Newbury, NH 
Mount Sunapee Resort Share
Uploaded By: great white buffalo Hole #3
3 / 195ft.   3 / 110ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Wow, just wow!

2-4    9/10/2017   9/13/2017
Review By: Cool
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of tee pads, long and short, and they are currently adding a third "black" set of tee pads that play even longer!

Lift ride is fun, but can also hike up to play. Check the lift schedule on the official website before going as the lift hours vary by season.

Ten dollars to play all day is reasonable (please do not increase the price as any more to play would not be reasonable).

We were able to use our carts on this course when we hiked up, the course is fine for carts for hikers, BUT, if you are taking the lift, I see no way to bring up a cart (Zuca). So, be prepared to bag it.

Gorgeous views, ideal combination of open bomber holes and narrow fairways.

Even the short holes are made challenging, example the rock hole with elevated basket.

Note: You'll not be playing DG down the main slope, but rather one of the south accessory slopes. You'll be riding the Clipper Ship quad (installed in year 2000; approximately five minute, open ride) to hole #1 at the top, and the course plays down the Paradise Glades ski run. There are attendants at lift bottom and top to help you get on and off. After you pay the daily fee in the main Adventure Center office (clearly visible from the free parking lot), they give you a printed lift ticket to provide the lower lift operator. Although he took the ticket from us, he remembered us to let us play round two; however, the daily fee is for unlimited rides and play, not for a single round (confirmed from the lady in the office that sold us the ticket). If you have a caddy or non-player with you, they'll still need to buy a ticket as tickets are sold just for sightseers to take the lift also. Note: I have been here when the lift is not running and was able to hike to the top and play. Employees grooming the terrain and mowing saw us playing with no ill will. Every employee that I've met here in three separate trips have been helpful and welcoming. Note that the climb is steep, sweaty, and took about 20 minutes of solid uphill trudging. We did pull DG carts.

There's also miniature golf, mountain biking, wall climbing, and other activities available at summer Sunapee Mountain.
Cons: Somewhat remote location requires a drive from where most of us live. Keene is about 57 minutes away (37 slow miles).
Other Thoughts: There is a neat country store about a quarter mile north (outside of Sunapee Resort) on the main road NH-103 near the entrance to Sunapee DGC that has everything you need to eat and drink (hot breakfast sandwiches, cold beer, hamburgers, etc.), it's called Rosewood General Store, Sunapee, NH, look for it online to see what it looks like (quaint, clean) as there's no Cumbies within short distance of here. Get gasoline before you get out here. Sunapee harbor, eight miles away, has touristy eats, and a nice grab-and-go grinders at Fenton's Deli. Sunapee Resort itself has grub and drinks depending on season, but not as much as you'd imagine; I'd strongly recommend getting your Gatorade and sandwiches before you get here. There's a pub which seems to serve grub across from the country store mentioned above, but we didn't eat there so I'm unsure of quality.

Unless you see a positive updated review on DGCR, don't even bother playing Pinnacle DGC in nearby Newport, NH. I wrote a review, the place is horrific and it appears that no local club or person is taking any interest in it at this time. It's barely playable. The rating in DGCR was misleading as the reviews are old. Oddly, the starting hole kiosk at a Pinnacle has posted a long write-up and ad for Sunapee Resort Disc Golf. Lol.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: ItsLake
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2015
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of the mountain. Most of the course winds through the mountain in the woods to the sides of slopes making for many technical shots that make the game fun. The holes are quite diverse and offers a wide variety of shot-shaping opportunities.
Cons: Chair lift is only available till 4.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to friend.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  More Information on changes

