Kentwood, MI 
Jaycee Park Share
Uploaded By: thesamiam Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 148ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
I Love This Little Rec Course!

1    8/20/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jaycee Park is typical smallish, city park with large scattered mature trees. The park's groundcover is mostly bare dirt. I don't think this park ever sees a lawn mower. There is a creek which runs around part of the perimeter of the park. In mid-August it was running low. During periods of rain, I could see it being something to stay out of. There is a small amount of elevation which helps keep the play a little more interesting. The course mostly plays in areas that look as though they would not get much interference from other park users (except for hole # 18), see cons.

Navigation is fairly intuitive but I got turned around a couple of times. The tee signs are simple wooden poles with a rounded piece on top that shows the hole number. A few have the flight path routered in. Most have signatures from heros who have Aced some of these 200' monsters. You can almost always see the basket from the tee pad. The pads are small concrete which mostly is set 2-3-4" above the ground thus making a longer run-up uncomfortable. The baskets are older Discatchers with the yellow band and a small number on them. There are 2-3 next tee signs on those holes with a longer walkout.

The course is clean with no signs of any graffiti, other than my Ace heroes. There were a couple of garbage cans here and there and one bench, I think.

I thought # 10 was a fun little toss. The hole is dedicated to Gary somebody. That part of the sign is a little difficult to read. The hole is very short, maybe 125 , but you tee off between two large trees right in front of the box. Or I guess you could reach left and throw an Annie around the two trees. I didn't see a mando sign anywhere. I also didn't see that the creek is just right of the basket, maybe 20 feet or so. It's just a fun little Ace Run.

The course is definitely recreational. I'm not sure if any hole reaches 300'. A couple were close to that distance.

Cons: Hole 18 bothers me. It is a fun anhyser toss around a play area and the basketball courts. The creek meanders along the left side leaving you with a fairly tight line to hit. You want to avoid the creek but are limited to the right. Without children and basketball players here, this is a fun challenging little throw. With children playing here, I'd be a little nervous as my drive today caught a tree and caromed off into the play area leaving me with a fun little overhand throw across the BB courts.

The park looks as though it could get very muddy and slippery with some wet weather.

The creek, when running deep, would not be something you'd not want to land in.

Small raised tee pads preventing a decent run-up.

# 16 has houses on the left. A poor throw could find their backyards.

Totally recreational length and challenge.
Other Thoughts: I had a first today on this course. In 40 years of playing, I have never ran across a female playing a course alone. Today, I crossed paths with a personable, young (30ish) lady playing the course by her self. Cool!

This is just a very comfortable and fun course to play. There are enough trees to provide obstacles, enough elevation to keep interest, enough tight lines to provide a little challenge and enough Ace Runs to keep players coming back. It's a little far from my house but if I lived closer, I'd be back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

To Flick or Not to Flick

2-4    4/1/2016   4/1/2016
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course sits in a hilly multiuse park where park amenities intermingle with the layout.
- Concrete pads on every hole.
- Innova Discatchers with the infamous yellow chastity belt. All seem to be in decent shape for the most part.
- Every hole has multiple lines so lefties and righties rejoice. Those that like to flick well, you're going to love this place.
- Course is a little on the short side but still manages to have relatively long and short holes.
- Tee signs aren't bad...they show the general layout of the hole but not distance.
Cons: - Concrete pads for the most part are just fine but many of them are way too small.
- Course flow and navigation is bizarre at best. Going to 15 tee for example from #14 basket means walking up the 14 and 15 fairways. I think when they numbered the holes crack was consumed. GET A MAP. Even the locals commented to me how wonky the layout is.
- #5 is waaaaayyy to close to that baseball field. Shorten up the hole or move the tee pad away.
- #18 is a plain old safety hazard - a bad one. Even with the marked mando there is just no reason to have a hole so close to a playground.
- There is a well used walking path that meanders throughout the course and creates some interesting safety hazards - not nearly as bad as #18.
Other Thoughts: This isn't exactly a destination course. Kind of a huckers paradise or a place for a quick 18 - if it isn't crowded. Would really like to have seen the creek that wanders through here utilized some more. Also, this layout needs to be fixed and safety hazards fixed - SOON. It's a fairly short course that most Am3's will be even with par or lower. Lots of deuce runs available here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my fav right now

1    5/31/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: freed
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: pads on every hole, ampads on (almost) every hole. im assuming some kids just ripped out the post on the two that were missing. nice park
Cons: not really any (long open) throws that some people like.
Other Thoughts: great for a day when its really windy or a little sprinkly because its completely wooded.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Ghetto Fabulous

5+    7/24/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: jiggastafarian
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and Technical
Wooded and shady
Nice baskets
No water hazards
Great pads
Various elevation
Tee signs were fairly accurate
Multiple parking lots
Cons: No open fairways
Depending on season leaves can be a real pain
No posted maps(can be confusing for first timers)
Mandos
Peak park times can make for a slow game
Few trash receptacles
Brush poorly maintained
Poison ivy everywhere
2 benches throughout the whole course
No longer a basket on hole 11
Other Thoughts: ****UPDATE****

The basket has been stolen on hole 11.

