Kentwood, MI 
Jaycee Park Share
Uploaded By: thesamiam Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A decent local course

5+    4/7/2021   4/7/2021
Review By: blidablat
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Do you like oak trees? Then you'll looooooovvvvve Jaycee Park! This is a course that finds most of its challenge in trees and elevation changes, and even then the elevation changes aren't drastic. Trees are used to shape the holes and determine your shot selection, with only one mando of real substance. Nice and shady during the summer, and no horrible brush that you'll have to dig through. The longest holes are around 350 feet, so it works well with my middle school boys.
Cons: Pretty monotonous, as the landscape is basically the same the whole way through - lots of huge oak trees to get in the way, and in the fall and spring lots of oak leaves to lose your discs in. Can be muddy. On the first time through (and sometimes later as well) you have to look closely to make sure you're playing to the right basket.
Other Thoughts: Jaycee Park is just pretty solid - nothing spectacular to note, but nothing horrible either. It's a local course for us so we play it occasionally to mix things up, but not worth a special trip.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

17 nice holes and an unfortunate #18

2-4    10/9/2020   10/10/2020
Review By: DFrah
Played: 59  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jaycee Park is tucked into a residential neighborhood in Kentwood, MI (a suburb of Grand Rapids). As you approach and park in the small parking lot, you will see a basketball court and playground on your right and a footbridge in front of you leading across a small creek. Cross this footbridge to find hole #1 (and #2-17).

Each hole here has a concrete tee pad in fine condition, plus a tee sign showing the flight path and distance. I think the tee signs are fairly new, as they were not mentioned by previous reviewers and are not in the photos uploaded here. The tee signs are mounted to the wooden posts with hole numbers showing in the old photos. The baskets are yellow banded DISCatchers. They look like they have been around a few years but are still in good condition. The bright yellow band also helps with visibility, as the course is mostly shaded.

That brings me to what I love about this course, which is the tree cover. The flora at Jaycee Park is almost entirely old-growth forest, forming a thick canopy over most of the park (well overhead, above disc flying height). The trunks of the trees are the main obstacle in play at this course. A couple holes use them as a mando, and they provide challenge and prevent a straight throw to the basket on all 18 holes. The pin placement is well done, challenging you to throw hyzers, anyhyzers, and thread straight shots through these tree trunks. Some lines are tight but not unreasonably so. There isn't a ton of distance here, but several holes in the 300'-350' range and many more in the 200'-300' range. The design makes it tough to par these holes if your tee shots hit one of the trees.

But beyond the added challenge, this canopy of trees has another benefit...it helps make the course more enjoyable for recreational play in a variety of weather conditions. Are there 20+ mph winds in the area? From personal experience, there still won't be enough wind here to affect most of your shots. Is it 95 degrees outside? From personal experience, the heat will be manageable here in the shade. Did your only pair of sunglasses spontaneously combust? You get the point. :) I imagine it would be okay in a light rain, or light snow as well.

In addition to the trees, there is a small amount of elevation in the park and that is also used well. A couple holes have sloping greens to provide a few risk/reward putts. It's nothing extreme, but enough to make things a little more interesting.

Despite being in a fairly small park, the first 17 holes honestly are pretty safe. There are a couple spots where fairways are pretty close together but it's nothing awful. There are also a few paths running through the park (these play as OB) and they could come into play, but only with a very errant throw on most holes.
Cons: The biggest con here is hole 18. After the 17 holes across the footbridge in the main park area, you'll cross back over the bridge to find this last hole. This hole is a sharp dogleg right, with a small creek (can be dried up) running along the left side and back of the hole, and the afore mentioned basketball court/playground on the right side. If you were to throw directly at the basket from the tee, you would be throwing straight across the playground and basketball court, to the basket right behind the basketball court fence. If other park goers are using the basketball court and/or playground, almost the only safe throw is to lay up and then take an approach shot and putt for par. After 17 nice holes, this is not a good way to end the round. I would honestly feel better about it if the basket were just moved to be straight in front of the tee pad, making it a 125' or so ace run to end the round.

No kiosk or course map to be found. The navigation flows pretty well if you know where you're going, but does loop around a lot so it's confusing for a first-timer. Use the map on here as a guide for your first round.