1    6/26/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Sunapeedg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: The disc golf course at Mt. Sunapee is one of a number of activities in our adventure park. The one last activity to add is downhill mountain biking. The only space available for a low level novice Mt. Bike trail was on hole #8. To keep this in a separate zone from disc golf it was necessary to relocate holes 8 & 9. Separate zones reduce the potential of conflicts from very different sports. We understand that the hole changes aren't ideal, but at this time they are the best we could do. One of the course designers has offered to look at the remaining space to see if there is a better option. The T-box for hole #1 was relocated to make space for the Mt. Bike trail head. Many of the amateur and recreational disc golf players had trouble with the length and shape of #8, even with the short T. The uphill of #9 was also a problem from a flow and fun perspective. Amateur and recreational players make up more than 90% of the ticketed play. We have kept the original hole configurations for tournaments and special events when Mt Biking would be unavailable on that space. Sunapeedg

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New changes are unsafe and no fun

5+    6/20/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: NHChiver
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. 2 sets of tees allow seasoned golfers a chance to test their skills, while forward tees give everyone a chance to enjoy great lift service golf. Nice variation on the holes, well maintained all seasons long, (should be for a pay to play) signage assists with the easy to follow lay out and view on 17s tee cant be beat.
Cons: The changes to this course are a tragedy!
1. Hole 8 used to be a beautiful 700' downhill shot. Challenging but doable for most regular golfers, Now 8 is throw away hole; a tight wooded shot of 200+ feet that throws towards 7 rough and long skip could wind up in 7s fairway. Folks driving on 7 could find an errant shot headed right at the basket or fairway of 8. Heads up!
2. Hole 9 was a tough up hill. Now is quick hyzer downhill. But the real problem is not that it's another boring throwaway hole or that if you're looking forward to the old layout it's the 2nd ruined hole in a row, it's that you now walk through the fairway of 7 to get there from 8. So again Heads up!
3. Hole 1. For no apparent reason the tee has moved 50ish feet forward and off the left to make the shot a little easier.
If you can't play the pro tees, go play the forward tees it's why they're there. The mountain has taken a course that was a work of art and trashed 3 holes for the sake of...i don't know, making it easier?
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see the course fixed ASAP. Please go back to forward tees for the retail golf that makes the money and leave the original layout alone. It was a great course. I don't see may self-going back to Mt. Sunapee unless they make some changes to the course. Also, FYI to anyone who knows the area and likes James B's design work. It has be alter beyond recognition and I would not consider him the designer of the course that remains.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Chair Lifts and Discs, Oh My

2-4    6/1/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: Babinator
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a short but fun ski chair lift to the top of the course. The course layout is really clean. The fairways and lanes are very intentional and well thought out. I had to use all of the shots I have to navigate the various bends and turns presented. There are two well maintained, level gravel pads for every hole. Most holes are fairly short. One 700 foot par three is extremely downhill. Lots of trees to kick you off the fairway but generally the trouble you get in isn't too jail like. There is a small sandwich shop and a soft serve stand at the base of the hill.
Cons: One punishing uphill hole. Not bad for an alpine course but still. A punisher. Perhaps not a real con.
I'm not sure there is a signiture hole. One that really stands out.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again. The scenery is awesome. The variety of holes will keep me interested. The proximity to other excellent courses is reason to visit the area from afar.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    9/29/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Still pretty new to disc golf. We had 4 players of similar ability and played doubles best throw, and were able to one under par the advanced. Love taking the ski lift up. Also like the variety of holes. About the only thing it does not have is a water hazard. I found it challenging, bit did not feel overmatched and felt the pars were fair. Signage is good and finding the next hole is not a problem.
Cons: I would say the "pro" shop is a bit thin, but they do have some discs and some Sunapee schwag.
Other Thoughts: Have been twice and very surprised we have not seen another player there yet. On one hand I like having the course to myself, but on the other I want it to be successful so they keep it open. We drive an hour and think it is totally worth the drive and the 8$

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The $8

2-4    8/31/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: blumonk
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific variety of holes.
Great flow from basket to the next hole.
Even though it's on a mountain, the holes feel generally level with some nice epic bombs and not too many uphill holes to discourage you.
This might be my new favorite course and probably my favorite in NH.
Cons: Honestly nothing of substance that I can think of other than maybe if they stayed open later during the summer months when the sun stays up longer. To have a nice dusk round in this beautiful region of the state would be great.
Other Thoughts: I played this course last year and thought it was good, but it needed to be worn in a little. Well, check that one off the list.
Holes 7, 8, 14, 15, and 17 were my favorites but really all of them were memorable in their own way. Only 9 was what you might call a throw-away hole, but if you're gonna have the nice bombs from up high, you have to have the ones from down low. Bravo to the design team.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best NH Mountain Course

