Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: hawk12 Hole #15 (Taken 4/2017)
4 / 591ft.   4 / 731ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Stafford Woods DGC

1    4/13/2019   4/13/2019
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 33.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great course design, with fairly straightforward navigation
-level paver tee pads & newer baskets
-challenging but fair terrain; again, the designers used the topography well in laying out the holes
-excellent signage, which made navigation simpler
-great locals who were friendly & helpful during my visit
-overall a top level course for players of all ability levels
Cons: -nothing to complain about; played the course this evening for the first time and was very impressed!
Other Thoughts: Had the chance to play Stafford Woods after dinner tonight, and had a throughly enjoyable round. Had no problem finding the course, and once there was impressed by how well appointed it is. Outstanding signs made navigation easy, the tee pads were great, holes are thoughtfully designed to challenge every player, it was clean...in many ways, it was one of the best courses I've ever played. Really glad I had the chance to get a round in here, it certainly deserves its reputation as one of NJs best!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic course

1    3/9/2019   3/11/2019
Review By: Scott12701
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely love this course. Despite it being only 50 minutes from my house, it somehow went unnoticed on my course radar. Stafford Woods is by far one of the best courses in the region. It is well designed and nicely laid out, taking full advantage of all the natural topography available within the park. The majority of the course is in the woods, but a number of holes are in the wide open fields for some fun power throws.
The multiple pin placements and tee pads make for a wide range of difficulty on each hole.
The holes that are in the woods are all fair, with at least one line to the pin. Every fairway is wide enough for the average disc golfer to hit, but not so wide that it's an "easy" shot. Good shots are rewarded, bad shots punished. Getting off the fairway isn't a death sentence, as the overgrowth isn't bad at all and as a result, a good scramble game will still get you up and down for par.
The open field holes make good use of OB stakes to add a challenge to what would otherwise be a simple grip-it-and-rip-it shot. The fairways are relatively narrow, forcing you to make the proper disc selection based on wind and skill. Yet the fairways are more than wide enough to hit for any skill level.
Tee pads are excellent, providing good grip, and most are more than long enough for the run up needed for the length of the hole.
Multiple pin placements provide a variety of options for changing the hole and its difficulty. Many of the greens utilize a wonderful railroad tie design, making them not just challenging, but beautiful to behold.
Tee signs are very well done, and signage throughout the course leave little to no doubt as to where to go for the next hole.
Cons: There is nothing negative for me to say about the course itself. It's awesome. However, it can be difficult to find a disc in the bed of leaves that were still present in early March.
Other Thoughts: Stafford Woods is a top tier course and worthy of it's top rating for NJ and the US. If you're passing through the area, it's a MUST PLAY. If you're an avid disc golfer, it should absolutely go on your bucket list of courses to play before you die.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Must play

2-4    2/5/2019   2/5/2019
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is well maintained with a sold mix of wooded holes and open holes.
- Lines are tight but fair.
- Teepads are awesome with multiple tees and locations.
- Good baskets and signage.
Cons: - I normally don't like artificial OB, but there are only a few holes, and to be honest, it works well.
Other Thoughts: Coming from the suburbs of philly, this course is quintessential east coast/PA golf. It is a must play if you're in the area. Right up there with Nocki and Tyler IMO but less strenuous on the legs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent New Jersey!