I learned to play here and in the last year I have improved my short game drastically. Great course to force yourself to learn to throw or hit tree after tree.

I'm a new player and love this course. I play it twice a day, every day it isn't raining in the spring/summer/fall. However this year the upkeep is lacking and the new people in the neighborhood have made it an experience I no longer fully enjoy. Every time I am there the same bunch of kids beg me for my discs, Ask to throw discs, talk smack when you tell them to get their own. In the last week I have witnessed 2 discs stolen and a fight break out because of some adults trying to steal discs. The amount of broken glass on the course is getting out of hand as well. What was my favorite course to play is slowly being shifted to old farm and brewer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of course for a little park

1    3/11/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A bunch of different throwing styles at nice technical windows, without being too tight or too open.
Good Signage, makes navigating the unusual flow easy.
Nice tees, good flat concrete.
Quite scenic, and should be even nicer in the summer.
Tricky shots and mandos when necessary to keep you working hard, even though there's not much in the way of long range discing.
Cons: Very little in the way of long distance shots, if you just like to let 450' drives fly this isn't the course for you.
Bad drainage considering how hilly it is. The course was mostly a sheet of ice when I played it, but that didn't stop me from greatly enjoying the round. Probably amazing on a nice summer day.

The flow of the course is a little strange, with a lot of holes all crammed close together. Still, this doesn't really detract much from the course, considering.
Quite a bit of litter.
Other Thoughts: Very nice, especially given the space. This is in a densely populated area, and is one of the nicest courses I've seen in such a small city park. It gives a good experience, with a lot of holes you can be proud to deuce, and a few that will make you work to hit par. Not a destination course, but very much worth your time if you happen to be in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice if you like woods!

1    5/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short, but a challenge. It is a nice little park, but you won't be airing out big drives.
Cons: Can be busy on peak hours, trees demand accuracy so some beginners might not like it.
Other Thoughts: Decent layout, less big parties of people than I have seen at other places. I was told a lot of hoodrats like to hang around here but I had no issues when I played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jaycee

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely wooded course, it was great on a warm sunny day. The course is short enough you can get two rounds in in 2 hours if you move quickly. The catchers were in decent condition.
Cons: If your looking for distance or open fairways, go to a different course, this course requires thought and more precision.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to check off the list, I plan on playing this course many more times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2011   4/16/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice tract through a small neighborhood park
good variety of hole lengths
close to Old Farm so you can play 36 unique holes without driving far
Cons: Some really short holes
Lots of Trees that can be frustrating for newbees
a few holes throw close to walking path
Other Thoughts: got my first ever ace here on hole 11. Almost aced 17. My favorite Grand Rapids course, aces may make me biased!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly trees, and some hills

5+    10/3/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place has lots of trees which can make it a challenge during the summer
Theres some short holes good for people still trying to learn how to throw farther
Benches throughout the park make it possible for anyone to take a rest
Theres a spot in the middle of the park, usually used for baseball, that you can practice throwing your disc at
Cons: There is one hill that is steep!, so bring a hiking stick for that part, or just hurt your back walking up it
The 18th hole can be and mostly is avoided by alot of people because there is a playground right next to it, and basketball courts
On the tenth hole, theres a mando, and a good size creek flowing right by the basket, which disc can get caught into often
Other Thoughts: Even though theres a mando I believe on the 18th hole, it doesnt help with a playground on the side of it, whoever made this course could have put the 18th hole in a better location.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has mostly short distance shots.
Good signs to show where the basket is.
Quality tee pads.
Some elevation and nice RH LH shot variety.
Cons: Very confusing to find the next hole in quite a few spots and the whole course wraps around a very small area.
Many obstacles like basketball courts and baseball diamonds.
No water hazards.
Not many distance shots.
Other Thoughts: The park is pretty interesting because of all the really large old trees all around. If the signs showed you were to go next I would give it a little bump up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.