New Brunswick, NJ 
Rutgers, Douglass College Share
Uploaded By: JonathanJ Hole #12 (Taken 12/2008)
3 / 156ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Not a bad lunchtime 30-40 minutes Course

1    8/15/2019   8/15/2019
Review By: Millertime278
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You will never lose a frisbee or disc here. Haha. Compact little course. Good for a quick round.
Cons: Signs get confusing in the middle. Once you’ve played once, you can figure it out.
Other Thoughts: Feels good to almost get a hole in one on a couple holes here, or make it in the basket in a definite 2 shots, on a handful of holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Birdies!

1    7/5/2019   7/5/2019
Review By: templink
Played: 104  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes are 200 ft or less, providing birdie opportunities galore. Despite the short distances, there are (almost) no gimmie holes here. You have to keep it low and/or bend around trees to get there. And if you play "path and beyond" as OB, you'll have to keep it short. So, short, but challenges exist.
Cons: Set appropriate expectations - this is a short course from 1978. Dirt tee pads, minimal signage, no bathrooms.
Only real con I saw in my round was that 16 and 17 are almost identical holes.
Other Thoughts: I played one quick round here while traveling through NJ. I was hoping to pick up a Cubby Ace or two, (nope!).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/12/2018   11/15/2018
Review By: Qikly
Played: 149  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Rutgers is perhaps the ideal college campus course: beginner-friendly, largely out of the way of the general population, and quick-playing. It plays short, mixing some true pitch and putts with some worthwhile birdieable par 3s. The trees that dot the layout are used effectively, forming low ceilings, impromptu tunnels, or forcing a bit of line-shaping to run the basket. Pin placement maximizes these such wrinkles. Left-to-right and right-to-left lines are both well-represented. Navigation is pretty breezy. There's virtually no rough to speak of.
Cons: The simplicity and lack of major obstacles (no elevation to speak of) cap the level of interest this course can generate: it is what it is and nothing more. It's fully playable with a mid and a putter, and the need for a mid is flexible.

The rutted natural tees are susceptible to muddying, so you'll often have to improvise the point you drive from. Thankfully much of a run up is never needed.

The course wittingly or inadvertently incorporates some unideal obstacles such as lamp posts and the tee signs themselves. Be conscious of where you'll follow through to avoid hitting the latter. There's even a set of dumpsters in play at one point. Destination golf this is not.

While the course seems to avoid conflict with the general campus population overall there are a few spots where you may need to keep a lookout.
Other Thoughts: My visit to Rutgers' campus DGC took the form of a quick round during a trip to visit family. For that it was perfect. This is nothing to get well-traveled players excited but for a quick and casual round you can do much worse.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short course - lots of fun

5+    11/11/2018   11/12/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2019
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Terrific community and FB page. Seem like there's always something going on.
+ Compact layout means quick play (means multiple rounds!)
+ Great opportunities to park 'em for birdies - but by and large, they're not "easy" shots: you have to shape 'em, keep 'em low, etc.
+ Local knowledge is a plus here: the more you play, the better you shoot!
Cons:
- Other than mowing in the areas where there's grass, the course isn't maintained by Rutgers, so It's showing it's age.
- Those old model baskets are shallow!
- If disc golf allowed for Par 2's, several of the holes here qualify. You can see that in scores. That's not a knock on the holes - they're great challenges as Par 2's.
Other Thoughts:
- Leave your drivers at home. Rutgers offers a very specific kind of disc golf challenge and does it well: if you come looking to play a reasonably technical but shortish course, you'll have a great time.

******* January 2019 Update: Doomed by Tree Removal? ********
My understanding is that this course was a gift to the University many years ago. It's never been maintained by the U, just tolerated as a feature that's been around as long as anyone can remember. In it's legitimate efforts to protect students and the health of the campus foliage, the U has been cutting down a lot of trees. This is really changing the nature (sorry) of many holes. I've been playing Rutgers for less that a year, and even I notice the changes due to the removal of fairway trees and great old guardian trees.

Maybe the course will evolve in a positive way, but without official support from the University, it's hard to see how it will. In the meantime, play and enjoy Rutgers. If you haven't played, get there soon. If you haven't played a tournament with the temporary long set-up, do it! And to all of you who've been playing the course for years, I share your sorrow watching the course be changed in front of our eyes. Even as new courses sprout up around NJ, nothing will replace Rutgers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Short and Sweet

1    7/5/2017   7/5/2017
Review By: gstenger
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's a good course for working on your short game.
- Even though it's short, it's moderately technical.
- Lots of holes that allowed me to work on my forehand. I even got to practice a forehand roller on one hole that was short (surprise) and had a low ceiling.
Cons: - Did I mention it's short? Leave the distance drivers at home. Although there is a large field that you can practice drives in if there's nobody around.
- The baskets are OLD. I had 3 perfectly good putts that the baskets didn't hold like they should have. I even used my Nova for most putts hoping the soft edge would help it stick to the chains more. It helped to a small degree.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had known about this course when I lived in New Brunswick years ago, but that was before I knew about DG. It's easy to get a quick round in, but I would suggest having a map of the course handy if it's your first time. Many of the back 9 holes have signs pointing the next one, but the front 9 does not have those signs and it can be a little confusing at times where the next tee pad is.