1    12/31/2018   1/2/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 64  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2019
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ There's a lot to praise here, but I think the top feature is the mix of wooded and open holes. I especially like that you go back and forth between the two, it isn't all one thing, then all the other thing (an example of this would be the otherwise terrific Camp Tecumseh, where you're pretty much in the woods for most of the first 12 holes, then out in the open for the rest of the round, or Field of Dreams, where the only open holes are all together in the middle). It's a very cool feature of Stafford that wooded and open keep alternating.
+ I'm a relatively new intermediate player, so I played the White tees. I was pleased to card two birdies and eight pars, with a total round of +7. So if even you're relatively new, don't be afraid of this course: it requires precision like a good wooded course, but it doesn't punish you mercilessly for being a little off line (like some holes at Greystone, for instance).
+The Blue tees add distance, but they also add more challenge - usually in the form of more turn, or a little tighter line. I'm looking forward to playing the Blues.
+ The two water holes are really fair, because they're mostly open. You have to clear the water, but you don't have to clear the water AND throw through a keyhole.
+ The course is full of design touches that really credit the designer and builders, like the pyramid green on 6, the bulkhead that penalizes low shots on 7, the terraced geen on 15, and the hanging basket on 16.
+ Signage is excellent, teepads are terrific - with built in benches for waiting on slow par 3's.
+ Finally, I want to mention the clear lines on each hole. Again, credit to the designer, and also to the maturity of the course. I expect this is how Allaire will be in a few years: Allaire has all the potential to rival Stafford. But at Stafford today, you can stand on any tee and really see the fairways, the throwing lines, the likely trouble spots. You can't ask more from a course!
Cons:
- I wish the baskets were newer models, with bright colored bands at the top (like the DD Patriots at Joe Palaia and Allaire). It would make them a lot easier to spot.
- I never saw the practice basket until I was leaving. It's sort of hidden, off the parking lot to the left of the path to Tee #1. Make sure to look for it - it's there!
- Every hole is beautifully designed, but there's no spot where the view stops you cold, like standing on the 17th at Greystone and looking at the hills in the distance, or looking across the sandpit at Doc Cramer, or the views from the top of Campgaw. But I also played in December - so maybe there are some "postcard views" I'll enjoy during warmer weather.
Other Thoughts:
- It's so hard to pick a favorite hole at Stafford: 3, 6, 7, 10, 15, 16 are all different - and all candidates!
- I finished out the year with my first visit to Stafford Woods and it didn't disappoint. This is a terrific course - certainly one of the best in New Jersey.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

2-4    9/26/2018   10/1/2018
Review By: Katana270
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots and great use of trees and terrain. Tee pads are brick, well made. Multiple tees on most holes. They take great care of this course and its VERY hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Hard to find the parking lot from hole 18 after the round. The parking lot could use some gravel or something, it was the most muddy part of the whole park. And some better signage to find hole 1 for people who are not familiar with the course would be a good addition.
Other Thoughts: All in all it was a great course and was pleasantly surprised by how fun & easy this course was to play. It's probably not a great beginner course but it was perfect for me as an intermediate player.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in South Jersey

1    9/21/2018   9/21/2018
Review By: goalie95
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of Woods/Open Throws
Very fair fairways in the woods
Holes close together(for the most part)

This course is excellent for beginners as there are holes where you only have to worry about throwing it into the rough where you can easily get your disc. However, this course also has challenging holes for more experienced players with trees that require pin point accuracy. As a bipolar player myself I felt that whenever I threw into the super woodsy rough, it was all on me and had I thrown a good shot I would have landed in the fairway with no problem.

Cons: Baskets can be hard to see since they don't have any bright markings on them like a yellow rim, for example. Also there were some tee pads that could be larger. 2 of them made me think that it was limiting for a full shot.
Other Thoughts: You will have a great time here no matter what skill level you are. I played this course for the 1st time on the short tees and was able to get some pars and birdie's. It was certainly fun being able to see the gold tees for the pros because it really makes you aware of just how much farther than you they are throwing it. Anyone should try this course, even if you're not from the area. This course is certainly worth a long drive if you're looking for a good day of golf