2-4    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, new course. Well designed with many memorable holes including one 700+ ft downhill par 3. Challenging. Seems to have improved a bit since last year. Chairlift ride to the top!
Cons: Gravel tee boxes. Somewhat rugged fairways on wooded holes. $8.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course that was designed with the disc golfer in-mind. It's not just another adventure attraction at the mountain. In the years to come, I'd like to see better tee boxes, and even more holes. Don't forget to play pinnacle while your over there for a total of 36 holes by the same designer.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Hampshire's Finest

1    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: AaronMonier18
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my opinion this may be the finest course in New Hampshire. It has a great mix of holes and it flows very nicely. After seeing this layout it makes other mountain golf courses look inept. Discatcher baskets and a short and long tee location. I've never taken a chair lift because I've only played it "out of season" (The Terrain Park opens Memorial Day Weekend I believe). Nobody has ever hassled me for hiking up. As a lefty, it helps to have a flick or very strong anhyzer.
Cons: As a freshly cut course the terrain can be rugged at times. When you cut a tree down on a mountain it typically stays there. In the fall it may be possible to lose discs. My only other complaint would be that when you finish 18, your car is downslope a ways if you need to refill your water or grab something out of it. If the lift is operating you may opt to shell out $5. I like the walk up myself.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the design team. I understand it's the same that designed Pinnacle. After playing both I can see the correlation. They obviously want you to be a good player to score well. I respect that. Due to the resources afforded to a resort like Sunapee this course feels more professional than Pinnacle. Offers a better variety than Beauty Hill. Plays longer than Bellamy. It reminds me a lot of Hyland Brewery's course. Very enjoyable. Recommended.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wooden Skis

1    10/5/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 514  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Abundance of signage - you'll have to work hard to get lost.

Two tees per hole. The long tees are 6'x10', gravel within a wooden frame, surrounded on the outside by mulch. The short tees are 3' x 6', otherwise same construction as longs.

Clubhouse with food, discs, restroom, and practice basket, located near lift.

Nice view/scenery from atop the hill, especially in the autumn.
Cons:
Single basket position.

$5 (which is cheaper than other ski courses I've played) to ride the lift to the top.
Other Thoughts:
Most of the ski (mid-Atlantic) courses I've played to date have been similar - a very long/large grassy hill, with a few pockets/copses of trees to define the various ski runs, with the disc golf course playing down/across the slopes, occasionally playing into/out from the trees. The landscape here is more like a very long/large wood-populated hill, with a few ski runs cut through the trees. As a result, while about half the holes are "typical" ski course holes, the other half are completely contained within the trees - after teeing off on #10, you'll forget you're on a ski course until your disc exits the woods on #16!

Most holes require you to simply throw straight off the tee, with the lefts or rights typically being subtle and late. While, as expected, you lose some elevation on most holes, there are a couple of upslope ones, a few flat, and even a few trenches to throw over. No pinball nor super-tight openings to hit, but there are enough trees to deflect a shot that strays too far off course.

The average length from the longs is ~330', 195'(#3)/700'(#8) being the extremes. From the shorts, the average length is ~215', but if you discount the two long, downslope holes (8,17), the length for the others averages ~190'.

Favourite hole: #7. From the top edge of a 40' high ridge, your disc must exit the woods between two large hardwoods about 100' away, cross the ~100' wide open ski run, then re-enter another section of woods, needing to dodge scattered trees another ~100' to reach the basket.

Favourite hole: #8 is the long (700') bomber. Can you keep your disc from swinging too far to either side during its S-shaped run down the moderate but long slope - if you can, you may set a personal distance record. :-)

Very well done course, offering challenges to the advanced/intermediate player, while also providing an option for beginners.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center