All in all, it's a short but sweet little course and worth a visit. I couldn't help thinking while lining up many of my shots that Cubby must have gotten a large percentage of his aces on this course!

Also, thanks to whitefedora for the suggestion about parking at the meters on Suydam St and starting on hole 10. I had the course to myself at 7am on Wednesday, July 5th, but there were University police giving writing tickets to cars in the campus parking lots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Like Rutgers, this course is a fine option

1    1/11/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 101  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Provides a quality course in an area of the state that is lacking for courses
-"Pro" tees help add length to the course but they are poorly marked and documented

Cons: -Holes are generally on the shorter side
-Pedestrian traffic so close to pin locations
-Tee pads are in rough shape, even just doing natural tees with stone dust would be a significant improvement. As it stands tee pads are just a patch of dirt
-Parking is tough. You either park several blocks away or risk a ticket from Rutgers police by parking in the more convenient Eagloton Institute lot.
Other Thoughts: Its a fun course but definitely was not designed as the end all, be all, model for other top flight NJ courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Fun

1    1/22/2016   1/23/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 438  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a neat fairly technical course with 18 baskets. Most of the holes have a directional arrow on the number plate pointing you to the next tee. And most tees are only 50-100ft away, so navigation is relatively easy. The holes offer some mild elevation changes and plenty of trees with completely fair fairways. The course is also open 24 hours a day and has a lot of lights throughout the course because of all the walkways and commons grounds which makes for fun nighttime play. There are also tee signs on every hole that have adequate information and plenty of next tee signs also in the ground which particularly help with the tricky to find next holes.
Cons: The baskets have seen better days, but they are certainly not unusable. Just a few bends in the cages and a couple links were taped together, but they all seemed to catch reasonably well.
The safety is definitely an issue and the course probably shouldn't be played during peak school hours because there are many many walkways that are being thrown over. HOWEVER there is a pro to this that I mentioned in the pros and other thoughts.
The teepads were all natural and most were not all that flat, but the holes are short enough that really everything can be shot from a standstill.

Other Thoughts: ***DISCLAIMER FOR PEOPLE THAT DO NOT ATTEND RUTGERS AND WANT TO PLAY THIS COURSE***

You can NOT park in the parking lots here. You CAN park on the metered street of Suydam St by Nichol Ave. and then walk down Lipman Dr. and on your left hand side you will see hole number 10 right after the parking structure.

All in all, I had fun playing here. Shoot, I even bagged half the course in the dark because there was enough light from the walkways. Really neat to play at night and the lines were fun to shoot at. The course definitely feels like a senior in college designed it (which I believe Dan Doyle was when he did) and just kinda winds through the pine forest that students walk through to get from building to building. Definitely a fun little bag.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Technical, Nice and Clean

5+    5/23/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean signage (besides hole 2) somewhat easy to follow once you have played a few times, technical course with some challenging holes, good mix of holes, great local crowd, met up with 2-3 guys already that were more than welcoming
Cons: longest hole is 280 feet, cant really use any drivers on this course, ALOT of students walking around when school is in which causes delays, course layout is a tad confusing at first
Other Thoughts: My home course, literally a mile down the road, perfect for learning new shots, short game, putting, approach, well maintained, great following of locals, tuesdays are partners night which has a nice following, clean, i play here all the time

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun old school course

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 106  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome dg scene- there is a club called the nj disc devils which maintains the course. There is a lot of tournaments here, and a bunch of pdga's as well

Fun factor- because of the fact that you can play almost every hole with a putter or midrange, and most holes are ace runs, especially nine.

Nice updated tee signs- it seems as if the tee signs were updated recently they were nice and well thought out.

Open 24 hours- alot of people like to play glow here, because the holes are so short and there is not as many people walking around at night

Navigation is pretty easy next tee arrow signs and arrow on basket number plate.

Variety- for a very short course, it has its fair share of tight, open, right turning and left turning shots. Great use of the land available
Cons: Natural tee pads- boards mark the front of the tee pads on some holes, most are filled with mulch or just a worn in spot of dirt.

Safety- i can imagine this place being a zoo during the school day and it would make some holes almost unplayable at some times. Due to the limited amount of land available, some holes play close to each other, so always keep aware and duck when somebody yells fore.

Short- this can be a con for some as you can end up throwing putters and midranges mostly. However, it was fun for me, because i enjoyed all the ace runs and birdie opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Check out the new jersey disc devils on facebook, they have random draw doubles and they usually use alternate longer tees which i hear are much more difficult.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good, even though it's old

5+    2/28/2015   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Good signage and navigation throughout the park; pretty difficult to get lost.
- Several ace run opportunities.
- The locals have done a good job of taking a course that is pretty old and improving it to make it more acceptable without removing the course.
Cons: - Teepads are so worn-in that they can fill with water when it rains and get quite muddy.
- Holes are very short. A putter or mid-range only round would be ideal for the original tees.
- Course can get very busy with both golfers and non-golfers.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.