as a 9-holer can be

5+    7/16/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.2 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Best kept secret

5+    4/5/2006   3/4/2009
Review By: blugrassr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is (or was, I have not played it in a few years) the best kept secret in Charlotte. I have played this course all days of the week and on the weekends and have never had congestion issues. This is a quick course to play, you can play a couple of rounds and still get the honey-do list done. Well laid out easy to follow. Always in great shape. This is the course I started on and and would reccomend to anyone just starting out.
Cons: This course will teach you to stay in bounds, briars are plentiful!! I have also found many a disc in the brush as well=] Hole 1 and 9 are wide open and there always seems to be a decent wind to work with.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4 becuse of it's fast,fun play. It is not the most challenging course in the area but it is fun to play, frustration level = 1. Enjoy this little sweet spot if you get the chance

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

5+    10/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, great to learn on. Variety of shots required. Mostly open layout with great flow from hole to hole. Well maintained. Great navigation. Great for teaching beginners to play.
Cons: It's really a Par 3 course with one Par 4 (Hole 7). Relatively easy, if you stay out of the woods. The Cedar trees eat discs. Can be hard to find wayward discs. Could use more alternate tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: Great variety of holes that produce some really fun shots. Easy if you play the posted pars, much more difficult to score well if you play it as a Par 3 course. I played this course every day for four months and never got tired of it (then I was re-assigned to another town). Lots of traffic in the afternoons and weekends.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.