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Specialization At Stafford

2-4    2/24/2018   2/26/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Almost all of the tee pads felt consistent, sturdy, and had enough space for a good launch.
+ As the course is mostly within a dense forest, there are many trees in your way. This course demands planning and accuracy. Plus, the environment is very quiet and contemplative.
+ What few open area holes there are allow for some nice explosive drives.
+ The course is very efficiently designed in how it utilizes as much space as it can within the relatively small confines of its borders. There are enough trees blocking the view of the neighboring holes to prevent the player from feeling as through they are crammed next to one another .
+ The sheet metal diagrams next to the tee pads clearly and concisely inform the player where to throw and how far.
+ The lake OB hazard used in holes 3 and 7 adds a nice degree of eager apprehension.
+ The fairways are clean and easily to tell apart from the rough.
Cons: - Some tee pads are too tiny for a full wind-up. Hole 13 specifically comes to mind because it is atop a hill. A false step could result in injury.
- I felt as though the course relies a bit too heavily on claustrophobic narrow shots between rows of trees. Perhaps this can simply be attributed to my low skill level, but some drives seemed ridiculously constricted.
- As mentioned in the pros, there are not many true open-air holes to unleash a powerful drive. As a result, the whole session can seem somewhat toned down from what one might be used to.
- The course shares space with a hiking trail. It is not uncommon for people who are walking their dogs or out for a stroll to unknowingly walk across your intended flight path.
- Few amenities in the way of trash cans, benches, and so forth.
- Hole 18 does not finish near hole 1 or the parking lot. First time players may get disorientated trying to find their way back.
Other Thoughts: Stafford Woods is where you want to go to get some intensive practice with your laser beam throws. There are very many tunnel shots. Successful play will be achieved through controlled throws and purposeful planning. If you prefer the kinds of courses that allow you to wind up and let loose, this course can definitely accommodate you with their holes 4 through 6, arguably 7, 15, and 16, but just be aware that the primary goal of Stafford Woods seems to be testing its players intentional aim over brute force. Some may find it exhausting and tedious. Others may relish the chance to test their delivery. I fall somewhere in between those two crowds.

Their signature par 5 hole 11 is a serpentine journey through the heart of the forest with very little room for mistakes- at least from the perspective of a player like myself who has less than a year under his belt. Even though I am still terrible at it, I look forward to it each time.

I should mention that some of the course keepers started a conversation with me during my most recent session. They told me to keep an eye out for vandals who have been cutting down saplings or branches that they deemed to be 'in the way,' which goes against the spirit of the sport. So, that is something to watch out for.

In closing, I very much enjoyed the whole experience and appreciated the kinds of challenges forced upon me- even if they seemed repetitive at times. Stafford Woods is a neat and tidy course preferring accuracy over aggression. Go to Stafford Woods if you are seeking a peaceful round of perfect placement. Go to Stafford Woods if you really need to practice your perfect placement. Just go to Stafford Woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course around

5+    12/25/2017   1/9/2018
Review By: Frodz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do I start. It's all around one of the best layouts and design it's got holes that are all wooded and then they have two holes over the lake and then they even have open field holes and some holes that are woods and open field together. And it's got hills on some holes to for the ups and downs. This course just has it all. By far my favorite spot to play.
Cons: Can't think of anything besides that there are just a couple of the short tees pads that aren't all the way complete yet but are being worked on and will be set in here in the near future. They are all in just redoing and making them better to just certify that
Other Thoughts: And all the locals here are really nice and are also helpful. And even at times the guy that designed the course will even come out and shoot rounds with us. It's always a blast.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    9/9/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: DiscGolfingSteve
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean course
Well maintained
Well marked
Variety of shots types and hole
Has port-o-potty
Offer days where they sell discs, and have lost and found
Cons: Can be crowded
Muddy parking lot, not that bad though
People brake branches often here to "fit" their needs

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    10/19/2017   10/19/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 58  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots and will challenge you in many areas. It had nice tee pads, the baskets were in good condition, and tee signs that were big and easy to see from afar off. There were good path markers and the areas around the baskets and the tees were built up to make a level surface. The course was clean.
Cons: The baskets were really difficult to see especially in the thick woods. The tee signs were incorrect on a couple holes. Hole 18 did not end anywhere near the parking lot and did not have markers to point us back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Too many tunnel shots.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/24/2017 Designer Response by: hawk12
thank you very much for your review. I do feel this is fairly accurate for the current conditions.

As we have made a few changes, some of the signs are not 100% accurate, and when the remaining changes, additional anchors, short tees, etc are complete we will update all the signage. Thank you for the point about the sign pointing to the parking area, the temp sign pointing to the parking area has gone missing and I'll add that to the list for future signage updating.

I expect quite a few of 'finishing touches' in the next 1-2 years....

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.