The ground is mostly just dirt. This is nice for not losing discs but does mean there isn't really "rough" on most of the holes. Also, in a heavier rain or snow I would imagine this would get very muddy.
Other Thoughts: Despite my concerns with #18, I have to commend the designer for fitting 17 holes into the main park area. The 17 holes are all challenging, enjoyable, and safe to play. I live in the area and this course has become part of my regular circuit. It's far from a destination course, but worth a stop if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I Love This Little Rec Course!

1    8/20/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1506  Reviewed: 1451  Exp: 43.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jaycee Park is typical smallish, city park with large scattered mature trees. The park's groundcover is mostly bare dirt. I don't think this park ever sees a lawn mower. There is a creek which runs around part of the perimeter of the park. In mid-August it was running low. During periods of rain, I could see it being something to stay out of. There is a small amount of elevation which helps keep the play a little more interesting. The course mostly plays in areas that look as though they would not get much interference from other park users (except for hole # 18), see cons.

Navigation is fairly intuitive but I got turned around a couple of times. The tee signs are simple wooden poles with a rounded piece on top that shows the hole number. A few have the flight path routered in. Most have signatures from heros who have Aced some of these 200' monsters. You can almost always see the basket from the tee pad. The pads are small concrete which mostly is set 2-3-4" above the ground thus making a longer run-up uncomfortable. The baskets are older Discatchers with the yellow band and a small number on them. There are 2-3 next tee signs on those holes with a longer walkout.

The course is clean with no signs of any graffiti, other than my Ace heroes. There were a couple of garbage cans here and there and one bench, I think.

I thought # 10 was a fun little toss. The hole is dedicated to Gary somebody. That part of the sign is a little difficult to read. The hole is very short, maybe 125 , but you tee off between two large trees right in front of the box. Or I guess you could reach left and throw an Annie around the two trees. I didn't see a mando sign anywhere. I also didn't see that the creek is just right of the basket, maybe 20 feet or so. It's just a fun little Ace Run.

The course is definitely recreational. I'm not sure if any hole reaches 300'. A couple were close to that distance.

Cons: Hole 18 bothers me. It is a fun anhyser toss around a play area and the basketball courts. The creek meanders along the left side leaving you with a fairly tight line to hit. You want to avoid the creek but are limited to the right. Without children and basketball players here, this is a fun challenging little throw. With children playing here, I'd be a little nervous as my drive today caught a tree and caromed off into the play area leaving me with a fun little overhand throw across the BB courts.

The park looks as though it could get very muddy and slippery with some wet weather.

The creek, when running deep, would not be something you'd not want to land in.

Small raised tee pads preventing a decent run-up.

# 16 has houses on the left. A poor throw could find their backyards.

Totally recreational length and challenge.
Other Thoughts: I had a first today on this course. In 40 years of playing, I have never ran across a female playing a course alone. Today, I crossed paths with a personable, young (30ish) lady playing the course by her self. Cool!

This is just a very comfortable and fun course to play. There are enough trees to provide obstacles, enough elevation to keep interest, enough tight lines to provide a little challenge and enough Ace Runs to keep players coming back. It's a little far from my house but if I lived closer, I'd be back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 To Flick or Not to Flick

2-4    4/1/2016   4/1/2016
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 98  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 16.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course sits in a hilly multiuse park where park amenities intermingle with the layout.
- Concrete pads on every hole.
- Innova Discatchers with the infamous yellow chastity belt. All seem to be in decent shape for the most part.
- Every hole has multiple lines so lefties and righties rejoice. Those that like to flick well, you're going to love this place.
- Course is a little on the short side but still manages to have relatively long and short holes.
- Tee signs aren't bad...they show the general layout of the hole but not distance.
Cons: - Concrete pads for the most part are just fine but many of them are way too small.
- Course flow and navigation is bizarre at best. Going to 15 tee for example from #14 basket means walking up the 14 and 15 fairways. I think when they numbered the holes crack was consumed. GET A MAP. Even the locals commented to me how wonky the layout is.
- #5 is waaaaayyy to close to that baseball field. Shorten up the hole or move the tee pad away.
- #18 is a plain old safety hazard - a bad one. Even with the marked mando there is just no reason to have a hole so close to a playground.
- There is a well used walking path that meanders throughout the course and creates some interesting safety hazards - not nearly as bad as #18.
Other Thoughts: This isn't exactly a destination course. Kind of a huckers paradise or a place for a quick 18 - if it isn't crowded. Would really like to have seen the creek that wanders through here utilized some more. Also, this layout needs to be fixed and safety hazards fixed - SOON. It's a fairly short course that most Am3's will be even with par or lower. Lots of deuce runs available here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 my fav right now

1    5/31/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: freed
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: pads on every hole, ampads on (almost) every hole. im assuming some kids just ripped out the post on the two that were missing. nice park
Cons: not really any (long open) throws that some people like.
Other Thoughts: great for a day when its really windy or a little sprinkly because its completely wooded.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Ghetto Fabulous

5+    7/24/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: jiggastafarian
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and Technical
Wooded and shady
Nice baskets
No water hazards
Great pads
Various elevation
Tee signs were fairly accurate
Multiple parking lots
Cons: No open fairways
Depending on season leaves can be a real pain
No posted maps(can be confusing for first timers)
Mandos
Peak park times can make for a slow game
Few trash receptacles
Brush poorly maintained
Poison ivy everywhere
2 benches throughout the whole course
No longer a basket on hole 11
Other Thoughts: ****UPDATE****

The basket has been stolen on hole 11.

I learned to play here and in the last year I have improved my short game drastically. Great course to force yourself to learn to throw or hit tree after tree.

I'm a new player and love this course. I play it twice a day, every day it isn't raining in the spring/summer/fall. However this year the upkeep is lacking and the new people in the neighborhood have made it an experience I no longer fully enjoy. Every time I am there the same bunch of kids beg me for my discs, Ask to throw discs, talk smack when you tell them to get their own. In the last week I have witnessed 2 discs stolen and a fight break out because of some adults trying to steal discs. The amount of broken glass on the course is getting out of hand as well. What was my favorite course to play is slowly being shifted to old farm and brewer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of course for a little park

1    3/11/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A bunch of different throwing styles at nice technical windows, without being too tight or too open.
Good Signage, makes navigating the unusual flow easy.
Nice tees, good flat concrete.
Quite scenic, and should be even nicer in the summer.
Tricky shots and mandos when necessary to keep you working hard, even though there's not much in the way of long range discing.
Cons: Very little in the way of long distance shots, if you just like to let 450' drives fly this isn't the course for you.
Bad drainage considering how hilly it is. The course was mostly a sheet of ice when I played it, but that didn't stop me from greatly enjoying the round. Probably amazing on a nice summer day.

The flow of the course is a little strange, with a lot of holes all crammed close together. Still, this doesn't really detract much from the course, considering.
Quite a bit of litter.
Other Thoughts: Very nice, especially given the space. This is in a densely populated area, and is one of the nicest courses I've seen in such a small city park. It gives a good experience, with a lot of holes you can be proud to deuce, and a few that will make you work to hit par. Not a destination course, but very much worth your time if you happen to be in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice if you like woods!

1    5/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short, but a challenge. It is a nice little park, but you won't be airing out big drives.
Cons: Can be busy on peak hours, trees demand accuracy so some beginners might not like it.
Other Thoughts: Decent layout, less big parties of people than I have seen at other places. I was told a lot of hoodrats like to hang around here but I had no issues when I played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jaycee

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely wooded course, it was great on a warm sunny day. The course is short enough you can get two rounds in in 2 hours if you move quickly. The catchers were in decent condition.
Cons: If your looking for distance or open fairways, go to a different course, this course requires thought and more precision.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to check off the list, I plan on playing this course many more times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2011   4/16/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice tract through a small neighborhood park
good variety of hole lengths
close to Old Farm so you can play 36 unique holes without driving far
Cons: Some really short holes
Lots of Trees that can be frustrating for newbees
a few holes throw close to walking path
Other Thoughts: got my first ever ace here on hole 11. Almost aced 17. My favorite Grand Rapids course, aces may make me biased!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.